Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger
The Film Residency

Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger portrait Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger

Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger

VITA

Roser Corella is an Independent Documentary Filmmaker currently based in Berlin. After her degree in Visual Arts at the University of Barcelona, she completed her studies at Städelschule in Frankfurt, and in Cuba at EICTV – International School of Cinema and TV. Roser began her career as video-journalist for TV, but her interest in human stories behind global issues moved her to start self-producing and developing a personal vision within the documentary field.

Florian Klaeger is a filmmaker and editor from Germany. Coming from analog film projections and animation, he holds a diploma in editing and was a master student at Béla Tarrs film.factory in Sarajevo.
He works with a strong collective approach and regularly collaborates with other filmmakers and artists. Projects are mainly produced outside the conventional film and television funds and related to political and pop culture topics. He’s rooted in both, documentary and experimental film, and was able to show his works on various film, music and art festivals around the world.

PROJECTINFO

Domestic workers have become the most vulnerable group of migrant workers in Lebanon, often exposed to exploitation at the hands of their employers and private employment agencies that hire them. While employers remain in impunity, the system of recruitment of these foreign maids hides types of contractual slavery and has become an international problem of human trafficking. A thought-provoking gaze of the exploitative migration and the terrible dilemmas facing women who must choose between earning and caring their own children. The film drives the realities underlying the domestic work that do not address continuing gender inequalities, and all too often rest on the dehumanization of the women who actually provide the care of children and do all the domestic work in the houses of Lebanese families. The protagonists are migrant women who survived the phenomenon of the International Maid Trade, that moves silently like an epidemic through the private homes of Lebanese families. Some of them managed to return to their homeland although with empty-hands; but others stayed in Lebanon to empower other migrant women and fight together for their rights.

Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger
The Film Residency

Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger portrait Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger

Roser Corella & Florian Klaeger

VITA

Roser Corella ist eine unabhängige Dokumentarfilmerin mit Sitz in Berlin. Nach ihrem Abschluss in Bildender Kunst an der Universität Barcelona setzte sie ihr Studium an der Städelschule in Frankfurt und an der kubanischen Internationalen Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen EICTV fort. Roser begann ihre Karriere als Videojournalistin fürs Fernsehen, aber ihr Interesse an den Menschen hinter den globalen Themen veranlasste sie, selbst zu produzieren und im dokumentarischen Bereich eine persönliche Sichtweise zu entwickeln.

Florian Kläger ist ein deutscher Filmemacher und Cutter. Er kommt von der analogen Filmvorführung und dem Animationsfilm her, hat ein Cutter-Diplom und war Meisterschüler in Béla Tarrs film.factory in Sarajevo.
Er arbeitet mit einem stark kollektiven Ansatz und kooperiert regelmäßig mit anderen Filmemachern und Künstlern. Seine Projekte werden hauptsächlich außerhalb der traditionellen Film- und Fernsehfonds produziert und beziehen sich auf politische und popkulturelle Themen. Er ist im Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilm verwurzelt und konnte seine Arbeiten auf verschiedenen Film-, Musik- und Kunstfestivals auf der ganzen Welt zeigen.

PROJEKTINFO

Hausangestellte sind zur verwundbarsten Gruppe von Arbeitsmigranten im Libanon geworden, die oft der Ausbeutung durch ihre Arbeitgeber und private Arbeitsagenturen, von denen sie angestellt werden, ausgesetzt sind. Während die Arbeitgeber weiterhin ungestraft bleiben, verbergen sich hinter dem System der Rekrutierung dieser ausländischen Dienstmädchen verschiedene Arten der Vertragssklaverei und das Problem des internationalen Menschenhandels. Ein nachdenklich stimmender Blick auf die Migration unter Bedingungen der Ausbeutung und auf die schrecklichen Zwangslagen von Frauen, die sich zwischen Geldverdienen und der Pflege ihrer eigenen Kinder entscheiden müssen. Der Film taucht in die Wirklichkeit ein, die der Arbeit der Hausangestellten zugrunde liegt und die fortgesetzte Geschlechterungleichheit nicht nur nicht adressiert, sondern allzu oft auf der Entmenschlichung der Frauen beruht, die sich in den Häusern libanesischer Familien um die Kindererziehung kümmern und die ganze Hausarbeit verrichten. Die Protagonisten sind Migrantinnen, die das Phänomen des internationalen Dienstmädchenhandels überlebt haben, das sich wie eine lautlose Epidemie durch die Privathäuser libanesischer Familien zieht. Einigen ist es gelungen, in ihre Heimatländer zurückzukehren, wenn auch mit leeren Händen; andere aber sind im Libanon geblieben, um andere Migrantinnen zu stärken und zusammen für ihre Rechte zu kämpfen.