Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Preserving Crafts

Illustrated by @istelaillustrated
© Illustrated by @istelaillustrated

Learning from Dhaka: In a German-Bangladeshi exchange program, young designers are rethinking crafts – as an arena for cultural and social sustainability

By Anna Kessel

In current discussions about sustainability in the fashion and textile industry, cultural aspects are often overlooked. However, it is worth taking a closer look as the globalization of fashion and the advance of fast and cheaply produced garments are leading to the gradual loss of textile craftsmanship – with devastating consequences not only for cultural heritage, but also for the future prospects of appropriately trained craftsmen. In the exchange program  LOCAL INTERNATIONAL IV social design + crafts ”, participating designers and students from Berlin and Dhaka discuss the question of local crafts with regard to their role in cultural and social sustainability.

Textiles – once an expensive commodity

With the effects of advancing industrial development, manual knowledge that has developed over centuries is currently dying out in both Bangladesh and Germany. This too concerns the textile sector: Due to the globalization of fashion and the steady decline in the price of textiles, quality and individuality of the products are hardly a priority for purchasing companies. The industry relies on cost-effective and fast machine production. Especially in Bangladesh, a country where the manual production of textiles has historically been – and still is – an important source of income, craft businesses and artisans facing the ever-increasing international price pressure have to decide whether to industrialize their production or to give up traditional crafts completely.

It therefore seems inevitable that the online seminars between Berlin and Dhaka in summer 2020 have their particular focus on Bangladesh. This is evident in the selection of invited guests, but above all in their stories, which emphasize that the current urgency to develop economic perspectives for a nation with a weak infrastructure especially in rural areas cannot be discussed without discussing colonial heritage, too.
Representatives of the National Crafts Council of Bangladesh: FARZANA YUSUF, CHANDRA SHEKHAR SHAHA, SHEIKH SAIFUR RAHMAN (clockwise) Representatives of the National Crafts Council of Bangladesh: FARZANA YUSUF, CHANDRA SHEKHAR SHAHA, SHEIKH SAIFUR RAHMAN (clockwise) © IstelaIllustrated

Preserving local crafts

The focus of the exchange program, which dedicates its fourth edition to social design and crafts, is first of all a practical look at the craft history of Bangladesh. Chandra Shekhar Shaha, himself a designer and invited in his role as former president and presently member of the executive committee of the National Crafts Council of Bangladesh, gives the participants a general overview of historical arts and crafts in Bangladesh and, together with Sheik Saifur Rahman, general secretary of the Crafts Council, brings them closer to the most important textile techniques such as “Jamdani” and “Nakshi Kantha”. Jamdani, one of the most valued weaving techniques in Bangladesh, has only been on the list of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity since 2013, which UNESCO has drawn up as part of the Convention for the Conservation of Intangible Cultural Heritage since 2008. This is where the topicality of the discourse becomes clear.

Nawshin Khair, founder of the Bengal Crafts Society, explains how precarious the situation is with some of the traditional weaving techniques in Bangladesh. Not solely the fast fashion phenomenon of the past decade has strongly fueled the turning away from costly textile production in Bangladesh. To begin with, the era of British colonial rule over Bangladesh was accompanied by strong economic turning points which led to an ever-increasing loss of craftsmanship in between 1858 and the early 1970’s. Nawshin Khair actively addresses these problems with the Bengal Crafts Society. The non-profit organization is now a profitable addition to the fair-trade label Aranya, of which Khair is chairwoman and which dedicated itself to the successful marketing of the arts and crafts sector in Bangladesh. In 2016, a year after she took over the management of Aranya, Khair founded the partner organization to further expand the promotion of local crafts in areas with poor infrastructure, while facilitating the preservation and research of traditional craft techniques.
Nawshin Khair #craftforconservation #aranya_crafts #creativeconservationalliance #bdcraft_society Nawshin Khair #craftforconservation #aranya_crafts #creativeconservationalliance #bdcraft_society © IstelaIllustrated

