Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum
The Film Residency

Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum portrait Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum

Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum

VITA

Sama Waly lives and works in Cairo. She received her MFA in Film, Video, New Media and Animation from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. She is currently directing a short film “Sorry, No Soy Fidel”, as well as her ongoing project, “She wrote, and even skies and mountains too die alone”. Her first feature-length documentary “My Father Looks Like Hassan Fathy” received the Graham Foundation grant (2019) for development and presentation. Since 2011, she has exhibited and published her work in Cairo, Chicago, and internationally. Since 2018, Sama has been training full-time, in several styles of Kung Fu Martial Arts. 

Rodrigo Brum (*1987) is a Brazilian filmmaker, currently based in Cairo. He holds an MA in Philosophy at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ) and an MFA in Film, Video, New Media and Animation at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC). He recently directed his first feature documentary, “Like Someone Who Hears a Very Sad Song” (in post-production), shot in the Cape Verdean archipelago, where he lived for almost a year. In Cairo, he works on his second feature-length, “My Father Looks Like Hassan Fathy”, and is part of the team of Ambient Light, a production company based in Egypt, where he produces the feature documentary “Za’atari Captains” (in post-production), directed by Ali Elarabi, and the documentary “Warda: l’algérienne" (in development), directed by Souheila Battou. His work has been supported by several grants and fellowships, including a MacDowell Fellowship (2017), and more recently the Graham Foundation Grant (2019), among many others. Rodrigo has taught philosophy and filmmaking in institutions in Brazil, United States, Cape Verde, and Egypt, where he worked as a visiting fellow at the Cairo Institute for Liberal Arts and Sciences (CILAS). 

PROJECTINFO

Two filmmakers investigate events that led Egyptian state authorities to demolish the old village of Gourna, built sometime between the sixteenth and eighteenth century on the western bank of the Nile, across from the city of Luxor, above the ancient city of Thebes. Seven thousand Gournese have been relocated to a public housing project, accused of having built their homes atop the ancient tombs on the Theban Necropolis, and subsequently making tomb-raiding an age-old tradition. It has taken the government over a century to free the land for archeological research. An earlier effort to do so, following a scandalous theft of an entire rock carving in 1945, led the Department of Antiquities to commission Hassan Fathy—who would later become Egypt’s most famous architect—to build a model village, to lure the villagers into new modern homes. Fathy is famous as a pioneer in sustainable building and developed a philosophy of “appropriate technology” to resolve the housing crisis in Upper Egypt. The houses were modern, however antimodernist, an ode to traditional building coupled with modern technology. A few months into building, Fathy’s new village flooded and the project halted. The villagers for whom Fathy dreamt to build a better life refused to move and his utopian village remains incomplete to this day. Today, seventy years later, the architect Tarek Waly, a former disciple of Hassan Fathy, dreams of rehabilitating Fathy’s village. Amidst the violent political turmoil in Egypt, the film follows Tarek from Cairo to Luxor as he views vernacular architectural heritage in terms of its poignant deterioration. From the archives of Waly and Fathy, the film reconstructs a disjunct memory of vernacular building traditions gradually disappearing within a craze for an industry of cement and burnt brick in a modernizing nation-state. Faced with the reality of Egypt’s current political and economic challenges the film highlights Waly’s concern if, like Fathy, he too will fail to see his dream materialize?

Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum
The Film Residency

Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum portrait Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum

Sama Waly & Rodrigo Brum

VITA

Sama Waly lebt und arbeitet in Kairo. Sie erhielt ihren M.F.A. in Film, Video, Neue Medien und Animation von der School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Gegenwärtig führt sie Regie beim Kurzfilm „Sorry, No Soy Fidel“ und bei ihrem fortlaufenden Projekt „She wrote, and even skies and mountains too die alone“ (Sie schrieb, und auch Himmel und Berge sterben allein). Ihr erster Dokumentarfilm in Spielfilmlänge „My Father Looks Like Hassan Fathy“ (Mein Vater sieht aus wie Hassan Fathy) erhielt das Stipendium für Entwicklung und Darstellung der Graham Foundation (2019). Seit 2011 präsentiert und veröffentlicht sie ihre Arbeiten in Kairo, Chicago und international. Seit 2018 trainiert Sama in Vollzeit verschiedene Stile der Kung-Fu-Kampfkünste. 

