Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Cultural Production Fund
Visual Arts

The projects use different techniques to to try and answer questions dealing with current issues, such as: What is the idea of home and what does it means to lose it? How has the architecture of Damascus changed?

Heba Alansare | Math Book© Ettijahat Independent Culture/ Amr Kokash
Raed Zeno | Marriage Contract© Goethe-Institut Libanon / Alia Haju
Heba Alansare | Math Book© Ettijahat Independent Culture / Amr Kokash

LOA Visual Arts © Ettijahat Independent Culture

Huda Takriti | Flight No. 840

Huda Takriti © Ettijahat Independent Culture  A multimedia installation which aims to recreate the hijacking of TWA Flight 840, which took place on the 29th of August 1969. This installation will not involve an actual trip to the physical space of the incident, but will comprise largely of a review of archival documents. By recreating the missing picture, the piece raises questions on the nature of the visual archive and the possibilities it represents.

Nagham Hodaifa | The Mediterranean, the End of Every Hope

Nagham Hodaifa © Ettijahat Independent Culture  A visual art work made up of two parts: the first is an art exhibition, while the second is an interactive work completed in cooperation with physicist Ivan El-Ata. The work sheds light on migrants whose dreams have ended in the Mediterranean, a colossal tourist destination which hides multitudes of painful realities. The International Organisation for Migration has stated that approximately 20,000 people have died or gone missing in that destination since 2014. Most of them have died without a trace.

Nawar Alhusari | The Noise of Isolation

Nawar Alhusari © Ettijahat Independent Culture  A visual art work that uses relief printing to discuss the terminologies that have entered into our daily lives through traditional and modern media as an accompaniment to the epidemic witnessed by the world, and their ability to impact cultural and social heritage in our individual lives. The aim of this visual work is to create a large lexicon of terms by carving them separately into linoleum plates and then using face masks as a surface for printing in order to produce an exhaustive visual product.


Edition 2019

Hiba Alansari | Dragée

An art installation and performance that explores the relationship of the artist with the concept of nothingness and tracing vacuum with sharp and smooth tools similar to the way it moves geographically. The work is based on a set of elements: a porcelain coating, a metal stirring machine, ropes and the human body. The artwork begins with a kinetic performance and then the elements are left in place as an installation in the vacuum. The work depends on the sounds of impact, movement, and noise as the elements come into contact with each other. The work seeks to create a balance between noise and silence in an interaction created by the body and its emotions with the help of forces of traction, lifting and impact.
 

Omar Malas | Raven Eye

A visual book containing images of daily life in Damascus accompanied by a narrative text. The book aims to fly as free as possible over and within the city with a camera that captures pictures from the perspective of the city’s ravens. The ravens are scattered in the city and the artist feels that they are watching us on a daily basis from different angles; hence, he believes that they can provide a different and strange view of reality.
 

Rahaf Demashqi | Golden Paths

A visual installation that addresses the idea of ​​abandoning a place, or being forced to leave it,  in search of a better life. The work seeks to document what immigrants experience in their country of exile and to appreciate the culture and richness they bring to the host communities. Using gilded paper, Golden Paths represents the experiences of some migrants who are not settled yet or who are looking for identity and belonging in their exile. It also aims to create a window for dialogue between immigrants and host populations. At the gates of exile, people who have been displaced from their homes experience different paths to reach new worlds.
 


Edition 2018

Fadi Alhamwi | White Gold

Fadi Alhamwi © Ettijahat Independent Culture "White Gold" is a performance and an installation, which is based on the re-creation of cement bricks produced in Syria, but replacing cement with white sugar. The concept of "sugar bricks" expresses the psychological, moral, and material dilemma that many Syrians face in their countries of asylum. It is also linked to the organic formation of the human body, which is exploited by capitalist and industrial countries. Sugar and its use in "construction" aesthetically show contradictions in the essence of sugar as a material, i.e. the harshness of its form vs. the sweetness of its taste. This "sweetness" expresses a sublime past due to the history of sugar itself.

Randa Maddah | Restoration

Randa Maddah © Ettijahat Independent Culture "Restoration" is a visual installation that tries to answer the question: How can I understand destruction? The work is an attempt to look at memory and its relation to a place and the changes it witnesses. It sheds light on how ruins, borders, walls, and checkpoints alter a place and transform the lives and language of people to become a semi-normal reality that absurdly tries to restore what cannot be restored. It exposes how memory fails to retrieve pre-ruin memories, where what is left are fragile, breakable shards in an attempt to find the self.

