Traces of Germany in Lebanon
“Everything Is So Clean It Gleams and Sparkles.” German-run Hotels and Restaurants in Lebanon

Hotel Gassmann in Beirut
Hotel Gassmann in Beirut |

Blaich, Gaßmann, Unger. For anyone with an interest in German traces in Beirut, there’s no getting past these prominent family names, which were known well beyond the confines of the ‘German colony’ in the first half of the 20th century. These three families ran the two best hotels in the city, which were the first stops for many European travellers, one of the reasons being their convenient location. The public rooms of both houses also served as meeting points for the ‘German colony’ before the outbreak of World War I. 

Hotel Allemand – also known as Deutscher Hof (or ‘German Inn’) – used to be located near the old port and was run by the Blaich and Unger families. Café Blaich with its garden was attached to it. In the summer of 1899, the German author Karl May stayed at the Allemand and reported: 

“8 July 1899. Beirut. End of quarantine. Hôtel Allemand Blaich (RT) So you can see how wonderfully and joyfully I live here, I am writing this letter to you on menus, the entire content of which I have heartily indulged in after the hunger I endured during quarantine. The ‘Deutscher Hof’, where I am staying, is my favourite of all the hotels so far. Trusty German innkeepers from the Black Forest. Good food, highest cleanliness. Everything is so clean it gleams and sparkles.” 

Hotel Deutscher Hof in Beirut Hotel Deutscher Hof in Beirut | Probably as a consequence of the German defeat in World War I, the later owner Jakob Unger changed its name from Allemand to Metropole.  We don’t know when exactly his hotel closed down. Today Hotel Unger, as it was popularly known, only exists on historical postcards, as the entire quarter was hit hard by the civil war and was redeveloped during the reconstruction of the inner city. The approximate site of the old hotel is now occupied by a new building, whose ground floor actually hosts a Métropole Brasserie

The other hotel run by Germans was Hotel Gaßmann. The journalist and travel writer Paul Lindenberg, who just like Karl May was residing in Beirut around 1900, wrote,
 
“The chamsin [hot, dry wind], with which we had already become well-acquainted in Cairo, was blowing, the mercury in the thermometer was climbing upwards at almost simian speed, and the snow shining down from the proud peaks of Mount Hebron [he probably meant to write "Mount Hermon", although he was more likely actually referring to the peaks of the Mount Lebanon range] seemed to be the true son in the scorching heat. Five Germans together, so don't you think they would be able to find a shady spot and a cool Bavarian beer with a German compatriot? Only joking! Like so many before us we were treated to a most hospitable welcome by father Gaßmann, in whose quaint, cosy inn the German Society holds its meetings.” 

Hotel Gaßmann, too, is only preserved on historical postcards – it was located not far from the Allemand by the so-called Souk el-Jamil. The German Society is said to have met in the rooms of the Hotel Gaßmann for a time. A postcard retrieved from the clubhouse of the German Society shows another, most likely also defunct building.   

Incidentally, Kaiser Wilhelm never stopped off at either of these hotels during his visit; he preferred to stay on his ship, the MS Hohenzollern, which was moored in the port.

There were at least two German-run inns outside of Beirut:

in its 1907 Palestine and Syria edition, Meyer’s Travel Guide listed a Hotel Allemand in Baalbek run by a Mrs. M. Zapf. The hotel was mentioned some years later in the memoirs of doctor Wilhelm His, who inspected hospitals in Syria during World War I. His was so impressed by the size of the bed bugs at Hotel Zapf that he took a sample for the collection at his clinic. One can safely assume, therefore, that this hotel wasn’t quite as focused on cleanliness. 

Hotel Saalmüller in Broumaneh Hotel Libanon Saalmüller in Brummana was much more widely known. From 1892 to 1952 the hotel, which was renamed twice during that time due to changes in ownership, remained a family-owned business until Wéga Little, née Saalmüller, sold the hotel to Toufic Salamé in 1953. His descendants turned the former hotel building into a private residence.

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon „Alles glänzt und spiegelt vor Reinlichkeit.“

Hotel Gassmann in Beirut
Hotel Gassmann in Beirut |

Blaich, Gaßmann, Unger. Wer sich mit Deutschen Spuren in Beirut befasst, kommt an diesen, in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts über die „Deutsche Kolonie“ hinaus prominenten Familiennamen nicht vorbei. Die genannten drei Familien führten die beiden besten Hotels am Platze, die auch wegen ihrer günstigen Lage erste Übernachtungsadressen europäischer Libanon-Reisender waren. Außerdem dienten die Gaststuben beider Häuser vor dem I. Weltkrieg als Treffpunkte der „Deutschen Kolonie“. 

