Mohamed Rashad
BACKSTORY – THE FILM RESIDENCY

Rashad Mohamed © Rashad Mohamed

Biography:

Mohamed Rashad is cofounder of Hassala Films. He was born in Egypt and studied cinema at a workshop organized by the Jesuit Cultural Center and the SIMAT Foundation. Mohamed has worked as an assistant director on many independent films and has written and directed two short films: From Afar and Maxim.

In 2016 he directed his first feature documentary Little Eagles and, for the first time, he worked as a producer on the feature documentary The Craft directed by Ramez Youssef. He is currently working on the development of his first fiction feature Wheelchair.
 

Project Info:

For fear of getting arrested by the police for his homosexuality, Mohamed escapes from the city of Cairo and goes to his hometown Alexandria. It is there that he again meets his family - whom he had no relationship for years, only to eventually get murdered by the hands that he thought would protect him.

 

STATEMENT JURY

After recently completing his first feature documentary “Little Eagles”, Rashad has shown great potential as one of Egypt's young emerging filmmakers. His decision to work on his first fiction feature comes at the right time and attending this residency will surely help him take some time off and meet the right people to develop his script to the fullest.

Mohamed Rashad
Backstory – The Film Residency

Rashad Mohamed © Rashad Mohamed

Vita:

Mohamed Rashad ist Mitbegründer von Hassala Films. Er wurde in Ägypten geboren und studierte in einem vom Jesuit Cultural Center und der SIMAT Foundation organisierten Workshop Filmkunst. Er wirkte bei vielen Independent Filmen als Regieassistent mit.  Er ist Autor und Regisseur der zwei Kurzfilme From Afar und Maxim.

2016 beendete er seinen ersten Dokumentarfilm in Spielfilmlänge Little Eagles als Regisseur und wirkte erstmalig als Produzent beim Dokumentarfilm The craft unter der Regie von „Ramez Youssef“ mit. Gegenwärtig arbeitet er an seinem ersten Spielfilm Wheelchair.
 

Projektinfo:

Aus Angst davor, wegen seiner Homosexualität von der Polizei verhaftet zu werden, flieht Mohamed aus Kairo und geht in seine Heimatstadt Alexandria. Dort trifft er auf seine Familie, zu der er jahrelang keinen Kontakt hatte, und riskiert, von der Hand derer getötet zu werden, von denen er sich Hilfe versprochen hatte.

 

Stellungnahme der jury

Nachdem er kürzlich seinen ersten Dokumentarfilm Little Eagles beendet hat, zeigte Rashad ein großes Potential als einer von Ägyptens jungen aufstrebenden Filmemachern. Seine Entscheidung, an seinem ersten Spielfilm zu arbeiten, kommt zum richtigen Zeitpunkt und dieses Stipendium wird ihm sicher helfen, sich ein bisschen freie Zeit zu nehmen und die richtigen Menschen zu treffen, um sein Script bestmöglich zu entwickeln.