Traces of Germany in Lebanon
The Imposter of the Middle East – Walter Schmerl

Mugshot of the impostor Walter Schmerl
Image courtesy of Political Archives of the Foreign Ministry, Konsulat Beirut, packet 86, page 18, special dossier impostors with passport, L. Buchholz-Walter Schmerl, Count of Kalkreuth

This is the tale of a brazen con artist, who used a series of false identities to cause havoc throughout the entire Middle East early in the 1930s. In the guise of an aristocrat, this impostor exclusively targeted fellow Germans, claiming a financial emergency or pretending to be an enterprising businessman looking for partners for lucrative business ventures. 

German expatriates fell for this scam time and time again – especially those who weren’t exactly reputable merchants themselves. Several consular officers proved similarly gullible, allowing this con artist to continue with his schemes despite glaring inconsistencies in his stories. And when they finally decided to intervene, he had already left their consular district. In the end, it was a routine procedure by the Consulate in Beirut that finally blew the lid off this case. But first things first.

A certain ‘Fritz Ströbele’, born in Hechingen on 29 July 1906, first came into contact with the German authorities in Beirut on 7 July 1930 due to a fairly trivial matter. He claimed to have been passing through on his way from Baghdad back to Germany, when his passport and wallet were stolen in the souks of Beirut. His passport had been issued by the authorities in Stuttgart, or so he said, and now he needed a replacement. 

The man was in a hurry to leave the country, so the Consulate issued a new passport that same day, and as a routine measure, they informed both the passport office in Stuttgart and the Consulates General of the region, including the ones in Jerusalem, Smyrna, Baghdad and Alexandria, as well as the Legation in Tehran, the Embassy in Cairo and the Consular Section in Istanbul. Up to this point, things seemed perfectly normal. 

But on the evening of the following day, the German authorities in Baghdad wired back that something was fishy about the man’s story. The real Fritz Ströbele was still in Baghdad, however an ‘adventurer’ had left the city on 3 July using Ströbele’s passport. This ‘adventurer’ also had a second passport, issued in Breslau (modern-day Wrocław) to a man going by the name of ‘Ludwig Buchholz’. The Embassy in Baghdad asked their colleagues in Beirut to seize Ströbele’s passport and return it to Baghdad, and to determine the identity of this ‘adventurer’. Apparently, he had left behind debts to the tune of 7,000 Reichsmarks.

On 12 July, the Consulate in Beirut received another note from Baghdad detailing how this debt had come about. It stated that the “farmer and author Ludwig Buchholz” had turned up in Baghdad in early February of that year and had immediately taken out a loan of 6,000 Reichsmarks to lease farmland from the King’s steward. He had refused to disclose any information about his past to the Consulate and had only briefly shown the Consulate secretary his papers on one occasion. Recently, he had started the rumour that his real name wasn’t Buchholz, but that he was in fact an aristocratic German cavalry officer with a warrant out on his head for his involvement in the so-called Feme murders in Germany and in the assassination of Foreign Minister Walther Rathenau. 

Two days later, the consulate in Alexandria reported back that the ‘adventurer’ was actually a German named ‘Walter Schmerl’, also known as ‘Otto Zarnekow’, who was born in Erfurt and was wanted in connection with a number of scams. A pertinent detail included in his physical description was that the little finger of his right hand was missing a phalanx. It was to be assumed that he intended to try ‘his luck’ with the passport issued in Beirut. Furthermore, German, Austrian and Yugoslavian police had issued warrants for Schmerl/Zarnekow’s arrest for a variety of crimes. Only later did it become clear that the official in Alexandria had hit the nail on the head.

According to the German Consul in Baghdad Wilhelm Litten (1880-1932) – Litten is remembered today for his eyewitness accounts of the death marches in 1916 during the Armenian genocide – the wanted man had involved a German merchant named Hans Krumpeter in his dealings. He had introduced himself to Krumpeter as ‘Count Walter von Kalkreuth from Siegersdorf-Vieselbach,’ and lured him in with the prospect of ‘a few thousand pounds’. He had then left the country on 3 July with the stated intention of withdrawing the funds in Zurich. 

