Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Bubbly Creek © Goethe-Institut/Rosario E. Zavala

Chemical (Re)Actions

The Goethe-Institut Chicago presents a new project that enables artistic exchanges responding to critical sites of environmental and social conflict in Chicago. This platform transforms the toxic and educational tours given by local organizations into virtual content as a way to generate engagement with larger questions regarding pollution, industry, the environment, segregation and social equity. 

 

Collage of photgraphs from Pilsen, Altgeld Gardens and Bubbly Creek © Goethe-Institut/Rosario E. Zavala

Chemical (Re)Actions: Closing Weekend

There will be two live, in-person screenings with unique programs on July 10 at Altgeld Gardens and July 11 at Inga Bookshop, as well as an IG Live conversation on July 9 with Berlin-based curator and researcher Caroline Ektander, creator of the Toxic Commons, and a talk by Mexico City-based curator and writer Guillermo Garcia Pérez at 6 PM on his essay, The Transmortal Community, prior to the evening screening at Inga Bookshop in Pilsen.


The Fish Hotel

Shore of the Bubbly Creek, Chicago © Goethe-Institut/Rosario E. Zavala

The Fish Hotel: Opening Lecture & Open Call

On April 19, Chemical (Re)Actions launched the third and final platform, The Fish Hotel, and for presentations on work within the Chicago River watershed and on the work of how we understand possibilities within ecological narrative. 

From the Friends of the Chicago River Annette Anderson, Volunteer and Events Coordinator and Chelsey Grassfield, Policy Specialist, shared the genesis of their organization, the legacy of Bubbly Creek as it relates to the rest of the Chicago River and the innovation of fish hotels. Space sculptor, educator, artist and writer D. Denenge Duyst-Akpem sahred her ongoing work and research as it relates to ideas of creating different forms of ecological narrative and mediation.

The Fish Hotel: Streaming and Artist Talk

We are excited to announce the selected works for the final open call for Chemical (Re)Actions: The Fish Hotel.

We Owe Each Other Everything (2020) by Aarti Sunder 
Ke (You have many teachers) (2019) by Kayla Anderson
Meandering (2020) by Patrick O'Shea


The selected artists came together for a discussion moderated by David Ayala-Alfonso. The recording will be available on Youtube soon.

The Transmortal Community

Instagram Live talk with Alberto Ortega and Guillermo García Pérez, Editor, Writer and Art Journalist.

BUBBLY CREEK AND THE FRIENDS OF THE CHICAGO RIVER : The Fish Hotel

Even if you’ve never been to Bubbly Creek, the name seizes the imagination. Fascinating in its history, made infamous by Upton Sinclair in The Jungle, the Bubbly Creek of the 19th century bears little resemblance to the Bubbly Creek of the 21st. Still, the legends and the bubbles persist, though in reality Bubbly Creek today has more active contamination due to ongoing Combined Sewer Overflows and soil runoff than the lingering sediment, compounds and effects of the Union Stockyard waste.


The Vigil

The Vigil Flyer in Pilsen © Goethe-Institut/Rosario E. Zavala

The Vigil: Streaming and artist talk

We are excited to announce the selected works of the second Chemical (Re)Actions open call The Vigil. The artists discussed their works, moderated by Nancy Valladares, on April 12 2021.

The Guardians of the Cerrado by Fábio Erdos (2017)
Aguas Negras (Black Waters) by Mateo Vargas (2021)
The River Escapes by Eduardo Makoszay Mayén (2019)

Opening Lecture with Holly Jean Buck and Dorian Breuer

For the launch of the second platform of Chemical (Re)Actions, the Goethe-Institut Chicago hosted Dorian Breuer and Holly Jean Buck on Feb 15 for a conversation on industrial accountability, carbon removal and public participation. Dorian Breuer is a co-founder of the Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization (P.E.R.R.O.) which has led successful campaigns against industrial polluters since 2004. Holly Jean Buck is Assistant Professor of Environment and Sustainability at the University of Buffalo, NY and author of After Geoengineering: Climate Tragedy, Repair, and Restoration.

