Fatma Aydemir Literature and Representation

Fatma Aydemir
Fatma Aydemir - Makassar International Writer Festival 2018 | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Every year, authors from all over the world meet the people of South Sulawesi at the Makassar International Writers Festival. This time, everything revolves around voices and noise.

Von Fatma Aydemir


The first thing I notice after arriving in Indonesia is the smell of clove cigarettes. Then, the inquisitive young women. Their astute questions, their passion for dialogue. Time after time, I find myself in the middle of a conversation that starts as a warm welcome but soon develop into a discussion about existential questions: how does writing help us with our thought process? What is the healthy foundation of a regional identity? How can state and religion become compatible?

The Makassar International Writers Festival, which I am attending as a guest author from Berlin, opens the door for such conversations. Since 2011, Indonesian and international authors come together with locals in the port city of South Sulawesi every year. The discussions on and off the podium take place on the lush, green grounds of the former Dutch Fort Rotterdam. The atmosphere is casual, the topics range from human rights to feminism and storytelling. “Voice/Noise” is this year’s theme of the festival. It focuses on speaking and listening in times of chaotic noise; on the coexistence of different voices and issues.
 

Fear of Hardliners

The theme is highly topical, as the opening speech of festival director Lily Yulianti Farid reveals. She refers to two political events that encompass the festival program like a bracket. One is the 20-year-anniversary of dictator H. M. Soeharto who for 32 years reigned in Indonesia with an iron hand and was forced to resign from the presidency after a national uprising. Moreover, the presidential elections are due next year, and they fall into a tense period of time. The fear that Islamic hardliners will gain influence is huge. Political Islam experiences a revival, also in Indonesia. The fundamentalists preach a theocracy, where only Muslims can take over political posts. Particularly women and minorities would suffer if the previously tolerant practice of Islam in Indonesia would tilt into the radical. 

Authors like Feby Indirani or Hikmat Darmawan deliberatly try to counter this development. Indirani and Darmawan, with whom I will share the podium, recently started a new movement with the slogan: “Relax, it’s just religion.” “Religion is part of our identity, and it will stay that way. But we have to learn to be more relaxed about it, and not to understand it as compulsion,” Indirani explains. Humor is an important part of daily life, she adds. “It’s not about making fun of religion. But we must have the freedom to make jokes without having these jokes ending in a bloodbath.”

The author who came to the festival from Jakarta, also launches her book “Not Virgin Mary”, a collection of short stories from last year, which has now been translated into English. The stories revolve around the expectation of 72 virgins in paradise, a pig that wants to convert to Islam and covering up with a hijab. When Indirani reads out a surrealist story, in which a woman wearing a niqab wakes up in the morning without her nose, she gradually wraps herself with black veils until, at the end, only her eyes are visible through a slit. This performative element gives the medium short story a unique vehemence. Just like her fictional character, Indirani’s face slowly disappears. Without making a judgment, the author raises important questions.
 

Mainstream from Java

That there is much need for discussion about Islam becomes evident during my reading, which is held before Friday prayers at the University of Makassar. Thus, a lecturer who translates my parts of the discussion from English into Indonesian is suddenly close to tears after a passage from my novel. It talks about the desire of a little girl to wear hot pants. The lecturer reveals that she feels increasingly marginalized by the Muslim community in Makassar because of the way she dresses. The audience, which consists mostly of her own students, looks dejected and empathetic.
Fatma Aydemir Fatma Aydemir - Makassar International Writer Festival 2018 | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Representation must be a controversial topic in Indonesia: 17,000 islands, six (official) religions, 350 years of colonial history – what exactly is mainstream here? “Everything that revolves around Java”, says Jamil Massa. The author grew up in Makassar and during a panel discussion about “History and Tradition in Literature” says that as an adolescent he never found his own environment in Indonesian literature. All stories take place on the island of Java, all authors actually come from there.