But Consul Litten added that ‘Buchholz’s’ business partner Krumpeter was hardly an innocent victim himself. While in Tehran he had already amassed considerable debt and had been ‘negligent’ in keeping accounts relating to his management duties at a Soviet company called Rustransit. He had been granted a second chance in Baghdad, especially due to his language skills and local knowledge. And so Krumpeter had soon been tasked with representing a number of German companies, including the E. Merck chemical factory in Darmstadt. After a while, however, Krumpeter had reverted to his true nature. His correspondence had remained unanswered, and he had got involved with people the Consulate had explicitly warned him against dealing with. Furthermore, he had employed workers such as the previously mentioned Fritz Ströbele on his estate under slave-like conditions, not only refusing to pay him his wages, but also talking him out of the money provided to him by the Consulate for his return home. In the end, he had even confiscated Ströbele’s passport and had later passed it on to the elusive ‘Buchholz’.

When ‘Buchholz’ arrived, Krumpeter had immediately involved him in his dealings. Together, they had succeeded in convincing the King’s steward to lease them additional land. King Faisal I (1883-1993, reigned 1921-1933) himself was reported to have taken a ‘keen interest’ in the farming project ‘Landheim zur Schlanken Linie’ (‘Country Manor at the Slim Line’), and had not only visited the estate but had also granted the fraudulent farmer ‘Buchholz’ several audiences. 

If Litten’s account is to be believed, the Krumpeter/‘Buchholz’ estate was a popular destination for the German expatriate community in Baghdad.  Due to the high profits predicted by the two business partners, many Germans had been impressed and had invested money in the farming project. Furthermore, the German community had generously provided the assiduous ‘Buchholz’ with all sorts of supplies.

The Consul had first suspected something was amiss when ‘Buchholz’ needlessly flooded the German war cemetery he had been tasked with overseeing – and for which he had already received an advance – causing considerable damage. The Consulate had taken care of the restoration costs. ‘Buchholz’ was unable to make a statement on what transpired because he had fallen ill. He had moved from the country estate into the Krumpeters’ townhouse, where he sought medical attention. 

More strange events followed soon after: while he was at a Polish doctor’s house for examinations, ‘Buchholz’ had accused the Iraqi domestic staff of stealing 20 Reichsmarks. In a fury, ‘Buchholz’ had demanded his money back from the doctor, who gave it to him. On the same day, it had also been reported that another 250 Reichsmarks of the doctor’s money had been stolen, which was also blamed on the local domestic staff. 

‘Buchholz’ became more and more brazen: soon after, he had approached Litten and demanded a loan of 300 Reichsmarks because locusts were eating away at his fields and the workers were on strike because they hadn’t received their wages. He claimed Krumpeter had fallen behind on his payments. Despite grave doubts, Consul Litten had granted him the loan, to be repaid on 1 July, because he didn’t want people saying he had caused “this company to fall victim to a locust infestation because of hardheartedness”.

The con man had also tried his luck with Litten’s wife: he had brought her a loaf of bread and claimed to have opened a country bakery. He had proposed that she place several orders and – of course – pay for them in advance. And he had also asked her to tell the English women about his bakery. After the wife had refused to pay or to spread the word, the bakery was never mentioned again.

‘Buchholz’ was unmasked in early June, when the Consul learned of Ströbele’s employment at the estate and as a reaction had first summoned Ströbele, and then ‘Buchholz’ to the Consulate. At this point, ‘Buchholz’ admitted that he had been using an alias and told his cock-and-bull ‘Kalkreuth Feme murder’ story. He claimed he had to wait for amnesty to be granted, after which he could sort things out and clear up any questions.

