Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Thattu Pattu © Fold Media

Concept

Like knocking stones together to spark a flame, “Thattu Pattu” derives its meaning from two loan words between Sinhala and Tamil — the languages predominantly spoken in Sri Lanka. In Sinhala and Tamil respectively, “tattuva” and “thattu” mean “knock” while “pattu” and “patru” mean “to catch fire”. Thattu Pattu intends to spark a renewed interest in music from the fringes of Sri Lanka, and nurture this flame through a sustained engagement with musicians.

Outside of the mainstream — dominated by Sinhala Pop sold through ringing tones — the Sri Lankan independent music scene is quite small, and far less profitable. Musicians often work full-time jobs in other fields as they are unable to sustain themselves on their craft alone, as their audiences are too small to support them through attending events and purchasing their music. Despite these hardships, there are musicians who have persevered and continue to work on their craft and produce music. These are the musicians we chose to seek out for this project.

Our curatorial team worked with an extensive list of nominations before carefully pruning a shortlist of musicians that we felt would best benefit from the support and encouragement we could offer. We looked for musicians outside of the mainstream, who were exploring sound to express themselves in unique ways. The musicians we have chosen cover various musical genres and represent different music scenes within Sri Lanka, from hip hop to electronic music, folk music to neo- soul, and so on.

In a time of unpredictable lockdowns and perpetually postponed concerts, the Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka teamed up with music experts in the field, and financially supported these musicians and commissioned new musical works from each of them. Each act was supported to realize high quality productions that would highlight their unique voice. They were then paired with a local expert on their respective music scene as well as an international music journalist who would write essays on these pieces. This and more await your curious eyes and ears as we are happy to begin sharing with you “Thattu Pattu: music from the fringes of Sri Lanka”.


Website


Curatorial Team

The Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka brought together a curatorial team representing a diverse range of music scenes in Sri Lanka, as well as an international music curator, to conceptualize this initiative and carefully curate new musical works from exceptional musical talents. Our team worked closely, in the spirit of conversation and collaboration, to realize this initiative. With decolonial perspectives to music journalism and hands-on experience with shaping and caring for music scenes in Sri Lanka, our team brought their insights and ideas together with the aim of sparking a renewed interest in music from the fringes of Sri Lanka.

Imaad Majeed
Imaad Majeed is a multidisciplinary artist based in Colombo, Sri Lanka. They are Director and Curator of the trilingual performance platform "KACHA KACHA". They are one part of the artist collective "The Packet" and VJ/DJ of "Packet Radio" (SUPR FM). They enjoy making playlists, and write about musicians from Sri Lanka for the international music blog "beehype".

Sumudi Suraweera
Sumudi Suraweera obtained his PhD in ethnomusicology in 2010 from the University of Canterbury, New Zealand. His research focused on Sri Lankan Low-Country traditional drumming. Prior to this, he completed a Bachelor of music in jazz, majoring in drums. Sumudi started off his career as a musician in New Zealand where he performed regularly for nearly 10 years in the local jazz scene. Sumudi returned to Sri Lanka in 2010 to set up Musicmatters, a music school offering holistic musical education for children. Sumudi has also been actively involved in organizing festivals and concerts with the aim of developing an experimental and improvised music scene in Colombo.

Asvajit Boyle
Part of the first wave of electronic musicians to emerge from post-war Sri Lanka in the late 2000s, Asvajit’s work as a DJ and producer has been published on record labels worldwide and performed at festivals and nightlife institutions in Europe and Asia. A vocal proponent for the development of non-traditional forms of music in Sri Lanka, Asvajit has helped facillitate workshops, artist residencies and performances on the island since 2011. He is the founder of the Jambutek Recordings imprint and co-founder of the audio-visual experiences platform Sub_Sequence. Asvajit formalized his practice as a graphic designer in 2019 with the formation of Fold Media Collective.

Thomas Burkhalter 
Dr. Thomas Burkhalter is an anthropologist/ethnomusicologist, AV-artist, and writer from Bern (Switzerland). He is the founder and director of Norient, the Norient Space (Norient.com), and the founder and strategic director of the Norient Film Festival (NFF). He co- directed documentary films (e.g. Contradict, Berner Filmpreis 2020 + Al-Jazeera Witness) and AV/theatre/dance performances, is the author and co-editor of several books, teaches regularly at universities, and runs workshops for arts institutions. His experimental radio feature, “Gqom Edits – A Durban Visit”, was nominated for Prix Europa in 2017. Currently, he is working on a new music project, and on the experimental podcast series’ Timezones and South Asian Sound Stories with musicians from the UK, Bangladesh, India, and Pakistan.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Thattu Pattu © Fold Media

Konzept

Wie das Aneinanderschlagen von Steinen, um eine Flamme zu entfachen, "Thattu Pattu" leitet sich sowohl aus dem Singhalesischen als auch aus dem Tamilischen ab.  Auf Singhalesisch und Tamilisch bedeuten "tattuva" und "thattu" "klopfen", während "pattu" und "patru" "Feuer fangen" bedeuten. Thattu Pattu will das Interesse an Musik fernab des Mainstreams wie ein Feuer entfachen und diese Flamme durch ein nachhaltiges Engagement mit Musikerinnen und Musikern aus Sri Lanka nähren.

Die Mainstream Musik-Szene Sri Lankas wird von singhalesischem Pop dominiert, daneben ist die unabhängige Musikszene der Insel recht klein und weit weniger profitabel. Die Musiker*innen haben oft zusätzliche Vollzeitjobs, da sie nicht in der Lage sind, allein von der Musik zu leben. Das liegt unter anderem daran, dass es bislang nur ein sehr kleines Publikum für alternative und experimentelle Musik in Sri Lanka gibt. Trotz dieser Schwierigkeiten gibt es Musiker*innen, die sich nicht unterkriegen lassen und weiter an ihrer Musik arbeiten und produzieren. Diese Musiker*innen haben wir für dieses Projekt ausgewählt.

