Ayman Nahle
The Film Residency

Ayman Nahle © Ayman Nahle

VITA

Ayman Nahle is a Lebanese filmmaker based in Beirut. He studied film and theater at the Lebanese University, Beirut. He has worked as a director, film editor and director of photography in several film productions. His focus lies in feature and short films, as well as experimental film.
With his latest experimental documentary “Now: End of Season” premiered in 2016 at the Berlin Film Festival forum expanded and was awarded the Think Film Award. The film captures the final moments of preparation by Syrian refugees before their perilous journey across the mediterranean from Turkey to Europe. It touches on subjects of waiting, memory and fear, expressed through visual artefacts.

PROJECTINFO

 Beirut’s hippodrome is one of the landmarks that perpetuate the country’s civil war history and power structures. From this place’s history, its present, the horse race and the people involved in it, the film “Mad Crossings مجنونة تقطع الرين” unfolds as a multilayered work interweaving the war’s audiovisual memory and the reconstruction process that destroyed the pre-war era only to reproduce similar power structures.
 

jurystatement

Ayman Nahle’s project investigates the hippodrome of Beirut as a space, history and symptom of the current political stalemate in the country. Power, money, political influence and geography, all congregate, past and present, around this emblematic spot in the heart of the city, perpetuating the same power relations. The use different types of cameras as well as audio and visual archive will further explore this archeology of the present.
The BAR residency will be extremely beneficial for Ayman to focus solely on his work and have time to think how to pursue and produce his multi layered experimental documentary.

Ayman Nahle
The Film Residency

Ayman Nahle © Ayman Nahle

VITA

Ayman Nahle ist ein libanesischer Filmemacher, der in Beirut lebt und arbeitet. Er hat Film und Theater an der Libanesischen Universität in Beirut studiert. Er arbeitete als Regisseur, Cutter und Kameramann bei mehreren Filmproduktionen. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt im Spiel- und Kurzfilm sowie im Experimentalfilm.
Sein neuester experimenteller Dokumentarfilm Now: End of Season hatte seine Premiere auf dem Berliner Filmfestival im Forum expanded und wurde mit dem Think Film Award ausgezeichnet. Der Film fängt die letzten Momente der Vorbereitung syrischer Flüchtlinge auf ihre gefährliche Fahrt von der Türkei nach Europa über das Mittelmeer ein. Er berührt Themen des Wartens, der Erinnerung und Angst und vergegenständlicht sie in visuellen Artefakten.
 

PROJEKTINFO

Das Hippodrom von Beirut ist eines der Wahrzeichen des Landes, in dem sich die Bürgerkriegsgeschichte und Machtstrukturen des Landes perpetuieren. Ausgehend von der Geschichte und Gegenwart dieses Ortes, vom Pferderennen und den Menschen, die damit zu tun haben, entfaltet sich der Film "Mad Crossings - مجنونة تقطع الرينغ" zu einem vielschichtigen Werk, das das audiovisuelle Gedächtnis des Krieges mit dem Prozess des Wiederaufbaus verwebt, welcher die Vorkriegszeit zerstörte und doch nur wieder ähnliche Machtstrukturen reproduzierte.
 

stellungnahme der jury

Ayman Nahles Projekt erkundet das Beiruter Hippodrom in einer räumlichen und geschichtlichen Perspektive als Symptom der festgefahrenen politischen Lage im Land. Macht, Geld, politischer Einfluss und geographische Lage tun sich in Vergangenheit wie Gegenwart an diesem emblematischen Ort im Herzen der Stadt zusammen, um die immer gleichen Machtverhältnisse zu perpetuieren. Durch die Verwendung verschiedener Kameras und von Audio- und Bildarchivmaterial wird diese Archäologie der Gegenwart noch eingehender ausgelotet.
Die BAR-Residenz wird für Ayman äußerst wertvoll sein, der sich allein auf seine Arbeit konzentrieren kann und Zeit haben wird, darüber nachzudenken, wie sein vielschichtiger experimenteller Dokumentarfilm ausgearbeitet und produziert werden kann.