Traces of Germany in Lebanon
Memories of the “Most Famous Promenade in the Middle East” – Bauer Film Projectors in Hamra

Bauer film projectors in front of Metro al-Medina variety theatre
Bauer film projectors in front of Metro al-Medina variety theatre | © Goethe-Institut Libanon

In the year 2002, the Saroulla closed its doors for business once and for all. It had been one of the most popular cinemas in Beirut in the 1960s, but the Lebanese Civil War (1975-1990) and the emergence of huge cinema complexes in its aftermath took a heavy toll on the small cinema. Fewer and fewer guests came. There was no money left for necessary repairs, and so, in the end, the cinema had to shut down. For three years the cinema stood empty until its successor, the "Metro al-Medina" variety theatre and cinema moved in.

“No one had looked after the building in the meantime. Everything was covered in dust and cobwebs”, Mohammed, the technical director of the Metro al-Medina, reminisced. After surveying the run-down auditorium upon his first visit, he went hunting for historical remnants in the basement. “The Saroulla was such a venerable old cinema that I was sure I’d find something exciting in the storeroom.” He was not disappointed. In the farthest corner of the storeroom, between old admission tickets and French and Egyptian film posters, he found four two-metre-sized film projectors manufactured by Bauer. Made in Germany, in Untertürkheim, to be precise – memories of a past, glorious age.     

Before the Lebanese Civil War, Hamra Street was considered the most popular boulevard in all the Middle East and the intellectual heart of Beirut. Artists and intellectuals of all political stripes from all Arabic countries were drawn to Hamra, where they populated the cafes and nightclubs. While Cairo was the undisputed capital of Arabic film production, Beirut was the cinema capital of the Arabic world: in 1960, the average Lebanese went to the cinema 22.5 times – only Hong Kong had a higher attendance rate that year according to UNESCO. There were 14 cinemas on Hamra Street alone, including the infamous Eldorado, the Picadilly and the Versailles. The Saroulla, which was named after the wife of an American film producer, opened its doors in 1961. Lebanese cinemas were famous for their wide selection of films from Egypt, Hollywood and Europe, and for the high quality of their film screenings. When Mohammed found the German film projectors in 2005, many of which still used carbon arc lamps, he discovered that about half of them were still fully functional. 

The Civil War split Beirut into a Muslim part in the west and a Christian part in the east. As a consequence, attendance rates dropped for the cinemas in the Hamra area in West Beirut, while private television sets grew in popularity. Militias occupied some of the cinemas and used their spacious basements as munitions dumps. Today, many of the cinemas in Hamra have vanished. Starbucks, H&M and Nike stores have taken their place. Faceless cinema complexes in huge malls have come to replace the old cinemas in Hamra. Although many of the German projectors Mohammed found in the basement of the Saroulla were still in working order, he still had no use for them. There is no museum in Lebanon dedicated to Beirut’s ‘Golden Age’. But since Mohammed didn’t want to just throw away these memorabilia of the old Beirut or leave them to gather dust in the basement, he decided to set up the projectors in the theatre’s foyer. Here, they draw curious gazes and serve to remind people of the ‘Golden Age’ of cinema culture in Beirut.

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon Bauer Filmprojektoren auf der „berühmteste Flaniermeile des Nahen Ostens“

Bauer Filmprojektoren im Eingangsbereich des Varieté Theaters Metro al-Medina
Bauer Filmprojektoren im Eingangsbereich des Varieté Theaters Metro al-Medina | © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Im Jahr 2002 hatte das Saroulla endültig seine Pforten geschlossen. War es in den 1960ern noch eines der beliebtesten Kinos in Beirut gewesen, so hatten der libanesische Bürgerkrieg (1975-1990) und nach seinem Ende das Entstehen riesiger Kinokomplexe dem kleinen Lichtspielhaus stark zugesetzt. Immer weniger Gäste kamen. Das Geld für notwendige Reparationen fehlte und das Kino musste letztlich schließen. Drei Jahre lang stand das Kino leer, bis sich ein Nachfolger, das Varieté-Theater und Kino „Metro al-Medina“, fand. 

„Niemand hatte sich in der Zwischenzeit um das Gebäude gekümmert. Alles war voller Staub und Spinnweben“, erinnert sich Mohammed, der technische Direktor von Metro al-Medina. Nachdem er bei seinem ersten Besuch den heruntergekommenen Vorführungssaal angeschaut hatte, begab er sich auf Spurensuche in den Keller. „Das Saroulla war ein so altes und traditionsreiches Kino, ich war sicher, dass ich im Lager etwas Spannendes finden würde.“ Er sollte nicht enttäuscht werden. In der hintersten Ecke des Lagers, zwischen Eintrittskarten und alten französischen und ägyptischen Kinopostern, fand er vier zwei Meter große alte Filmprojektoren der Marke Bauer. Made in Germany, in Untertürkheim, um genau zu sein - Erinnerungen an eine vergangene, glorreiche Zeit.     

Vor dem libanesischen Bürgerkrieg galt die Hamra-Straße als die populärste Flaniermeile des Nahen Ostens und als intellektuelles Herz Beiruts. Aus allen arabischen Ländern strömten Künstler und Intellektuelle jeder politischen Couleur nach Hamra, wo sie die Cafés und Nachtclubs bevölkerten. War Kairo auch die unangefochtene Hauptstadt der arabischen Filmproduktion, so war Beirut die Kino-Hauptstadt der arabischen Welt: 1960 besuchte jeder Libanese im Schnitt 22,5 mal ein Kino – nur in Hong Kong wurden in diesem Jahr laut UNESCO mehr Filme geschaut. Alleine auf der Hamra-Straße gab es 14 verschiedene Kinos, darunter das berüchtigte Eldorado, Picadilly und Versailles. Das Saroulla, das nach der Frau eines amerikanischen Filmproduzenten benannt sein soll, eröffnete 1961 seinen Betrieb. Berühmt waren die libanesischen Kinos für ihr breites Spektrum von Filmen aus Ägypten, Hollwood und Europa, als auch für die hohe Qualität der Vorführungen. Als Mohammed 2005 die deutschen Filmprojektoren fand, von denen einige noch mit Kohlebogenlampen liefen, stellte er fest, dass die Hälfte von ihnen noch anstandslos funktionierten. 

Der Bürgerkrieg trennte Beirut in einen muslimischen Teil im Westen und einen christlichen im Osten. Weniger Zuschauer besuchten die im westlichen Hamra gelegenen Kinos und Privat-Fernsehgeräte wurden populärer. Milizen besetzten manche der Kinos und benutzten ihre geräumigen Keller als Munitionslager. Heute sind die vielen Kinos aus Hamra verschwunden. Ihre Plätze haben Starbucks, H&M und Nike-Geschäfte eingenommen. Charakterlose Kinokomplexe in großen Malls sind an die Stelle der alten Kinos in Hamra getreten. Waren die alten deutschen Projektoren, die Mohammed im Keller des Saroulla entdeckte, auch noch teilweise funktionstüchtig, fand er trotzdem keine Verwendung für sie. Im Libanon gibt es kein Museum, das sich der „goldenen Zeit“ Beiruts widmet. Da Mohammed die Erinnerungsstücke an das alte Beirut aber nicht wegwerfen oder weiter im Keller verstauben lassen wollte, beschloss er die Projektoren in den Eingangsbereich des Theaters zu stellen. Hier ziehen sie neugierige Blicke auf sich und erinnern an die „goldene Zeit“ der Kinoszene in Beirut.