Ausgehend von einer langen Liste mit Nominierten, suchte das kuratorische Team nach Musiker*innen, die bestmöglich von der Unterstützung und Förderung durch Thattu Pattu profitieren würden, Künstler*innen, die abseits des Mainstreams schaffen, die nicht müde werden Klänge zu erforschen und damit in der Lage sind, sich musikalisch auf einzigartige Weise auszudrücken. Die ausgewählten Musiker*innen, decken verschiedene Musikgenres ab und repräsentieren unterschiedliche Musikszenen in Sri Lanka, von Hip-Hop bis zu elektronischer Musik, von Folk bis zu Neo-Soul usw.

In einer Zeit unvorhersehbarer Schließungen und ständig verschobener Konzerte hat sich das Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka mit Musikexperten vor Ort zusammengetan, um neue musikalische Werke in Auftrag zu geben. Die ausgewählten Musiker*innen wurden dabei unterstützt, qualitativ hochwertige Produktionen zu realisieren, die ihre jeweils einzigartigen Stimme hervorheben und unterstreichen. Anschließend wurden sie mit einem lokalen Experten sowie internationalen Musikjournalisten*innen zusammengebracht, sodass mit jedem produzierten Musikstück ein Essay veröffentlicht wird. Dies und mehr erwartet Sie und Ihre neugierigen Augen und Ohren auf der Projektwebsite zu “Thattu Pattu: Music from the fringes of Sri Lanka”.


Website


Kuratorisches Team

Um diese Initiative zu konzipieren und neue musikalische Werke von außergewöhnlichen Musiktalenten auszuwählen, hat das Goethe-Institut Sri-Lanka ein kuratorisches Team aus drei lokalen Kuratoren, die die unterschiedlichsten Musikszenen in Sri Lanka repräsentieren, sowie einem internationalen Musikkurator zusammengestellt. Während der Realisierung des Projekts hat das Team eng zusammengearbeitet. Mit viel Teamgeist, Kommunikation, ihrer dekolonialen Perspektive auf den Musikjournalismus und umfangreichen praktischen Erfahrungen bei der Gestaltung und Pflege von Musikszenen in Sri Lanka, hat das Team seine Erkenntnisse und Ideen in Thattu Pattu zusammenfließen lassen.


Imaad Majeed
Imaad Majeed ist ein multidisziplinärer Kunstschaffender, wohnhaft in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Imaad sind Direktor*in und Kurator*in der dreisprachigen Performance-Plattform "KACHA KACHA". Imaad sind ein Teil des Künstlerkollektivs "The Packet" und VJ/DJ von "Packet Radio" (SUPR FM). Sie erstellen gerne Playlists und schreiben über Musiker*innen aus Sri Lanka für den internationalen Musikblog "beehype".

Sumudi Suraweera
Sumudi Suraweera promovierte 2010 in Musikethnologie an der University of Canterbury, Neuseeland. Seine Forschung konzentrierte sich auf das traditionelle Trommeln der srilankischen Low-Country-Region. Zuvor absolvierte er einen Bachelor of Music in Jazz mit dem Schwerpunkt Schlagzeug. Sumudi begann seine Karriere als Musiker in Neuseeland, wo er fast 10 Jahre lang regelmäßig in der dortigen Jazzszene auftrat. Im Jahr 2010 kehrte Sumudi nach Sri Lanka zurück und gründete Musicmatters, eine Musikschule, die Kindern und Jugendlichen eine ganzheitliche musikalische Ausbildung bietet. Sumudi beteiligt sich auch aktiv an der Organisation von Festivals und Konzerten, mit dem Ziel, eine experimentelle und improvisierte Musikszene in Colombo zu entwickeln.

Asvajit Boyle
Asvajit Boyle war Teil der ersten Welle elektronischer Musik, die in den späten 2000er Jahren das damalige Nachkriegs-Sri Lanka erreichte. Seine Produktionen wurden von Plattenlabels aus aller Welt veröffentlicht und auf Festivals und im Nachtleben in Europa und Asien gespielt. Asvajit setzt sich für die Entwicklung nicht-traditioneller Musikformen in Sri Lanka ein und hat seit 2011 Workshops, Künstlerresidenzen und Performances auf der Insel mitorganisiert. Er ist der Gründer des Labels Jambutek Recordings und Mitbegründer der audiovisuellen Plattform Sub_Sequence. Mit der Gründung von Fold Media Collective im Jahr 2019 hat Asvajit seine Praxis als Grafikdesigner formalisiert.

Thomas Burkhalter 
Dr. Thomas Burkhalter ist Anthropologe/Ethnomusikologe, AV-Künstler und Autor aus Bern (Schweiz). Er ist Gründer und Leiter von Norient, dem Norient Space (Norient.com), und Gründer und strategischer Leiter des Norient Film Festivals (NFF). Er hat bei Dokumentarfilmen (z.B. Contradict, Berner Filmpreis 2020 + Al-Jazeera Witness) und AV-/Theater-/Tanz-Performances Regie geführt, ist Autor und Mitherausgeber mehrerer Bücher, unterrichtet regelmäßig an Universitäten und leitet Workshops für Kunstinstitutionen. Sein experimentelles Radiofeature "Gqom Edits - A Durban Visit" wurde 2017 für den Prix Europa nominiert. Derzeit arbeitet er an einem neuen Musikprojekt und an den experimentellen Podcast-Serien "Timezones" und "South Asian Sound Stories" mit Musikern*innen aus Großbritannien, Bangladesch, Indien und Pakistan.
 

Top