Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Open Call

Key Art Open Call for Cultural Workers and Creatives Design: +3mm © Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Open Call for: cultural workers & creatives

The Goethe-Institut Los Angeles is currently seeking Los Angeles-based cultural workers, creatives, artists, artisans, curators, performers, choreographers, musicians, filmmakers, and others to develop, manage, and realize cultural programs that focus on and uplift the neighborhood of Westlake/MacArthur Park and surrounding areas. Exhibitions/installations/performances and other programs will be presented quarterly in 2022 at the Goethe-Institut Project Space in Westlake/MacArthur Park. 

Objective:

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of Germany with a global reach. In fulfillment of the Goethe-Institut's mandate to foster international cultural cooperation, this Open Call seeks to connect the work of the Goethe-Institut with the needs of cultural workers, creatives, artists, artisans, curators, performers, choreographers, musicians, filmmakers, creatives, community partners, and residents of the Westlake/MacArthur Park area and surrounding communities. The program provides awardees access to an innovative and multi-use venue ready to be a space for experimentation and ideas. 

The selected cultural workers and creatives will receive institutional and financial support from the Goethe-Institut and members of the selection committee, including access to the space, guidance in preparation for the exhibition/installation/performance or other programs, and additional promotional support through the Goethe-Institut's network. In addition, awardees shall receive a $3,000 honorarium for curatorial research and work and a production budget of $5,000 to produce, install and de-install their work.

Selected cultural workers and creatives are expected to program the space with critical and engaging formats and be directly involved in the organization, installation, and promotion of proposed exhibitions/installation/performance or other programs and related events. Additionally, they will work closely with the Goethe-Institut to administer the space, create relevant press releases and program-related publications, and augment the program with events that draw attention to the work and associated issues. Awardees thereby gain experience in the operation of a small art space with a distinctive international profile.

GUIDELINES:

Proposals should focus on cultural projects and themes that are innovative, challenging, engaging, and relevant to the Westlake/MacArthur Park community.
Extra consideration will be given to cultural workers and creatives that live or work in Westlake/MacArthur Park or surrounding areas. 
Extra consideration will be given to proposals that demonstrate a greater understanding of and focus on the unique history, dynamics, heritage, and distinctiveness of the Westlake/MacArthur Park neighborhood and surrounding areas.  
Extra consideration will be given to proposals that include work from artists who qualify as under-recognized (no gallery representation and no solo exhibitions in a major venue within the past five years).
Strong proposals are flexible and have room for growth. As such, a proposed exhibition that has already been shown elsewhere is less favorable than one in which the artist or curator  seeks to build upon previous work.
The Goethe-Institut strongly encourages project proposals that contribute to our ongoing commitment to diversity.

WHAT THE OPPORTUNITY INCLUDES:

Up to ten-week program in 2022 at the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles Project Space in Westlake/MacArthur Park.
Mentoring from one of the jury members, if requested.
Opportunities to develop related public programming in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut
Opening reception
Press and PR support through the Goethe-Institut
$3,000 unrestricted honorarium
$5,000 production budget to cover costs associated with production, install/de-installation of the program.

SELECTION: 

The proposals will be judged in two stages. All applications will first be screened for eligibility. Finalists will be selected by a jury comprised of cultural practitioners that will convene in December, 2021. Selected project finalists will work in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut throughout the planning stages of the project.

SUBMISSION PROCESS:

CV (or comparable resume)
Brief synopsis of the proposed project – up to 150 words
Detailed proposal that outlines both the concept and plan for the project. The proposal should also include a short explanation detailing why your proposal should be selected to be exhibited, how this opportunity would benefit you at this point in your career and how you imagine using the potential of the Goethe-Institut Project Space as a venue.
Preliminary budget proposal. Finding further financial support in addition to the $5,000 production budget of the Goethe-Institut to realize the project is encouraged.
Optional: List of proposed works (including images or links to proposed works), short bios for each artist, and/or work samples 
Acknowledging all literacy levels, you may also submit your application by video.
All applications will be evaluated based on the proposal submitted, the cultural worker or creative’s prior experience, and their ability to work within the scope of the budget provided. 
All submitted proposals will be considered final. All incomplete or duplicate applications will be disqualified.

Please submit your application and all relevant materials to Daniel.chaffey@goethe.de by November 30. 2021.
 

 
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Offene Ausschreibung

Key Art Open Call for Cultural Workers and Creatives Design: +3mm © Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Offene Ausschreibung für Kulturarbeiter*innen und Kreativ-Schaffende

Das Goethe-Institut Los Angeles sucht nach Kulturarbeiter*innen, Kreativschaffenden, Künstler*innen, Handwerker*innen, Kurator*innen, Performer*innen, Choreograf*innen, Musiker*innen, Filmemacher*innen und anderen, um Kulturprogramme zu entwickeln, durchzuführen und umzusetzen, die sich auf das Viertel Westlake/MacArthur Park und umliegende Viertel konzentrieren und sich für diese engagieren. Ausstellungen/Installationen/Performances und andere Programme werden 2022 quartalsweise im Goethe-Institut Project Space in Westlake/MacArthur Park vorgestellt. 

ZIEL:

Das Goethe-Institut ist das deutsche Kulturinstitut mit einer weltweiten Reichweite. Entsprechend des Auftrags des Goethe-Instituts, internationale Kulturarbeit zu fördern, soll diese offene Ausschreibung die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts mit den Bedürfnissen von Kulturarbeiter*innen, Kreativschaffenden, Künstler*innen, KuratorInnen, Handwerker*innen, Performer*innen, Choreograph*innen, Musiker*innen, Filmemacher*innen, Community und Bewohnern von Westlake/MacArthur Park und den umliegenden Vierteln verknüpfen. Das Programm ermöglicht den ausgewählten Projekten den Zugang zu einem multifunktionalen Veranstaltungsort, der Raum für Experimente und Ideen bietet. 

