Culture

Library Jams Episode 9 at LAPA SIO © Thabang Radebe

Library Jams Episode 9 at LAPA SIO © Thabang Radebe

We promote cultural exchange, education and social discourse

We foster bilateral cultural exchange programs between Germany and South Africa. We initiate film series, exhibitions, concerts, seminars and festivals, always with the goal to facilitate artistic production, reception and reflection involving actors from both countries.

Current Exhibition

The Goethe-Institut is offering South African-based visual artists working in the fields of painting, sculpture, textiles, photography and installation the opportunity to exhibit their work at the institute's premises in the suburb of Parkwood, Johannesburg in 2024.

Emergent Practice: Open exhibition @ Goethe-Institut in Parkmore Johannesburg © GSA and One Way Up Production

Funding for Arts and Culture

With its worldwide calls for proposals and residency programs, the Goethe-Institut opens up a space for new perspectives in which artists and cultural workers can pursue their projects free of economic pressure and establish and deepen lasting contacts.

two african contemporary dancers  

Projects

Popcast

Rock, pop, hiphop, electro: at the beginning of every month we shine our search beacon into the nation’s studios and clubs from Kiel up north to Weilheim way down south. Together with Zündfunk, Bavarian Radio’s scene magazine, we showcase the latest music by riveting off-the-charts bands. Pop made in Germany can also be downloaded here.

Artist: Skee Mask Skee Mask | © Manuel Schuller

Follow us

Kultur

Library Jams Episode 9 at LAPA SIO © Thabang Radebe

Library Jams Episode 9 at LAPA SIO © Thabang Radebe

Wir fördern Kulturaustausch, Bildung und gesellschaftliche Diskurse

Die kulturelle Programmarbeit des Goethe-Instituts Südafrika ist vielfältig und unterstützt ganz unterschiedliche Formen künstlerischen Ausdrucks im Bereich bildende Kunst, Theater, Film, Tanz, Literatur und oraler Kultur.

Aktuelle Ausstellung

Das Goethe-Institut bietet in Südafrika ansässigen bildenden Künstlern aus den Bereichen Malerei, Bildhauerei, Textilien, Fotografie und Installation die Möglichkeit, ihre Werke im Jahr 2024 in den Räumlichkeiten des Instituts im Vorort Parkwood, Johannesburg auszustellen.

Senses: Open exhibition gallery opening event @ Goethe-Institut in Parkmore Johannesburg © Thabang Taukobong

Finanzierung von Kunst und Kultur

Mit seinen weltweiten Ausschreibungen und Residenzprogrammen eröffnet das Goethe-Institut einen Raum für neue Perspektiven, in dem Künstler und Kulturschaffende frei von wirtschaftlichem Druck ihre Projekte verfolgen und nachhaltige Kontakte knüpfen und vertiefen können.

zwei afrikanische zeitgenössische Tänzer   

Projekte

Popcast

Rock, Pop, Hip-Hop, Electro: jeder Monat beginnt mit einem Schlaglicht auf die Studios und Clubs zwischen Kiel und Weilheim. Gemeinsam mit Zündfunk, dem Szenemagazin des Bayerischen Rundfunks, präsentieren wir Neues abseits der Charts. Qualitäts-Pop made in Germany, auch im Abo zum Herunterladen.

Animiertes DJ Mischpult © Goethe-Institut | Illustration: DOON 東

Das könnte sie interessieren

Folgen Sie uns