Beethoven's Septet goes Modern

Ludwig van Beethoven, Septett (Es-Dur) op. 20, Partitur, Abschrift, Seite 1 © Beethoven-Haus Bonn

Two new works commissioned

In celebration of Beethoven’s 250th birthday, the Goethe-Institut Boston commissioned the composers Heather Stebbins and Diana M. Rodriguez, both with strong ties to Boston, to compose works based on his Septet in E-flat major, op. 20. The ensembles Sound Icon and Winsor Music were scheduled to premiere the new works alongside Beethoven’s septet in November but the performance was postponed due to the pandemic. We invite you to preview the works through videos created in the comfort of the musicians' homes. We are hoping to present the concert in person sometime in 2021.

Rane Moore, clarinet
Marina Krickler, horm
Rachael Elliott, basson
Gabriela Diaz, violin
Samuel Kelder, viola
Francesca McNeeley, violoncello
Randy Zigler, contrabass
Jeffrey Means, Conductor

Audio/Video Production by Dave Jamrog