Mohammed Almughanni
The Film Residency

Mohammed Almughanni © Mohammed Almughanni

VITA

Mohammed Almughanni is a director, screenwriter, and cinematographer. He was born in 1993 in Gaza. He is a student of Film Directing at the Film School in Łódź. He returned to his homeland as a director to tell the story of the communities living in the shadow of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. He is an author of documentary and feature films, including "Falafala" (2018), "Where’s the Donkey" (2018), "Operation" (2018), "Maria" (2015) and "Halawan" (2012). His previous documentary "Shujayya" (2015) won numerous film festival awards.

PROJECTINFO

After graduting from the American University of Beirut, Mohammed plans to go to Europe to enroll in a 4 years medical programme. He starts working as a biology teacher in Burj Albarajneh refugee camp, that way he collects 400USD each month. After finishing school, Mohammed works as a taxi driver. His family is trying to make him stay in Beirut and get married but he wants to go to the Polish embassy to apply for a visa.
 

jurystatement

Almughanni's knack for compelling narrative and gripping visuals exhibits a high-level consistency regardless of the different styles he approaches.
His works are ever-so-consumed by his Palestinian origins and not surprisingly concerned with themes of mobility, identity, and self-betterment.
This new project builds on Mohammed's relationship to Poland where he pursued his cinema studies, to draw semi-biographical parallels with his character's aspirations to leave a refugee camp in Lebanon and aim for a medical program in Europe. This Beirut residency will afford Mohammed access to his research and project development within a community of film professionals but also a Palestinian extended family on the other side of an otherwise impenetrable border.

Mohammed Almughanni
The Film Residency

Mohammed Almughanni © Mohammed Almughanni

VITA

Mohammed Almughanni ist Regisseur, Drehbuchautor und Kameramann. Er wurde 1993 in Gaza geboren. Er studiert Filmregie an der Hochschule für Film in Łódź. Als Regisseur kehrte er in sein Heimatland zurück, um die Geschichte der im Schatten des israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikts lebenden Menschen zu erzählen. Er ist Autor von Dokumentar- und Spielfilmen, darunter Falafala (2018), Wo ist der Esel? (2018), Operation (2018), Maria (2015) und Halawan (2012). Sein voriger Dokumentarfilm Shujayya (2015) gewann zahlreiche Preise auf Filmfestivals.

PROJEKTINFO

Nach seinem Abschluss an der Amerikanischen Universität Beirut plant Mohammed, nach Europa zu gehen, um sich in ein vierjähriges Medizinprogramm einzuschreiben. Er beginnt, als Biologielehrer im Flüchtlingslager Burj Al-Barajneh zu arbeiten, wo er 400 US-Dollar pro Monat verdient. Nach der Schule arbeitet Mohammed als Taxifahrer. Seine Familie versucht, ihn dazu zu bewegen, dass er in Beirut bleibt und heiratet, er jedoch möchte ein Visum an der polnischen Botschaft beantragen.
 

stellungnahme der jury

Almughannis Talent für spannende Geschichten und fesselnde Visuals ist über die verschiedenen von ihm praktizierten Stile hinweg von hoher Konsistenz geprägt. 
Seine palästinensische Abstammung verzehrt seine Arbeiten gleichsam von innen heraus. So ist es nicht überraschend, dass sie mit Themen von Mobilität, Identität und persönlicher Weiterentwicklung befasst sind. 
Dieses neue Projekt baut auf Mohammeds Beziehung zu Polen auf, dem Land seines Filmstudiums, und zieht halb-biographische Parallelen zu den Sehnsüchten seiner Figur, die aus einem Flüchtlingslager im Libanon heraus ein Medizinstudium in Europa anstrebt.  Die Residenz in Beirut wird Mohammed die Möglichkeit geben, seine Forschungen und Projekte weiterzuentwickeln - in einer Gemeinschaft von Filmschaffenden, doch auch innerhalb der palästinensischen "Großfamilie", die auf der anderen Seite einer sonst unüberwindlichen Grenze lebt.