Congratulations from the Adlers
Happy Birthday!

The Adlers Courtesy of the Adlers


 

 

The Adler Fellowship is one of the world’s most prestigious programs for opera’s most promising young artists. Originally founded in 1977 as the San Francisco Affiliate Artists Opera Program, the program gives young singers and pianists the opportunity to gain valuable experience by performing supporting roles in San Francisco Opera’s mainstage productions.
 

For eight years now the Goethe-Institut San Francisco has been teaching German language classes at the San Francisco Opera as part of the Adler fellowship program. The Adler fellowship program is a multi-year performance-oriented residency offering advanced young artists intensive individual training, coaching and professional seminars, as well as a wide range of performance opportunities. The prestigious fellowship has nurtured the development of more than 175 young artists since its inception. Director Sheri Greenawald considers language training an essential component:

"The singers arrive at a key point in their training. Most have mastered the fundamentals of singing but haven't made the leap into professional careers. Learning a foreign language is probably the most valuable part of the program. It's critical, especially for English-speaking singers. They have to know what the words mean. This is the key, not only for acting, but for vocal production. It's an area where many conservatories fail, and it's what conductors most often complain about." - Quote from marinij.com.

Glückwünsche von den Adler
Happy Birthday!

 

Das Adler-Stipendium ist eines der renommiertesten Programme für herausragende Stimmen des Opernnachwuchses. Ursprünglich gegründet im Jahr 1977 als San Franciscos Affiliate Artists Opera Program, bietet das Programm jungen Sängerinnen und Pianisten die Möglichkeit, wertvolle Erfahrungen als Nebendarsteller auf San Franciscos Opernbühne zu sammeln.

 

Seit acht Jahren gibt das Goethe-Institut San Francisco im Rahmen des Adler Stipendienprogramms Deutschunterricht an der San Francisco Oper. Das Adler Stipendienprogramm ist ein mehrjähriges, Auftritt orientiertes Künstlerprogramm und bietet fortgeschrittenen jungen Künstlern intensives Einzeltraining, Coaching, professionelle Seminare sowie eine große Auswahl an Auftrittsmöglichkeiten. Das angesehene Stipendienprogramm hat seit seiner Gründung mehr als 175 junge Künstler und Künstlerinnen gefördert. Die Leiterin Sheri Greenawald betrachtet das Sprachtraining als eine essentielle Komponente des Programms:

„Die Sänger/innen kommen zu einem wichtigen Zeitpunkt in ihrem Training bei uns an. Die meisten haben die Grundlagen des Singens gemeistert, haben aber den Sprung in eine professionelle Karriere noch nicht geschafft. Eine Fremdsprache zu lernen, ist wahrscheinlich der wichtigste Teil des Programms. Es ist von wesentlicher Bedeutung, besonders für englischsprachige Sänger/innen. Sie müssen wissen, was die Wörter bedeuten. Das ist der Schlüssel, nicht nur für die schauspielerische Darbietung, sondern auch für die stimmliche Klangproduktion. Es ist ein Bereich, in dem viele Musikhochschulen scheitern und worüber sich Dirigenten am häufigsten beschweren.“ -
Zitat von marinij.com.