Traces of Germany in Lebanon Lebanon at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich

1972 Olympic Games in Munich: Silver Medal
© Goethe-Institut Libanon

When Mohamed Khair Tarabulsi boarded the plane to Munich in the summer of 1972, he was at his athletic peak. He had spent the past several weeks building up his strength and endurance and working on his technique. 

The athlete, born in 1950 in Beirut, had already won a number of weightlifting tournaments in Lebanon, Syria and Turkey. The only thing that worried him was the weather in Germany and how it would affect his performance. Mohamed Tarabulsi was afraid of catching a cold. 

The aeroplane with 19 Lebanese athletes on board landed smoothly at Riem, Munich’s former airport, on 14 August 1972. There were no boarding bridges back then. Mohamed and his companions left the plane on foot and headed for the terminal building that had been specially upgraded for the Olympic Games, where, after a routine passport and luggage check, he was given an athlete’s welcome by local volunteers. Mohamed Khair Tarabulsi was relieved: the sun was shining and a pleasant 25 degrees Celsius made the fear of a damp and chilly Germany melt away. 

Along with his fellow delegation members from Lebanon, he moved into one of the two newly constructed olympic villages that would be a temporary home to more than 13,000 athletes from 1 August to 18 September 1972. The new buildings were outfitted with every imaginable luxury available in the 1970s. A note from the Olympic archives contains a message that could have been written by Mohamed Tarabulsi: Peaceful, lots of green, running cold and especially hot water in the showers, modern kitchens, colour TVs and short distances to training and sports facilities. 

Mohamed Tarabulsi was young and ambitious. On the first day after his arrival he already resumed his training. At the opening ceremony on 26 August 1972, he proudly marched into the Olympic Stadium in Munich as part of the Lebanese team. 62,000 people cheered for the athletes. The self-supporting high-arched canopy of the Munich stadium was even more impressive when viewed from the green in the centre. The day before, Mohamed Tarabulsi had joined weightlifters from other countries to admire the Olympic grounds from above, from the observation platform of Munich’s television tower, another recent construction project. 

The atmosphere at the opening ceremony was breathtaking even though Mohamed Tarabulsi hardly understood any of the German-language announcements, but the stadium announcer Joachim Fuchsberger also provided information in English and French. The athletes’ entry march went on for 90 minutes, accompanied by a musical medley of European, Chinese, Arabic, African and South American tunes – played by the big band led by Kurt Edelhagen, who was famous at the time. The games were officially opened by former West German President Gustav Heinemann, the president of the organising committee Willi Daume and IOC President Avery Brundage. The youth welcoming address was given by 3,500 schoolchildren from Munich, accompanied by the Tölz Boys’ Choir. The opening ceremony had a ‘flower power’ theme and was perfectly produced for colour television, which had been introduced in Germany at the beginning of the 1970s. After the raising of the Olympic flag and the lighting of the Olympic flame, 5,000 peace doves flew into the sky to spread the message of harmonic and spectacular games around the world. 

The weightlifting competitions began the day after the opening ceremony. A total of 188 athletes took part, competing in nine weight classes.  Mohamed Tarabulsi had observed his opponents closely: he had paid close attention to their style, how they approached the weights, their breathing technique and the physical potential in their arms, abdomen and legs. He wanted to see how strong the other athletes were in their snatch, clean and jerk, the three traditional techniques in weightlifting. 

Winning the silver medal – news in AL-Hawadeth from September 8th, 1972 Winning the silver medal – news in AL-Hawadeth from September 8th, 1972 | Image courtesy of UMAM Documentation and Research On 30 August 1972, Mohamed Tarabulsi achieved a sensational feat. Lifting a total of 472.5 kilos, he won the middleweight silver medal for Lebanon. He surpassed the Italian Anselmo Silvino by 2.5 kilos and was only beaten by the Bulgarian Yordan Bikov, who managed to lift an additional 12.5 kilos. Mohamed Tarabulsi only just fell short of winning a gold medal. He attempted a snatch of 146.5 kilos, which would have set a new world record, but failed, so the attempt didn’t count in the official scoring. 

