Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Writer: Dr. Pornpun Waitayangkoon
Science on the Screen: Entertaining, Creative, Exciting - and Always Educational

I am honored to have been invited to write about the contribution of the Goethe-Institut to Thai science education and the opportunity to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Goethe-Institut in Thailand in 2020, which reflects the close cooperation between Germany and Thailand. It was in 2005 when the Goethe-Institut initiated the Science Film Festival in Bangkok in collaboration with the Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science and Technology (IPST). At that time, we reached about 5,000 viewers in the greater Bangkok area through the screenings. A successful start for the first edition! Teachers and young audiences were particularly impressed.

In the following years, more connected activities were developed, for example, the Goethe-Institut invited professional filmmakers and science communication experts to organize workshops for prospective young science communicators in Thailand. This positive encouragement has made profound impacts in local production of science education content in the following years. The initiative also gained further key partners in the form of the National Science Museum Thailand (NSM), as well as the National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA), the 20 Science Centers of the Non-Formal Education throughout the country, nanmeebooks Learning Center, CLP Nakhorn Sri Thammarat, Thai Film Archive, TK park, and other agencies.

Today, the Science Film Festival reaches over 20 countries across four continents. I am not exaggerating when I say the festival has become increasingly popular among teachers and students. Science centers, universities, schools, and community learning centers, have helped expand screenings across the globe, meanwhile reaching over half a million visitors annually in Thailand and over one million visitors internationally. Statistically, this reach has made the Science Film Festival the largest event of its kind worldwide and a leading science education initiative in Thailand and the other countries in which it is organized by the Goethe-Institut.

More importantly, the alternative approach to teaching science put forward by projects such as these, in this case the use of science films in combination with hands-on learning activities, has encouraged teachers to embrace exploring non-traditional teaching methodologies. Science subjects often may seem difficult to students and there is a lack of interest in studying basic sciences, which is largely due to the way that science is taught in local schools. The crowded curriculum makes it impossible for educators to teach science as it is supposed to be and to allow students to do practical activities or hands-on experiments. Under these circumstances, some teachers tend to simply run through all the content specified in the curriculum, while both teachers and students are struggling with time allocation and learning resource constraints. The use of educational films in teaching science is therefore regarded as a useful tool for instruction. Science films not only attract students’ interest in science and technology, but also help develop positive attitudes towards science and the environment. Science films also contribute significantly to the students’ imagination and inspire them to be interested in scientific issues.

More recently, the Goethe-Institut has also introduced the Southeast Asian Digital STEM platform or SEADSTEM along with the Science Film Festival. This platform aims to provide quality STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) teaching resources developed by experienced educators from participating countries. The resources can be contextualized and integrated into school curricula as appropriate. The platform also provides an opportunity for dialogue among participating countries to share and exchange expertise and ideas. This is a strategic development in support of STEM education to guide students to future careers in the fields of science and technology. The Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization Regional Center for STEM Education (SEAMEO STEM-ED) is proud to be one of the Goethe-Institut partners to pursue this mission for the regional countries.

These measures demonstrate the valuable contribution and efforts the Goethe-Institut has made to science education and access to knowledge in Thailand and the broader ASEAN region over the past two decades in particular and I look forward to the continued development of these existing projects and future initiatives of the Goethe-Institut in the crucial field of science education cooperation.
 
Dr. Pornpun Waitayangkoon
Former President of IPST and
Center Director of SEAMEO STEM-ED

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Autor: Dr. Pornpun Waitayangkoon
Wissenschaft auf der Leinwand: unterhaltsam, kreativ, spannend – und immer lehrreich

Es ist mir eine Ehre, einen Beitrag über die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts im thailändischen Wissenschaftsbildungsbereich schreiben zu dürfen und das 60-Jahre-Jubiläum des Goethe-Instituts in Thailand zu begehen, das im Jahr 2020 stattfindet. Beides spiegelt die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Thailand wider. Im Jahr 2005 initiierte das Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science and Technology (IPST) das Science Film Festival in Bangkok. Damals erreichten wir mit den Vorführungen rund 5.000 Zuseherinnen und Zuseher im Großraum Bangkok – ein erfolgreicher Start für die erste Ausgabe des Festivals. Lehrerinnen und Lehrer sowie Schülerinnen und Schüler waren begeistert.