“Last year,” she tells, “we worked with the National Crafts Council of Bangladesh and companies like Aranya to revive a particularly fine variant of Jamdani, the fine count Jamdani also known as Dhaka muslin.” During the turning point of British colonial rule, the technical knowledge to weave Fine Count Jamdani with such fine yarns with a thread count of 600 to 1,000 was lost. Also, the cultivation of the type of cotton required for the production of the yarn, the so-called puthi cotton, stagnated. Today the Jamdani tradition is still very much alive, but the textiles rarely exceed a thread count of eighty. “In order to revive the lost technique of Fine Count Jamdani, we worked with local weavers. We gave them hand-spun yarn with a thread count between 200 and 400, which is much finer than what is currently used in Jamdani weaving. And we went on research trips to the V&A Museum in London, looked at the motifs from the 16th century in the collection and then tried to recreate them.”

The preservation and revitalization of crafts, this is particularly evident in Khair's stories, takes place first of all through its documentation – and this leads, among other places, to the museums of former colonial powers.

Restoration with future prospects

Which relevance bears the approach of Nawshin Khair and the National Crafts Council of Bangladesh beyond the revival of historically lost techniques? Handicrafts are not only connected to cultural traditions, but above all open up economic perspectives. That is why it is now in the interest of more and more national and international institutions to secure a livelihood for village communities through traditional knowledge of textile techniques – especially considering that previous sources of income, such as agriculture, are disappearing due to global changes.

The problem that Anna Heringer, the founder behind the Bangladesh-based company Dipdii Textiles, sees: International NGOs encourage women in particular to market their craft related skills as an economic asset in the interest of their own independence. Nakshi Katha, the traditional needle stitch embroidery of Bangladesh, is, for example, not only a means of cultural expression and a story told in embroidery. It is also passed on from generation to generation from mothers to their daughters and represents a gendered skill that could help especially women to achieve economic independence. It is not uncommon for such female biographies to lead to modern textile factories, where they are exploited as cheap laborer and for which they also have to leave their rural infrastructures behind. The result: loss of social infrastructure and expenses for rented apartments and childcare. To create job prospects within the system that made economic and infrastructural conditions in rural areas so bad in the first place? Heringer, who holds an honorary professorship at the UNESCO Chair for Earthen Architecture, Building Cultures and Sustainable Development, wants to explore other ways to create future prospects. Together with the Bangladesh-based NGO for rural development Dipshikha, her co-founder Veronika Lang and her current project manager Lucía Perianes, she is creating jobs for artisans with Dipdii Textiles. As with Aranya and the Bengal Crafts Society, these jobs enable a decentralized production within the villages and communities of the craftswomen, the maintenance of social networks and thus a high quality of life beyond an adequate income.
Dipdii Textiles, METI Handmade School, Rudrapur Dipdii Textiles, METI Handmade School, Rudrapur © IstelaIllustrated

Craft as a motor for structural change – an outlook

Nawshin Khair, Anna Heringer, but also cooperatives such as the aforementioned Living Blue and labels such as SICA set a good example when asking: What if local crafts were not just seen as a cultural asset to be preserved, but understood as an opportunity and engine for structural change? The challenges these entrepreneurs face are, of course, particularly interesting for the aspiring designers in the LOCAL INTERNATIONAL exchange program. After all, they are actively working towards developing their own solutions and helping to shape a textile industry that has cultural and social sustainability as its top priority in addition to ecological sustainability.

Farzana Yusuf, a designer associated with the National Crafts Council of Bangladesh and participant of LOCAL INTERNATIONAL IV, has experience working with local craft businesses. As a contemporary designer, she would like to immerse herself in the traditional crafts by engaging craftswomen with respect and the will to truly understand their techniques. “In order to be able to make even minimal changes to crafting processes and designs, we must first appreciate that, above all, successful methods and models have withstood the test of time – for example, which raw materials are used, how the production processes are timed, the culture, customs and traditional social hierarchies that are attached to a technology and traditionally carried it on. The level of interaction must consist of the desire for joint development with mutual respect.”