Although Litten even pointed out that this sounded a whole lot like something a con man would say, he didn’t act right away. The Consul was worried it might damage his good rapport with King Faisal if it came out that ‘Kalkreuth’ had committed several counts of forgery or fraud according to Iraqi law. And Krumpeter would have been ruined too. 

After ‘Kalkreuth’ reported to the Consulate that he couldn’t export his sweetcorn harvest to Germany due to German sweetcorn regulations, and therefore couldn’t pay his debts, Ströbele, who had lent his money to Krumpeter and ‘Kalkreuth’, was forced to admit on 2 July that he couldn’t pay back the loan he had received from the Consulate to pay for his journey home. He still hadn’t been paid by Krumpeter. 

That was the final straw for the Consul. Litten made serious accusations against Ströbele, calling him a “repatriation swindler for a gang of crooks”. He said he would no longer see Ströbele or ‘Kalkreuth’ in person; they would have to meet with his deputy, Dr Brücklmeier from then on. 

‘Kalkreuth’, who had been waiting in the antechamber and had heard the Consul’s frank words, went to see Brücklmeier and complained about the Consul’s choice of words. But now ‘Kalkreuth’ had been forced into a corner and was looking to find a way to leave the country as quickly as possible. He therefore asked for a deferral of 20 days to settle all of his outstanding payments. His request was granted.

This was a very generous concession by the Consulate, but more than just a little naive in light of all the preceding events, and ‘Kalkreuth’ had no qualms exploiting it – he left Baghdad overnight. Krumpeter had prepared his getaway and provided him with Ströbele’s travel documents. The plan was for the two of them to meet in Zurich in two weeks' time to work out their financial affairs.

Krumpeter did not yet realise that he had just become yet another of the con artist’s victims. Once it became known that the ‘Count’ had skipped town, Krumpeter refused any cooperation with the Consulate at first, referring to a vow of silence he had pledged to the ‘Count of Kalkreuth’. He didn’t want to jeopardise the contract he had concluded with ‘Kalkreuth’, which he thought would relieve him of all his debts. But when Litten showed him photos of the impostor in Alexandria, Krumpeter filed a criminal complaint against ‘Buchholz/Kalkreuth’ on 18 July 1930.

By then, it had become known that the absconder had perpetrated another scam during his brief sojourn in Beirut, before departing for Damascus. With the help of a Hungarian forger by the name of Zoltan Silbermann, while staying at the Hotel Imperial, he had drafted a letter of recommendation for the ‘Count von Kalreuth’ with the forged signature of Consul Litten, which he had used to solicit yet more victims. Two German lorry drivers, whom ‘Kalkreuth’ had asked for a short-term loan in Damascus, had confiscated this document along with a copy of the contract with Krumpeter and had brought them to Baghdad. 

Other aliases ‘Kalkreuth’ had used included ‘Walter Ulmerl’, ‘Boris Romanoff’ and ‘Count von Ehrenreich’. Now he was in Aleppo, posing as ‘Hermann Schanz’. He had stolen the documents from a charitable German technician who had even let him stay the night at his residence.

In response to this, the consular secretary wrote the following on 1 August:

“I’m truly surprised that he hasn’t been apprehended yet, but I’m hopeful that this will finally succeed soon, so that this modern-day Captain of Köpenick can be brought to justice.”

But matters became even more convoluted: further inquiries made in Haifa into the papers that ‘Kalkreuth’ had left behind in Baghdad showed that the impostor was also responsible for at least one marriage scam. Apparently the charming and charismatic man had promised to marry a Miriam Rosenberg, while a nurse named Hilde Hochwald had fallen in love with him in Haifa and was still suffering from the break-up. 

The things the imposter 'Buchholz' abandoned in Baghdad showed him to have connections to Erfurt and also led to the discovery of the real Buchholz’s identity, who didn’t realise he had lost his passport in Haifa until several months later. Word also got out that the version of the name used by the con man didn’t even exist, the true spelling was with a ‘ck’ (i.e. Kalckreuth).