The joyful reaction to Mohamed Taraboulsi’s victory was beyond words. The handful of journalists who had flown in from Lebanon were ecstatic. For two days, the young athlete was featured on the front page of every newspaper and was the main story on state television. In 1952, the country had won two medals, but ever since, the Lebanese athletes had returned home empty-handed. Winning silver in Munich was balm for the Lebanese soul. On the evening of his success, he celebrated with a small group of his coaches and staff.  Mohamed Tarabulsi walked around the Olympic Village proudly bearing his medal and was congratulated by athletes from all over the world.

All of a sudden, the relaxed atmosphere, the joy over his success came to an abrupt end: on 5 September 1972, PLO fighters took 11 members of the Israeli delegation hostage in the Olympic Village. In exchange for freeing the hostages, they demanded the release of 232 Palestinians from prison in Israel. Another demand was freedom for the German terrorists Andreas Baader and Ulrike Meinhof as well as the Japanese terrorist Kōzō Okamoto. At first, the games continued despite the hostage situation, but after a number of protests by other athletes and public outcry, they were suspended. The Israeli government, who were brought in immediately, refused any form of negotiations. During a failed rescue attempt by German security forces, all the hostages, five of the terrorists and a police officer were killed. 

The athletes’ living quarters became a high-security area. The games were interrupted, the grounds were sealed hermetically, some athletes were evacuated. There were snipers on the roofs of all the houses. Tanks were called in. How did the PLO fighters get onto the grounds unnoticed? Did they have help from inside the Olympic village? Everyone was under suspicion, including Mohamed Tarabulsi. Had Lebanese athletes helped the PLO fighters? Mohamed Tarabulsi was caught up in the dragnet investigation by the Munich police and German domestic security. For a while now, there had been intelligence linking German terrorists of the Red Army Faction, RAF, to Lebanon. Had the athletes from Lebanon been given any money or simply information, names and addresses to pass on to German RAF fighters? 

Mohamed Tarabulsi was quickly cleared of any suspicions after a brief interrogation by the German police. Tarabulsi put his heart and soul into being an athlete and was just happy to have won a medal. He had never been interested in political activities. But he was afraid that the games would be brought to an end and that his success in Munich would always be overshadowed by terrorism instead of being remembered for the sport. 

But the people responsible in Munich and at the IOC refused to let the 1972 Olympic Games be blackmailed by terrorists. After the bloody end to the hostage situation, the games remained suspended for another day. After a memorial ceremony in the Olympic Stadium, IOC President Avery Brundage recommenced them by declaring, “The games must go on!”.

The atmosphere in the Olympic village turned positive again. Sport and athletic competition, international friendship and the Olympic idea won out over terror and political extremism. Mohamed Tarabulsi also always believed in the power of sports to bring people together. 

The closing ceremony for the Olympic Games was held on 11 September 1972, a day later than originally planned. The athletes and their staff marched into the stadium bearing their flags and lined up in the inner green behind the flags. The atmospheric lighting in the stadium dimmed. Avery Brundage stepped onto the stage. It was the last official appearance by the IOC President who had been in office since 1952 and was set to hand over the reins to the Irishman Lord Killanin. As his final official act, Avery Brundage declared the games in Munich to be over. Many of the athletes had tears in their eyes. The atmosphere was very emotional. Avery Brundage then addressed the audience in German:

Dear people of Munich, your warm and kind hospitality has moved us deeply. We celebrated days of brilliant joy together, and we suffered through the difficult hours of the deepest darkness united as one. The time has come to say goodbye. We shall return home and so we bid you all: Farewell!

After minutes of applause by the athletes and the audience, the lights went out. 85-year-old Avery Brundage returned to the VIP stand. The stadium’s display panel bore the message “Thank you, Avery Brundage”. The Olympic flame was the only source of light at that moment. After a moment of silence, the Olympic flame went out at 8:02 p.m., accompanied by the sounds of a trumpet and kettledrums. All the athletes and visitors stood in memory of the victims of the hostage crisis. 

Mohamed Tarabulsi would often recount this touching moment. At the peak of his athletic career, he became a part of world politics on German soil and part of a ceremony watched live by over a billion people all around the world. He never made it back to Germany.

Reception in Beirut in Az-Zaman from September 18th, 1972 Reception in Beirut in Az-Zaman from September 18th, 1972 | Image courtesy UMAM Documentation and Research
After his return from Munich, he was honoured by the former Lebanese Prime Minister Saeb Salam and was then given the opportunity to work for the fire department. At the end of 1972, Mohamed Tarabulsi succeeded at the World Weightlifting Championships. In 1978 and 1982, he prevailed in the lightweight category at the Asian Games. His friendship with Germany, his memories of Munich always remained strong.  On 1 January 2002, Mohamed Tarabulsi died of cancer. He had hung his silver medal from Germany above his hospital bed.

