Traces of Germany in Lebanon
The Johanniter Hospital in Beirut

Keystone above the entrance to the former German parish house on campus of École Supérieure des Affaires
© Goethe-Institut Libanon

The history of healthcare in Beirut also exhibits connections to Germany. This is because until the end of World War I, the grounds of the modern-day École Superieure des Affaires (ESA) used to be the site of the Johanniter Hospital, which was funded through donations by the Order of St. John and was inaugurated on 7 January 1867.

Between 1871 and 1917 the hospital’s doctors were recruited from the professors of medicine at the Syrian Protestant College, which later became the American University of Beirut. Around 1900, eight deaconesses from Kaiserswerth, supported by local nursing staff, were responsible for the care of about 500 patients per year. The cooperation with the American doctors ended in 1917 when the United States declared war on the German Reich and working together no longer seemed appropriate for political reasons. The president of the Syrian Protestant College, Reverend Bliss, pleaded for a continuation of the joint hospital administration, but the governing body of the Order of St. John decided against it, as the Chancellor of the Order informed the president of the college:

“We too regret the dissolution of the blessed bonds that connected us for many years and lament the events which made this solution necessary, but the way things stand today, we are forced to place our hospital in the hands of a purely German administration and to enact the transition to the new relationship as soon as possible.”
 
(Freiherr von Maltzahn to the President of the Syria Protestant College, Berlin, 25 September 1917, in: AFKSK AKD, box 241)
  • Keystone above the entrance to the former German parish house on campus of École Supérieure des Affaires © Goethe-Institut Libanon
  • Damaged sign of the cross in Maltese style at the entrance to the former parish home © Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Damaged sign of the cross in Maltese style at the entrance to the former parish home
  • Johanniter Hospital 1867 Image courtesy of Fliedner-Cultural Foundation Kaiserswerth
    Johanniter Hospital 1867


After World War I, the Johanniter Hospital fell under French control and was intended to serve as a French army hospital. According to a number of reports, however, the buildings were in very bad condition in 1927 and were most probably not in use. A reopening of the hospital by the Order of St. John was prevented by a lack of funds. 

And so negotiations were struck up regarding the sale of the property of the Order of St. John to the French State and the non-recognition of article 438 of the Treaty of Versailles. The negotiations proved difficult because they would set a precedent for unsolved disputes regarding the property rights of the Sisters of Mercy of St. Borromeo and the Kaiserswerth deaconesses. After hard bargaining, the hospital was sold to France for the equivalent of 32,000 US dollars in October 1929. 

An adjacent building, which now bears the name Villa du Pasteur, i.e. parish house, and is used for visiting scholars at the ESA, still shows traces of its previous users: the arched cornices at the entrance and the windows in the basement feature four heavily damaged different signs of the cross; one of them in the Maltese style. The undamaged keystone of the arch above the entrance bears the nomen sacrum IHS – the abbreviation iota-eta-sigma stands for Jesus. Later on, the former parsonage of the Protestant congregation in Beirut became home to the priests of the Église Protestante Française de Beyrouth, after which it was occasionally used as a kindergarten for the Collège Protestant. There used to be an inscription above the entrance, but the letters have been chiseled away. It may have once read “GOTT GRUESSE DICH” (‘God’s greetings to you’).  
 

Sources:

  • Anstalten der Johanniter in Beirut, in: Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amtes [PAAA], Konsulat Beirut, Paket 32
  • Auslandstationen Beirut, Johanniter-Hospital, in: Archiv der Fliedner-Kulturstiftung Kaiserswerth [AFKSK], Akten der Kaiserswerther Diakonie [AKD], Box 241
  • Catalogue of the Syrian Protestant College, 35th year (1900/01), S. 47f. 
  • Debbas, Fouad: Beyrouth. Notre Mémoire. Promenade Guidée à travers la collection de cartes postales de Fouad Debbas, Beyrouth 1986, S. 128

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon Das Johanniter-Hospital zu Beirut

Schlussstein über dem Eingang zum ehemaligen deutschen Pfarrhaus auf dem Campus der École Supérieure des Affaires
© Goethe-Institut Libanon

Auch die Geschichte der Krankenpflege in Beirut weist Verbindungen nach Deutschland auf. Denn auf dem Gelände der heutigen Ecole Superieure des Affaires (ESA) befand sich bis zum Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs das Johanniter-Hospital, das durch Spenden des evangelischen Johanniter-Ordens finanziert und am 7. Januar 1867 seiner Bestimmung übergeben wurde.