Australian children’s book author Leoni Norrington laments a similar situation. She lives in the north of the country, the so-called “bush”, where white inhabitants like herself are numerically outnumbered by the indigenous people. “Nevertheless, Aboriginal children find little possibilities for identification, be it on TV or in literature. And if there are black characters, they are not the heroes of the story.” To change that, Norrington after the age of 50 began to write children’s books that are not set in big cities and not only revolve around white children.

Majorities and minorities, unequal power relations and visibility – these discourses seem to become more urgent all over the world today. Whether or not they can help us to become more tolerant – only time will tell. But, as the festival in Makassar shows, literature has the ability to phrase the urgent questions of society as clearly and sharp as possible. And without questions, we cannot begin with our search for solutions.

Fatma Aydemir Literatur und Repräsentation

Fatma Aydemir
Fatma Aydemir - Makassar International Writer Festival 2018 | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Beim Makassar International Writers Festival treffen jedes Jahr Autorinnen und Autoren aus der ganzen Welt mit den Bewohnern in Süd-Sulawesi zusammen. In diesem Jahr dreht sich alles um Stimmen und Lärm.

Von Fatma Aydemir


Das Erste, was mir bei der Ankunft in Indonesien auffällt, ist der Geruch von Nelkenzigaretten. Das Zweite sind die wissbegierigen jungen Frauen. Ihre scharfsinnigen Fragen, ihre Lust am Dialog. Immer wieder finde ich mich in Gesprächen wieder, die als nette Begrüßung beginnen und sich schon bald in Diskussionen ganz existenzieller Fragen entwickeln: Wie hilft uns das Schreiben beim Denken? Was sind die gesunden Grundlagen für eine regionale Identität? Wie sind Staat und Religion miteinander vereinbar? 

Den Raum für solche Gespräche eröffnet das Makassar International Writers Festival, zu dem ich in diesem Jahr als Gastautorin aus Berlin angereist bin. Seit 2011 kommen in der Hafenstadt von Süd-Sulawesi jährlich indonesische und internationale Autoren mit lokalen Bewohnern zusammen. Die Diskussionen auf und abseits des Podiums erstrecken sich über das grüne Gelände der ehemaligen niederländischen Festung Fort Rotterdam. Die Atmosphäre ist informell, die Themen reichen von Menschenrechten bis Feminismus und Storytelling. „Voice/Noise“ lautet das Motto, unter dem das diesjährige Festival läuft. Es geht um das Sprechen und Zuhören in Zeiten des wirren Lärms. Um das Nebeneinander unterschiedlicher Stimmen und Anliegen.


Furcht vor Hardlinern

Wie aktuell das Motto ist, offenbart die Eröffnungsrede von Festivaldirektorin Lily Yulianti Farid. Sie bezieht sich auf zwei politische Ereignisse, die eine Art Klammer um das Festivalprogramm bilden. So jährt sich gerade zum zwanzigsten Mal der Rücktritt des Diktatoren H. M. Soeharto, der Indonesien 32 Jahre lang mit eiserner Hand regierte und nach einem Volksaufstand sein Amt niederlegen musste. Zudem stehen nächstes Jahr Präsidentschaftswahlen an, die in eine besonders angespannte Zeit fallen. Die Furcht davor, dass islamistische Hardliner an Einfluss gewinnen werden, ist groß. Auch in Indonesien erlebt der politische Islam derzeit einen Aufschwung. Die Fundamentalisten predigen einen Gottesstaat, in dem nur noch Muslime politische Ämter übernehmen sollen. Vor allem Frauen und Minoritäten würden darunter leiden, wenn die bislang tolerante Islampraxis in Indonesien ins Radikale kippt. 

