European Day of Languages

European Day of Languages © Goethe-Institut

European Day of Languages - an initiative of the Council of Europe to achieve greater intercultural understanding and improve plurilingualism through linguistic diversity – has been celebrated annually on 26th September since its declaration in 2001. This year however, European Day of Languages will be celebrated on 27th of September as the 26th falls on a Sunday. Save the date to experience an exciting opportunity to explore European languages!

Register before 17th September

There have never been more opportunities to work or study in a European country than today, but lack of language competency prevents many people benefiting from them. Globalization and new business patterns mean that individuals increasingly require foreign language skills to function effectively and productively within countries. You are never too young or old to learn a language and to enjoy the opportunities it could offer. It encourages lifelong language learning, whether for academic purposes, professional requirements, mobility, pleasure or social exchange.

Language skills are a necessity and a right for everyone. This being one of the main messages of the European Day of Languages, we bring you a collaboration among the Alliance Française, the British Council, the Goethe-Institut and the Ministry of Education Sri Lanka - the First Online European Day of Languages in Sri Lanka. We aim to raise public awareness of the importance of language learning and diversifying the range of languages learnt to increase plurilingualism and intercultural understanding.

Have a look at this year's exciting program!

European Day of Languages

European Day of Languages © Goethe-Institut

Der European Day of Languages – eine Initiative des Europarats zur Förderung des interkulturellen Verständnisses und der Mehrsprachigkeit durch sprachliche Vielfalt – wird seit 2001 jedes Jahr am 26. September gefeiert (in diesem Jahr fällt der 26. September auf einen Sonntag, deshalb findet die Veranstaltung an dem darauffolgenden Montag, dem 27. September statt). Um diese spannende Gelegenheit, europäische Sprachen zu entdecken nicht zu verpassen, müssen Sie sich lediglich vor dem 17. September registrieren.

Zur Online-Veranstaltung anmelden

Noch nie gab es so viele Möglichkeiten, in einem europäischen Land zu arbeiten oder zu studieren wie heute, doch mangelnde Sprachkenntnisse hindern viele Menschen daran, diese Chancen zu nutzen. Die immer weiter voranschreitende Globalisierung und neue Geschäftsmodelle haben zur Folge, dass heutzutage von jedem Einzelnen Fremdsprachenkenntnisse verlangt werden, um in einem Land effektiv und produktiv arbeiten zu können. Man ist nie zu jung oder zu alt, um eine neue Sprache zu lernen und die Möglichkeiten, die sich aus Fremdsprachen-Kenntnissen ergeben, ermutigen zu lebenslangem Sprachenlernen, sei es für akademische Zwecke, die Anforderungen eines Berufes oder persönlich motiviert, wie z.B. durch Reisen oder sozialen Austausch.

Sprachkenntnisse sind aber nicht nur eine Notwendigkeit sondern auch ein Recht für jedermann. Dies ist eine der wichtigsten Botschaften des European Day of Languages. Deshalb präsentieren wir Ihnen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Alliance Française, dem British Council und dem Bildungsministerium Sri Lankas den ersten Europäischen Online-Tag der Sprachen in Sri Lanka. Unser Ziel ist es, die Öffentlichkeit für die Bedeutung des Sprachenlernens zu sensibilisieren und das Spektrum der erlernten Sprachen zu erweitern, um die Mehrsprachigkeit und das interkulturelle Verständnis zu fördern.

Informieren Sie sich hier über das vielseitige Programm des diesjährigen European Day of Languages!