FANTASMEEM Focus
Design in Times of Crisis

Vier Panelisten

“Design is the meeting point between creativity and technology. Who better than designers to transform crises?” asked Gilbert Doumit at the first session of FANTASMEEM Focus on February 5, 2019 where four panelists discussed “Design in Times of Crisis” at Antwork.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the panel began with the recently-published McKinsey report, a sobering appraisal of Lebanon’s indebted economy suggesting quick wins in five areas including the knowledge economy.
Gilbert Doumit Doumit, an activist and managing partner of a regional consulting firm, observed that while the 1,200 word survey recommended investment in creative industries within the knowledge economy, the category barely referenced Lebanon’s booming design industry.
 
It is an oversight that is reflected in Lebanon’s labour laws, Doumit argued, pointing out that current provisions do not provide freelancers with social security. A show of hands suggested that the considerable majority of designers in the audience worked freelance. “Why did the report not suggest extending [social security] to this work force?” he asked.


 Ghassan Salameh, Director of Beirut Design Week 2018 and consultant for the Goethe-Institut, agreed that policies do not typically favour the industry even though last year Lebanon ranked 24th place in the annual World Design Rankings, winning 33 prestigious A’ Design Awards.
 
Ghassan Salameh “When I started my design studio in 2013, I struggled to find anyone to mentor me. All funds were going into the tech industry. There are no public funds for culture projects [in Lebanon] except in limited sectors such as music festivals,” said Salameh.
 
Salameh even experienced this neglect when finding sponsors for Beirut Design Week. “We had to show [sponsors] how design can change a city. In order to convince the municipality of Beirut to be a partner, we didn’t involve them in the planning stage, but approached them only when we could prove we were relevant,” he said.
 
FANTASMEEM aims to help designers overcome these hurdles, Salameh continued, by offering a specialised training programme to up-and-coming designers living in Lebanon. “On a larger scale [FANTASMEEM’S] aim is to create jobs and support the local economy. But participants in FANTASMEEM will exit the program with an action plan. They must be initiators,” he said.

Roula Haidar Proving design’s usefulness to society was considered a key issue for most of the panel members, including Roula Haidar, General Manager of L'Artisan du Liban. “Design must have a purpose. It should bring solutions to people. How dare we limit design to the traditional definition of handicraft?” asked Haidar.
 
Rana Beiruti, Director of Amman Design Week acknowledged that traditional Jordanian craft tends to be well-funded. “Foreign funding is often directed at rural communities where design is mainly craft, which is viewed as something archaic and traditional,” she said.
 
“But what about contemporary craft?” continued Beiruti. “I am a bit sick of the problem-solving approach to design, to be honest. [Problems such as] the water crisis and the refugee crisis can weigh heavily on designers.”
 
Beiruti said that she finds it useful to think of design in terms of venn diagrams. “Yes, design can intersect with tech and art but can also meet with other disciplines,” she argued.

Rana Beiruti For this reason, the third edition of Amman Design Week is about dreams, according to Beiruti. “This year we are absolving designers of the duty to figure out solutions to big problems and giving them the chance to dream of a totally different world,” she said.
 
The panel’s moderator, Liliane Abou Zeki, introduced the panel pointing out that design cannot fix all of Lebanon’s problems. “Design in Times of Crisis’ is a big title. We want to align expectations before we begin,” she said.
 
But the panel was unanimous in its opinion that reform and progress must begin with design.  “The question is not ‘what technique can we use’? Rather the question is ‘in every technique what can we do better’? We must have patience to change it,” said Haidar.

FANTASMEEM Focus Design in Krisenzeiten

Vier Panelisten

"Design ist der Berührungspunkt von Kreativität und Technologie. Wer, wenn nicht ein Designer, kann Krisen transformieren?", fragte Gilbert Doumit auf der ersten Sitzung von FANTASMEEM Focus am 5. Februar 2019, wo vier Podiumsdiskutanten im Antwork über "Design in Krisenzeiten" sprachen.

Es ist vielleicht nicht überraschend, dass die Podiumsdiskussion mit dem kürzlich veröffentlichten McKinsey-Bericht startete, einer ernüchternden Einschätzung der verschuldeten libanesischen Wirtschaft, der andererseits schnelle Erfolge auf fünf Gebieten, darunter der Wissensökonomie, für möglich hielt.
Gilbert Doumit Doumit, ein Aktivist und geschäftsführender Teilhaber eines regionalen Beratungsunternehmens, bemerkte, dass der 1200 Seiten starke Bericht zwar Investitionen in die zur Wissensökonomie gehörende Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft empfahl, aber kaum auf die boomende Designindustrie des Libanon einging.
 