Gathering and Activating Indigenous Knowledges

Ein Gespräch zwischen Chemcial (Re)Actions Kuratorin Joshi Radin und Tahila Xicahuamaztl Mintz, Ahnenschreiberin, Künstlerin und Aktivistin.

The Vigil as an Institution

Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization (PERRO) Toxic Tour with Dr. Bethany Barratt and Special PERRO Guest Maria Chavez.
During 2011 protests against the Midwest Generation Fisk coal-burning power plant in the Pilsen neighborhood of Chicago, PERRO members held candlelit vigils or vigils camped out on sidewalks. These community members memorialized the estimated annual forty-two deaths and hundreds of respiratory illnesses directly attributed to the power plant’s emissions. Eventually, the community coalition actions prevailed and the plant closed its coal-burning operations in 2012.


The Tactical Gardens

Altgeld Gardens: The Tactical Gardens Foto © People For Community Recovery Archives

A virtual tour of Altgeld Gardens by Cheryl Johnson

A virtual platform to engage with the legacy of Hazel Johnson, the community of Altgeld Gardens and the work of People for Community Recovery.
 

Opening Lecture with Cheryl Johnson

The director of People for Community Recovery spoke on 12/14/2020 on the community organizing and advocacy work of the organization started by her mother, Hazel Johnson, from its beginnings up until the present. After the death of her mother, who has become known as “the mother of the environmental justice movement,” Cheryl Johnson and PCR have continued to address environmental racism and climate justice as it affects the South Side of Chicago.

Environmental activism and the arts in South America

On Jan 19, we discussed Environmental Activism and the Arts in South America with Argentine curator and arts researcher Leandro Martinez Depietri and Chemical (Re)actions curator and artist Alberto Ortega Trejo on Instagram Live.
 

The Tactical Gardens Screening Collage © Jennifer Boles/Valeria Meiller & Agustín Schang/Nancy Valladares

The Tactical Gardens: Artist Talk

We are excited to announce the winners of the The Tactical Gardens open call:

The Reversal (2020) by Jennifer Boles, Chicago, IL
The Density of Breath (2020) 13 minutes, by Nancy Valladares, US/Honduras
The Case of Meat (2020) by Valeria Meiller & Agustín Schang, Argentina / USA

Curator David Ayala-Alfonso moderated a discussion of these works with their creators on Monday, March 08 at 6PM.

About the Project

In the city of Chicago, notorious for its extensive redlining practices and the production of highly segregated neighborhoods, there is a 30-year gap in life expectancy between the Streeterville and Englewood neighborhoods, the largest in the nation. Poor public health statistics are also a measure in part of environmental injustices, when poorer and racialized neighborhoods are saddled with toxic emissions and contamination, lack of green space, heat islands, and overall disproportionate health hazards.

Grassroots organizers have responded to these abuses, and they have had many victories. In order to support their work, many organizations gave toxic and educational tours as a way to educate the public about these injustices and their campaigns. Now in the time of Covid and social distancing, when these tours have largely stopped, Chemical (Re)actions makes some of this information available remotely and invites artists, activists, designers and filmmakers to respond to these legacies and strategies as propositional methods for further inquiry on the limits and potentialities of the tactics proposed by these groups.

On December 14, 2020, Chemical (Re)actions will launch The Tactical Gardens, an open call for video essays to engage with the legacy of Hazel Johnson, the community of Altgeld Gardens and the work of People for Community Recovery. Programming will continue into 2021 with panel discussions, lectures, and virtual screenings in collaboration with selected artists, environmental rights organizations.


Community Organizations

The project is a cooperative effort with People for Community Recovery, an original founder in the environmental justice movement in this country, the Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization, who have fought successful campaigns against lead pollution in the air, soil and water; and Friends of the Chicago River, who work to improve the health of 156-mile Chicago River system which includes the South Fork of the South Branch of the Chicago River, widely known as Bubbly Creek.

Project concept and coordination by Joshi Radin and Alberto Ortega Trejo.
 

People For Community Recovery Logo © People For Community Recovery

People For Community Recovery

People for Community Recovery (PCR) is a non-profit environmental organization found by the late Hazel M. Johnson (Mother of the Environmental Justice Movement).

P.E.R.R.O Logo © P.E.R.R.O

P.E.R.R.O.