And his true identity now finally came to light: it was Walter Schmerl, born in Erfurt on 15 April 1896. He had deserted his post in 1915 and first turned up in Bad Herzburg in 1916, using the alias Karl von Törne. He had been charged with fraud in Zagreb in 1927. One year later, he had attempted to scam support money in Elbersfeld (Wuppertal).

The next notes in the fugitive’s file were from February 1931 in Istanbul, where Schmerl had once again called attention to himself by stealing the papers of a certain Erich Mahle.  He had also briefly been put in prison by the Turkish authorities, who accused him of arson. From there, he had escaped to Ethiopia.

Even though the files make no direct mention of a successful arrest, the final piece of news in this complicated case from 6 June 1932 does however indicate that Schmerl’s good fortune was about to come to an end. He had been afflicted with a severe case of malaria during a steamboat journey from Djibouti to Genoa and had arrived at his destination on 6 May. The German Consulate General there had taken ‘all necessary steps’.

This closed the book on a criminal case that had kept the German diplomatic missions in the Middle East on their toes for the past two years.
 

Source:

Hochstapler Schmerl-Buchholz [‘The Imposter Schmerl-Buchholz’], in: Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amtes [PAAA] (Political Archive of the Foreign Ministry), Beirut Consulate, Package 86

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon Der „Köpenick des Nahen Ostens“ – Walter Schmerl

Fahndungsfoto Hochstaplers Walter Schmerl
Mit freundlicher Genehmigung: Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amtes, Konsulat Beirut, Paket 86, S18, Spezialakte Hochstapler mit Pass, L. Buchholz-Walter Schmerl, Graf von Kalkreuth

Um einen dreisten Betrüger, der Anfang der 1930er Jahre unter diversen Falschnamen den gesamten Vorderen Orient unsicher machte, geht es in diesem Fall. Ziel des Schwindlers, der sich zuweilen als Adeliger ausgab, waren ausschließlich deutsche Landsleute, denen er entweder eine finanzielle Notlage vorgaukelte oder sich als investitionsfreudiger Geschäftsmann ausgab, der weitere Geschäftspartner suchte. 

Immer wieder fielen Auslandsdeutsche auf seine Masche herein – darunter solche, die offenbar selbst keine ehrbaren Kaufleute waren. Gutgläubigkeit herrschte auch bei einigen Konsularbeamten vor, die es dem Betrüger trotz auftretender Ungereimtheiten ermöglichten, sein Machwerk fortzusetzen. Schritten sie schließlich ein, hatte er bereits den Konsulatsbezirk verlassen. Den Fall ins Rollen brachte das Beiruter Konsulat mit einem Routinevorgang. Doch der Reihe nach:

Mit der Beiruter Vertretung kam ein gewisser „Fritz Ströbele“, geboren am 29. Juli 1906 in Hechingen, am 7. Juli 1930 wegen einer alltäglichen Sache in Kontakt. Angeblich seien ihm, der sich auf der Durchreise von Bagdad nach Deutschland befand, in den Souks von Beirut Brieftasche und Reisepass gestohlen worden. Der Pass sei vom Oberamt in Stuttgart ausgestellt worden, er bitte nun um Neuausstellung. 

Wie gewünscht, stellte das Konsulat dem auf rasche Abreise Drängenden am selben Tag einen neuen Pass aus und informierte neben der Stuttgarter Behörde routinemäßig auch die Generalkonsulate der Region, darunter Jerusalem, Smyrna, Bagdad, Alexandrien sowie die Gesandtschaft in Teheran, die Botschaft in Kairo und die Konsularische Abteilung in Istanbul. Soweit die Routine. 