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon Libanon bei den Olympischen Spielen in München 1972

Olympische Silbermedaille: München 1972
© Goethe-Institut Libanon

Als Muhamad Khair Traboulsi im Sommer 1972 in Beirut das Flugzeug nach München besteigt, fühlt er sich sportlich in Bestform. Mehrere Wochen Kraft- und Ausdauertraining und technische Vorbereitungen liegen hinter ihm. 

Bei Wettkämpfen im Libanon, in Syrien und in der Türkei hatte der 1950 in Beirut geborene Athlet im Gewichtheben mehrfach erste Plätze belegt. Seine einzige Sorge galt dem Wetter in Deutschland und damit verbunden seiner Leistungsfähigkeit. Muhamad Traboulsi hatte Angst vor einer Erkältung. 

Sanft setzte das Flugzeug mit den 19 libanesischen Sportlern am 14. August 1972 am damaligen Flughafen München Riem auf. Fluggastbrücken gab es damals keine. Muhamad und seine Kameraden  gingen zu Fuß vom Flugzeug zum für die Olympischen Spiele herausgeputzten Terminalgebäude, um nach einer kurzen Pass- und Gepäckkontrolle von ehrenamtlichen Helfern als Athlet empfangen zu werden. Muhamad Khair Traboulsi ist erleichtert: die Sonne scheint, angenehme 25 Grad lassen die Angst vor einem nasskalten Deutschland sofort verschwinden. 

Mit den Mitgliedern seiner Delegation aus dem Libanon zieht er in eines der zwei neu errichteten Olympischen Dörfer, die von 1. August bis 18. September 1972 über 13.000 Sportlerinnen und Sportlern eine Heimat auf Zeit geben sollten. Die Neubauten hatten allen für die 1970er Jahre denkbaren Luxus. In einer Notiz im Olympischen Archiv findet sich ein Eintrag, der von Muhamad Traboulsi stammen könnte: Ruhe, viel Grün, fließend kaltes und vor allem warmes Wasser in den Duschen, moderne Küchen, Farbfernseher und kurze Wege zu den Trainings- und Sportstätten. 

Muhamad Traboulsi war jung und ehrgeizig. Bereits einen Tag nach der Ankunft nahm er sein Training wieder auf. Bei der Eröffnung am 26. August 1972 zog er stolz als Teil des libanesischen Teams in das neue Olympiastadion in München ein. 62.000 Menschen jubelten den Sportlerinnen und Sportlern zu. Das freitragende, weit geschwungene Dach des Münchner Stadions war vom Grün in der Mitte aus noch beeindruckender. Am Vortag hatte Muhamed Traboulsi mit Gewichthebern aus anderen Ländern das olympische Gelände von oben, von der Aussichtsplattform des damals ebenfalls neu errichteten Münchner Fernsehturms bewundert. 

Die Stimmung bei der Eröffnung war ergreifend, auch für Muhamad Traboulsi, der von den deutschsprachigen Durchsagen nur sehr wenig verstand, doch der damalige Stadionsprecher Joachim Fuchsberger informierte auch in englischer und französischer Sprache. Über 90 Minuten lang dauerte der Einmarsch der Athleten, begleitet von einem Musikmedley aus europäischen, chinesischen, arabischen, afrikanischen und südamerikanischen Klängen – gespielt von der Bigband des damals bekannten Bandleader Kurt Edelhagen. Offiziell eröffnet wurden die Spiele durch den damaligen Bundespräsidenten Gustav Heinemann, den Präsidenten des Organisationskommittee Willi Daume und den IOC-Chef Avery Brundage. Das Grußwort der Jugend kam von über 3.500 Münchner Schulkindern, begleitet vom Tölzer Knabenchor. Die Eröffnung war  im Stil der „Flower Power“ gehalten und ideal inszeniert für das Farbfernsehen, das Anfang der 1970er Jahre in Deutschland Einzug gehalten hatte. Nach Hissen der Olympischen Flagge und Entzündung des Olympischen Feuers stiegen 5.000 Friedenstauben in die Luft, um der Welt die Botschaft harmonischer und glanzvoller Spiele zu senden. 