In den folgenden Jahren wurden weitere Aktivitäten ins Leben gerufen. So lud das Goethe-Institut beispielsweise professionelle Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher sowie Wissenschaftskommunikations-Expertinnen und Experten ein, Workshops für angehende Wissenschaftskommunikatoren in Thailand zu organisieren. Diese Förderung hat sich in den Folgejahren positiv auf die einheimische Produktion wissenschaftlicher Bildungsinhalte ausgewirkt. Mit dem National Science Museum Thailand (NSM), der National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA), den landesweit 20 Wissenschaftszentren für Weiterbildung, den nanmeebook-Lernzentren, CLP Nakhorn Sri Thammarat, dem Thai Film Archive, TK Park und anderen Einrichtungen gewann die Initiative weitere wichtige Partner.

Heute findet das Science Film Festival in über 20 Ländern auf vier Kontinenten statt. Ich übertreibe nicht, wenn ich sage, dass das Festival bei Lehrerinnen und Lehrern und Schülerinnen und Schülern immer beliebter wird. Wissenschaftszentren, Universitäten, Schulen und kommunale Lernzentren haben es ermöglicht, Filme weltweit zu zeigen. Mittlerweile verzeichnet das Festival im Jahr mehr als eine halbe Million Besucherinnen und Besucher in Thailand und über eine Million Besucherinnen und Besucher weltweit. Statistisch gesehen macht diese Reichweite das Science Film Festival zum größten Event seiner Art weltweit und zu einer führenden Wissenschafts-Bildungsinitiative in Thailand und in den anderen teilnehmenden Ländern.

Noch wichtiger ist, dass dieser alternative Ansatz für den Wissenschaftsunterricht – in diesem Fall die Verwendung von Wissenschaftsfilmen in Kombination mit praktischen Lernaktivitäten – die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer dazu ermutigt, sich mit unkonventionellen Lehrmethoden auseinanderzusetzen. Naturwissenschaftliche Fächer erscheinen den Schülerinnen und Schülern oft schwierig, und es besteht ein mangelndes Interesse am Studium der naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen, was weitgehend auf die Art und Weise zurückzuführen ist, wie die Wissenschaft in den Schulen unterrichtet wird. Der dichte Lehrplan erlaubt es den Pädagoginnen und Pädagogen weder, wissenschaftliche Inhalte so zu unterrichten, wie es sein sollte, noch den Schülerinnen und Schülern praktische Aktivitäten oder Experimente anzubieten. Unter diesen Umständen neigen einige Lehrerinnen und Lehrer dazu, einfach die im Lehrplan vorgegebenen Inhalte durchzunehmen, während sowohl Lehrkräfte als auch Kinder mit der Zeiteinteilung und den begrenzten Lernressourcen kämpfen. Der Einsatz von Lehrfilmen im Wissenschaftsunterricht wird daher als nützliches Instrument verstanden. Wissenschaftsfilme wecken nicht nur das Interesse der Schülerinnen und Schüler an Wissenschaft und Technik, sondern fördern auch eine positive Einstellung gegenüber Wissenschaft und Umwelt. Wissenschaftsfilme regen außerdem in großem Maße die Phantasie der Schülerinnen und Schüler an.

Erst kürzlich hat das Goethe-Institut die Southeast Asian Digital STEM-Plattform oder SEADSTEM parallel zum Science Film Festival ins Leben gerufen. Diese Plattform zielt darauf ab, qualitativ hochwertige Unterrichtsressourcen für den MINT- (Mathe, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften, Technik) Bereich anzubieten, die von erfahrenen Pädagoginnen und Pädagogen aus den teilnehmenden Ländern entwickelt wurden. Die Ressourcen können je nach Bedarf kontextualisiert und in die Lehrpläne der Schulen integriert werden. Die Plattform bietet auch die Möglichkeit zum Dialog zwischen den teilnehmenden Ländern, um Fachwissen und Ideen auszutauschen. Dies ist eine strategische Entwicklung zur Unterstützung der MINT-Ausbildung, um Schülerinnen und Schülern eine Laufbahn in den Bereichen Technologie und Wissenschaft schmackhaft zu machen. Das Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization Regional Center for STEM Education (SEAMEO STEM-ED) ist stolz darauf, einer der Partner des Goethe-Instituts zu sein, die diese Mission für die Länder unserer Region verfolgen.

Diese Maßnahmen zeugen vom Engagement und vom wertvollen Beitrag des Goethe-Instituts zur wissenschaftlichen Bildung und zum Zugang zu Wissen in Thailand und der ganzen ASEAN-Region besonders während der letzten zwanzig Jahre. Ich freue mich auf die Weiterführung dieser bestehenden Projekte und auf zukünftige Initiativen des Goethe-Instituts auf dem wichtigen Gebiet der Zusammenarbeit für wissenschaftliche Bildung.
 
Dr. Pornpun Waitayangkoon
Präsident des IPST a.D. und
Zentrumsdirektor von SEAMEO STEM-ED

Top