Rodrigo Brum (geb. 1987) ist ein brasilianischer Filmemacher mit Sitz in Kairo. Er hat einen M.A. in Philosophie an der Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ) und einen M.F.A. in Film, Video, Neue Medien und Animation von der School of the Art Institute of Chicago. (SAIC). Jüngst führte er bei seinem ersten Dokumentarfilm (zurzeit in der Postproduktion) Regie, „Like Someone Who Hears a Very Sad Song“ (Wie jemand, der ein sehr trauriges Lied hört). Der Film wurde auf den Kapverden gedreht, wo Rodrigo fast ein Jahr lang lebte. Er arbeitet in Kairo an seinem zweiten Film von Spielfilmlänge „My Father Looks Like Hassan Fathy“ (Mein Vater sieht aus wie Hassan Fathy) und gehört zum Team von Ambient Light, einer in Ägypten ansässigen Produktionsfirma, wo er den Dokumentarfilm „Za'atari Captains“ (in der Postproduktion) unter der Regie von Ali Elarabi produzierte und „Warda: l'algérienne“ (im Entstehen) unter der Regie von Souheila Battou. Seine Arbeit wurde durch verschiedene Beihilfen und Stipendien unterstützt, darunter unter vielem anderen ein MacDowell Fellowship (2017) und zuletzt das Stipendium der Graham  Foundation (2019). Rodrigo lehrte Philosophie und Film an Institutionen in Brasilien, den Vereinigten Staaten, Kap Verde und Ägypten, wo er als Gaststipendiat am Cairo Institute for Liberal Arts and Sciences (CILAS) arbeitete. 

PROJEKTINFO

Zwei Filmemacher untersuchen die Geschehnisse, die die ägyptischen Behörden dazu veranlassten, das alte Dorf Gourna abzureißen. Gourna wurde zwischen dem sechzehnten und achtzehnten Jahrhundert am Westufer des Nils erbaut, gegenüber der Stadt Luxor und oberhalb des alten Theben. Siebentausend Einwohner Gournas mussten in eine Sozialwohnungssiedlung umziehen. Man hatte sie beschuldigt, ihre Häuser auf alten Gräbern der Nekropole von Theben errichtet und von alters her den Brauch der Grabräuberei gepflegt zu haben. Die Regierung sollte über ein halbes Jahrhundert brauchen, um das Land für die archäologische Forschung freizugeben. Nach dem skandalösen Diebstahl einer ganzen Felszeichnung (1945) führte ein erster Versuch dazu, dass das Antikenministerium Hassan Fathy – er sollte später zu Ägyptens berühmtestem Architekten werden – damit beauftragte, ein Modelldorf zu erbauen, um die Dorfbewohner in neue, moderne Häuser zu locken. Fathy ist als Pionier des nachhaltigen Bauens bekannt und entwickelte eine Philosophie der „angemessenen Technologie“, um die Wohnungskrise in Oberägypten zu lösen. Die Häuser waren modern, aber anti-modernistisch, eine Ode an die traditionelle Bauweise, gekoppelt mit moderner Technik. Einige Monate nach Baubeginn wurde Fathys neues Dorf überflutet und das Projekt gestoppt. Die Dorfbewohner, für die Fathy ein besseres Leben hatte bauen wollen, weigerten sich, umzuziehen, und sein Traum, das utopische Dorf bleibt bis heute unvollendet. Siebzig Jahre später träumt Tarek Waly, ein früherer Schüler Hassan Fathys, davon, Fathys Dorf wiederherzustellen. Inmitten der heftigen politischen Unruhen in Ägypten begleitet der Film Tarek von Kairo nach Luxor, während er den schmerzlichen Verfall des einheimischen architektonischen Erbes beobachtet. Mit Materialien aus den Archiven Walys und Fathys rekonstruiert der Film eine doppelte Erinnerung an einheimische Bautraditionen, die allmählich dem Wahn von Zement und gebrannten Ziegeln in einem nach Modernität strebenden Nationalstaat weichen müssen. Angesichts der Realität der aktuellen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen Ägyptens beleuchtet der Film Walys Sorge, dass auch er, wie Fathy, seinen Traum vielleicht nicht wird verwirklichen können.