Samer Roumani | Survival Struggle

Samer Roumani © Ettijahat Independent Culture "Survival Struggle" is an exhibition of sculptural works in an expressive style executed in different materials and sizes (wood, stone, bronze, and metal formation). The buffalo is the main element in this collection, to which the artist bestows expressive movements, indicating conflict with reality as part of an attempt to survive and cling to one’s life and place. This creates balance in the work and its interaction with the space where it is exhibited.
 


Edition 2017

Boushra Moustafa | Doors

Boushra Moustafa © Ettijahat Independent Culture An installation that highlights the plight of the current Syrian generation (the generation of war) under current countless difficulties and its relentless attempts to find a wider space for its ambitions by striving to open doors to a fairer future. It is a journey in search of a future that currently seems vague and an attempt to cross to safety. The project presents a vision of twelve real doors (brought from war-affected residential areas) that are vertically placed on a circular base, in the middle of which is a sculpture of a man trying to cross: it’s an endless crossing. The work is accompanied by a sound effects and lighting production.
 

Mohamad Khayata | To Be Continued

Mohamad Khayata © Ettijahat Independent Culture To Be Continued is a conceptual art project consisting of fifteen installations. The project addresses a number of current themes, including demographic change, hatred, migration, and conflicts in our convergent societies. These themes will be outlined in a variety of ways and will pose a number of questions and solutions to the problems at hand. The project includes organizing a mobile interactive exhibition, which will allow for community participation as the installations will be on display in public and private areas.
 

Sami Ajouri | Between War and Peace

Sami Ajouri © Ettijahat Independent Culture An oil painting project that includes a collection of 10 to 15 paintings addressing the human image between war and peace. At the end of the project, the paintings will form a coherent body of work that will be presented at an art exhibition.






 

Shada Safadi | Bounce-back

Shada Safadi © Ettijahat Independent Culture A multimedia art project that includes video and engraving on plexiglass. It is a mural of transparent plexiglass and small-scale engraving work. Plexiglass pieces are engraved and folded in various forms using heat. The work addresses the geography of the occupied Syrian Golan, its political reality, and the consequent repercussions on the daily lives of individuals and groups residing there. The videos, which depict natural scenes from the Golan, are displayed on engraved surfaces as an attempt to change the stereotypical map of this current geography.


Edition 2016

Mohamad Omran | Crowd

Mohamad Omran © Ettijahat Independent Culture In the form of an art booklet of ten paintings, Crowd reproduces the image of mass crowds in Syria, from the 1980s to our present day. The booklet relies on painting as an implementation technique, with written texts that present the paintings and the events they depict. It contains a selected group of scenes that embody the idea of the crowd and introduces readers to the modern history of Syria by exploring the collectiveness of crowds.
The scenes depicted in the booklet include demonstrations and funerals at the beginning of the Syrian uprising, the funeral of the former president, groups gathered at co-op stores, images of mass displacement, and summer picnics near the Unknown Soldier memorial in Damascus, locally known as the ‘sairan.’

Raed Zeno | Marriage Contract

Raed Zeno © Ettijahat Independent Culture Marriage Contract aims to create an audio-visual space to explore the question of arranged marriages and honour in Arab societies in general, and the Syrian society in particular. The project openly and provocatively questions the social burdens of the past to allow us to reconsider old habits and traditions. This is achieved using local icons and rituals shown in paintings, video art, and sound effects.



 


Edition 2015

Heba Alansare | Math Book

Heba Alansare © Ettijahat Independent Culture Math Book is a synthetic work that tries to present an idea about people's connection with places, explosions and death. The work is inspired by a math book found by al-Ansari inside a destroyed house in the north of Syria, for the girl Nora Bezkadi, who was killed by warplanes bombing on her home. Al-Ansari used concrete blocks and sponges as an attempt to reduce the explosion, and to construct irrational mathematical equations that are formed from other materials used in everyday life, such as kitchen utensils.

 

Iyas Shahin | Real Estate Misdemeanours

Iyas Shahin © Ettijahat Independent Culture Real Estate Misdemeanours is an architectural multimedia project that aims to document a range of changes in the architectural and urban landscape of Damascus. The work focuses on current and future real estate projects that are somewhat aimed for the city’s development without really knowing whether or not this will really be achieved.

<< real estate misdemeanour is deliberately distorting a city’s image, and is connected to an unconscious future, an unacceptable present and a past detached from its context>>


Edition 2014

Bissane Al-Sharif | Women Memory

The project is a multimedia artistic production (video, sound, photography and text).