Schon am Abend des nächsten Tages drahtete die Bagdader Vertretung, dass an der Sache etwas faul sei. Der genannte Fritz Ströbele befinde sich noch in Bagdad, allerdings habe ein „Abendteurer“ die Stadt mit dem Pass des Ströbele am 3. Juli verlassen. Dieser „Abendteurer“ besitze einen zweiten, in Breslau ausgestellten Pass, der auf den Namen „Ludwig Buchholz“ laute. Der Pass des Ströbele solle eingezogen und nach Bagdad gesandt werden, im Gegenzug die Identität des „Abendteurers“ festgestellt werden. Dieser habe im Übrigen 7.000 Mark Schulden hinterlassen.

Am 12. Juli ging ein weiteres Schreiben aus Bagdad ein, welches das Zustandekommen der Schulden erläuterte. Demnach war der „Landwirt und Schriftsteller Ludwig Buchholz“ Anfang Februar des Jahres in Bagdad aufgetaucht und hatte sogleich Darlehen von mehr als 6.000 Mark aufgenommen, um ein vom Gutsverwalter des Königs gepachtetes Gelände zu bewirtschaften. Dem Konsulat gegenüber habe er jegliche Auskünfte über seine Vergangenheit verweigert und seine Papiere nur einmal kurz dem Konsulatssekretär vorgezeigt. In letzter Zeit habe er das Gerücht verbreiten lassen, er heiße nicht Buchholz, sondern sei ein adeliger deutscher Kavallerieoffizier, der im Zusammenhang mit deutschen Fememördern und einer Verwicklung in den Mord an Außenminister Walther Rathenau strafrechtlich gesucht werde. 

Zwei Tage später meldete das Konsulat in Alexandria, dass es sich bei dem „Abendteurer“ wohl um den wegen verschiedener Betrügereien gesuchten Deutschen „Walter Schmerl“ oder „Otto Zarnekow“ handele, der gebürtig aus Erfurt stamme. Bei der mit gelieferten Personenbeschreibung wurde mitgeteilt, dass dem Gesuchten ein Glied des rechten kleinen Fingers fehle. Nun wolle der Genannte wohl „sein Glück“ mit dem in Beirut ausgestellten Reisepass versuchen. Überdies werde Schmerl/Zarnekow in Deutschland, Österreich und Jugoslawien wegen verschiedener Straftaten von der Kriminalpolizei gesucht. Dass der Alexandriner Beamte damit den Nagel auf den Kopf getroffen hatte, stellte sich erst später heraus.

Nach weiteren Ausführungen des Bagdader Konsuls Wilhelm Litten (1880-1932) – Litten ist heute noch für seinen Augenzeugenbericht über die Todesmärsche der Armenier aus dem Jahre 1916 bekannt –, hatte der Gesuchte einen deutschen Kaufmann namens Hans Krumpeter in seine Geschäfte involviert. Diesem gegenüber habe er sich als „Graf Walter v. Kalkreuth aus Siegersdorf-Vieselbach“ vorgestellt und ihm „einige tausend Pfund“ in Aussicht gestellt. Mit dem Ansinnen, diese in Zürich abzuheben, habe er das Land am 3. Juli verlassen. 

Wie Konsul Litten weiter ausführte, fiel auch auf „Buchholz‘“ Geschäftspartner Krumpeter kein günstiges Licht. Schon in Teheran habe dieser Schulden angehäuft und die Buchführung über seine Geschäftsführung – er war hier bei einer sowjetischen Firma namens Rustransit tätig – „vernachlässigt“. Man habe ihm in Bagdad eine zweite Chance geben wollen, inbesondere seiner Sprach- und Landeskenntnisse wegen. Krumpeter habe in der Folgezeit die Vertretung mehrerer deutscher Firmen übernommen, darunter die der Chemischen Fabrik E. Merck in Darmstadt. Mit der Zeit habe Krumpeter aber sein zweites Gesicht gezeigt. Briefverkehr sei unbeantwortet geblieben, und er habe sich mit Personen eingelassen, vor denen er von Konsulatsseite ausdrücklich gewarnt worden sei. Darüber hinaus habe er Mitarbeiter wie den genannten Fritz Ströbele unter sklavenartigen Bedingungen auf dem Landgut beschäftigt, ihm nicht nur keinen Lohn bezahlt, sondern ihm auch das vom Konsulat für die Heimreise zur Verfügung gestellte Geld abgeschwatzt. Schließlich habe er Ströbele auch noch den Reisepass entzogen und diesen später an den flüchtigen „Buchholz“ weitergegeben.