PERRO stands for Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization. It is a grassroots community group of Pilsen residents that formed in 2004 to fight the disproportionate amount of pollution in the Pilsen neighborhood.

Friends of the Chicago River Logo © Friends of the Chicago River

Friends of the Chicago River

Friends of the Chicago River is an award-winning nonprofit organization whose mission is to improve and protect the Chicago River for people, plants and animals. Friends works to make the river healthier and more accessible, while building awareness of the benefits that a clean, healthy river can bring to the surrounding community.


Press and Contact

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Bubbly Creek © Goethe-Institut/Rosario E. Zavala

Chemical (Re)Actions

Das Goethe-Institut Chicago präsentiert ein neues Projekt, das den künstlerischen Austausch als eine mögliche Antwort auf ökologische und soziale Konflikte in Chicago ermöglichen möchte. Diese Plattform übersetzt Touren ("toxic tours"), die von lokalen Organisationen vor Ort durchgeführt werden, in virtuelle Inhalte. Unser Anliegen ist es, eine Auseinandersetzung mit den großen Fragen zu Umweltverschmutzung, Industrie, Umwelt, Segregation und sozialer Ungerechtigkeit zu fördern.

 


The Fish Hotel

Ufer des Bubbly Creek, Chicago © Goethe-Institut/Rosario E. Zavala

The Fish Hotel: Eröffnungsvortrag & Offener Aufruf

Am 19. April startete Chemical (Re)Actions die dritte und letzte Plattform, The Fish Hotel, und für Präsentationen über die Arbeit im Wassereinzugsgebiet des Chicago River und über die Arbeit, wie wir Möglichkeiten innerhalb der ökologischen Erzählung verstehen. 

Von den Friends of the Chicago River waren Annette Anderson, Volunteer and Events Coordinator, und Chelsey Grassfield, Policy Specialist, über die Entstehung ihrer Organisation, das Vermächtnis des Bubbly Creek im Zusammenhang mit dem Rest des Chicago River und die Innovation der Fischhotels berichten. Die Raumbildhauerin, Pädagogin, Künstlerin und Autorin D. Denenge Duyst-Akpem berichtete über ihre laufende Arbeit und Forschung, die sich auf Ideen zur Schaffung verschiedener Formen ökologischer Erzählungen und Vermittlungen bezieht.

The Fish Hotel: Streaming und Künstler*innen Gespräch

Wir freuen uns, die ausgewählten Werke des letzten Chemical (Re)Actions Open Call The Fish Hotel ankündigen zu können:

We Owe Each Other Everything (2020) by Aarti Sunder 
Ke (You have many teachers) (2019) by Kayla Anderson
Meandering (2020) by Patrick O'Shea


Die ausgewählten Künstler*innen nahmen an einer von David Ayala-Alfonso moderierten Diskussion am Teil. Die Aufzeichung ist bald auf Youtube zu sehen.  

Die transmortale Gemeinschaft

Instagram Live-Gespräch mit Alberto Ortega und Guillermo García Pérez, Redakteur, Schriftsteller und Kunstjournalist.

BUBBLY CREEK UND DIE FRIENDS OF THE CHICAGO RIVER : The Fish Hotel

Selbst wenn Sie noch nie in Bubbly Creek ("blubbernder Bach") waren, beflügelt der Name die Fantasie. Faszinierend in seiner Geschichte, berühmt geworden durch Upton Sinclair in The Jungle, hat der Bubbly Creek des 19. Jahrhunderts wenig Ähnlichkeit mit dem Bubbly Creek des 21. Dennoch halten sich die Legenden und die Blasen hartnäckig, obwohl der Bubbly Creek heute in Wirklichkeit mehr aktive Verunreinigungen aufweist, die auf die laufenden Mischwasserüberläufe und den Bodenabfluss zurückzuführen sind, als auf die verbleibenden Sedimente, Verbindungen und Auswirkungen der Abfälle des Union Stockyard.