Preserving traditions and developing contemporary perspectives – in Berlin too, Lobke Beckenfeld, a student at weißensee kunsthochschule, is optimistic about this task: “Crafts,” she believes, “will play an important role in our society in the future – especially in terms of developing sustainable design principles.” As a designer, she is particularly interested in rethinking crafts in such a future-oriented way so that manual techniques can be combined with automated production. That would require interdisciplinary perspectives. A few examples from the seminar, she reveals, have already inspired her to work on her own project.
 

About the author

Anna Kessel Anna Kessel studied cultural sciences. Her research focuses on textiles in visual arts with an emphasis on the weaving class at Bauhaus and its (post) colonial connections to Latin America. She co-founded the online magazine “die konsumentin”, where she writes about responsible fashion consumption, the textile industry, environmental and human rights. 


About the Illustrator

Illustrator © Kazi Istela Istela is a freelance graphic designer and illustrator with a passion for typography. She has been working both locally and internationally on brand identities, designed books, and social campaigns. She is part of the Global Shapers Community, under World Economic Forum and led the project Invisibellas under their umbrella. Invisibellas was a street art project promoting gender equality and addressed issues which lead to gender oppression while encouraging a community free from it. Her own illustration work draws inspiration from the noise and chaos of Dhaka, her love of music and matters of the mind. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Handwerk erhalten

Illustriert von @istelaillustrated
© Illustriert von @istelaillustrated

Von Dhaka lernen: In einem Deutsch-Bangladeschischem Austauschprogramm denken junge Designer*innen Handwerk neu – als Schauplatz kultureller und sozialer Nachhaltigkeit

Von Anna Kessel

In aktuellen Diskursen um Nachhaltigkeit in der Mode- und Textilindustrie werden kulturelle Aspekte gerne übersehen. Ein genauer Blick lohnt sich allerdings: denn die Globalisierung  von Mode und der Vormarsch schnell und billig produzierter Fast Fashion führen zum schleichenden Verlust textiler Handwerkstechniken – mit verheerenden Folgen nicht nur für kulturelles Erbe, sondern auch für die Zukunftsperspektiven entsprechend ausgebildeter Handwerker*innen. Im Austauschprogramm LOCAL INTERNATIONAL IV social design + crafts diskutieren teilnehmende Designer*innen und Studierende aus Berlin und Dhaka die Frage des lokalen Handwerks hinsichtlich seiner Rolle für kulturelle und soziale Nachhaltigkeit.

Textilien – einst ein teuer gehandeltes Gut

Mit den Effekten der voranschreitenden industriellen Entwicklung stirbt derzeit sowohl in Bangladesch als auch in Deutschland über Jahrhunderte entstandenes, manuelles Wissen aus. Dies betrifft u. a. den Textilsektor: Durch die Globalisierung von Mode und den stetigen Preisverfall von Textilien haben Qualität und Individualität der Produkte bei einkaufenden Unternehmen kaum noch Priorität, die Industrie setzt auf kostengünstige und schnelle maschinelle Produktion. Vor allem in Bangladesch, einem Land, in dem die manuelle Produktion von Textilien historisch wie auch heute eine wichtige Einkommensquelle darstellt, stehen Handwerksbetriebe und Kunsthandwerker*innen angesichts des immer weiter steigenden internationalen Preisdrucks vor der Entscheidung, ihre Produktion zu industrialisieren – oder das traditionelle Handwerk ganz aufzugeben.