Die Wettbewerbe im Gewichtheben begannen gleich am Tag nach der Eröffnungsfeier. Insgesamt 188 Sportler nahmen in neun Gewichtsklassen daran teil.  Muhamad Traboulsi hatte seine Konkurrenten genau beobachtet: Stil, Herangehensweise an die Gewichte, Atemtechnik und Kraftpotential in Armen, Bauch und Beinen hatte er bei seinen Gegnern in Augenschein genommen. Er wollte Rückschlüsse ziehen, wie stark die anderen Sportler im Reißen, Stoßen und Drücken, dem klassischen Dreikampf im Gewichtheben, waren. 

Siegermeldung in der Zeitung AL- Hawadeth vom 8. September 1972 Siegermeldung in der Zeitung AL- Hawadeth vom 8. September 1972 | Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von UMAM Documentation and Research Am 30. August 1972 gelang Muhamad Traboulsi die Sensation. Mit insgesamt 472,5 Kilo holte er im Mittelgewicht für den Libanon die Silbermedaille. Er ließ den Italiener Anselmo Silvino mit 2,5 Kilo hinter sich und musste sich nur dem Bulgaren Yordan Bikov, der nochmals 12,5 Kilo mehr schaffte, geschlagen geben. Knapp hätte Muhamad Traboulsi  sogar Gold holen können. Er versucht sich im Reißen mit 146,5 Kilo, was ein neuer Weltrekord gewesen wäre, scheiterte jedoch, so dass dieser Versuch nicht in die offizielle Wertung mit aufgenommen wurde. 

Die Freude über Muhamad Traboulsis Sieg war unbeschreiblich. Die wenigen aus dem Libanon angereisten Journalisten überschlugen sich. Zwei Tage lang war der junge Sportler auf der Titelseite aller Tageszeitungen und Hauptnachricht im staatlichen Fernsehen. 1952 hatte das Land zwei Medaillen errungen, danach gingen die libanesischen Sportler immer leer aus. Der Gewinn von Silber in München war Balsam für die libanesische Seele. Am Abend des Erfolgs feierte er in kleinem Kreis mit seinen Trainers und Betreuern.  Stolz ging Muhamad Traboulsi mit seiner Medaille im olympischen Dorf spazieren und freute sich über die Glückwünsche vieler anderer Sportler aus aller Herren Länder.

Die entspannte Stimmung, die Freude über den Erfolg kam zu einem jähen Ende: Am 5. September 1972 nahmen PLO-Kämpfer 11 israelische Delegationsmitglieder im olympischen Dorf als Geiseln. Die Geiselnehmer verlangten die Freilassung von 232 Palästinensern aus israelischer Gefangenschaft. Eine weitere Forderung war die Freilassung der deutschen Terroristen Andreas Baader und Ulrike Meinhof sowie des japanischen Terroristen Kozo Okamoto. Zunächst liefen die Spiele trotz Geiselnahme noch weiter, wurden dann aber nach zahlreichen Protesten von Sportlerinnen und Sportlern und der Öffentlichkeit unterbrochen. Die Regierung Israels, die sofort eingeschaltet worden war, lehnte jede Form von Verhandlungen ab. Bei einem Befreiungsversuch der deutschen Sicherheitskräfte kamen alle Geiseln, fünf Terroristen und ein Polizist ums Leben. 

Die Wohnhäuser der Athleten wurden zur Hochsicherheitszone. Die Spiele wurden unterbrochen, das Gelände hermetisch abgeriegelt, einige Athleten evakuiert. Auf den Dächern aller Häuser standen Scharfschützen. Panzerwagen waren aufgefahren. Wie waren die PLO-Attentäter unbemerkt auf das Gelände gekommen? Hatten sie Helfer innerhalb des olympischen Dorfes? Alle waren verdächtig, auch Muhamad Traboulsi. Hatten libanesische Sportler den PLO-Kämpfern geholfen. Muhamad Traboulsi geriet in das Fahndungsraster der Münchner Polizei und des deutschen Verfassungsschutzes. Schon seit längerem kursierten Erkenntnisse über Verbindungen deutscher Terroristen der Roten Armee Fraktion, RAF, in den Libanon. Hatten die Sportler aus dem Libanon etwa Geld oder einfach Informationen, Namen und Adressen für deutsche RAF-Kämpfer im Gepäck? 

