Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Enter Africa
© Incubate Video

Enter Africa
Can Games Make a better Future?

We are convinced they can! And that is what the project Enter Africa is all about. It encourages young people in Sub-Saharan Africa to use game thinking as a tool to address everyday challenges.

 

A creative African network


Enter Africa is a creative African network represented in 15 African countries, initiated by 15 Goethe-Instituts in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Interdisciplinary teams including architects, urban planners, IT experts and artists in 15 African cities came together to develop 15 location-based games for smartphones and one analogue mega-game, thereby addressing challenges of urban transformation, borderlessness and Africa's past, present and future.

This process has generated a network of creative, innovative, young professionals across the African continent – the Enter Africa Community. Together, we use games and game thinking to realize our visions for Africa’s future.

Enter Africa involves many partners – game design and gamification experts and organizations from different African countries as well as Europe.

The location-based games and the megagame had been launched in August 2019 and had been showcased on different occasions across the African continent and the gaming fairs A Maze and Gamescom in Germany. All games are available on our homepage!
 
 

Location-Based Games Banner © Brook Getachew

Location-Based Games

Interdisciplinary teams including architects, urban planners, IT experts and artists in 15 African cities create location-based games – playable on mobile phones. The games anticipate our cities’ transformation processes and envision future scenarios: Which challenges for infrastructure, culture and the environment emerge? How can they be experienced and solved in a playful way?

Busara © Steven Tu

The Megagame

Out of these 15 visions, the teams identify joint topics for Sub-Saharan Africa - and create one analogue African game with a focus on borderlessness and the promotion of African cultures.
 


Follow us on Social Media!

Facebook Logo Instagram Logo Twitter Logo

 


News

Enter Africa @rpAccra © Goethe-Institut, Music: © Steerner & Kavela ft. Matthew Steeper - Horizon [Proximity Release]

Enter Africa @rpAccra

Our team from Ghana was part of the re:publica, which took place for the first time on the African continent this year. The team presented and tested their location-based game as well as the megagame with visitors and captured their experiences in this short film. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Call for Applications: Koproduktionsplattform© Steven Tu

Enter Africa
Können Spiele die Zukunft verändern?

Wir sind davon überzeugt. Und darum geht es im Projekt Enter Africa. Es ermutigt junge Menschen in Subsahara-Afrika, Spiele und spielerisches Denken als Werkzeuge zu nutzen, um tägliche Herausforderungen zu meistern.

 

EIN KREATIVES AFRIKANISCHES NETZWERK


Enter Africa ist ein kreatives afrikanisches Netzwerk, das in 15 afrikanischen Ländern vertreten ist und von 15 Goethe-Instituten in Afrika südlich der Sahara initiiert wurde.

Interdisziplinäre Teams aus Architekten, Stadtplanerinnen, IT-Experten und Künstlerinnen aus 15 afrikanischen Großstädten sind zusammen gekommen, um 15 Location-based Games für Smartphones sowie ein analoges Brettspiel zu entwickeln, die sich den Herausforderungen von Stadtentwicklung, Grenzen und letztlich Afrikas Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft widmen. 

In einem Jahr ist so ein Netzwerk kreativer, innovativer, junger Professionals in Subsahara-Afrika entstanden – die Enter Africa Community. Gemeinsam nutzen wir spielerische Ansätze, um unsere Visionen für Afrikas Zukunft zu realisieren.

Enter Africa umfasst zahlreiche Partner – Game Design und Gamification Experten sowie verschiedene Organisationen aus verschiedenen afrikanischen Ländern und Europa.

Die Location-based Games und das Megagame wurden im August 2019 veröffentlicht und zu unterschiedlichen Anlässen in Afrika sowie auf den Spielemessen A Maze und Gamescom in Deutschland präsentiert. Alle Spiele gibt's hier auf unserer Homepage!
 

Location-Based Games Banner © Brook Getachew

Location-Based Games

Interdisziplinäre Teams, die unter anderem aus Architekten, Stadtplanerinnen, IT-Experten und Künstlerinnen bestehen, haben in 15 afrikanischen Ländern location-based Games für Smartphones entwickelt. Die Spiele werfen Zukunftsszenarien unserer Städte auf: Welche Herausforderungen ergeben sich in den nächsten Jahren für Infrastruktur, Kultur und Umwelt? Und wie können Menschen sie auf spielerische Weise erfahren und kreative Lösungen finden?

Busara © Steven Tu

Das Megagame

Aus den 15 Visionen haben die Teams gemeinsame Themen für Subsahara-Afrika identifiziert. In einem analogen Brettspiel, das sie daraus entwickeln, geht es um Grenzenlosigkeit und die Repräsentation afrikanischer Kulturen.


Folgt uns in den Sozialen Medien!


Aktuelles

A MAZE. Berlin © Jens Keiner von flickr

Berlin, Deutschland
Erster Öffentlicher Auftritt von Enter Africa in Europa auf der A Maze. Berlin

Enter Africa präsentiert sich zum ersten Mal auf der europäischen Gaming-Bühne. Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der teilnehmenden afrikanischen Länder werden vom 10. bis zum 13. April das Projekt und den Prozess, die verschiedenen location-based games sowie das Megagame auf der Spielemesse A MAZE. in Berlin vorstellen

Enter Africa @rpAccra © Goethe-Institut, Musik: © Steerner & Kavela ft. Matthew Steeper - Horizon [Proximity Release]

Enter Africa @rpAccra

Unser Team aus Ghana war Teil der re:publica, die in diesem Jahr zum ersten Mal auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent stattgefunden hat. Die Gruppe hat ihr location-based Game sowie das Megagame mit Besucherinnen und Besuchern getested – und ihre Erfahrungen in diesem kurzen Film festgehalten. 

Top