Der bezeichnete „Buchholz“ sei nach dessen Ankunft von Krumpeter sofort vereinnahmt worden. So hätten die beiden beim königlichen Gutsverwalter erreicht, dass zusätzliches Land an sie verpachtet wurde. König Faisal I. (1883-1933, reg. 1921-1933) selbst habe „lebhaften Anteil“ an dem Bewirtschaftungsprojekt „Landheim zur Schlanken Linie“ genommen und habe die Ländereien nicht nur besucht, sondern dem vermeintlichen Landwirt „Buchholz“ auch mehrere Audienzen gewährt. 

Glaubt man den Schilderungen Littens, waren die Krumpeter/“Buchholz’schen“ Ländereien in der Folge zum Ausflugsziel der Bagdader deutschen Kolonie geworden. Aufgrund der von den Geschäftspartnern prophezeiten hohen Gewinne zeigten sich viele Deutsche beindruckt und beteiligten sich auch finanziell am Bewirtschaftungsprojekt. Darüber hinaus versorgte die deutsche Kolonie den arbeitsamen „Buchholz“ mit allerhand Naturalien.

Erste Bedenken seien ihm, dem Konsul jedoch gekommen, als „Buchholz“ den als Gegenleistung für einen Vorschuss zur Aufsicht erhaltenen deutschen Kriegsgräberfriedhof ohne Not unter Wasser setzte und somit erheblichen Schaden anrichtete. Das Konsulat habe die Kosten zur Wiederherstellung übernommen. „Buchholz“ habe infolge von Krankheit nicht zum Hergang befragt werden können. Er sei vom Landgut in das Stadthaus der Krumpeters gezogen und habe sich pflegen lassen. 

Weitere Ungereimtheiten folgten: Bei einem polnischen Arzt, in dessen Haus sich „Buchholz“ für einen Tag zu Untersuchungen befand, wurden „Buchholz“ angeblich 20 Mark vom einheimischen Hauspersonal gestohlen. Erzürnt habe „Buchholz“ vom Arzt den Ersatz des Geldes verlangt und erhalten. Am selben Tag seien dem Arzt 250 Mark gestohlen worden, wofür ebenfalls das irakische Hauspersonal verantwortlich gemacht wurde. 

„Buchholz“ wurde immer dreister: Wenig später wurde er bei Litten vorstellig und verlangte ein Darlehen von 300 Mark, weil die Heuschrecken auf seinen Feldern säßen und die Arbeiter infolge ausbleibender Lohnzahlungen streikten. Krumpeter sei ihm gegenüber im Zahlungsrückstand. Trotz großer Bedenken gewährte Konsul Litten das zum 1. Juli zahlbare Darlehen, weil er sich nicht nachsagen lassen wollte, er habe aus „Hartherzigkeit den Untergang dieses Unternehmens durch Heuschreckenfras [sic]“ verursacht.

Auch bei Littens Frau versuchte der Betrüger sein Glück: Ihr lieferte er ein Brot und behauptete, nun eine Landbäckerei eröffnet zu haben. Sie solle mehrere Bestellungen aufgeben und – selbstverständlich – im Voraus zahlen. Auch bei den englischen Frauen solle sie für seine Bäckerei werben. Weil die Frau weder zahlte noch Werbung für die Bäckerei machte, wurde es plötzlich still um das angebliche Bäckerei-Projekt.

