Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Goethe is(s)t schaf © Goethe-Institut

Goethe is(s)t scharf

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT CHILI

Small but powerful: Chilis are breath-taking, tear-jerking, hot as hell–and as indispensable in Southeast Asian cuisine as salt and pepper are in German dishes. That’s why the Goethe-Institut libraries in Southeast Asia now take a closer look at the “harmless plant with the devious little fruit” in its series “Goethe is(s)t scharf”.
Posts, discussions, online activities and show-cooking in the web will whet your appetite for learning more about chilis–and for eating. Goethe is(s)t scharf © Goethe-Institut The libraries in Bangkok, Bandung, Jakarta and Yangon serve as “Goethe is(s)t scharf”’s virtual meeting rooms, where you can share your knowledge and ideas about gardening in general and growing chili in particular. In addition, new infographics will be released once a month until December about the use of Southeast Asia’s number one spice plant. Designed and illustrated by artists of different countries, the infographics will present information on chili in everyday life, in folk tales, in rituals or in your own garden.
 
Urban Gardening and culinary arts will be the hot topic of an online series in November, spiced up with personalities from Germany and from the region, who know a fair deal about chili–including the German chili expert Alexander Hicks, the famous Indonesian chef William Wongso, and Daw Phyu Phyu Tin, who is a jury member of the Burmese cooking show “MasterChef Myanmar”.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Goethe is(s)t scharf © Goethe-Institut

Goethe is(s)t scharf

WAS SIE SCHON IMMER ÜBER CHILIS WISSEN WOLLTEN

Klein, aber oho: Chilis sind atemberaubend, tränentreibend, höllisch scharf – und in der südostasiatischen Küche so unentbehrlich wie Salz und Pfeffer in der deutschen. Deshalb nehmen die Bibliotheken in Südostasien nun die „harmlose Pflanze mit den hinterhältigen Früchtchen“ unter dem Motto „Goethe is(s)t scharf“ in den Fokus. Posts, Diskurse, Online-Aktionen und Show-Cooking im Internet sollen dabei Appetit auf das Thema machen – und aufs Essen.
Goethe is(s)t scharf © Goethe-Institut Zu „Goethe is(s)t scharf“ öffnen die Bibliotheken in Bangkok, Bandung, Jakarta und Yangon ihre Räume als Orte der virtuellen Begegnung, wo man sich über Gardening im Allgemeinen und über die Aufzucht von Chilis im Speziellen austauschen kann. Daneben gibt es bis Dezember einmal im Monat Infografiken über die Verwendung und den Einsatz der südostasiatischen Gewürzpflanze Nummer eins. Diese werden stets von anderen Künstler*innen des jeweiligen Landes umgesetzt und illustriert. Unter anderem wird es dabei um Chilis im Alltag, in der Volksgeschichte, in Ritualen oder ganz einfach im eigenen Garten gehen.

Urban Gardening und Kulinarik stehen dann im November auch im Mittelpunkt einer Online-Reihe. Dabei kommen logischerweise „scharfe Typen“ aus Deutschland und der Region zu Wort, die Chilis nicht nur aus der Streudose kennen – der deutsche Chili-Papst Alexander Hicks etwa, der berühmte indonesische Chefkoch William Wongso oder Daw Phyu Phyu Tin, die in der Jury der burmesischen Kochshow „MasterChefs Myanmar“ sitzt.

Top