Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Local International 2020
The Two Ends of the Supply Chain

Local International 2020 | The Two Ends of the Supply Chain.
Local International 2020 | The Two Ends of the Supply Chain. | Photo (detail): Istelaillustrated I Goethe-Institut Bangladesh

Fashion without exploitation: The fourth exchange project by Local International for students of fashion design in Germany and Bangladesh was dedicated to sustainability along supply chains. The students now present their results and responses in an online exhibition.

By Samira Syed und Anna Kessel

The Rana Plaza collapse marked a turning point in perceptions of the global textile industry and its production conditions. Suddenly we saw our clothing not only as objects for consumption, but as something manufactured by people. The present pandemic-related standstill is creating a similar turning point.
 
No doubt there is corporate responsibility along the supply chains. But when it falters, the protagonists of the production processes are in demand. In this respect, designers gain a whole new meaning in terms of social and ecological responsibility.

This summer, the project Local International social design + crafts, which was launched immediately after the Rana Plaza incident, brought together young designers from Bangladesh and Germany who want to take responsibility and act sustainably. In seminars and workshops, they learned about sustainable design and production strategies for the development of individual products.

Uniting design and responsibility

In the introductory workshop, Ariane Piper from Fashion Revolution Germany emphasised that designers can help shape production processes and rethink them accordingly. However, she also advocated laws and binding regulations since voluntary solutions are inadequately implemented by companies. While political solutions are a long way off, all interest groups have to be considered.

Living Blue, a social enterprise from Bangladesh in which more than 3,000 indigo farmers organise themselves in family-run farms, presented itself as a best practice example. It not only guarantees a fair wage policy, but also helps create sustainable social and economic life. The fact that the products are well received in the market is a win-win situation both for designers who are looking for sustainable materials and for the farmers.

“As fashion designers, we have an enormous responsibility to help shape and, above all, reshape the supply chains. To do this, we need a holistic understanding of the industry and we need to know every step a garment goes through,” stated Arianna Nicoletti, founder of The Green Fashion Tours, in her introduction to sustainable fashion design.

To ensure that “Made in Bangladesh” doesn’t stand for extremely low wages, poor working conditions and pollution in future, everyone in the textile value chain must be motivated to use resources responsibly. The participants of Local International 2020 want to initiate and set an example in this. Their projects can be seen in a virtual exhibition.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Local International“ 2020
Die zwei Enden der Lieferkette

„Local International“ 2020 | Die zwei Enden der Lieferkette.
„Local International“ 2020 | Die zwei Enden der Lieferkette. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Istelaillustrated I Goethe-Institut Bangladesch

Mode ohne Ausbeutung: Das vierte Austauschprojekt von „Local International“ für Student*innen des Fashion Design in Deutschland und Bangladesch widmete sich dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit entlang der Lieferketten. Ihre Ergebnisse und Antworten präsentieren die Student*innen jetzt in einer Online-Ausstellung.

Von Samira Syed und Anna Kessel

Der Einsturz des Rana Plaza war eine Zäsur in der Wahrnehmung der globalen Textilindustrie und ihrer Produktionsbedingungen. Auf einmal haben wir unsere Kleidung nicht nur als Konsumobjekt begriffen, sondern als von Menschen hergestellt. Durch den derzeitigen, coronabedingten Stillstand entsteht eine ähnliche Zäsur.
 
Ohne Frage gibt es eine unternehmerische Verantwortung entlang der Lieferketten. Wenn diese jedoch ins Stocken gerät, sind die Akteur*innen der Produktionsprozesse gefragt. Designer*innen gewinnen hier ganz neue Bedeutung hinsichtlich sozialer und ökologischer Verantwortung.

Das Projekt „Local International social design + crafts“, das unmittelbar nach Rana Plaza ins Leben gerufen wurde, brachte diesen Sommer Nachwuchsdesigner*innen aus Bangladesch und Deutschland zusammen, die Verantwortung übernehmen und nachhaltig handeln wollen. In Seminaren und Workshops erhielten sie einen Überblick über nachhaltige Gestaltungs- und Produktionsstrategien, um individuelle Produkte zu entwickeln.

Design und Verantwortung zusammen gedacht

Ariane Piper von Fashion Revolution Deutschland betonte im Einführungsworkshop, dass Designer*innen Produktionsprozesse mitgestalten und entsprechend neu denken können. Sie plädierte jedoch auch für Gesetze und verbindliche Regulierungen, da freiwillige Lösungen von Unternehmen unzureichend umgesetzt würden. Während politische Lösungen auf sich warten lassen, müssten alle Interessengruppen mitgedacht werden.

Als Best-Practice-Beispiel präsentierte sich Living Blue, ein Sozialunternehmen aus Bangladesch, unter dem sich über 3.000 Indigo-Bäuer*innen in familiengeführten Farmen organisieren. Es garantiert nicht nur eine faire Lohnpolitik, sondern trägt zur Schaffung eines nachhaltigen sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Lebens bei. Dass die Produkte auf dem Markt gut angenommen werden, ist eine Win-Win Situation sowohl für Designer*innen, die auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Materialien sind, als auch für die Anbauenden.

„Als Modedesignende tragen wir enorme Verantwortung, die Lieferketten mit- und vor allem neu zu gestalten. Dafür brauchen wir ein holistisches Verständnis der Industrie und müssen jeden Schritt, den ein Kleidungsstück durchläuft, kennen“, konstatierte Arianna Nicoletti, Gründerin von The Green Fashion Tours, in ihrer Einführung zum nachhaltigen Modedesign.

Damit „Made in Bangladesch“ in Zukunft nicht für extreme Niedriglöhne, kritische Arbeitsbedingungen und Umweltverschmutzung steht, müssen alle in der textilen Wertschöpfungskette motiviert sein, mit Ressourcen verantwortungsvoll umzugehen. Die Teilnehmer*innen von „Local International“ 2020 möchten dies initiieren und vorleben. Ihre Projekte sind in einer virtuellen Ausstellung zu sehen.

Top