Die Maske des „Buchholz“ fiel Anfang Juni, als der Konsul von der Beschäftigung des Ströbele auf dem Landgut erfuhr und als Reaktion darauf zunächst Ströbele, dann „Buchholz“ ins Konsulat zitierte. Bei dieser Gelegenheit gab „Buchholz“ zu, nicht der Betreffende zu sein und tischte dem Konsul seine „Kalkreuth-Fememörder-Geschichte“ auf. Er müsse noch eine Amnestie abwarten, dann könne er reinen Tisch machen und alle Ungereimtheiten erläutern.

Obwohl Litten zu erkennen gab, dass eine solche Masche der von Hochstaplern entspreche, schritt er nicht sofort zur Tat. Der Konsul fürchtete um das gute Verhältnis zu König Faisal, wenn herauskäme, dass „Kalkreuth“ nach irakischem Recht mehrfach den Tatbestand von Urkundenfälschung oder Betrug erfüllt hatte. Auch Krumpeter wäre danach ruiniert gewesen. 

Nachdem „Kalkreuth“ dem Konsulat angezeigt hatte, dass er seine Maisernte der deutschen Maisgesetze wegen nicht wie geplant nach Deutschland verkaufen könne, also nicht liquide sei, musste Ströbele, der sein Geld an Krumpeter und „Kalkreuth“ verliehen hatte, am 2. Juli eingestehen, dass er das vom Konsulat erhaltene Darlehen für die Heimreise nicht zurückbezahlen könne. Er habe immer noch kein Gehalt von Krumpeter erhalten. 

Daraufhin riss dem Konsul der Geduldsfaden. Litten machte Ströbele schwere Vorwürfe und zieh ihn als „Heimschaffungsschwindler einer Gaunerbande“. Er wolle in Zukunft weder Ströbele noch „Kalkreuth“ empfangen; diese sollten künftig seinen Vertreter Dr. Brücklmeier aufsuchen. 

„Buchholz“, der im Vorzimmer gewartet und die deutlichen Worte des Konsuls mitgehört hatte, wurde daraufhin bei Brücklmeier vorstellig und beschwerte sich über die Wortwahl des Konsuls. In die Enge getrieben, musste „Kalkreuth“ nun aber daran gelegen sein, das Land auf dem schnellsten Wege zu verlassen. Deshalb erbat er einen Aufschub von 20 Tagen, in denen er alle ausstehenden Zahlungen begleichen wollte. Diese Bitte wurde ihm gewährt.

Dieses großzügige, nach der bekannten Vorgeschichte aber reichlich naive Zugeständnis des Konsulats wusste „Kalkreuth“ zu nutzen – über Nacht verschwand er aus Bagdad. Krumpeter hatte die Flucht vorbereitet und ihm die Ausweispapiere Ströbeles zur Verfügung gestellt. Der Plan sah vor, dass sich die beiden Geschäftspartner zwei Wochen später in Zürich treffen wollten, um ihre finanziellen Angelegenheiten zu lösen.

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte der zwielichtige Krumpeter noch nicht verstanden, dass er selbst auch Opfer des Betrügers geworden war. Denn nachdem die Flucht des „Grafen“ bekannt geworden war, verweigerte sich Krumpeter zunächst jeglicher Kooperation mit dem Konsulat, in dem er auf ein Schweigegelübde verwies, das er dem „Grafen von Kalkreuth“ gegeben hatte. Er wollte den mit „Kalkreuth“ geschlossenen Vertrag, der ihn vermeintlich seiner Schulden entledigt hätte, nicht gefährden. Erst als Litten Fotos des Betrügers aus Alexandria präsentierte, stellte Krumpeter am 18. Juli 1930 Strafantrag gegen „Buchholz/Kalkreuth“.

Inzwischen war herausgekommen, dass der Flüchtige auch bei seinem Kurzaufenthalt in Beirut einen Betrug verursacht hatte, und von dort aus nach Damaskus gereist war. Zusammen mit einem ungarischen Fälscher namens Zoltan Silbermann hatte er im Hotel Imperial ein Empfehlungsschreiben mit der gefälschten Unterschrift des Konsuls Litten für „Graf v. Kalkreuth“ entworfen und war damit erneut auf Suche nach Opfern gegangen. Zwei deutsche Lastwagenfahrer, die „Kalkreuth“ in Damaskus um Geldvorschuss gebeten hatte, hatten dieses Papier, sowie eine Ausfertigung des Vertrags mit Krumpeter konfisziert und nach Bagdad gebracht. 

