Anniversary Program
100 Years of Joseph Beuys

Beuys Soziale Plastik GIF © Lutz Mommartz

Few German cultural figures of the 20th century were as controversial as the action artist, sculptor, draftsman, art theorist, and professor Joseph Beuys (1921–1986). His work dealt with a new, expanded concept of art that included the political co-creation of society.

We’ve gathered events on Joseph Beuys from our colleagues and partners in the region — and included some 2021 perspectives on the artist’s work.
 



Of brooms & coyotes: Artist and California College of the Arts professor Kota Ezawa attended the Düsseldorf Arts Academy 40 years after Joseph Beuys. For #beuys100, Ezawa took a broom to his studio. Watch Ezawa’s animation "Lennon Sontag Beuys" at the Goethe-Institut Toronto’s Goethe Air Space in spring 2022 as part of the Contact Photography Festival.
Of brooms & coyotes: Artist and California College of the Arts professor Kota Ezawa attended the Düsseldorf Arts Academy 40 years after Joseph Beuys. For #beuys100, Ezawa took a broom to his studio. Watch Ezawa’s animation "Lennon Sontag Beuys" at the Goethe-Institut Toronto’s Goethe Air Space in spring 2022 as part of the Contact Photography Festival.

More about Joseph Beuys







Top

Jubiläumsprogramm
100 Jahre Joseph Beuys

Beuys Soziale Plastik GIF © Lutz Mommartz

Wenige deutsche Kulturschaffende des 20. Jahrhunderts waren so umstritten wie der Aktionskünstler, Bildhauer, Zeichner, Kunsttheoretiker und Professor Joseph Beuys (1921–1986). Sein Werk beschäftigte sich mit einem neuen, erweiterten Kunstbegriff, der die politische Mitgestaltung der Gesellschaft einschloss.

Wir haben Veranstaltungen zu Joseph Beuys von unseren Kolleg*innen und Partnern in der Region gesammelt – und einige Perspektiven aus 2021 auf das Werk des Künstlers zusammengestellt.

Reflections on Beuys © Goethe-Institut

#aboutbeuysDC
Gedanken zu Beuys

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags von Joseph Beuys haben das Goethe-Institut Washington und das Hirshhorn Museum gemeinsam neun zeitgenössische Künstler*innen gebeten, über Beuys nachzudenken. In kurzen Videos präsentiert jede*r Künstler*in seine oder ihre Beziehung zu Beuys, dessen Werk und seine Bedeutung.
 



Von Besen & Kojoten: Der Künstler und California College of the Arts-Professor Kota Ezawa besuchte 40 Jahre nach Joseph Beuys die Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Für #beuys100 nahm Ezawa einen Besen mit in sein Atelier. Zu sehen ist Ezawas Animation "Lennon Sontag Beuys" im Frühjahr 2022 im Rahmen des Contact Photography Festivals im Goethe-Institut Toronto.
Von Besen & Kojoten: Der Künstler und California College of the Arts-Professor Kota Ezawa besuchte 40 Jahre nach Joseph Beuys die Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Für #beuys100 nahm Ezawa einen Besen mit in sein Atelier. Zu sehen ist Ezawas Animation "Lennon Sontag Beuys" im Frühjahr 2022 im Rahmen des Contact Photography Festivals im Goethe-Institut Toronto.

Mehr über Joseph Beuys







Top