Es ist unvermeidlich, dass sich der Blick in den Online-Seminaren zwischen Berlin und Dhaka im Sommer 2020 deshalb stark auf Bangladesch richtet. Das zeigt sich auch in der Auswahl der eingeladenen Gäste, vor allem aber in deren Erzählungen, die deutlich machen: Die aktuelle Dringlichkeit, ökonomische Perspektiven für eine gerade in ländlichen Gebieten infrastrukturell schwache Nation zu entwickeln, kann nicht ohne einen Blick auf koloniales Erbe diskutiert werden.
Repräsentant*innen des National Crafts Council of Bangladesh: FARZANA YUSUF, CHANDRA SHEKHAR SHAHA, SHEIKH SAIFUR RAHMAN (Uhrzeigersinn) Repräsentant*innen des National Crafts Council of Bangladesh: FARZANA YUSUF, CHANDRA SHEKHAR SHAHA, SHEIKH SAIFUR RAHMAN (Uhrzeigersinn) © IstelaIllustrated

Lokales Handwerk bewahren

Im Fokus des Austausch-Programms, das sich in der vierten Edition sozialem Design und Kunsthandwerk widmet, steht dabei erst einmal ganz praktisch der Blick auf die Handwerksgeschichte Bangladeschs. Chandra Shekhar Shaha, selbst Designer und eingeladen in seiner Rolle als ehemals Vorsitzender und derzeitiges Mitglied des Exekutivkomitees des National Crafts Council of Bangladesh, gibt den Teilnehmenden einen generellen Überblick über historische Handwerks-Bereiche Bangladeschs und bringt ihnen gemeinsam mit Sheik Saifur Rahman, Generalsekretär des Crafts Council, die wichtigsten textilen Techniken wie „Jamdani“ und „Nakshi Kantha“ näher. Jamdani, eine der wertgeschätzten Web-Techniken Bangladeschs, ist – hier wird die Aktualität des Diskurses deutlich – erst seit 2013 auf der Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes der Menschheit, welche die UNESCO im Rahmen des Übereinkommens zur Erhaltung des Immateriellen Kulturerbes seit 2008 erstellt.

Wie prekär es um einige traditionelle Webtechniken Bangladeschs steht erzählt Nawshin Khair, Gründerin der Bengal Crafts Society. Denn nicht nur das Fast Fashion Phänomen des vergangenen Jahrzehnts hat die Abwendung von aufwändiger Textilproduktion in Bangladesch stark befeuert, bereits die koloniale Herrschaft durch Großbritannien, die mit starken ökonomischen Zäsuren einherging, habe von 1858 bis in die 1970er Jahre zum immer weiter voranschreitenden Verlust handwerklichen Wissens geführt. Hiergegen engagiert sich Nawshin Khair aktiv mit der Bengal Crafts Society. Die Non-Profit Organisation ist heute eine gewinnbringende Ergänzung zum Fair Trade Label Aranya, das sich der erfolgreichen Vermarktung des Handwerks-Sektors in Bangladesch verschrieben hat und dessen Vorsitz Khair innehat. 2016, ein Jahr nachdem sie die Leitung von Aranya übernahm, gründete Khair die Organisation, um die Förderung von lokalem Handwerk in infrastrukturell schwachen Gegenden weiter auszubauen und dabei die Erhaltung und Erforschung traditioneller Handwerkstechniken voranzubringen.
Nawshin Khair #craftforconservation #aranya_crafts #creativeconservationalliance #bdcraft_society Nawshin Khair #craftforconservation #aranya_crafts #creativeconservationalliance #bdcraft_society © IstelaIllustrated
„Letztes Jahr,“ erzählt sie, „haben wir z. B. mit dem National Crafts Council of Bangladesh und Unternehmen wie Aranya daran gearbeitet, eine besonders feine Variante des Jamdanis, auch als Dhaka Musselin bekannt, wiederzubeleben.“ Unter der Zäsur britischer Kolonialherrschaft ging das technische Wissen verloren, Jamdani mit so feinen Garnen einer Fadenzahl von 600 bis hin zu 1.000 zu weben. Auch der Anbau der für die Herstellung der Garne benötigten Baumwollsorte, dem sogenannten puthi cotton, stagnierte. Heute sei zwar die Tradition von Jamdani noch sehr lebendig, aber die Textilien überschritten selten eine Fadenzahl von achtzig. „Um die verloren gegangene Technik des feinen Jamdanis wiederzubeleben, haben wir mit lokalen Weber*innen zusammengearbeitet. Wir gaben ihnen handgesponnenes Garn einer Fadenzahl zwischen 200 und 400, also sehr viel feiner als das, was aktuell beim Weben von Jamdani genutzt wird. Und wir haben Forschungsreisen zum V&A Museum in London unternommen, uns dort in der Sammlung die Motive aus dem 16. Jahrhundert angesehen und dann versucht, diese nachzubilden.“

