Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Culture

Together with the Foreign Office of the Federal Republic of Germany, with support of the Robert Bosch Stiftung and the S. Fischer Stiftung, the Goethe-Institut announced at short notice in July an international aid fund for cultural institutions that contribute to ensuring pluralistic societies. Out of 440 applications submitted from 75 countries, 140 projects were accepted for funding. In Myanmar, the Wathann Film Festival 2020 and the Myanmar Contemporary Art Online Platform by Myanm/art were selected. The funded projects will run from September to December 2020. We congratulate the applicants!

Arts

Leipzig international art programme © Goethe-Institut

Artist-in-residence
Pazifik - Leipzig

In collaboration with LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) the Goethe-Institute offers artists from Southeast Asia a three-month residency at the Art and Culture Centre Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei.

We will have been young © CCTang_Obscura

We will have been young

An exhibition on youth and future in Southeast Asia, is the result of the Southeast Asian Photography Masterclass by Jörg Brüggemann and Tobias Kruse (Ostkreuz Photographers’ Agency) during the Obscura Festival of Photography 2016 and 2017 in Malaysia. Afterwards it travelled to Germany and Bangkok, then to Yangon.

Music

Sound of X © Goethe-Institut / Photo: Benny Suhendra Panjaitan / Design: Groupe Dejour

Listen Closely
Sound of X

How can we reconnect with the spaces we live in, especially in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic? The artists of Sound of X propose answers as they explored their sonic environment. The resulting video soundscapes offer a unique experience of our cities.

Illustration of a woman and two men with colourful styles Illustration: Tobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut's global cultural calendar
Kulturama.digital

Kulturama brings international culture into your living room: house concerts live from Buenos Aires, puppet theatre from the kitchen or live acts from the Berlin club scene. Organizers enter their events and open them to international audiences. Spectators can find dates and support artists with donations. Together and in solidarity through this time.

Literature

Drawn picture; 2 people sit next to each other, inbetween them plays a radio Tobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

Time to listen


The current situation has forced many people around the world to stay at home and follow the news. In isolation they hear news of a global crisis and threat. As in Boccaccio's “Il Decamerone” and many other myths and books of other cultures, the description of the disaster is followed by stories.

The Goethe project Time to Listen presents a collection of stories - told by storytellers from all genres of art, from all over the world.

We have the time, let's listen and enjoy... And watch out for a storyteller from Bangalore!

Portrait of Anita Nair, Bangalore © Anita Nair

Anita Nair
Encounter with the smuggler

Since her childhood, her father has told her about his travels by train - on one of the shortest railway lines in India. But the narrator never manages to take the train herself. Until she finally gets the assignment of a travel journal - and a trip full of surprises begins, which ends with the encounter with a criminal out of necessity. Should the narrator report him?

Film

Science Film Festival - Sustainable Development Goals © Science Film Festival

Sience Film Festival 2020

The Science Film Festival will take place online between 28 November and 10 December 2020. Please register here to receive the link to the films and the password that enables you to stream the films free of charge. 

Scene from the movie “Buddenbrooks”: The elaborate historical costumes were designed by Barbara Baum, who has been working as a costume designer in the film industry for about 50 years. Photo (detail): © picture alliance/Bavaria Film International/Everett Collection

Film production
Women Behind the Cinematic Scenes

While the public can recite the names of famous German actresses, the women behind the camera often go unrecognised. We introduce ten women from the German film scene everyone should know. 

Filming goes green: the ecological message of many films is now coming true behind the scenes. Photo (detail): © Adobe

A sustainable film industry
The show must go green

Many films and documentaries explore environmental issues or call for a more sustainable lifestyle. Is the industry living up to its own values though, and just how green is German film?

Promotion of Culture

Vibrant Minds © Groupe Dejour

Vibrant Minds

Application deadline: 11:30 a.m., 10 June 2020 (Myanmar time)
The Goethe-Institut is launching a call for participation in a series of workshops for journalistic and social media practitioners that will result in their own productions.

Residence Programs worldwide

With its residence programs, the Goethe-Institut would like to offer a "space for new perspectives" and every year invites artists and creators of culture to live and work for a while in a different country and culture.

Goethe-Institut Photo: Loredana La Rocca

Translation programme

The Goethe-Institut’s grant programme “Translations of German Books into Other Languages” supports non-German publishers in publishing German-language literature.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kultur

Gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, der Unterstützung der Robert Bosch Stiftung und der S. Fischer Stiftung​, hat das Goethe-Institut kurzfristig im Juli einen internationalen Hilfsfond für künstlerische Einrichtungen, die zur Sicherung pluralistischer Gesellschaften beitragen, ausgeschrieben. Unter 440 eingereichten Anträgen aus 75 Ländern wurden 140 Projekte für die Förderung angenommen. In Myanmar wurden das Wathann Film Festival 2020 und das Projekt Myanmar Contemporary Art Online Platform von Myanm/art ausgewählt. Die Laufzeit der geförderten Projekte ist von September bis Dezember 2020. Wir gratulieren den Antragssteller*innen!