Zu den weiteren Aliasnamen, die „Kalkreuth“ verwendet hatte, gehörten „Walter Ulmerl“, „Boris Romanoff“ und „Count von Ehrenreich“. Inzwischen war er als „Hermann Schanz“ in Aleppo unterwegs. Die Ausweispapiere hatte er einem hilfsbereiten deutschen Techniker, der ihn sogar in seiner Wohnung übernachten hatte lassen, entwendet.

Der Beiruter Konsulatssekretär schrieb daraufhin am 1. August:

„Es wundert mich sehr, dass man seiner noch nicht habhaft geworden ist, doch hoffe ich zuversichtlich dass es jetzt endlich gelingt und dieser Hauptmann von Köpenick seiner Strafe zugeführt wird.“

Doch die Sache wurde noch verzwickter: Wie sich aufgrund von „Kalkreuth“ zurückgelassenen Papieren in Bagdad und weiteren Nachforschungen in Haifa herausstellte, ging auch mindestens ein Heiratsschwindel auf das Konto des Betrügers. Demnach hatte der gewandte und einnehmende Mann einer Miriam Rosenberg die Ehe versprochen, eine Krankenschwester namens Hilde Hochwald hatte sich in Haifa in ihn verliebt und litt noch unter der Trennung. 

Verbindungen des falschen Buchholz nach Erfurt konnten anhand der Bagdader Hinterlassenschaften ebenso festgestellt werden wie die Identität des echten Buchholz, der den Verlust seines Reisepasses in Haifa erst einige Monate später bemerkt hatte. Mittlerweile sickerte auch durch, dass der Name in der vom Betrüger verwendeten Version überhaupt nicht existierte, sondern nur mit „ck“ (Kalckreuth).

Auch der wahre Name des Betrügers konnte nun zweifelsfrei zugeordnet werden. Dieser lautete Walter Schmerl, geboren am 15. April 1896 in Erfurt. 1915 fahnenflüchtig geworden, war er erstmals im Jahre 1916 unter dem Aliasnamen Karl von Törne in Bad Harzburg aufgetreten. In Zagreb war er 1927 wegen Betrugs angeklagt worden. Ein Jahr später hatte er in Elberfeld (Wuppertal) versucht, Unterstützungsgeld zu erschwindeln.

Die nächsten in den Akten vermerkten Notizen vom Flüchtigen kamen im Februar 1931 aus Istanbul, wo Schmerl erneut durch Diebstahl von Papieren eines Erich Mahle auf sich aufmerksam gemacht hatte. Außerdem soll er dort kurzzeitig in Haft gekommen sein, weil ihm die türkischen Behörden Brandstiftung zur Last gelegt hatten. Von dort war er nach Äthiopien entkommen.

Auch wenn die Akten nicht wörtlich von einer erfolgreichen Verhaftung berichten, so lassen die letzten Nachrichten zu diesem komplizierten Fall vom 6. Juni 1932 doch vermuten, dass Schmerls Fortune sich dem Ende neigte: Er war auf einer Dampferfahrt von Djibouti nach Genua schwer an Malaria erkrankt und am 6. Mai am Zielort eingetroffen. Dort habe das Deutsche Generalkonsulat die „weitere Veranlassung“ übernommen.

Damit senkte sich der Vorhang über einen Kriminalfall, der die deutschen Auslandsvertretungen des Nahen Ostens zwei Jahre lang in Atem gehalten hatte.
 

Quelle:

Hochstapler Schmerl-Buchholz, in: Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amtes [PAAA], Konsulat Beirut, Paket 86