Die Bewahrung und das Wiederbeleben von Handwerk, das wird vor allem in Khairs Erzählungen deutlich, erfolgt zuallererst über dessen Dokumentation – und diese führt u.a. auch in die Museen ehemaliger Kolonialmächte.

Restauration mit Zukunftsperspektive

Warum der Ansatz von Nawshin Khair und dem National Crafts Council of Bangladesh auch über die Wiederbelebung historisch verlorengegangener Techniken hinaus so wichtig ist? Handwerk ist nicht nur mit kulturellen Traditionen verbunden, sondern eröffnet vor allem ökonomische Perspektiven. Deshalb liegt es heute im Interesse immer mehr nationaler sowie internationaler Institutionen, dörflichen Gemeinschaften durch traditionell überliefertes Wissen von textilen Techniken ein Auskommen zu sichern – vor allem auch unter der Hinsicht, dass durch globale Veränderungen bisherige Einnahmequellen, wie Landwirtschaft wegbrechen.

Das Problem, welches Anna Heringer, die Gründerin hinter dem in Bangladesch ansässigen Unternehmens Dipdii Textiles, sieht: Von internationalen NGOs werden vor allem Frauen dazu bestärkt, im Sinne der eigenen Unabhängigkeit ihr handwerkliches Wissen als ökonomisches Gut auf den Markt zu bringen. Nakshi Katha, die traditionelle Nadelstichstickerei Bangladeschs, ist z.B. nicht nur kulturhistorisches Ausdrucksmittel und in Stickerei erzählte Geschichte – es wird auch von Generation zu Generation von Müttern an ihre Töchter weitergegeben und stellt für Frauen eine Fähigkeit dar, die ihnen zu ökonomischer Unabhängigkeit verhelfen könnte. Nicht selten führen solche weiblichen Biografien allerdings in die modernen Textilfabriken, wo sie als billige Arbeitskraft ausgebeutet werden und für die sie zudem ihre dörfliche Infrastruktur hinter sich lassen müssen. Die Folge: Verlust der sozialen Infrastruktur und anfallende Ausgaben für angemietete Wohnungen und Kinderbetreuung. Arbeitsperspektiven innerhalb des Systems zu schaffen, das überhaupt erst dazu geführt hat, dass sich ökonomischen und infrastrukturellen Bedingungen in ländlichen Gebieten so verschlechtert haben? Heringer, die eine Honorar Professur am UNESCO Chair for Earthen Architecture, Building Cultures and Sustainable Development innehat, möchte zeigen, dass es anders geht. Gemeinsam mit der in Bangladesch ansässigen NGO für ländliche Entwicklung Dipshikha, ihrer Co-Gründerin Veronika Lang und ihrer heutigen Projektmanagerin Lucía Perianes schafft sie deshalb mit Dipdii Textiles Arbeitsplätze für Kunsthandwerker*innen. Wie auch bei Aranya und der Bengal Crafts Society ermöglichen diese eine dezentrale Produktion innerhalb der eigenen Dörfer und Communities, den Erhalt der sozialen Netzwerke und damit auch über ein angemessenes Einkommen hinaus eine hohe Lebensqualität.
Dipdii Textiles, METI Handmade School, Rudrapur Dipdii Textiles, METI Handmade School, Rudrapur © IstelaIllustrated