At its core, the project relies on documentation, spoken word, memories of physical spaces, and the recalling times and events. The project is based on the idea of forced exodus and its "documentation." It includes testimonials from several Syrian women and Palestinian-Syrian women, who give their accounts as they hail from several Syrian cities, are of different age groups and come from different social classes. Yet they all crossed the border: escaping from Syria, walking different paths in different directions towards a different country in the Arab world or in Europe.

Project leader Bissane al-Sharif says: “I talked to these women about their excodus, and I discovered that, even though the events happened recently, it remains a difficult time for them to remember, either because of the haste in the decision-making, the busyness preparing for their departure, the difficulty faced when coping with a new situation and a new environment, or the lack of any desire to remember. We also talked about ‘home’ and stability, about losing ‘home’ with such finality, about personal belongings, what was left in Syria, and what they took with them.”

“Women Memory is my first experience in the field of documentary production, and the project also denotes part of my personal experience in the search for the meaning of ‘homeland’ and ‘home’.” Lina, one of the women participating in the project, says: "There are some things that were in my handbag, which I wouldn’t necessarily think I would take, but now they mean a lot to me.”

The paths and stories of the women are diverse, and their forms of displacement vary. Some of these journeys continue up until today, as Syrians and their families continue to move between any number of places, both inside and outside Syria.


In cooperation with:

Disclaimer

The project descriptions were written by the artists themselves. The content does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the Goethe-Institut.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

KULTURPRODUKTIONSFOND
Bildende Kunst

Die  Projekte nutzen verschiedene Materialien und Techniken, um sich aktuellen Themen zu nähern:
Was ist die Bedeutung von Heimat und was bedeutet ihr Verlust? Wie hat sich Damaskus architektonisch verändert?

Heba Alansare | Math Book© Ettijahat Independent Culture/ Amr Kokash
Raed Zeno | Marriage Contract© Goethe-Institut Libanon / Alia Haju
Heba Alansare | Math Book© Ettijahat Independent Culture / Amr Kokash

Edition 2018

Fadi Alhamwi | White Gold

Fadi Alhamwi © Ettijahat Independent Culture „White Gold“ ist eine Performance und Installation, die auf der Nachahmung von Zementblöcken wie sie in Syrien produziert werden basiert, nur dass der Zement durch weißen Zucker ersetzt wird. Das Konzept der „Zuckerziegel“ drückt das psychologische, moralische und materielle Dilemma aus, dem sich viele Syrer in den Aufnahmeländern ausgesetzt sehen. Es steht gleichzeitig im Zusammenhang mit der organischen Entstehung des menschlichen Körpers, der in kapitalistischen und Industrieländern ausgebeutet wird. Zucker und seine Verwendung als "Baumaterial"“, zeigen ästhetisch die Widersprüche des Zuckers als Material auf: Die Rauheit seiner Form einerseits und die Süße seines Geschmacks andererseits. Diese „Süße“ drückt die grandiose Vergangenheit der Geschichte des Zuckers aus. 

Randa Maddah | Restoration

Randa Maddah © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Restoration“ ist eine Installation, die versucht die Frage zu beantworten: Wie kann ich Zerstörung verstehen? Diese Arbeit ist der Versuch, Erinnerung zu betrachten und die Verknüpfung von Erinnerung mit einem Ort und die Veränderungen zu erkunden. Die Installation zeigt, wie Ruinen, Grenzen, Mauern und Checkpoints einen Ort sowie das Leben und die Sprache der Menschen verändern, sodass eine semi-normale Realität entsteht, die auf absurde Weise veruscht, wiederherzustellen, was nicht wiederhergestellt werden kann. Die Arbeit zeigt damit auf, dass Erinnerung nicht verlorene Erinnerungen wiederherstellen kann, wo alles, das übrig ist, fragile, zerbrechliche  Scherben sind und die eigene Persönlichkeit verloren zu gehen scheint.

Samer Roumani | Survival Struggle

Samer Roumani © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Survival Struggle“ ist eine Ausstellung über expressive Skulpturen aus verschiedenen Materialien (Holz, Stein, Bronze, Metall) und Größen. Der Büffel ist das Hauptelement dieser Kollektion. Der Künstler verleiht dem Büffel ausdrucksvolle Bewegungen, um den Konflikt mit der Realität darzustellen, der immer ein Versuch ist, zu überleben und sich an das Leben und den Ort zu klammern. Das erschafft ein Gleichgewicht in der Arbeit und ihrer Interaktion mit dem Ausstellungsraum.


