Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Graphic TraveloguesGraphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Graphic Travelogues

"Travel - it leaves you speechless, then it turns you into a storyteller." (Ibn Battuta).

In other words, whoever travels can tell something. Spoken, photographed or drawn. Graphic Travelogues are dedicated to this form. Various travel comics already exist, often initiated by the Goethe-Institut - but scattered, sometimes difficult to find. Graphic Travelogues collects old treasures, creates new ones and presents them in a new setting. Join us on this special journey, experience and immerse yourself in new worlds.
 

On the go with the pen

Where did our artists go? You can track their travel routes and destinations on the map. Discover known and unknown places and experience them from a new, drawn perspective. Simply zoom in and click on the illustrations!
 



Current Comics

 © Gregor Hinz (detail)

For Adventurers
"Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins"

In Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins Gregor, Hinz takes us to the small community of the same name in the French Auvergne-Rhone-Alps region. His picture story is composed of a series of fragments painted with felt-tip pens, which tell of his travel impressions with a wink.

 © Jens Harder (detail)

For City Explorers
"Cités - Lima"

Jens Harder rambled through Lima for five hours without a plan, without a goal. The outcome consists of fleeting, marginal observations that show that lengthy research isn’t always necessary.

Barcelona © Calle Claus

For Everyday Heroes
"Barcelona"

In 2013, Calle Claus was a part of the ‘Comic Transfer’ programme organised by the Goethe-Institut and travelled from Hamburg to Barcelona. He felt most comfortable in the Catalonian capital when he was able to escape the hordes of tourists flooding the city.

 © Sebastian Lörscher (detail)

For Everyday Heroes
"Novosibirsk"

For its 125th city anniversary, the Goethe-Institut invited Sebastian Lörscher to spend a week reporting on everyday life and the art scene there. It’s impossible to capture a city of millions like Novosibirsk as a visitor in just one week, so  Lörscher limited himself to brief incidents and encounters that together form a larger picture of life in the city.

Salvador is renowned not only for its Portuguese colonial architecture, but also for its tropical coast. The city has an incredible 80 km of idyllic beaches. While the Atlantic waves attract numerous surfers, the protected Baía de Todos os Santos invites for a swim. Coconuts are sold at every corner! © Gunther Schumann

For Everyday Heroes
"Once upon a time in Salvador"

Gunther Schumann says that street art (also in combination with comic art) is the method he uses to explore places. He always has a sketchbook with him because drawing helps block out other attractions, but ultimately, he needs space. He does not like to sit in front of small sheets. His street comic "Once upon a time in Salvador" starts like a fairy tale.

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Artists from all over the world

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.


More articles from the comic scene

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Graphic TraveloguesGrafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Graphic Travelogues

“Reisen – es lässt dich sprachlos, dann verwandelt es dich in einen Geschichtenerzähler.“ (Ibn Battuta).

Oder anders gesagt, wer reist, kann was erzählen. Gesprochen, fotografiert oder aber gezeichnet. Genau dieser Form widmen sich Graphic Travelogues. Schon jetzt existieren diverse Reise-Comics, oft vom Goethe-Institut initiiert – jedoch verstreut, zum Teil schwer auffindbar. Graphic Travelogues sammelt alte Schätze, schafft neue und präsentiert sie in neuem Rahmen. Begleiten Sie uns auf dieser besonderen Reise, erleben und tauchen Sie ein in neue Welten.
 

Mit dem Stift unterwegs

Wo waren unsere Künstler*innen unterwegs? Auf der Karte können Sie ihre Reiserouten und -ziele verfolgen. Entdecken Sie bekannte und unbekannte Orte und erleben Sie sie aus neuer, gezeichneter Perspektive. Einfach reinzoomen und auf die Illustrationen klicken!



Aktuelle Comics

 © Gregor Hinz (Ausschnitt)

Für Abenteurer
„Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins“

In „Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins“ nimmt uns Gregor Hinz mit in die gleichnamige kleine Gemeinde in der französischen Auvergne-Rhone-Alpenregion. Seine Bildergeschichte setzt sich aus einer Reihe von mit Filzstift gemalten Fragmenten zusammen, die augenzwinkernd von seinen Reiseeindrücken erzählen.

 © Jens Harder (detail)

Für Stadtentdecker
„Cités - Lima“

Fünf Stunden lief Jens Harder durch Lima, ohne Plan, ohne Ziel. Herausgekommen sind flüchtige Beobachtungen am Rande, die zeigen: Es müssen nicht immer lange Recherchen sein.

Barcelona © Calle Claus

Für Alltagshelden
„Barcelona“

2013 nahm Calle Claus am Comictransfer des Goethe-Instituts teil und reiste von Hamburg nach Barcelona. Wohl gefühlt hat er sich in der katalanischen Metropole vor allem dann, wenn er den Touristenströmen entfliehen konnte.

 © Sebastian Lörscher (detail)

Für Alltagshelden
„Nowosibirsk“

Zum 125. Stadt-Jubiläum war Sebastian Lörscher für eine Woche vom Goethe-Institut nach Nowosibirsk eingeladen, über den Alltag und die Kunstszene zu berichten. Eine Millionenstadt als Besucher in nur einer Woche zu erfassen, ist unmöglich, und so beschränkt sich Lörscher auf kleine Begebenheiten und Begegnungen, aus denen zusammen sich ein größeres Bild des Lebens in der Stadt bildet.

Salvador ist nicht nur für seine Architektur aus der portugiesischen Kolonialzeit, sondern auch für seine tropische Küste bekannt. Die Stadt kann mit unglaublichen 80km Traumstränden aufwarten. Am Atlantik lockt die Brandung zahlreiche Surfer an, die geschützte Baía de Todos os Santos lädt zum Baden ein. Und an jeder Ecke wird die Kokosnuss verkauft. © Gunther Schumann

Für Alltagshelden
„Es war einmal in Salvador“

Gunther Schumann sagt, Street Art (auch in Kombination mit Comic) sei seine Methode, sich Orte zu erschließen. Er habe zwar immer ein Skizzenheft dabei, weil das Zeichnen helfe, andere Reize auszublenden, aber schlussendlich brauche er Platz. Sein Street-Comic heißt "Es war einmal in Salvador".
 

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 


Weitere Artikel aus der Comic-Szene

Top