Handwerk als Motor strukturellen Wandels – ein Ausblick

Nawshin Khair, Anna Heringer, aber auch Kooperativen wie die bereits erwähnte Living Blue und Labels wie SICA gehen mit gutem Beispiel voran zu fragen: Was wäre, wenn man* lokales Handwerk nicht lediglich als zu erhaltendes kulturelles Gut, sondern als Chance und Motor für strukturellen Wandel begreift? Welche Herausforderungen einer jeden Unternehmerin dabei im Weg liegen, ist für die jungen Designer*innen im Austauschprogramm LOCAL INTERNATIONAL natürlich besonders interessant – schließlich arbeiten sie aktiv darauf hin, eigene Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln und dabei eine Textilindustrie mitzugestalten, die neben der ökologischen auch die kulturelle und soziale Nachhaltigkeit zur obersten Prämisse hat.

Farzana Yusuf, eine Designerin, die u.a. auch für das National Crafts Council of Bangladesh tätig ist und 2020 an LOCAL INTERNATIONAL teilnimmt, hat bereits Erfahrungen in der Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Handwerksbetrieben sammeln können, die sie nun durch den Austausch mit anderen Design-Schaffenden vertiefen konnte. Ihr Fazit: als zeitgenössische Designer*in möchte sie traditionellem Handwerk und entsprechend ausgebildeten Handwerkerinnen mit Respekt und dem Wille zum wirklichen Verstehen der Technik gegenübertreten. „Um überhaupt auch nur minimale Änderungen an den Handwerksprozessen und Designs vornehmen zu können müssen wir erst einmal wertschätzen, dass vor allem erfolgreiche Methoden und Modelle den Test der Zeit überstanden haben – z.B. welche  Rohstoffe verwendet werden, wie die Produktionsprozesse zeitlich abgestimmt sind, die Kultur, Bräuche und die traditionellen sozialen Hierarchien, die einer Technik anhaften und diese traditionell weitertrugen. Die Ebene der Interaktion muss aus dem Wunsch einer gemeinsamen Weiterentwicklung mit gegenseitigem Respekt bestehen.“

Traditionen bewahren, und zeitgenössische Perspektiven für diese finden – auch in Berlin blickt Lobke Beckenfeld, Studentin der weißensee kunsthochschule dieser Aufgabe optimistisch entgegen:  „Handwerk,” so glaubt sie „wird in Zukunft eine wichtige Rolle in unserer Gesellschaft spielen – gerade im Bezug auf das Vorantreiben nachhaltiger Gestaltungsprinzipien.“ Als Designerin ist für sie dabei von besonderem Interesse Handwerk zukunftsorientiert so zu gestalten, dass sich manuelle Techniken mit automatisierter Produktion vereinen lassen. Dafür bräuchte es interdisziplinäre Perspektiven. Ein paar Beispiele aus dem Seminar, verrät sie, haben sie bereits inspiriert an einem eigenen Projekt zu arbeiten.
 

Über die Autorin

Anna Kessel Anna Kessel ist studierte Kulturwissenschaftlerin. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf Textilien in der bildenden Kunst mit besonderem Fokus auf die Weberei-Klasse am Bauhaus und ihren (post-)kolonialen Verbindungen nach Latein Amerika. Sie ist Co-Gründerin des Online Magazins “die konsumentin”,wo sie seit mehreren Jahren über verantwortungsvollen Mode-Konsum, die Textilindustrie, Umwelt- und Menschenrechte schreibt.

Illustratorin

Illustrator © Kazi Istela Istela ist freiberufliche Grafikdesignerin und Illustratorin mit Leidenschaft für Typografie. Sie hat sowohl lokal als auch international an Markenidentitäten, Büchern und sozialen Kampagnen gearbeitet. Sie ist Mitglied der Global Shapers Community im Rahmen des World Economic Forum und leitete das Projekt Invisibellas. Invisibellas war ein Street-Art-Projekt zur Förderung der Geschlechtergleichstellung. Ihre eigene Illustrationsarbeit ist vom Lärm und Chaos Dhakas, ihrer Liebe zur Musik und den Angelegenheiten des Geistes inspiriert.

Top