The Vigil

The Vigil Flyer in Pilsen © Goethe-Institut/Rosario E. Zavala

The Vigil: Streaming und Künstler*innengespräch

Wir freuen uns, die ausgewählten Arbeiten des zweiten Chemical (Re)Actions offenen Aufruf The Vigil bekannt zu geben. Die Künstler*innen haben am  12. April 2021 unter der Moderation von Nancy Valladares ihre Arbeiten diskutiert.

The Guardians of the Cerrado von Fábio Erdos (2017)
Aguas Negras (Black Waters) von Mateo Vargas (2021)
The River Escapes von Eduardo Makoszay Mayén (2019)

Eröffnungsvortrag mit Holly Jean Buck und Dorian Breuer

Zum Start der zweiten Plattform von Chemical (Re)Actions lud das Goethe-Institut Chicago Dorian Breuer und Holly Jean Buck am 15. Februar zu einem Gespräch über industrielle Verantwortlichkeit, Kohlenstoffbereinigung und öffentliches Engagement. Dorian Breuer ist Mitbegründer der Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization (P.E.R.R.O.), die seit 2004 erfolgreiche Kampagnen gegen industrielle Verursacher führt. Holly Jean Buck ist Assistenzprofessorin für Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit an der University of Buffalo, NY und Autorin von After Geoengineering: Climate Tragedy, Repair, and Restoration.

Sammeln und Aktivieren von Indigenem Wissen

A conversation between Chemcial (Re)Actions curator Joshi Radin and Tahila Xicahuamaztl Mintz, Ancestral Scribe, Artist and Activist.

Die Mahnwache/The Vigil als Institution

Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization (PERRO) Toxic Tour mit Dr. Bethany Barratt und PERRO-Spezialgast Maria Chavez.
Während der Proteste gegen das Kohlekraftwerk Midwest Generation Fisk im Chicagoer Stadtteil Pilsen im Jahr 2011 hielten PERRO-Mitglieder Mahnwachen bei Kerzenschein oder zelteten auf den Bürgersteigen. Diese Gemeindemitglieder erinnerten an die geschätzten jährlichen zweiundvierzig Todesfälle und hunderte von Atemwegserkrankungen, die direkt auf die Emissionen des Kraftwerks zurückzuführen sind. Letztendlich setzten sich die Aktionen der Gemeindekoalition durch, und das Kraftwerk schloss 2012 seinen Kohleverbrennungsbetrieb.


The Tactical Gardens

Altgeld Gardens: The Tactical Gardens Foto © People For Community Recovery Archives

Ein virtueller Rundgang durch Altgeld Gardens mir Cheryl Johnson

Eine virtuelle Plattform zur Auseinandersetzung mit dem Vermächtnis von Hazel Johnson, der Gemeinschaft von Altgeld Gardens und der Arbeit von People for Community Recovery.

Eröffnungsvortrag mit Cheryl Johnson

Die Direktorin von People for Community Recovery sprach a, 14.12.202 über die Organisation in der Gemeinde und die Advocacy-Arbeit der von ihrer Mutter, Hazel Johnson, gegründeten Organisation von ihren Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. Nach dem Tod ihrer Mutter, die als "die Mutter der Bewegung für Umweltgerechtigkeit" bekannt geworden ist, haben sich Cheryl Johnson und PCR weiterhin mit Umweltrassismus und Klimagerechtigkeit befasst, da sie die South Side von Chicago beeinträchtigen.

Umwelt Aktivismus in der Kunst in Südamerika

Am 19. Januar setzten sich der argentinische Kurator und Kunstforscher Leandro Martinez Depietri zusammen mit dem Kurator des Chemical (Re)actions Projekts und Küstler Alberto Ortega Trejo, über Umwelt Aktivismus und die Kunst in Südamerika auf Instagram Live auseinander.

The Tactical Gardens Screening Collage © Jennifer Boles/Valeria Meiller & Agustín Schang/Nancy Valladares

The Tactical Gardens: Künstler*innen Gespräch

Wir freuen uns, die Gewinner der offenen Ausschreibung von The Tactical Gardens bekannt zu geben:

The Reversal (2020) von Jennifer Boles, Chicago, IL
The Density of Breath (2020) 13 Minuten, von Nancy Valladares, US/Honduras
The Case of Meat (2020) von Valeria Meiller & Agustín Schang, Argentinien / USA

Kurator David Ayala-Alfonso hat am Montag, den 08. März um 18 Uhr eine Diskussion dieser Werke und den Künstler*innen moderiert.