Dieses Übersehen spiegelt sich, so Doumit, in den libanesischen Arbeitsgesetzen wider, deren Bestimmungen Freiberuflern gegenwärtig keine soziale Sicherheit bieten. Eine kurze Umfrage im Publikum ergab per Handzeichen, dass die beträchtliche Mehrheit der Designer freiberuflich arbeitet. "Warum hat der Bericht nicht vorgeschlagen, [die Sozialversicherung] auf diese Arbeitskräfte auszudehnen?", fragte er.
 
Ghassan Salameh, Direktor der Beirut Design Week 2018 und Berater des Goethe-Instituts, stimmte zu, dass die Politik die Branche typischerweise eher vernachlässigt, obwohl der Libanon im letzten Jahr im jährlichen World Design Ranking an 24. Stelle stand und 33 der renommierten A' Design Awards erhielt.
 
Ghassan Salameh "Als ich 2013 mein Designstudio gründete, hatte ich Mühe, jemanden zu finden, der mich betreut. Alle Gelder gingen in die Technologiebranche. Für Kulturprojekte gibt es [im Libanon] keine öffentlichen Mittel, außer in eng umgrenzten Bereichen wie Musikfestivals", sagte Salameh.
 
Salameh erlebte diese Vernachlässigung selbst bei der Suche nach Sponsoren für die Beirut Design Week. "Wir mussten [den Sponsoren] zeigen, wie Design eine Stadt verändern kann. Um die Beiruter Stadtverwaltung davon zu überzeugen, als Partner aufzutreten, haben wir sie nicht in die Planungsphase einbezogen, sondern sie erst dann angesprochen, als wir beweisen konnten, dass wir relevant sind", sagte er.
 
FANTASMEEM möchte Designern dabei helfen, diese Hürden zu überwinden, so Salameh weiter, indem es ein spezielles Ausbildungsprogramm für vielversprechende Nachwuchsdesigner im Libanon anbiete. "Im größeren Maßstab ist es das Ziel [von FANTASMEEM], Jobs zu schaffen und die lokale Wirtschaft zu unterstützen. Jedenfalls werden die Teilnehmer an FANTASMEEM das Programm mit einem Aktionsplan verlassen. Sie müssen Impulsgeber sein", sagte er.

Roula Haidar Die Nützlichkeit des Designs für die Gesellschaft zu beweisen, galt den meisten Diskussionsteilnehmern als Hauptproblem, so auch Roula Haidar, Geschäftsführerin von L'Artisan du Liban. "Design muss einen Zweck haben. Es sollte den Menschen Lösungen bringen. Wie können wir es wagen, Design auf die traditionelle Definition des Handwerks zu beschränken?", fragte Haidar.
 
Rana Beiruti, Direktorin der Amman Design Week, bestätigte, dass traditionelles jordanisches Handwerk in der Regel gut finanziert ist. "Ausländische Gelder gehen oft an ländliche Gemeinschaften, wo Design hauptsächlich Handwerk ist, etwas, das als altertümlich und traditionell angesehen wird", sagte sie.
 
"Aber was ist mit modernem Handwerk? "Um ehrlich zu sein, habe ich es etwas satt, Design in Problemlösungszusammenhängen zu denken. [Probleme wie die] Wasser- und die Flüchtlingskrise können Designern schwer zu schaffen machen."
 
Beiruti sagte, sie fände es nützlich, Design in Form von Venn-Diagrammen zu betrachten. "Ja, Design kann eine Schnittmenge mit Technik und Kunst haben, aber auch mit anderen Disziplinen", so ihr Argument. Rana Beiruti
 
Aus diesem Grund dreht sich laut Beiruti die dritte Ausgabe der Amman Design Week um Träume.  "Dieses Jah entlasten wir die Designer von der Pflicht, Lösungen für große Probleme zu entwickeln und wir geben ihnen Gelegenheit, eine ganz andere Welt zu erträumen", sagte sie.
 
Liliane Abou Zeki, die Moderatorin der Diskussion, eröffnete sie mit dem Hinweis, Design könne nicht alle Probleme des Libanon lösen. "Design in Krisenzeiten ist ein großer Titel. Wir wollen die Erwartungen abgleichen, bevor wir beginnen", sagte sie.
 
Doch die Teilnehmer waren einhellig der Meinung, dass Reform und Fortschritt beim Design beginnen müssen.  "Die Frage ist nicht: 'Welche Technik verwenden wir?' Die Frage ist vielmehr: 'Was können wir in jeder Technik besser machen?' Wir müssen die Geduld haben, etwas zu ändern," sagte Haidar.