Helen & Kurt Wolff
Translator's Prize

Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize

Established in 1996 and funded by the German government, the Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize is awarded each year to honor an outstanding literary translation from German into English published in the USA the previous year. The prizewinning translator receives $10,000. The Prize celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2021!

2021 Prizewinner

Jackie Smith's translation ... brilliantly captur[es] the musicality of the original text, its philosophical depths, psychological insights, meticulous scientific observations—as well as its playful ingenuity and deeply poetic imagination.

25 Years Wolff Prize

Shelley Frisch, jury chair of the Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize, reflects on the twenty-five year history of the prize, its significance to literature in translation, and its role in honoring the Wolff family’s extraordinary legacy in publishing.

Commemorating the 25th Anniversary of the Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize

Alexander Wolff, grandson of Kurt Wolff and author of Endpapers: A Family Story of Books, War, Escape, and Home, elucidates his grandfather's perennial undertaking to establish himself as a publisher on both sides of the Atlantic.

Kurt Wolff, 1887-1963

Translation Award Ceremony: June 24, 1:00pm EDT

Wolff Gutekunst

This year's annual translation award ceremony in honor of the Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize and the Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York will be streamed live on Zoom from the Goethe-Institut New York and Goethe-Institut London. We can accomodate a small audience for the ceremony 'in person' at the Goethe-Institut New York: to attend, RSVP to library-newyork@goethe.de is mandatory and proof of vaccination is requested.

Register for Zoom

Shortlist 2021

The following titles were selected for the shortlist for this year's prize!

Shortlist 2021

Submissions 2021

The following titles, all published in the USA or Canada in 2020, were submitted for consideration for this year's prize.

Submissions 2021

Past Prizewinners





How to submit?


Publishers in the USA and Canada are invited to submit six copies of a published translation from the German language into English for consideration. The translation must have been published (not only distributed) in the USA or Canada in 2020.

Guidelines for Publishers

About Helen & Kurt Wolff

Kurt Wolff, joined later by his wife Helen, was one of the most outstanding and innovative publishers in Germany of the 1920s. Helen and Kurt Wolff immigrated to New York in 1941, and founded Pantheon Books, a publishing house devoted mainly to the translation of German and other European literature.

About Helen & Kurt Wolff

Contact

Dean Whiteside
Translation Grant Program Liaison
dean.whiteside@goethe.de

Goethe-Institut New York
30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Our Partner





Top

Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis

Der in 1996 gegründete und von der deutschen Regierung finanzierte Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis zeichnet jedes Jahr eine herausragende Literaturübersetzung vom Deutschen ins Englische aus, die im vorangegangenen Jahr in den USA veröffentlicht wurde. Preisträger*innen erhalten eine mit $10.000 dotierte Auszeichnung. Der Preis feiert 2021 sein 25. Jubiliäm!

2021 Preisträgerin

Jackie Smiths Übersetzung ... schafft es dabei, die Musikalität des Originaltexts, die philosophische Tiefe, psychologische Erkenntnisse und präzise wissenschaftliche Beobachtungen sowie die verspielte Naivität und die poetische Fantasie auf bestechender Weise zu erfassen.

25 Jahre Wolffpreis

Shelley Frisch, Juryvorsitz des Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreises, über die 25-jährige Geschichte des Preises, seine Bedeutung für die Literaturübersetzung und das, was er für das besondere Vermächtnis bedeutet, das die Wolff Familie im Verlagswesen hinterlassen hat.

Zum 25. Jubiläum des Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreises

Alexander Wolff, Enkelsohn von Kurt Wolff und Autor von Endpapers: A Family Story of Books, War, Escape, and Home veranschaulicht in seinem Werk das stetige Bestreben des Großvaters, sich als Verleger auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks zu behaupten.

Kurt Wolff, 1887-1963

Übersetzerpreisverleihung: 24. Juni, 13.00 Uhr EDT

Wolff Gutekunst

Die diesjährige Übersetzerpreisverleihung für den Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis sowohl als der Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York wird live von den Goethe-Instituten New York und London auf Zoom gestreamt. Wir können ein kleines Publikum vor Ort am Goethe-Institut New York empfangen: Anmeldung per Email an library-newyork@goethe.de und Impfnachweis sind erforderlich.

Anmeldung für Zoom

Engere Auswahlliste 2021

Folgende Titel sind in der engeren Auswahlliste für den diesjährigen Preis!

Engere Auswahlliste 2021

Einreichungen 2021

Folgende Titel, die alle 2020 in den USA oder Kanada veröffentlicht wurden, sind für den diesjährigen Preis eingereicht worden.

Einreichungen 2021

Vergangene Preisträger*innen

Philip Boehm © Traci Lavois Thiebaud

2020
Philip Boehm





Wie reicht man eine Übersetzung ein?


Amerikanische und kanadische Verleger werden gebeten, sechs Exemplare einer Übersetzung aus dem Deutschen ins Englische einzureichen. Die Übersetzung muss im Jahr 2020 in den USA oder in Kanada publiziert worden sein.

Richtlinien für Verleger

Über Helen & Kurt Wolff

Kurt Wolff, unterstützt von seiner Frau Helen, war einer der bedeutendsten Verleger Deutschlands in den 1920er Jahren. Helen und Kurt Wolff immigrierten 1941 nach New York und gründeten das Verlagshaus Pantheon Books, das sich überwiegend auf Übersetzungen deutscher sowie europäischer Literatur konzentrierte.

Über Helen & Kurt Wolff

Kontakt

Dean Whiteside
Ansprechpartner f. Übersetzungsförderung
dean.whiteside@goethe.de

Goethe-Institut New York
30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Unser Partner





Top