Edition 2017

Boushra Moustafa | Doors

Boushra Moustafa © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Doors“ (Türen) ist eine Installation, welche die Not der aktuellen syrischen Generation (die Generation des Krieges) hervorhebt und die unzähligen schwierigen Bedingungen schildert. Die Installation betrachtet die unermüdlichen Versuche dieser Generation, mehr Raum für ihre Ambitionen zu finden, indem sie sich bemühen, Türen zu einer gerechteren Zukunft zu öffnen. Es ist eine Reise auf der Such nach einer Zukunft, die momentan vage aussieht, und es ist ein Versuch, Sicherheit zu finden. Das Projekt präsentiert eine Vision von zwölf realen Türen (die aus vom Krieg betroffenen Wohngebieten stammen), die vertikal auf einer kreisförmigen Basis platziert werden. In der Mitte derselben befindet sich eine Männerskulptur, die versucht einen endlosen Übergang zu überqueren. Die Installation wird von Sound- und Lichteffekten begleitet.

Mohamad Khayata | To Be Continued

Mohamad Khayata © Ettijahat Independent Culture „To Be Continued“ (Weiterzuführen) ist ein konzeptuelles Kunstprojekt, das aus fünfzehn Installationen besteht. Das Projekt spricht eine Anzahl von Themen an wie demographischer Wandel, Hass, Migration und Konflikte in unseren ähnlichen Gesellschaften. Diese Themen werden in verschiedenen Formen aufgegriffen. Sie werden eine Reihe von Fragen aufwerfen und Lösungen für die essentiellen Probleme ergründen. Teil des Projektes ist es, eine mobile Mitmach-Ausstellung zu organisieren, die einen Raum schafft, damit die Besucher an den unterschiedlichen öffentlichen und privaten Orten, an denen die Installation gezeigt wird, teilnehmen können.

Sami Ajouri | Between War and Peace

Sami Ajouri © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Between War and Peace“ (Zwischen Krieg und Frieden) ist ein Projekt zur Ölmalerei. Es umfasst eine Sammlung von 10-15 Gemälden, die sich mit dem menschlichen Bild zwischen Krieg und Frieden auseinandersetzen. Am Ende des Projektes werden die Gemälde ein kohärentes Kunstwerk formen, das auf einer Kunstausstellung präsentiert wird.




 

Shada Safadi | Bounce-back

Shada Safadi © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Bounce-back“ (Zurückprallen) ist ein multimediales Kunstprojekt, das Videos und Gravuren auf Plexiglas umfasst. Es ist ein Werk aus transparentem Plexiglas und kleinförmigen Gravuren. Auf   Stücke des Plexiglases werden Formen eingraviert und auf verschiedene Weisen mit Hilfe hoher Temperaturen gefaltet. Die Arbeit behandelt die Geographie der besetzten Golan-Höhen, die politische Realität und die daraus folgenden Konsequenzen für das tägliche Leben der Individuen und Gruppen. Die Videos, welche die Naturlandschaften des Golan darstellen, werden auf gravierte Oberflächen projiziert. Dadurch wird versucht, die stereotypische Karte der derzeitigen Geographie zu verändern. 


Edition 2016

Mohamad Omran | Crowd

Mohamad Omran © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Crowd“ (Masse) reproduziert das Bild von Menschenmassen in Syrien seit den 1980ern bis heute in der Form einer Kunstbroschüre, die aus zehn Gemälden besteht. Die Broschüre versteht Malen als eine Implementationstechnik mit geschriebenen Texten, welche die Gemälde und die dargestellten Ereignisse präsentieren. Es beinhaltet ausgewählte Szenen, welche die Idee der Masse verkörpern, und den Leser in die moderne Geschichte Syriens einführen, indem sie die Kollektivität der Masse erkunden.
Die Szenen, welche in der Broschüre dargestellt werden, beinhalten Demonstrationen und Beerdigungen zu Beginn des syrischen Aufstandes: die Beerdigung des früheren Präsidenten, Gruppen vor Regierungsgeschäften, Massenflucht und Sommerpicknicke in der Nähe des Grabmals des unbekannten Soldaten in Damaskus, bekannt unter dem Namen „sairan“.

Raed Zeno | Marriage Contract

Raed Zeno © Ettijahat Independent Culture Mit der Installation „Marriage Contract“ (Heiratsvertrag) versucht Raed Zeno einen audio-visuellen Raum zu erschaffen, in dem Fragen zu arrangierten Ehen und Ehre in arabischen Gesellschaften allgemein und insbesondere in der syrischen Gesellschaft erforscht werden. Das Projekt stellt die sozialen Lasten der Vergangenheit offen und provokativ in Frage und erlaubt es uns, alte Angewohnheiten und Traditionen zu überdenken. Dies wird durch lokale Symbole und Rituale erreicht, die in Gemälden, Video-Kunst und Geräuscheffekten deutlich werden.
 