Über das Projekt

Chicago ist für die umfangreichen Redlining-Praktiken und die Bildung stark segregierter Stadtviertel berüchtigt. Die Lebenserwartung in Englewood ist 30 Jahre kürzer als in Streeterville. Es ist die größte Diskrepanz zwischen Stadtvierteln im ganzen Land. Die Statistiken zur öffentlichen Gesundheit zeigen, dass es signifikante Unterschiede in den verschiedenen Stadtvierteln gibt. Das Maß für giftige Emissionen und Verunreinigungen, der Mangel an Grünflächen sind unverhältnismäßig höher in ärmeren und von people of color geprägten Stadtvierteln. Diese Umweltungerechtigkeiten belasten die Bevölkerung und setzen sie einem höheren Gesundheitsrisiko aus.

Grassroot Organisationen haben auf diese Missbräuche reagiert und konnten bisher einige Verbesserungen erreichen. Um ihre Arbeit zu unterstützen und bedingt durch eine Zeit des social distancing, führen viele Organisationen virtuelle "toxic" Touren durch, damit mehr Bewusstsein in der Öffentlichkeit für diese Ungerechtigkeiten und ihre Kampagnen geschaffen wird. Chemical (Re)actions macht einen Teil dieser Informationen aus der Ferne zugänglich und lädt Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Designer*innen und Filmemacher*innen ein, auf diese Hinterlassenschaften und Strategien als vorschlagende Methoden zur weiteren Untersuchung der Begrenzungen und Möglichkeiten der von diesen Gruppen vorgeschlagenen Taktiken zu reagieren.

Am 14. Dezember 2020 wurde Chemical (Re)actions mit den The Tactical Gardens gestartet, ein offener Aufruf für Video-Essays, die sich mit dem Vermächtnis von Hazel Johnson, der Gemeinde Altgeld Gardens und der Arbeit von People for Community Recovery beschäftigen. Das Programm wird bis ins Jahr 2021 mit Podiumsdiskussionen, Vorträgen und virtuellen Vorführungen in Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten Künstlern, und weiteren Umweltrechtsorganisationen fortgesetzt.


Gemeindeorganisationen

Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit mit People for Community Recovery, einem der ursprünglichen Begründer der Bewegung für Umweltgerechtigkeit in diesem Land, Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization, die erfolgreiche Kampagnen gegen die Verschmutzung von Luft, Boden und Wasser durch Blei geführt hat; und den Friends of the Chicago River, die sich für die Verbesserung der Gesundheit des 156 Meilen langen Chicago River Systems einsetzen, zu dem auch die südliche Abzweigung des South Branch des Chicago River gehört, der auch als Bubbly Creek bekannt ist.

Projektkonzept und Koordination von Joshi Radin und Alberto Ortega Trejo.

 

People For Community Recovery Logo © People For Community Recovery

People For Community Recovery

People for Community Recovery (PCR) ist eine gemeinnützige Umweltorganisation, die von der verstorbenen Hazel M. Johnson (Mutter der Environmental Justice Movement) gegründet wurde.

P.E.R.R.O Logo © P.E.R.R.O

P.E.R.R.O.

PERRO steht für Pilsen Environmental Rights and Reform Organization. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Bürgerinitiative der Einwohner von Pilsen, die 2004 gegründet wurde, um gegen die unverhältnismäßig hohe Umweltverschmutzung in der Nachbarschaft vorzugehen.

Friends of the Chicago River Logo © Friends of the Chicago River

Friends of the Chicago River

Friends of the Chicago River ist eine mehrfach ausgezeichnete gemeinnützige Organisation, deren Ziel es ist, den Chicago River für Menschen, Pflanzen und Tiere zu verbessern und zu schützen. Die Friends arbeiten daran, den Fluss gesünder und zugänglicher zu machen und gleichzeitig ein Bewusstsein für die Vorteile zu schaffen, die ein sauberer, gesunder Fluss der umliegenden Gemeinde bringen kann.


Kontakt und Presse

Top