Zeina Alqahwaji
The Film Residency

Zeina Alqahwaji © Zeina Alqahwaji

VITA

Zeina is a Syrian filmmaker, with a literature academic background. She started to work in documentary film industry in 2010. In 2015 she was granted a scholarship to be part of a master degree program in documentary filmmaking delivered by a consortium of three prominent European universities across three countries: Portugal, Hungary & Belgium. She had accomplished several short films, and now she is working on her first feature-length. 

PROJECTINFO

“What if” is a family portrait, recording moments of the daily life of an old couple filmed over 6 to 7 years of the Syrian war. 
A diary of their struggle while holding on to their place and trying to resist against all the big challenges that taking place outside their doorsteps. 
 

jurystatement

Zeina Al Qahwaji's project is an intimate and sensitive portrait of her parents, who lived in Damascus throughout the tragic events that happened in Syria recently. She has been filming them for the past four years. After finishing her degree in film in Europe, she has now returned to Syria and is ready finalise her project.  It's her first feature documentary.
The Beirut Art Residency would be an ideal place for her to reflect, organise and work on her material, as well as to make important contacts here in Beirut, which will help her complete the work on her film.

Zeina Alqahwaji
The Film Residency

Zeina Alqahwaji © Zeina Alqahwaji

VITA

Zeina ist eine syrische Filmautorin mit einem literaturwissenschaftlichen Hintergrund. 2010 begann sie, in der Dokumentarfilmbranche zu arbeiten. 2015 erhielt sie ein Stipendium für einen Masterstudiengang in Dokumentarfilm, der von einem Verbund dreier renommierter europäischer Universitäten in drei verschiedenen Ländern getragen wird: Portugal, Ungarn und Belgien. Sie hat mehrere Kurzfilme abgeschlossen und arbeitet nun an ihrem ersten Spielfilm. 

PROJEKTINFO

"What if - Was wäre wenn" ist ein Familienporträt, das Alltagsmomente im Leben eines alten Paares festhält, die im Verlauf von 6 oder 7 Jahren während des Kriegs in Syrien aufgenommen wurden. 
Ein Tagebuch ihres Kampfes um die Bewahrung ihres Zuhauses und des Standhaltens gegenüber all den großen Herausforderungen, die sich direkt vor ihrer Haustür abspielen.
 

stellungnahme der jury

Zeina Alqahwajis Projekt ist ein intimes und behutsames Porträt ihrer Eltern, die während der tragischen Ereignisse in Syrien die ganze Zeit in Damaskus lebten. Sie filmt sie seit vielen Jahren. Nach ihrem Filmstudium in Europa ist sie nun nach Syrien zurückgekehrt und bereit, ihr Projekt abzuschließen. Es ist ihr erster langer Dokumentarfilm.
Die Beirut Art Residency ist ein idealer Ort für sie, um ihr Material zu reflektieren, zu organisieren und zu bearbeiten, wie auch, um wichtige Kontakte hier in Beirut zu knüpfen, mit deren Hilfe sie die Arbeit an ihrem Film vollenden kann.