Die ausgewählten Kulturschaffenden erhalten institutionelle und finanzielle Unterstützung vom Goethe-Institut und Mitgliedern des Auswahlkomitees, darunter Zugang zum Raum, Hilfestellung bei der Vorbereitung der Ausstellung/Installation/Aufführung oder anderer Programme sowie zusätzliche Unterstützung bei der PR über das Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts. Sie erhalten darüber hinaus ein Honorar von 3.000 USD für kuratorische Recherche und Arbeit sowie ein Produktionsbudget von 5.000 USD, um ihre Arbeit zu produzieren, sowie auf- und abzubauen.

Ausgewählte Kulturschaffende sollen im Veranstaltungsraum kritische und engagierte Formate realisieren und direkt an der Organisation, Installation und Promotion vorgeschlagener Ausstellungen/Installationen/Aufführungen oder anderer Programme und entsprechenden Events  mitarbeiten. Darüber hinaus arbeiten sie eng mit dem Goethe-Institut zusammen, um den Raum zu verwalten, entsprechende Pressemitteilungen sowie Publikationen zum Programm zu erstellen und das Programm mit Veranstaltungen zu ergänzen, welche die Arbeit und damit verbundene Themen in den Mittelpunkt stellen. Auf diesem Wege können sie Erfahrungen im Umgang mit einem kleinen Projektraum mit ausgeprägtem internationalem Profil sammeln.

RICHTLINIEN:

Vorschläge sollten sich auf kulturelle Projekte und Themen konzentrieren, die innovativ, herausfordernd, ansprechend und für die  Gemeinschaft in Westlake/MacArthur Park relevant sind.
Kulturschaffende, die in Westlake/MacArthur Park oder Umgebung leben, werden bevorzugt. 
Dies gilt ebenso für Vorschläge, die ein besonders tiefgreifendes Verständnis der einzigartigen Geschichte, Dynamik, Tradition und Unverwechselbarkeit von Westlake/MacArthur Park und Umgebung zeigen und diese in den Mittelpunkt stellen.  
Vorschläge, die Arbeit von Künstler*innen beinhalten, die als unterrepräsentiert gelten (in den letzten fünf Jahren nicht in Galerien repräsentiert und keine Einzelausstellungen in größeren Ausstellungsräumen hatten), werden bevorzugt.
Starke Projektvorschläge sind flexibel und bieten Raum für Wachstum. Vor diesem Hintergrund werden Ausstellungen, die auf vorherigen Arbeiten aufbauen sollen, gegenüber solchen bevorzugt, die bereits woanders gezeigt wurden.
Das Goethe-Institut begrüßt insbesondere Projektvorschläge, die einen Beitrag zu unserer fortlaufenden Förderung von Diversität leisten.

BEINHALTET SIND:

Ein Programm von bis zu zehn Wochen in 2022 im Goethe-Institut Los Angeles Project Space in Westlake/MacArthur Park.
Betreuung durch ein Mitglied des Auswahlkomitees, wenn erwünscht.
Möglichkeiten, um gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut ein öffentliches Programm zu entwickeln
Vernissage
Presse- und PR-Unterstützung durch das Goethe-Institut
3.000 USD uneingeschränktes Honorar
5.000 USD Produktionsbudget, um die Kosten der Produktion sowie Auf- und Abbau zu decken.

AUSWAHL: 

Die Vorschläge werden in zwei Phasen bewertet. Alle Antragsteller*innen werden zunächst auf Teilnahmeberechtigung geprüft. Die Finalist*innen werden von einer Jury aus Kulturschaffenden ausgewählt, die im Dezember 2021 zusammentrifft. Projektfinalist*innen werden während der Planungsphasen mit dem Goethe-Institut zusammenarbeiten.

BEWERBUNGSVERFAHREN:

CV (oder vergleichbarer Lebenslauf)
Kurzes Exposé zum beantragten Projekt – bis zu 150 Wörter
Detaillierter Vorschlag, der sowohl das Konzept als auch die Planung für das Projekt beschreibt. Der Vorschlag sollte außerdem eine kurze Erklärung beinhalten, in der Sie darlegen, warum Ihr Projekt ausgesucht werden sollte, wie sich diese Möglichkeit auf Ihre Karriere auswirken würde und wie Sie vorhaben, das Potenzial des Goethe-Institut Project Space als Kulturraum zu nutzen.
Vorläufiger Budgetvorschlag. Das Erschließen weiterer finanzieller Unterstützung zusätzlich zum Produktionsbudget des Goethe-Instituts in Höhe von 5.000 USD wird begrüßt.
Optional: Liste vorgeschlagener Arbeiten (einschließlich Bilder oder Links zu vorgeschlagenen Arbeiten), Kurzbiografien zu Künstler*innen und/oder Arbeitsproben 
Der Antrag darf ebenfalls in Videoform gestellt werden, um allen Sprachniveaus gerecht zu werden.
Alle Anträge werden auf Grundlage des eingereichten Projektvorschlags, der Erfahrung der Kulturschaffenden sowie ihrer Fähigkeit, das Projekt mit dem zur Verfügung gestellten Budget umzusetzen, bewertet. 
Alle eingereichten Vorschläge werden als final betrachtet. Alle unvollständigen oder doppelten Anträge werden disqualifiziert.

Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbung einschließlich aller relevanten Materialien bis zum 30.11.2021 an daniel.chaffey@goethe.de.

 
Top