Mahassine El Hachadi
Backstory – The Film Residency

Mahassine El Hachadi © Mahassine El Hachadi

Biography:

Mahassine El Hachadi is a young Moroccan filmmaker, based and working in Marrakech, Morocco. 

In 2010, she received a bachelor’s degree in film from ÉSAV Marrakech. This degree, in addition to a Master’s in Directing she received from ÉSAV Toulouse in 2015, allowed her to write and direct several short fictions and documentaries.  
 
Recently she has been awarded a bursary to attend the London Film School as a sponsored researcher. She has also been selected as a Fellow in the 2017 American Film Showcase Documentry Workshop in Los Angeles, USA.

She has won many awards and participated in numerous prestigious international film festivals, including Clermont Ferrand, Namur, the Festival vue d’Afrique, the National Festival of Tanger, the Human Rights Film Festival in Barcelona. Her film Apnea was screened at the European Parliament in Brussels to represent women in the Moroccan film industry.

Project info:

In recent years many cases of public violence against homosexuals have occured in Morocco.  And because of widespread use of social networks, these cases have sparked controversies in the Moroccan society. 

In August 2015, during the Holy month of Ramadan, a young homosexual was beaten to death by a crowd of so-called believers in Fes. It happened just after the last prayer of the day. The attack was filmed by the audience and videos have been uploaded to YouTube. 

This event shocked me and I refused to watch these videos feeling this is a violent act in itself. A few months later I went back to France to finish my Master’s. Accidentlly I came across the video and this time my curiosity was aroused. 

Revange is a film about violence against the LGBT community in Moroccan society. 
 

statement jury

Mahassine El Hachadi’s previous works are quiet yet expressive. Their excellent photography and subtle visual narratives, in which not everything needs to be spelled out, is what makes them so persuasive. Against this background, we can look forward to her first long documentary film, which dedicates itself to a topic that is taboo in Moroccan society: homosexuality – and the violence that accompanies it. The residence programme’s favourable conditions should enable this courageous project to undergo concentrated further development.

Mahassine El Hachadi
Backstory – The Film Residency

Mahassine El Hachadi © Mahassine El Hachadi

Vita:

Mahassine El Hachadi ist eine junge marokkanische Filmemacherin, die in Marrakesch, Marokko, lebt und arbeitet.

2010 machte sie ihren Bachelor-Abschluss in Film an der ESAV in Marrakesch. Dieser Abschluss sowie ein Master in Regie an der E.S.A.V Toulouse 2015 gestatteten es ihr, mehrere Kurz- und Dokumentarfilme zu schreiben und dabei Regie zu führen. 

Vor Kurzem wurde sie mit einem Stipendium ausgezeichnet, mit dem sie als Gastwissenschaftlerin die Londoner Filmschule besuchen kann. Sie wurde auch als Fellow für den 2017 American Film Showcase Documentary Workshop in LA, USA, ausgewählt.

Sie erhielt mehrere Auszeichnungen und nahm an einigen bekannten internationalen Filmfestivals, wie Clermont-Ferrand, Namur, Festival Vues d'Afrique, National Festival of Tanger, Human Rights Film Festival Barcelona teil. Ihr Film Apnea wurde im Europäischen Parlament Brüssel als repräsentativ für Frauen in der Filmindustrie von Marokko gezeigt.

Projektinfo:

In den letzten Jahren kam es in Marokko zu zahlreichen Fällen von öffentlicher Gewalt gegen Homosexuelle. Durch die sozialen Netzwerke haben diese Fälle in der marokkanischen Gesellschaft Kontroversen ausgelöst.

Im August 2015 wurde während des Ramadan ein junger homosexueller Mann von einer Menge von Glaubensanhängern in Fes zu Tode geprügelt. Dies geschah direkt nach dem letzten Gebet des Tages. Der Angriff wurde von den Zuschauern gefilmt und die Videos wurden auf YouTube hochgeladen.
Dieses Ereignis schockierte mich so, dass ich mich weigerte, diese Videos anzuschauen. Ich dachte, dies sei bereits ein Gewaltakt. Wenige Monate später kehrte ich nach Frankreich zurück, wo ich meinen Master-Studiengang beendete. Durch Zufall stieß ich auf das Video und diesmal wurde meine Neugier erweckt.

Revange ist ein Film über die Gewalt gegen LGBT in der marokkanischen Gesellschaft. 

statement jury

Mahassine El Hachadis bisherige Arbeiten sind leise und ausdrucksstark zugleich, sie überzeugen durch ausgezeichnete Fotografie und subtiles visuelles Erzählen, bei dem nicht alles ausgesprochen werden muss. Vor diesem Hintergrund darf man gespannt sein auf ihren ersten langen Dokumentarfilm, der sich einem Tabuthema in der marokkanischen Gesellschaft widmet: Homosexualität – und die Gewalt, mit der ihr begegnet wird. Die günstigen Rahmenbedingungen des Residenzprogramms sollen eine konzentrierte weitere Ausarbeitung dieses mutigen Projekts ermöglichen.