Das einst in der Nähe des alten Hafens gelegene Hotel Allemand - auch Deutscher Hof genannt - wurde von den Familien Blaich und Unger geführt. Angeschlossen war das Café Blaich mit einem Garten. Im Sommer 1899 logierte der deutsche Schriftsteller Karl May im Allemand und berichtete: 

„8. Juli 1899. Beirut. Ende der Quarantaine. Hôtel Allemand Blaich (RT) Damit Ihr seht, wie herrlich und in Freuden ich hier lebe, schreibe ich Dir diesen Brief auf Speisekarten, welche ich nach der hungerleidenden Quarantaine vollständig abgegessen habe. Der »Deutsche Hof«, in welchem ich wohne, gefällt mir von allen bisherigen Hôtels am besten. Herzensbrave, deutsche Wirthsleute aus dem Schwarzwalde. Gute Küche, größte Sauberkeit. Alles glänzt und spiegelt vor Reinlichkeit.“ 

Hotel Deutscher Hof in Beirut Hotel Deutscher Hof in Beirut | Wohl als Folge der deutschen Niederlage im I. Weltkrieg änderte der spätere Inhaber Jakob Unger den Namen Allemand in Metropole. Wann sein Hotel geschlossen wurde, wissen wir nicht. Heute existiert das im Volksmund auch Hotel Unger genannte Haus nur noch auf historischen Postkarten, denn das gesamte Viertel wurde im Bürgerkrieg schwer getroffen und beim Wiederaufbau der Innenstadt umgestaltet. Etwa auf Höhe des alten Hotels befindet sich heute ein Neubau, in dessen Parterre sogar eine Métropole Brasserie untergebracht ist. 

Das andere von Deutschen geführte Hotel war das Hotel Gaßmann. Der Journalist und Reiseschriftsteller Paul Lindenberg, der wie Karl May um 1900 in Beirut weilte, schrieb:
 
„Der Chamsin [heißer, trockener Wind] wehte, den wir schon in Kairo zur Genüge kennengelernt, das Quecksilber im Thermometer kletterte mit affenartiger Geschwindigkeit empor, und der von den stolzen Häuptern des Hebron [gemeint ist wohl der Hermon; tatsächlich eher die Bergspitzen des Libanon-Gebirges] herunterschimmernde Schnee schien der wahre Sohn zu sein in der sengenden Glut. Fünf Deutsche zusammen, und die sollten nicht ein schattiges Plätzchen und kühles Münchener Bier finden bei einem deutschen Zeitgenossen? Spaß! Und wie viele vor uns fanden auch wir gastliche Aufnahme bei Vater Gaßmann, in dessen altertümlichen, behaglichen Wirtsstuben der Deutsche Verein seine Sitzungen abhält.“ 

Auch an das Hotel Gaßmann erinnern nur historische Ansichtskarten – es befand sich unweit des Allemand am sogenannten Souk el-Djamīl. Der Deutsche Verein soll sich zeitweilig in den Räumen des Hotel Gaßmann getroffen haben. Die vorliegende Postkarte vom Vereinsheim des Deutschen Vereins zeigt aber ein anderes, wohl ebenfalls nicht mehr bestehendes Gebäude.   

Kaiser Wilhelm stieg bei seinem Besuch übrigens in keinem der beiden genannten Hotels ab; er übernachtete lieber auf seiner im Hafen liegenden MS Hohenzollern.

Außerhalb Beiruts gab es mindestens zwei von Deutschen geführte Herbergen:

Meyers Reiseführer nennt in seiner Palästina- und Syrienausgabe von 1907 ein Hotel Allemand in Baalbek, das von einer Frau M. Zapf betrieben werde. Erwähnung fand das Hotel Jahre später in den Erinnerungen des Internisten Wilhelm His, der im Zuge des I. Weltkriegs Lazarette in Syrien inspizierte. His war von der Größe der Bettwanzen im Hotel Zapf derart angetan, dass er ein Exemplar für die Sammlung seiner Klinik mitnahm. Mit Reinlichkeit konnte dieses Hotel also nicht punkten. 

Hotel Saalmüller in Broumaneh Hotel Saalmüller in Broumaneh | Weitaus bekannter war das Hotel Libanon Saalmüller in Broummana. Von 1892 bis 1952 blieb das im Rahmen der Inhaberwechsel zweimal umbenannte Haus  in Familienbesitz, bis Wéga Little geb. Saalmüller das Hotel im Jahre 1953 an Toufic Salamé verkaufte, dessen Nachfahren das ehemalige Hotelanwesen heute als Privatwohnhaus nutzen.