Die Ärzte des Hospitals rekrutierten sich von 1871 bis 1917 aus Medizinprofessoren des Syrian Protestant College, der späteren American University Beirut. Um 1900 waren acht Kaiserswerther Diakonissen, die von einheimischem Pflegepersonal unterstützt wurden, für die Pflege der damals etwa 500 Patienten pro Jahr zuständig. Die Kooperation mit US-amerikanischen Ärzten kam 1917 zum Ende, als die Vereinigten Staaten dem Deutschen Kaiserreich den Krieg erklärten und eine gemeinsame Arbeit aus politischen Gründen nicht mehr opportun erschien. Obwohl der Präsident des Syrian Protestant College, Reverend Bliss, für eine Fortsetzung der gemeinsamen Krankenhaus-Verwaltung plädierte, entschied sich die Regierung des Johanniter-Ordens dagegen, wie der Kanzler des Johanniterordens dem Präsidenten des College mitteilte:

„Mit Ihnen bedauern wir die Lösung der seit langen Jahren segensreich bestandenen Verbindung und beklagen die Ereignisse welche diese Lösung notwendig gemacht haben, wie aber die Sachen heute einmal liegen, sind wir gezwungen, unser Hospital in ausschließlich deutsche Verwaltung zu nehmen und die Überführung in das neue Verhältnis sobald als möglich ins Werk zu setzen.“

(Freiherr von Maltzahn an den Präsidenten des Syria Protestant College, Berlin, 25. September 1917, in: AFKSK AKD, Box 241)
 
  • Schlussstein über dem Eingang zum ehemaligen deutschen Pfarrhaus auf dem Campus der École Supérieure des Affaires © Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Schlussstein über dem Eingang zum ehemaligen deutschen Pfarrhaus auf dem Campus der École Supérieure des Affaires
  • Ausgeschlagenes Malteserkreuz am Eingang zum alten Pfarrhaus © Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Ausgeschlagenes Malteserkreuz am Eingang zum alten Pfarrhaus
  • Johanniterhospital 1867 Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Fliedner-Kulturstiftung Kaiserswerth
    Johanniterhospital 1867


Nach dem I. Weltkrieg fiel das Johanniter-Krankenhaus unter französische Aufsicht und sollte als französisches Armee-Hospital dienen. Wie aus mehreren Berichten hervorgeht, befanden sich die Gebäude im Jahre 1927 in sehr schlechtem Zustand und standen vermutlich leer. Eine Wiederinbetriebnahme durch die Johanniter scheiterte an den nötigen finanziellen Mitteln.  

Deshalb begannen Verhandlungen über einen Verkauf des Johanniter-Eigentums an den französischen Staat und die Nichtanerkennung des Art. 438 des „Versailler Vertrags“. Die Verhandlungen gestalteten sich insofern schwierig, als hier ein Präzedenzfall für die ungelösten Fragen des Grundbesitzes der Borromäerinnen und der Kaiserswerther Diakonissen im Raume stand. Nach zähem Ringen wurde das Hospital im Oktober 1929 im Gegenwert von 32.000 US-Dollar von Frankreich gekauft. 

An einem Nebengebäude, das heute den Namen Villa du Pasteur – also Pfarrhaus, trägt, und für Gastdozenten der ESA als Wohngebäude dient, lassen sich noch Spuren der Vornutzer finden: An den Bogensimsen von Eingang und Fenstern im Souterrain sind vier größtenteils beschädigte unterschiedliche Kreuzzeichen zu erkennen;  davon eines in maltesischer Form. Der unbeschädigte Schlussstein des Bogens über dem Eingang trägt das nomen sacrum IHS - die Abkürzung Iota-Eta-Sigma steht für Jesus.  Das ehemalige Pfarrhaus der Evangelischen Gemeinde zu Beirut wurde später von den Pfarrern der Église Protestante Française de Beyrouth bewohnt und diente danach zeitweilig als Kindergarten des Collège Protestant. Über dem Eingang befand sich eine Inschrift, deren Buchstaben ausgemeißelt wurden. Sie könnte einst „GOTT GRUESSE DICH“ gelautet haben.  
 

Quellen:

  • Anstalten der Johanniter in Beirut, in: Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amtes [PAAA], Konsulat Beirut, Paket 32
  • Auslandstationen Beirut, Johanniter-Hospital, in: Archiv der Fliedner-Kulturstiftung Kaiserswerth [AFKSK], Akten der Kaiserswerther Diakonie [AKD], Box 241
  • Catalogue of the Syrian Protestant College, 35th year (1900/01), S. 47f. 
  • Debbas, Fouad: Beyrouth. Notre Mémoire. Promenade Guidée à travers la collection de cartes postales de Fouad Debbas, Beyrouth 1986, S. 128