Traces of Germany in Lebanon
Kara Ben Nemsi in Quarantine: Karl May Visits Lebanon

Karl May
Karl May | © Anonymous

The most famous protagonist in our selection has to be Karl May (1842-1912), the author of the famous Winnetou and Kara Ben Nemsi adventure novels. May has often been accused of never having seen the landscapes that provide the backdrops for his novels himself, but rather ‘copied’ scientific travel reports and other travel writing. But this is only partly true.

Although May embarked on “adventure journeys without ever leaving his desk [...] with his finger on the map”, as Heike Hartmann notes, at least he visited some of his stories’ settings at an older age. But then he had already written most of his works before he started travelling.

May stopped off in Lebanon twice during his extended tour of the Orient which lasted almost one and a half years. His first impression of Beirut was marred by unfortunate circumstances: after his ship arrived from Port Said in late June 1899, May was placed under quarantine for two weeks at the Port of Beirut due to a plague epidemic – incidentally, the quarantine centre is what gave the modern-day quarter of ‘Qarantina’ its name. This put May’s travel plans ‘on ice’ for the time being. 

Once he was released from quarantine, May stayed at the local Hotel Allemand, the German Inn, and spent his remaining days with short trips in and around Beirut. Two days before leaving for Haifa and still fatigued from the stress of quarantine, he wrote:

“Lebanon, especially in the area around Beirut, is of exceptional beauty, nay excellence. I have studied it for a whole week. That’s how long it took to recover from the hardships of my 12-day quarantine. I had become skinny and feeble.” 

(From a letter from May to Wilhelmine Beibler, 15/07/1899, in: Hans Wollschläger / Ekkehard Bartsch: Karl Mays Orientreise 1899/1900: Dokumentation [Karl May’s Journey to the Orient in 1899/1900: A Documentation], in: Claus Roxin (ed.): Jahrbuch der Karl May Gesellschaft [Karl May Society Yearbook] (1971)) 

Almost a year and many travel highlights later – in the meantime, May had visited Jerusalem, Colombo and Sumatra, among many others – the author visited Lebanon once again. Interrupted by a one-week visit to Damascus, May spent the days from 29 May to 18 June 1900 between Beirut and Baalbek. 

May had already used the ruins of the ancient city, whose size impressed him deeply upon first seeing them in real life, as the setting for an adventure story featuring Kara Ben Nemsi, Hadschi Halef Omar and Lord Lindsay, which the author had woven into in his travel story “From Baghdad to Stamboul”, published in 1892: After a jewel heist in Damascus, the villain Abrahim Mamur flees towards the coast on horseback with the unwitting Lord Lindsay as his companion. The thief carefully avoids the road to Beirut, choosing instead to travel along the mountain pass road by the Barada river near Al-Zabadani. A ‘showdown’ takes place at the ancient city of Baalbek. In an underground tunnel labyrinth, his pursuers, with the local authorities in tow, manage to briefly apprehend the thief and even retrieve the loot. But the thief escapes again using a ruse, reclaims the loot and absconds to Tripoli, where he, just a few minutes before his pursuers arrive, flees onto a ship heading north. And so the case has to be solved later on in Turkey. 

May’s second stay in Lebanon was much less eventful. Travelling with his wife Emma and another German couple, May went on some more trips within the country. May had only good things to say about the inhabitants of Beirut and Mount Lebanon. He took an especial liking to the architecture of Lebanese private residences. Not far from Bikfaya, he visited a silk mill where he watched the people spinning silk from cocoons. He was very pleased when Hotel Saalmüller in Brummana offered him a complimentary lunch. The following quote entered into the fourth part of his travel story “In the Realm of the Silver Lion” in 1903:
 
“Whoever has been to beautiful Brummana in Lebanon at nighttime under the sparkling stars and looked down upon the lights of the Port of Beirut, will never forget these hours for as long as he or she may live.”

(Karl May: Im Reiche des silbernen Löwen, Bd. 4 [In the Realm of the Silver Lion, Vol. 4], in: Karl May’s gesammelte Reiseerzählungen, Bd. 29 [Karl May’s Collected Travel Tales, Vol. 29], Freiburg im Breisgau 1903, p. 3.)

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon Kara ben Nemsi in Quarantäne: Karl May besucht den Libanon

Karl May
Karl May | © Unbekannt

Der bekannteste Protagonist unserer Auswahl ist wohl Karl May (1842-1912), Autor der berühmten Winnetou- und Kara Ben Nemsi-Abenteuerromane. Oft wurde kolportiert, May habe die Landschaften, die seinen Romanen als Kulisse dienten, nie gesehen und stattdessen wissenschaftliche Reisebeschreibungen und andere Reiseliteratur „kopiert“. Dieser Vorwurf stimmt nur zum Teil.

