Leila Basma
The Film Residency

Leila Basma © Leila Basma

VITA

Leila graduated from IESAV with her thesis film Man Is Hunter, which went to a few international film festivals like Aesthetica Short Film Festival, Oldenburg International Film Festival and Montreal World Film Festival. After her graduation, she started working as a freelancer and directed a music video for the Lebanese rock band Nachaz, a TVC for the Beirut Cinema Screening, and manages the creative department of Beirut Cinema Days and the Beirut Cinema Platform. Leila gained experience in many fields like acting, production design, casting, and producing and has worked with different production houses including MBC, Highways productions, Cinemoz and Maizon Pub. She also gave a children's Ciné-club at the Ahliya School. 
Her next step is to pursue a masters degree in Film Directing at FAMU in Prague. 
 

PROJECTINFO

In a small local beach resort located in Tyre (a small town in the south of Lebanon), a young waitress seems to be tired and suffocated as much by the heat of the summer as by her everyday life. Her last day starts by her meeting a handsome young man, who happens to be spending the night at the resort. After a terrifying event in the sea, she ends up feeling very close to the young man, and their romantic journey evolves rather quickly.
He seems to be the perfect way out, until he asks her to go away with him.
 

 
 

jurystatement

With her previous short films, Leila Basma has acquired a personal visual style and identified her thematic concerns. She is now longing to further her experiments and deepen her work with her new short film about the journey of self-discovery of a young woman from Sour.
Leila will greatly benefit from the BAR residency where she can focus solely on her artistic work without any financial burden, encounter and exchange with other artists and filmmakers to enrich her approach and point of view.

Leila Basma
The Film Residency

Leila Basma © Leila Basma

VITA

Leilas Abschlussarbeit am IESAV war der Film Man Is Hunter, der auf einigen internationalen Filmfestivals wie dem Aesthetica Short Film Festival, dem Internationalen Filmfest Oldenburg oder dem Festival des Films du Monde in Montreal gezeigt wurde. Nach ihrem Abschluss begann sie als Freelancerin zu arbeiten, führte die Regie bei einem Musikvideo der libanesischen Rockband Nachaz und einer TV-Werbung für Beirut Cinema Screenings und leitet nun die Kreativabteilung der Beirut Cinema Days und der Beirut Cinema Platform. Leila hat Erfahrung in vielen Bereichen wie Schauspiel, Produktionsgestaltung, Casting und Produktion gesammelt und mit verschiedenen Produktionshäusern wie MBC, Highways productions, Cinemoz und Maizon Pub zusammengearbeitet. Sie leitete auch einen Filmclub für Kinder an der Ahliya-Schule. 
Ihr nächster Schritt ist ein Masterstudium in Filmregie an der FAMU in Prag. 


PROJEKTINFO

In einem kleinen lokalen Badeort in Tyros (einer kleinen Stadt im Süden des Libanon) scheint eine junge Kellnerin an der ermüdenden Hitze des Sommers ebenso wie an ihrem Alltag zu ersticken. Ihr letzter Tag beginnt damit, dass sie einen hübschen jungen Mann trifft, der zufällig die Nacht in der Anlage verbrachte. Nach einem angsteinflößenden Ereignis auf See fühlt sie sich dem jungen Mann sehr nahe und ihre Romanze nimmt schnell an Fahrt auf.
Er scheint der perfekte Ausweg zu sein, bis er sie bittet, mit ihm wegzugehen.
 

Stellungnahme der Jury

Mit ihren bisherigen Kurzfilmen hat sich Leila Basma eine persönliche Bildsprache angeeignet und ihre thematischen Anliegen identifiziert. Nun sehnt sie sich danach, ihre Experimente voranzutreiben und ihre Arbeit mit ihrem neuen Kurzfilm zu vertiefen, einer Entdeckungsreise einer jungen Frau aus Sour zu sich selbst.
Leila wird aus der BAR-Residenz großen Gewinn ziehen, wo sie sich ohne finanzielle Belastungen alleine auf ihre künstlerische Arbeit konzentrieren kann. Begegnung und Austausch mit anderen Künstlern und Filmschaffenden werden ihre Herangehens- und Sichtweise bereichern.