Jury | Rania Stephan
Backstory – The Film Residency

Rania Stephan © Photo courtesy of Marwan Tahtah

filmmaker / video artist

Biography

Born in Beirut ,Lebanon, Rania Stephan graduated in Cinema Studies from Latrobe University – Melbourne, Australia and Paris VIII University, France.

Her career in film has been long and diverse. She has worked as production and first assistant with renowned filmmakers as well as camera person and editor with researchers in Social Sciences and Documentarists (Procession of The Captives, Waiting for Abu Zeid, Catherine or The Body of The Passion, Panoptic).

She has directed short and medium length videos, art films and creative documentaries. Anchored in the turbulent reality of her country, her documentaries give a personal perspective to political events. She intertwines raw images with a poetic edge, where chance encounters are captured with compassion and humour. The work on archival material has been an underlying enquiry in her work. Her most recent work investigates forgotten images and sounds that haunt the present. By juxtaposing them with new ones, she explores a diversity of meanings, triggering renewed narratives and emotions. 
 
The Three Disappearances of Soad Hosni is her first feature film (Artist’s Prize: Sharjah Biennale 10 - Renaud Victor Prize: FID MARSEILLE International Cinema Festival – Best Filmmaker Award: Doha Tribecca Film Festival -2011)


Filmography

Tribe (1993)
Attempt at Jealousy (1995)
train-trains (Where’s the Track?) (1999)
Arrest at Manara (2003)
Kimo the Taxi (2003)
Wastelands (2005)
Lebanon/War (2006)
Smoke on the water: 7 X El Hermel (2007)
DAMAGE, for Gaza “The land of Sad Oranges” (2009)
The Three Disappearances of Soad Hosni (2011)
SAMAR YAZBEK INTERVIEWED (2013)
64 Dusks (2013)
Memories for A Private Eye (2015).

Jury | Rania Stephan
Backstory – The Film Residency

Rania Stephan © Photo courtesy of Marwan Tahtah

Filmemacherin / Videokünstlerin

Biografie

Rania Stephan wurde in Beirut, Libanon geboren. Sie erwarb einen Universitätsabschluss in Kino- und Filmkunst  an der Latrobe University -Melbourne, Australien und ein Master an der Université Paris VIII, Frankreich.

Ihre Filmkarriere ist lang und vielseitig. Sie arbeitete als Produktionsleiterin und erste Assistentin mit renommierten Filmemachern sowie als Kamerafrau und Redakteurin mit Sozialwissenschaftlern und Dokumentaristen (Procession of The Captives, Warten auf Abu Zeid, Catherine or The Body of The Passion, Panoptic).

Unter ihrer Regie entstanden kurze und mittellange Videofilme, Kunstfilme und kreative Dokumentarfilme. In der turbulenten Wirklichkeit ihres Landes verankert, zeigen ihre Dokumentationen politische Ereignisse aus einer persönlichen Sicht. Sie vereint auf der Leinwand, wo Zufallsbegegnungen mit Mitgefühl und Humor eingefangen werden, rohe Bilder mit einem Hauch Poesie. Archivmaterial spielte in ihrer Arbeit immer eine wichtige Rolle. Ihr jüngstes Projekt befasst sich mit alten Bildern und Tönen, die uns bis in die Gegenwart verfolgen. Indem sie diese mit neuen zusammenbringt, ergibt sich eine Vielfalt neuer Bedeutungen, die wiederum neue Geschichten und Emotionen auslösen.

The three disappearances of Soad Hosni“ ist ihr erster Spielfilm (Artist's Prize: Sharjah Biennale 10 - Renaud Victor Preis: FID MARSEILLE International Cinema Festival – Beste Regie: Doha Tribecca Film Festival -2011)

Filmografie:

Tribe (1993)
Attempt at Jealousy (1995)
train-trains (Where’s the Track?) (1999)
Arrest at Manara (2003)
Kimo the Taxi (2003)
Wastelands (2005)
Lebanon/War (2006)
Smoke on the water: 7 X El Hermel (2007)
DAMAGE, for Gaza “The land of Sad Oranges” (2009)
The Three Disappearances of Soad Hosni (2011)
SAMAR YAZBEK INTERVIEWED (2013)
64 Dusks (2013)
Memories for A Private Eye (2015).