Dieser Entwicklung versuchen Autorinnen und Autoren wie Feby Indirani oder Hikmat Darmawan bewusst entgegenzuwirken. Indirani und Darmawan, mit denen ich gemeinsam ein Podium bestreiten darf, haben gerade eine Bewegung gegründet, mit dem Slogan: „Relax, it's just Religion“. „Religion ist ein Teil unserer Identität, und das wird so bleiben. Aber wir müssen lernen, entspannter mit ihr umzugehen. Sie nicht als Zwang zu begreifen“, erklärt Indirani. Humor sei auch ein wichtiger Teil des Alltags. „Es geht nicht darum, sich über Religion lustig zu machen. Aber wir müssen die Freiheit haben, Späße machen zu können, ohne dass ein Witz in einem Blutbad endet.“ 

Die Autorin, die aus Jakarta angereist ist, stellt beim Festival auch ihr Buch „Not Virgin Mary“ vor, eine Kurzgeschichtensammlung aus dem vergangenen Jahr, das nun in englischer Übersetzung vorliegt. Die Geschichten drehen sich um die Erwartung der 72 Jungfrauen im Paradies, um ein Schwein, das zum Islam konvertieren will, und um Verschleierung. Als Indirani eine surrealistische Geschichte liest, in der eine Niqab-Trägerin eines Morgens aufwacht und keine Nase mehr hat, legt sie sich dabei Schritt für Schritt schwarze Schleier um, bis am Ende nur noch ihre Augen durch einen Schlitz sichtbar sind. Das performative Element verleiht dem Medium Kurzgeschichte eine eigenartige Wucht. So wie das Gesicht der fiktiven Figur verschwindet auch allmählich das von Indirani. Ohne ein Urteil zu fällen, wirft die Autorin wichtige Fragen auf.  

Mainstream von Java

Dass viel Diskussionsbedarf zum Islam besteht, zeigt sich auch bei einer Lesung, die ich vor dem Freitagsgebet an der Universität von Makassar geben darf. So ist eine Dozentin, die meinen Diskussionsteil aus dem Englischen übersetzt, nach einer Textstelle aus meinem Roman plötzlich den Tränen nah. Es geht um die Sehnsucht eines kleinen Mädchens danach, Hotpants tragen zu dürfen. Die Dozentin offenbart, dass sie sich von der muslimischen Community in Makassar zunehmend ausgegrenzt fühlt aufgrund der Art, wie sie sich kleidet. Im Publikum sitzen vor allem ihre eigenen Studentinnen und Studenten, sie zeigen sich bedrückt und empathisch. 
Fatma Aydemir Fatma Aydemir - Makassar International Writer Festival 2018 | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
Repräsentation muss überhaupt ein kontroverses Thema sein in Indonesien: 17.000 Inseln, sechs (offizielle) Religionen, 350 Jahre Kolonialgeschichte – was genau ist hier Mainstream? „Alles, was sich um Java dreht“, meint Jamil Massa. Der Schriftsteller ist in Makassar aufgewachsen und erzählt bei einem Panel über „Geschichte und Tradition in der Literatur“, dass er als Heranwachsender nie seine eigene Lebenswelt in der indonesischen Literatur wiederfand. Alle Erzählung spielten auf Java, alle Autorinnen und Autoren kämen von dort.

Auch die australische Kinderbuchautorin Leoni Norrington beklagt ähnliches. Sie lebt im Norden Australiens, im sogenannten „bush“, wo weiße Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner wie sie zahlenmäßig der indigenen Bevölkerung weit unterliegen. „Trotzdem finden Aborigines-Kinder wenig Identifikationsmöglichkeiten, sei es im Fernsehen, oder in der Literatur. Und wenn es Schwarze Charaktere gibt, dann sind sie nicht die Helden der Geschichte.“ Um das zu ändern, hat Norrington nach ihrem 50. Lebensjahr begonnen Kinderbücher zu schreiben, die nicht in Großstädten spielen und nicht nur von weißen Kindern handeln. 

Mehrheiten und Minderheiten, ungleiche Machtverhältnisse und Sichtbarkeit – diese Diskurse scheinen heute überall auf der Welt dringlicher zu werden. Ob sie uns zu mehr Toleranz verhelfen können oder nicht, werden mit der Zeit erfahren. Literatur aber ist imstande, das zeigt sich in Makassar, die drängenden Fragen der Gesellschaft so klar wie nötig zu formulieren. Und ohne Fragen kann die Suche nach Lösungen nicht beginnen.