Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Culture

At the Goethe-Institut in the U.S., we publish content that conveys a comprehensive image of modern Germany and encourages international dialogue while highlighting the local culture. We also tailor our website to readers in our neighboring countries, Mexico and Canada.

Art

Artbits Photo (detail): © Verena Hütter

Street Art in Mexico, Canada, and the U.S.
#artbits

Urban public spaces are canvases for street art. They reveal the political and social discourse of the city. The #artbits bloggers collect photos of street art from Germany and North America, from Berlin, Mexico City, Montreal, New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Washington, D.C.

More on Art

Film

GFO D89 Courtesy Sundance TV

German Films in the U.S.
German Film Office

The New York-based initiative of the Goethe-Institut and German Films collaborates with local partners to bring the best of contemporary and repertory films from Germany to U.S. audiences.

More on Film

Lifestyle

A television photographed in 2006, still from “Germany’s Most Beautiful Railways” Photo: Goethe-Institut

Digital Zine
Stillstand

The earth rotates, everything is in constant motion, change is a necessity. It’s high time for a magazine dedicated to stillness: a collection of pieces from international artists and writers in homage to standstills and their poetic beauty.

More on Lifestyle

Media and Technology

The Big Ponder Visual Illustration: © Nicole Hamam

A Transatlantic Podcast
The Big Ponder

This transatlantic podcast explores abstract concepts and phenomena through personal radio essays. Every other week, one of our producers transforms a broad topic into a captivating story told from a U.S.-German perspective.

More on Media and Technology

Literature

Uwe Johnson © picture alliance / Keystone

Uwe Johnson
Riverside Drive Revisited

Just over 50 years ago, Uwe Johnson, a German writer living in New York, began writing Anniversaries, one of the great masterpieces of postwar German literature. On the occasion of the first complete English translation of Anniversaries, the Goethe-Institut investigates what makes this such an enduring classic. 

More on Literature

Society

Hannah Arendt - Thinking is Dangerous

Hannah Arendt
Thinking is Dangerous

The dossier about Hannah Arendt’s conception of thinking explores this aspect of her work and life through art, dialogue, performance, play, music, and silence.

More on Society
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kultur

Mit unserem digitalen Auftritt wollen wir, das Goethe-Institut Nordamerika, ein modernes Deutschlandbild vermitteln. Zugleich nehmen wir die Perspektive vor Ort auf und behandeln Themen aus den USA, Kanada und Mexiko und fördern internationalen Dialog. 

Kunst

Artbits Foto (Ausschnitt): © Verena Hütter

Street-Art in Mexiko, Kanada, USA
#artbits

Urbane öffentliche Räume sind Leinwände für Street-Art, die von den politischen und sozialen Diskursen ihrer Stadt erzählt. Die #artbits-Blogger*innen sammeln Street-Art aus Deutschland und Nordamerika, aus Berlin, Mexiko-Stadt, Montreal, New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco und Washington, DC.​

Mehr zu Kunst

Film

GFO D89 Courtesy Sundance TV

Deutsche Filme in den USA
German Film Office

Die Initiative von German Films und dem Goethe-Institut mit Sitz in New York fördert in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern die Präsentation von herausragenden Filmen aus Deutschland in den USA.

Mehr zu Film

Lebensart

Abfotografierter Fernseher 2006, Still aus „Die schönsten Bahnstrecken Deutschlands“ Foto: Goethe-Institut

Online-Magazin
Stillstand

Die Erde dreht sich, alles bewegt sich, Change ist gefragt. Höchste Zeit, dem Stillstand ein Magazin zu widmen: mit Beiträgen internationaler Künstler*innen und Autor*innen – eine Hommage an den Stillstand und die Poesie, die in ihm steckt.

Mehr zu Lebensart

Medien

The Big Ponder Visual Illustration: © Nicole Hamam

Ein transatlantischer Podcast
The Big Ponder

Das große Nachdenken hat begonnen. In diesem transatlantischen Podcast ergründen unsere Autor*innen abstrakte Begriffe und Phänomene in persönlichen Geschichten, die sie auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks eingesammelt haben.

Mehr zu Medien

Literatur

Uwe Johnson © picture alliance / Keystone

Uwe Johnson
Wiedersehen mit Riverside Drive

Vor wenig mehr als 50 Jahren begann Uwe Johnson mit dem Schreiben von Jahrestage – einem der großartigen Meisterwerke der deutschen Nachkriegsliteratur. Anlässlich der ersten vollständigen Übersetzung von Jahrestage ins Englische lädt das Goethe-Institut dazu ein, in das New York Uwe Johnsons einzutauchen.

Mehr zu Literatur

Gesellschaft

Hannah Arendt - Thinking is Dangerous

Hannah Arendt
Denken ist gefährlich

Dieses Dossier über Hannah Arendts Auffassung vom Denken beschäftigt sich mit diesem Aspekt ihrer Arbeit und ihres Lebens in Form von Dialogen, Kunst, Performance, Schauspiel, Musik und Schweigen.

Mehr zu Gesellschaft
Top