Edition 2015

Heba Alansare | Math Book

Heba Alansare © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Math Book“ (Mathematik-Buch) ist eine synthetische Arbeit, die versucht wiederzugeben, welche Verbindungen Menschen mit Orten, Explosionen und Tod haben. Die Arbeit ist inspiriert durch ein Mathematik-Buch des Mädchens Nora Bezkadi, das Heba in einem zerstörten Haus im Norden Syriens fand. Nora Bezkadi wurde getötet als Kampfflugzeuge ihr Haus bombardierten. Al-Ansari nutzt Betonblöcke und Schwämme in einem Versuch, die Explosion zu reduzieren und konstruiert irrationale mathematische Gleichungen, die durch Gegenstände des alltäglichen Lebens geformt werden, wie Küchenutensilien.

 

Iyas Shahin | Real Estate Misdemeanours

Iyas Shahin © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Real Estate Misdemeanours“ (Immobilien-Vergehen) ist ein architektonisches Multimedia-Projekt das beabsichtigt, die Veränderungen der Architektur und der urbanen Landschaft in Damaskus zu dokumentieren. Die Arbeit zielt auf gegenwärtige und zukünftige Immobilienprojekte, die angestrebt werden, um die Stadt zu entwickeln ohne wirklich zu wissen, ob dies erreicht wird.

<<Real Estate Misdemeanours ist verdreht bewusst das Bild der Stadt und ist mit einer ungewissen Zukunft verbunden, einer inakzeptablen Gegenwart und einer Vergangenheit, die von ihrem Kontext losgelöst ist>>
 


Edition 2014

Bissane Al-Sharif | Women Memory

Das Projekt „Women Memory“ (Weibliche Erinnerungen) ist eine multimediale Kunstproduktion (Video, Sound, Fotografie und Text).

Das Projekt basiert auf Dokumentationen, dem gesprochenen Wort, Erinnerungen an physische Orte, Zeiten und Ereignisse. Das Projekt basiert auf der Idee des erzwungenen Exodus und seiner „Dokumentation". Es beinhaltet Zeugnisse von zahlreichen syrischen und palästinensisch-syrischen Frauen, die alle aus verschiedenen syrischen Städten kommen, ein unterschiedliches Alter haben und unterschiedlichen sozialen Schichten zugehören. Aber sie alle überquerten die Grenze: Sie flohen aus Syrien, liefen auf unterschiedlichen Pfaden in verschiedene Richtungen zu anderen Ländern in der arabischen Welt oder in Europa.

Die Projektleiterin, Bissane Al-Sharif, sagt: „Ich habe mit diesen Frauen über den Exodus gesprochen und ich habe mit ihnen entdeckt, dass es schwierig ist, sich an die jüngsten Ereignisse zu erinnern; Entweder aufgrund der Hast, mit der Entscheidungen getroffen wurden, der Geschäftigkeit, mit der eine neue Abreise vorbereitet wurde, der Schwierigkeit mit der neuen Situation und dem neuen Umfeld zurecht zu kommen oder dem mangelnden Interesse sich zu erinnern. Wir sprachen auch über „Heimat“ und Stabilität, darüber, was es bedeutet, die „Heimat“ mit einer solchen Endgültigkeit zu verlieren, über persönliche Dinge, die in Syrien zurückgelassen wurden und was sie mitgenommen habe.

„Women Memory“ ist meine erste Erfahrung im Bereich Dokumentarproduktion und das Projekt beinhaltet auch meine persönliche Erfahrung auf der Suche nach der Bedeutung von „Heimatland“ und „Heimat“.“ Lina, eine der Frauen, die an dem Projekt teilnahm, sagt: „Es gibt einige Dinge in meiner Handtasche, von denen ich nicht dachte, dass ich sie mitnehme, aber jetzt bedeuten sie mir viel.“

Die Wege und Geschichten der Frauen sind vielfältig und unterschiedlich und ihre Formen der Flucht variieren. Einige dieser Reisen dauern bis heute an, wenn Syrer und ihre Familien weiterhin zwischen Orten sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb Syriens umherziehen.


In Kooperation mit:

Impressum

Die Projektbeschreibungen wurden von den Künstlern verfasst. Die Inhalte spiegeln nicht notwendigerweise die Position des Goethe-Instituts wider.
 

Top