German Season | Interview Nicolas Fink | The Universal Language of Music

Nicolas Fink | Rundfunkchor Berlin
© Matthias Heyde

Bernese conductor Nicolas Fink has been permanent assistant conductor at the Berlin Radio Choir since 2010

Was this your first time in Indonesia?

Yes, it was even the first time I travelled to Southeast Asia!

Nicolas Fink - Profil © Magnus Skrede
What were your expectations? How did you imagine Indonesia to be like?

I only knew little about Indonesia and read more about the history of the country in a travel guide. I quickly realized how culturally diverse this country is. That definitely made me curious!

What did you think about the choirs in Indonesia?

Before I came I already watched some videos of Indonesian choirs on YouTube and was amazed by their high quality. But only when I was there, I became fully aware of how dedicated and capable Indonesian people are when it comes to singing.

Did you have the impression that singing in Indonesia plays a different role than in Europe?

I think people in Indonesia are more willing to invest a lot of time in choral singing. To rehearse more than once a week doesn’t seem to be an obstacle here. I also noticed that community plays a huge part, perhaps especially when it comes to high quality aspirations. In Europe, I often see a tendency towards project choirs that come together for a limited time because the singers are fond of the level or the repertoire. The community is not really the main focus – which is a great pity because a choir can only develop its own tonal identity when there is a personal relationship between its members. This is also the case with professional choirs.

How did you perceive the three different cities you visited?

Jakarta is huge, chaotic and wonderful, unless you are in a hurry but are stuck in traffic. Medan left a lasting culinary impression – I am looking forward to having my next durian! Bandung was the greenest city of them and thus the prettiest.

How did you choose the repertoire?

Naturally, there is a focus on the German repertoire, and Brahms is the most obvious choice. But with Schönberg, we wanted to introduce something that is perhaps lesser known in Southeast Asia. The quality of the choirs justifies this rather bold decision. Of course there will also be Indonesian pieces.

Were there any moments during your stay in Indonesia that deeply moved you in particular?

A lot of things in Indonesia work differently than in Europe, our cultures are very different. That’s why I was particularly moved when I realized how much we actually have in common and how there was a deep understanding between us as soon as we started making music together. It makes me very hopeful to have experienced myself how the language of music is truly a universal one.


This interview was first published on the German Season/Nicolas Fink

Deutsche Saison | Interview Nicolas Fink | Die universelle Sprache der Musik

Nicolas Fink | Rundfunkchor Berlin
© Matthias Heyde

Der Berner Dirigent Nicolas Fink ist seit 2010 als Assistent beim Rundfunkchor Berlin

Sind Sie im Rahmen dieser Kooperation das erste Mal nach Indonesien gekommen?

Ja, es war sogar meine erste Reise nach Südostasien!

Nicolas Fink - Profil © Magnus Skrede
Was waren Ihre Erwartungen? Was verbinden Sie mit Indonesien?

Ich wusste bisher sehr wenig über Indonesien und habe mich erst mal in einem Reiseführer etwas über die Geschichte des Landes informiert. Schnell wurde mir bewusst, wie kulturell vielschichtig dieses Land geprägt ist. Das hat meine Neugierde geweckt!

Wie haben Sie die Chöre hier wahrgenommen?

Ich hatte mir im Vorfeld der Reise schon einige Chöre via YouTube angehört, und schon da habe ich über das hohe Niveau gestaunt. Erst vor Ort wurde mir aber bewusst, mit welcher Hingabe und welchem Können die Menschen in Indonesien singen.

Hatten Sie den Eindruck, dass das Singen in Indonesien eine andere Rolle spielt als in Europa?

Ich glaube, dass in Indonesien die Bereitschaft größer ist, Zeit in den Chorgesang zu investieren. Mehr als eine Probe pro Woche scheint hier kein Hindernis zu sein. Auch ist mir aufgefallen, dass die Gemeinschaft eine große Rolle spielt, oder vielleicht auch gerade bei hohem Qualitätsanspruch. In Europa stelle ich öfters eine Tendenz zu Projektchören fest, wo man zeitlich begrenzt zusammenfindet, weil den Sängern das Niveau und/oder das Repertoire besonders zusagt. Die Gemeinschaft steht dabei nicht wirklich im Vordergrund. Das ist schade, denn erst wenn eine persönliche Beziehung gewachsen ist, kann ein Chor auch wirklich eine klangliche Identität entwickeln. Das ist übrigens auch bei Profichören der Fall.

Wie haben Sie die drei Städte wahrgenommen?

Jakarta ist riesig, chaotisch und wunderbar, es sei denn, man hat es im Verkehr eilig. Medan hat kulinarisch einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen - ich freue auf die nächste Durian! Bandung ist so gesehen die schönste, weil grünste Stadt.

Wie haben Sie das Repertoire ausgewählt?

Naturgemäß steht das deutsche Repertoire im Vordergrund, Brahms ist da die offensichtlichste Wahl. Wir wollten aber mit Schönberg etwas in Südostasien vielleicht unbekannteres vorstellen. Die Qualität der Chöre lässt eine solch kühne Wahl auch durchaus zu. Natürlich werden auch indonesische Werke zu hören sein.

Welche Momente haben Sie in Ihrer Arbeit hier in Indonesien besonders berührt und begeistert?

Vieles in Indonesien läuft ganz anders als in Europa, unsere Kulturen sind doch sehr verschieden. Gerade deshalb war ich sehr berührt davon, wie vieles uns verbindet, welches tiefe Verständnis für einander sich einstellt, wenn wir gemeinsam Musik machen. Es stimmt mich sehr hoffnungsvoll, es selbst einmal erleben zu haben, dass die Sprache der Musik tatsächlich universell ist.


Dieses Interview erschien zuerst auf der Webseite der Deutschen Saison/Nicolas Fink