Künste

Leipzig international art programme © Goethe-Institut

Residenzprogramm
Pazifik - Leipzig

In Zusammenarbeit mit LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) ermöglicht das Goethe-Institut Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Südostasien eine dreimonatige Residenz im Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. 

We will have been young © CCTang_Obscura

We will have been young

​Eine Ausstellung über Jugend und Zukunft in Südostasien, ist das Ergebnis der südostasiatischen Meisterklasse von Jörg Brüggemann und Tobias Kruse (Ostkreuz Agentur der Fotografen), die während des Obscura Festival of Photography in den Jahren 2016 und 2017 in Malaysia stattgefunden hat. Danach reiste sie nach Deutschland und Bangkok, anschließend nach Yangon.

Musik

Wie klingt die Stadt?
Sound of X

Wie können wir uns angesichts der Corona-Pandemie wieder mit den Orten unseres Alltags verbinden? In Sound of X sind Künstler*innen dem charakteristischen Sound ihrer Städte auf der Spur. Die enstandenen Video-Soundscapes lassen uns unsere Räume und Orte neu erfahren.

Illustration einer Frau und zwei Männer in bunter Kleidung und mit ausgefallenen Frisuren Illustration: Tobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

Der globale Kulturkalender des Goethe-Instituts
Kulturama.digital

Kulturama bringt internationale Kultur ins Wohnzimmer: Hauskonzerte live aus Buenos Aires, Puppentheater aus der Küche oder Liveacts der Berliner Clubszene. Veranstalter*innen tragen ihr Event ein und öffnen es für ein internationales Publikum. Zuschauer*innen finden Termine und können Künstler*innen mit einer Spende unterstützen. Gemeinsam und solidarisch durch diese Zeit.

Literatur

Gezeichnetes Bild, 2 Personen sitzen nebeneinander, zwischen ihnen ein Radio, aus dem Geräusche kommen Tobias Schrank © Goethe-Institut

Video
Zeit zuzuhören

Das Goethe-Institut und radioeins vom Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (rbb) haben Autor*innen aus aller Welt eingeladen, eine kurze Geschichte – wahr oder erfunden – zu erzählen. Hier finden Sie u.a. Videos von Herta Müller, T.C. Boyle, Ken Follett, Maja Lunde und Sofi Oksanen (auf Englisch oder Deutsch).

Portraitbild von Anita Nair, Bangalore © Anita Nair

Anita Nair
Begegnung mit dem Schmuggler

Seit ihrer Kindheit erzählt ihr Vater von seinen Reisen mit einem Zug – auf einer der kürzesten Bahnstrecken Indiens. Doch nie gelingt es der Erzählerin, selbst einmal mit diesem Zug zu fahren. Bis sie schließlich den Auftrag eines Reisejournals bekommt – und ein Trip voller Überraschungen beginnt, der mit der Begegnung mit einem Verbrecher aus Not endet. Soll die Erzählerin ihn anzeigen?

Film

Science Film Festival - Sustainable Development Goals © Science Film Festival

Science Film Festival 2020

Zwischen dem 28. November und dem 10. Dezember 2020 wird das Science Film Festival online stattfinden. Bitte registrieren Sie sich, um den Link und das Passwort zu erhalten, mit dem Sie die Filme kostenlos streamen können.

Mehrere Personen in historischen weißen und beigen Kostümen um 1900 gehen an einem Strand spazieren. Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/Bavaria Film International/Everett Collection

Filmproduktion
Frauen hinter den Filmkulissen

Während deutsche Schauspielerinnen im Fokus der Öffentlichkeit stehen, sind die Frauen hinter der Kamera weitgehend unbekannt. Zu Unrecht. Wir stellen zehn Persönlichkeiten aus der deutschen Filmszene vor, die man kennen sollte. 

Grüner drehen: Was vor der Kamera bereits doziert wird, soll nun auch hinter den Kulissen gelebt werden. Foto (Detail): © Adobe

Nachhaltige Filmwirtschaft
The show must go green

Zahlreiche Kinofilme und Dokumentationen behandeln Umweltthemen oder rufen zu einem nachhaltigeren Lebensstil auf. Doch wie sieht es in der Branche selber aus: Wie grün ist die deutsche Filmwirtschaft?

Kulturförderung

Vibrant Minds © Groupe Dejour

Vibrant Minds

Bewerbungsschluss: 11:30 Uhr am 10. Juni 2020 (Myanmar-Zeit)
Das Goethe-Institut fördert die Produktion junger journalistischer Arbeiten in den Sozialen Medien und ruft zur Teilnahme auf.

Residenzprogramme weltweit © San Jose

Residenzprogramme Weltweit

Einen „Raum für neue Perspektiven“ möchte das Goethe-Institut mit seinen Residenzprogrammen bieten, und lädt jedes Jahr Künstlerinnen, Künstler und Kulturschaffende ein, für eine Zeit lang in einem anderen Land und einer anderen Kultur zu leben und zu arbeiten.

Übersetzungsförderung © Goethe-Institut

Übersetzungsförderung

Das Förderprogramm des Goethe-Instituts „Übersetzungen deutscher Bücher in eine Fremdsprache“ unterstützt ausländische Verlage bei der Publikation deutscher Literatur.

Top