About us
Washington

Goethe-Institut Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

The Goethe-Institut Washington organizes and supports cultural events that present German culture abroad and that further the transatlantic dialogue regarding today’s challenging questions. Our worldwide focuses are on topics such as the role of arts in urban development and the question of how we forge our future within the context of major transformations such as the crisis of democracy, climate change and the digitalization of our everyday life. Of special interest to us are aesthetic formats such as film and exhibition projects, panel series and theater performances.

Our language department offers German courses and examinations on all levels. To strengthen German programs at schools and universities (K – 16), the Goethe-Institut Washington supports teachers, helps in motivating students to learn German, and liaises with the educational authorities in the District of Columbia and the states of Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, and Delaware.

The Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) is based at the Goethe-Institut Washington. TOP promotes education about Germany, encourages intercultural dialogue, and provides the opportunity for North American social studies and STEM educators to experience Germany in person.

Über uns
Washington

Goethe-Institut Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Das Goethe-Institut Washington organisiert und unterstützt kulturelle Veranstaltungen zur Präsentation deutscher Kultur im Ausland und zur Förderung des transatlantischen Dialogs im Hinblick auf aktuelle Fragestellungen. Zu unseren Schwerpunkten zählen Themen wie die Rolle der Kunst in der Stadtentwicklung sowie die Frage nach der Gestaltung unserer Zukunft im Kontext großer Veränderungen wie beispielsweise der Krise der Demokratie, des Klimawandels und der Digitalisierung des Alltagslebens. Besonderes Interesse liegt uns an ästhetischen Formaten wie Film und Austellungsprojekten, Diskussionsrunden und Theateraufführungen.

Unsere Sprachabteilung bietet Deutschkurse und -prüfungen für Lerner auf allen Niveaustufen an. Zur Förderung der Deutschprogramme an Schulen und Universitäten (K-16) unterstützt das Goethe-Institut  Washington Lehrer durch Fortbildungen, Schüler/innen und Student/innen mit vielfältigen Deutschaktivitäten, und ist im Kontakt mit den Bildungsbehörden  im District of Columbia sowie den Bundesstaaten Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia und Delaware.

Das Goethe-Institut Washington ist der Hauptsitz des Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP). Ziel dieses Programms ist, über das Erziehungssystem in Deutschland aufzuklären und einen interkulturellen Dialog herzustellen. Für Gemeinschaftskundelehrer und Lehrer des „STEM“ Bereichs gibt es Möglichkeiten, durch Bildungsreisen Deutschland selbst zu erleben.