Muhamed Traboulsi wurde nach einer kurzen Vernehmung durch die deutsche Polizei Unbedenklichkeit bescheinigt. Traboulsi war Sportler mit Leib und Seele, freute sich über seine Medaille. Politische Aktivitäten waren nie seine Sache gewesen. Doch er hatte Angst, dass die Spiele nun beendet und sein Erfolg in München für immer im Zeichen des Terrors und nicht im Zeichen der sportlichen Leistung stehen werde. 

Doch die Verantwortlichen in München und beim IOC wollten die Olympischen Spiele 1972 nicht unter das Joch von Terroristen stellen. Nach dem blutigen Ende der Geiselnahme blieben die Spiele für einen Tag unterbrochen. Nach einer Trauerfeier im Olympiastadion ließ IOC-Präsident Avery Brundage sie mit dem Satz „The games must go on!“ fortführen.

Die Stimmung im Olympischen Dorf wandte sich wieder zum Positiven. Sport und sportlicher Wettbewerb, internationale Freundschaft und die Olympische Idee hatten über Terror und politischen Extremismus gesiegt. Auch Muhamed Traboulsi glaubte stets an die völkerverbindende Kraft des Sports. 

Die Abschlussfeier der Olympischen Spiele fand am 11. September 1972 statt, einen Tag später als zunächst geplant. Die Athleten und ihre Betreuer sorgen mit ihren Flaggen ins Stadion ein und nahmen im inneren Grün hinter ihren Flaggen Aufstellung. Die Lichtstimmung im Stadion wurde dunkler. Avery Brundage betrat das Podium. Es war der letzte offizielle Auftritt  des seit 1952 amtierenden IOC-Präsidenten, der sein Amt an den Iren Lord Killanin übergab. Als letzte Amtshandlung erklärte Avery Brundage die Spiele in München für beendet. Viele Sportlerinnen und Sportler hatten Tränen in den Augen. Die Stimmung war voll emotionaler Rührung. Avery Brundage richtete sich im Anschluss in deutscher Sprache an das Publikum:

Liebe Münchner, Ihre herzliche und liebenswürdige Gastfreundschaft hat uns tief bewegt. Die Tage der strahlenden Freude haben wir zusammen gefeiert, und die schweren Stunden tiefster Dunkelheit haben wir mit Ihnen gemeinsam ertragen. Die Zeit des Abschieds ist gekommen. Wir kehren in unsere Heimat zurück und rufen Ihnen allen zu: Auf Wiedersehen!

Nach minutenlangem Applaus von Sportlern und Zuschauern erlosch das Licht. Der 85-jährige Avery Brundage ging zur Ehrentribüne zurück. Auf der Anzeigetafel des Stadions stand „Thank you, Avery Brundage“. Das einzige Licht in diesem Moment spendete das Olympische Feuer. Nach einem Moment der Stille erlosch das Olympische Feuer um 20.02 Uhr unter den Klängen einer Trompete und Pauken. Alle Sportlerinnen und Sportler sowie alle Gäste erhoben sich, um den Opfern der Geiselnahme zu gedenken. 

Muhamed Traboulsi berichtete noch oft von diesem berührenden Moment. Auf dem Höhepunkt seiner sportlichen Karriere war er auf deutschem Boden Teil der Weltpolitik und einer Zeremonie geworden, die von über einer Milliarde Menschen weltweit live verfolgt wurde. Zurück nach Deutschland hat er es nie wieder geschafft.

Empfang in Beirut in Az-Zaman vom 18. September 1972 Empfang in Beirut in Az-Zaman vom 18. September 1972 | Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von UMAM Documentation and Research Bei seiner Rückkehr aus München bekam er eine Ehrung von damaligen libanesischen Premier Saeb Salam und im Anschluss die Möglichkeit, einen Job bei der Feuerwehr zu erhalten. Ende 1972 war Muhamed Traboulsi bei den World Championships im Gewichtheben erfolgreich. 1978 und 1982 setzte er sich im Leichtgewicht bei den Asia-Spielen durch. Seine Freundschaft zu Deutschland, seine Erinnerungen an München, blieben ungebrochen.  Am 1. Januar 2002 verstarb Muhamed Traboulsi an den Folgen einer Krebserkrankung. Seine Silber-Medaille aus Deutschland hatte er sich über das  Krankenbett gehängt.