Zwar begab sich May nach Heike Hartmann „ohne den Schreibtisch zu verlassen […] mit dem Finger auf der Landkarte auf Abenteuerreise“, immerhin aber bereiste er manche Schauplätze seiner Romanhandlungen in fortgeschrittenem Alter.  Allerdings hatte er die meisten seiner Werke bereits vor seinen Reisen verfasst.

Zweimal machte May auf seiner ausgedehnten, fast anderthalb Jahre dauernden Orientreise im Libanon Station. Der erste Eindruck von Beirut war freilich kein guter: Nach der Anlandung des Schiffes Ende Juni 1899 wurde May, aus Port Said kommend, wegen einer Pestepidemie knapp zwei Wochen lang am Beiruter Hafen in Quarantäne gesetzt - die ehemalige Quarantäne-Station war übrigens Namensgeberin für das bis heute bestehende Beiruter Stadtviertel „Qarantina“. Mays Reisepläne im Land waren damit erst einmal „auf Eis“ gelegt. 

Aus der Quarantäne entlassen, bezog May im örtlichen Hotel Allemand,  dem Deutschen Hof,  Quartier und unternahm in den verbleibenden Tagen einige kurze Ausflüge in und um Beirut. Noch von den Strapazen der Quarantäne gezeichnet, schrieb er zwei Tage vor seiner Abreise nach Haifa:

„Der Libanon ist grad in der Gegend von Beyrut von wunderbarer Schönheit, ja Großartigkeit. Ich habe ihn eine ganze Woche lang studirt. So lange hat es gedauert, mich von den Entbehrungen der 12-tägigen Quarantaine zu erholen. Ich war ganz mager und kraftlos geworden.“  

(Aus einem Brief Mays an Wilhelmine Beibler, 15.07.1899, in: Hans Wollschläger / Ekkehard Bartsch: Karl Mays Orientreise 1899/1900: Dokumentation, in: Claus Roxin (Hrsg.): Jahrbuch der Karl May Gesellschaft (1971))

Ein knappes Jahr und zahlreiche Reisehöhepunkte später - zwischenzeitlich hatte May u.a. Jerusalem, Colombo und Sumatra bereist - besuchte der Schriftsteller abermals libanesisches Gebiet. Unterbrochen von einem einwöchigen Besuch von Damaskus verbrachte May die Tage zwischen dem 29. Mai und 18. Juni 1900 zwischen Beirut und Baalbek. 

Tatsächlich war die Ruinenstadt, deren Ausmaße May sehr beeindruckten, bereits Schauplatz einer Abenteuerschichte um Kara Ben Nemsi, Hadschi Halef Omar und Lord Lindsay gewesen, die der Autor in seine 1892 erschienenen Reiseerzählung „Von Bagdad nach Stambul“ eingeflochten hatte: Nach einem Juwelenraub in Damaskus entkommt der Bösewicht Abrahim Mamur auf dem Rücken eines Pferdes und als Begleiter des ahnungslosen englischen Lord Lindsay gen Küste. Die Straße nach Beirut vermeidet der Dieb sorgsam und weicht stattdessen lieber auf die Passstraße am Barrada-Fluß bei Zabadani aus. In der Ruinenstadt Baalbek kommt es zum „Showdown“. In einem unterirdischen Tunnellabyrinth können die um einen örtlichen Würdenträger verstärkten Verfolger den Dieb kurzzeitig stellen und ihm die Beute sogar abnehmen. Doch der Dieb entkommt mit einer List, nimmt die Beute ein weiteres Mal an sich und entwischt nach Tripoli, wo er sich, wenige Minuten vor dem Eintreffen seiner Verfolger, auf ein gerade in Richtung Norden ablegendes Schiff flüchtet. So muss der Fall später in der Türkei gelöst werden. 

Mays Reise zweiter Aufenthalt im Libanon verlief weniger abenteuerlich. Zusammen mit seiner Ehefrau Emma und einem befreundeten deutschen Ehepaar, unternahm May einige weitere Ausflüge im Land. Durchweg positiv äußerte sich May über die Bewohner Beiruts und des Libanongebirges. Besonders gefiel ihm die Architektur libanesischer Privathäuser. In der Nähe von Bikfaya besuchte er eine Seidenspinnerei und beobachtete dort das Abspinnen von Cocons. Begeistert war er, als sein Mittagessen im Hotel Saalmüller in Broumanah auf Kosten des Hauses ging. Folgendes Zitat ging 1903 in den vierten Teil seiner Reiseerzählung „Im Reiche des silbernen Löwen“ ein: 
 
„Wer des Nachts unter funkelndem Sternenhimmel […] vom herrlichen Brummana des Libanon hinunter auf die Lichter und den Hafen von Berut [sic] geschaut hat, dem werden diese Stunden lebenslang im Gedächtnisse bleiben.“

(Karl May: Im Reiche des silbernen Löwen, Bd. 4, in: Karl May‘s gesammelte Reiseerzählungen, Bd. 29, Freiburg im Breisgau 1903, S. 3.)