Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Contemporary Dance in Sri Lanka © Goethe-Institut

Contemporary Dance in Sri Lanka

The Goethe-Institut offers the possibility to exchange ideas with different formats to professional dancers as well as students who would like to think outside the box of their traditional dance spectrum.


Current


Choreography Camps

In 2017, the first choreography camp was held, in which dancers and actors learned various methods for the conception of choreographies with the help of international mentors. The Goethe-Institut supports the network of independent performance artists in Sri Lanka and aims to intensify the local and international view of this network.

Choreography Camp 2021 © Goethe-Institut

Choreography Camp 2021
Interdisciplinary approach to dance and performance

The participants looked at the different processes, contexts and the various mediums that dance and performance makers could turn to.

Dance © Goethe-Institut

Choreography Camp 2018
Relationship to Space and Sound

The Choreography Camp 2018 took place in Kalpitiya from November 25 to December 1, mentored by
Sara Mikolai, Deepak Shivaswamy, Venuri Perera, Sudesh Mantillake and Isuru Kumarasinghe. 
 

Choreography Camp Kalpitiya © Goethe-Institut

Choreography Camp 2017
Tools for Improvisation

Fifteen dance and theatre university students, choreographers, dance teachers and theatre makers gained new knowledge and practical experience about various developments in choreography. 


Co-Productions


Colombo Dance Platform

In 2010, the Colombo Dance Platform was established by the Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka and the Forum for Contemporary Dance to promote contemporary dance in Sri Lanka. The biennial platform creates space for artistic development, a forum for discussion between artists with diverse backgrounds and an interested audience. One aim of the event is to present and reflect on the past, present and future of dance and choreography. The platforms were curated by international and Sri Lankan dance professionals. From the acquaintance of the Sri Lankan and German dancers Venuri Perera and Lea Moro on a past dance platform, the idea for a German-Sri Lankan co-production has developed, which took place in 2018.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Contemporary Dance in Sri Lanka © Goethe-Institut

Contemporary Dance in Sri Lanka

Das Goethe-Institut bietet professionellen Tänzerinnen und Tänzer sowie Studierenden, die über den Tellerrand ihres traditionellen Tanzspektrums schauen möchten, mit verschiedenen Formaten die Möglichkeit, sich auszutauschen.


 


Aktuelles


Choreographie Camps

Das Choreographie Camp fand erstmalig im Jahr 2017 statt. Es bietet Tänzer*innen und Performer*innen sich mit internationalen Mentor*innen auszutauschen und sich konzeptionell weiterzuentwickeln. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt darauf, Nachwuchstänzerinnen aus verschiedenen Teilen des Landes miteinzubeziehen. Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt das Netzwerk unabhängiger Performancekünstler*innen in Sri Lanka und möchte den lokalen und internationalen Blick auf dieses Netzwerk intensivieren.

Choreography Camp 2021 © Goethe-Institut | photo credit: Shehan Obeysekara

Choreography Camp 2021
Interdisziplinäre Ansätze

Unterschiedliche Medien, auf die Tanz- und Performance-Macher*innen zurückgreifen können: zum Beispiel Notizen, Zeichnungen, Texte, Sound, Video, Performance und Tanz. 

Tanz © Goethe-Institut

Choreography Camp 2018
Beziehung zu Raum und Sound

Das Choreographiecamp 2018 fand vom 25. November bis zum 3. Dezember mit den Mentor*innen
Sara Mikolai, Deepak Shivaswamy, Venuri Perera, Sudesh Mantillake und Isuru Kumarasinghe in Kalpitiya statt.
 

Choreography Camp Kalpitiya © Goethe-Institut

Choreography Camp 2017
Improvisation und Komposition

Fünfzehn (traditionell geschulte) Tanz- und Theaterstudierende, Choreograph*innen, Tanzlehrer*innen und Theatermacher*innen nahmen am ersten Camp teil. 


Koproduktionen


Colombo Dance Platform

2010 wurde die Colombo Dance Platform vom Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka und dem Forum für zeitgenössischen Tanz ins Leben gerufen, um zeitgenössischen Tanz in Sri Lanka zu fördern. Die alle zwei Jahre stattfindende Plattform schafft Raum für künstlerische Entfaltung, ein Forum für Diskussionen zwischen Künstler*innen mit verschiedensten Hintergründen sowie einem interessierten Publikum. Mit ein Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es, Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft von Tanz und Choreographie darzustellen und zu reflektieren. Die Plattformen wurden von internationalen sowie sri lankanischen Akteuren aus der Tanzwelt kuratiert.

Top