About us
New York

The Goethe-Institut, Germany’s cultural institute, operates worldwide, promoting knowledge of the German language abroad and fostering international cultural collaborations. Our program of public events offers an opportunity to engage with themes and questions relevant to contemporary German culture and society. Faced with the challenges of globalization, we aim to strengthen intercultural dialog and a global civil society. There are currently 159 Goethe-Institut branches operating in 98 countries around the world. Combining our cross-cultural expertise with the experiences of our local partners, we support and collaborate with cultural institutions and artists, universities and schools, local authorities and businesses with an interest in Germany and its language and culture.


  © © Ambika Singh  © Ambika Singh

LANGUAGE COURSES AND EXAMS

The Goethe-Institut New York promotes the teaching and learning of the German language throughout the United States. We offer classes for beginners and more advanced learners, with face-to-face, online, and blended-learning courses. Our language exams are internationally recognized and we work in partnership with certified examination centers throughout the United States.

GERMAN PROGRAMS AT SCHOOLS AND UNIVERSITIES

To strengthen German programs at schools and universities (K–16), the Goethe-Institut New York supports teachers, helps to motivate students to learn German, and liaises  with educators in New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. We offer workshops by a network of experts across the country and online, introducing German teachers to new instructional materials and methods.

CULTURAL PROGRAMS

The Goethe-Institut New York presents a range of programming in the arts and humanities, including lectures, artist talks, film screenings, performances, installations, exhibitions, readings, public discussions, and conferences. We address current issues from both German and US perspectives. Working in close collaboration with local and international partners, we aim to build inspiring and long-term relationships.

MINI/GOETHE-INSTITUT CURATORIAL RESIDENCIES LUDLOW 38

Ludlow 38 is a space for contemporary art located on the Lower East Side, generously supported by MINI. Exhibitions and events are presented in collaboration with annually rotating curatorial residents from Germany.

LIBRARY AND INFORMATION SERVICES

Our library is open to the public and holds a comprehensive collection of contemporary German literature, the arts, and social sciences as well as translated works and learning material on German as a foreign language. Our eLibrary offers digital media, including e-books, audio and video files, electronic newspapers and magazines for download.

Top

Über uns
New York

Das Goethe-Institut ist das Kulturinstitut Deutschlands. Es operiert weltweit und hat die Aufgabe, den deutschen Spracherwerb im Ausland und internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit zu fördern. Unser öffentliches Verantstaltungsprogramm bietet die Möglichkeit, sich mit Themen und Fragen auseinanderzusetzen, die für die heutige deutsche Kultur und Gesellschaft von Bedeutung sind. Wir stellen uns den Herausforderungen der Globalisierung, indem wir sowohl den interkulturellen Dialog als auch die globale Zivilgesellschaft stärken. Derzeit sind weltweit 159 Zweigstellen des Goethe-Instituts aktiv. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern vor Ort setzen wir unsere kulturübergreifenden Kompetenzen dafür ein, kulturelle Organisationen und Künstler, Universitäten und Schulen sowie örtliche Instanzen und Unternehmen, die Interesse an Deutschland, seiner Sprache und Kultur haben, zu unterstützen und mit ihnen zusammenzuarbeiten.


  © © Ambika Singh  © Ambika Singh

SPRACHKURSE UND PRÜFUNGEN

Das Goethe-Institut New York fördert die Lehre und den Erwerb der deutschen Sprache in den gesamten Vereinigten Staaten. Unser Angebot umfasst Kurse für Anfänger und fortgeschrittene Lernende im Präsensformat sowie in integrierter Form oder online. Unsere Sprachprüfungen sind international anerkannt und wir arbeiten USA-weit mit akkreditierten Prüfungszentren zusammen.

DEUTSCHPROGRAMME AN SCHULEN UND UNIVERSITÄTEN

Um die Deutschprogramme an Schulen und Universitäten (K-16) zu stärken, unterstützt das Goethe-Institut New York Deutschlehrer, hilft mit, Schüler zum Erwerb der deutschen Sprache zu motivieren und arbeitet mit Bildungsexperten in New York, New Jersey und Pennsylvania zusammen. Unsere Präsens- und Online Workshops, geleitet von Mitgliedern unseres extensiven Expertennetzwerks, bieten Deutschlehrern Einblick in die neuesten Unterrichtsmaterialien und vermitteln innovative didaktische Ansätze.

KULTURVERANSTALTUNGEN

Das breitgefächerte Veranstaltungsangebot des Goethe-Instituts New York umfasst Vorträge, Künstlergespräche, Filmvorführungen, Inszenierungen, Installationen, Ausstellungen, Lesungen, Podiumsdiskussionen und Konferenzen zu Themenkreisen der bildenden und darstellenden Künsten und Geisteswissenschaften. Wir beleuchten aktuelle Themen sowohl aus der deutschen als auch aus amerikanischen Perspektiven. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Partnern und mit Partnern vor Ort sind wir darum bemüht, langfristige produktive interkulturelle Beziehungen aufzubauen.

MINI/GOETHE INSTITUT RESIDENZPROGRAMM FÜR KÜNSTLER LUDLOW 38

Die Räumlichkeiten in Ludlow 38 auf der Lower East Side, unterstützt von MINI, sind der zeitgenössischen Kunst gewidmet. Ausstellungen und Events werden in Zusammenarbeit mit jährlich wechselnden Kuratorstipendiaten aus Deutschland erstellt.

BIBLIOTHEK UND INFORMATIONSARBEIT

Unsere öffentlich zugängliche Bibliothek beherbergt eine umfassende Sammlung zeitgenössischer deutscher Literatur, Publikationen zur Kunst-und Sozialwissenschaft sowie Übersetzungen und Lehrwerke für Deutsch als Fremdsprache. Unsere Onleihe bietet digitale Medien, inklusive e-und Audiobücher, Videodateien und elektronische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften an, die von Benutzern heruntergeladen werden können.

Top