A success story 100 Years of Teaching German in India

Celebrating 100 years of teaching German
Celebrating 100 years of teaching German | Photo: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

It all started in the year 1914. The first German lessons in India were imparted in Pune and Mumbai. A hundred years later in 2014, most of the celebrations to mark the centenary, also took place in these cities. On the hundredth anniversary of teaching German in India, let us take a look at the history, progress achieved and prospects for the language.

The year 2014 was replete with anniversary celebrations.  Besides workshops by German language Authors, an exhibition, concerts, a music, dance and theatre festival, numerous lectures and symposia on German; there were a series of events focussed especially on the school and college students of the language.  The students displayed their knowledge of German language and culture in a Quiz on Germany, an essay contest, a cooking competition on dishes from Germany, Switzerland and Austria and a singing competition. “It was great teamwork and a lot of job satisfaction,” recognized Savita Kelkar, member of the organising committee of the year.  By ‘teamwork’ she implied the collaborative effort put by the University of Pune, the University of  Mumbai, the German Embassy, the Indo-German Chamber of Commerce, the Indo-German Teachers Association (InDaF), DAAD and the Goethe Institute, all of whom were involved in planning of the anniversary year.

"The centenary of teaching German is a remarkable jubilee and an indicator of the sustainability of mutual interests, and indeed the fascination which India and Germany have long had for each other,” said Alicia Padrós from Goethe Institute, New Delhi.
 
One of highlights of planned events was a rally across Pune right at the beginning of the year.  Several hundred school and college students and teachers marched through the city, to draw attention to the anniversary.  “It was a huge task, when I organised the rally,” reflected back Savita Kelkar, “taking so many students on the road and managing them efficiently was just a lot of work, but I could do it successfully with the help of several people.”

Home-comers from Germany

It is not a coincidence that the events mainly took place in Pune and Mumbai, for here were the origins of teaching German as the first German lessons ever in India were given here 100 years ago.
 
In all started in Pune with a home-comer from Germany:  the linguist Pandurang D. Gune who returned to his homeland in 1913 after obtaining a doctorate from the University of Leipzig.  In 1914, he started passing on his acquired knowledge and enthusiasm for the German language to the students of New English School in Pune, beginning with an 8th grade student.  A little later, he also started taking lessons at the prestigious Fergusson College, which like the New England School, belonged to the Deccan Education Society. 
 
In addition to the Fergusson College, which in those days was affiliated to the University of Bombay, the classes began in Mumbai also in the year 1914, initially at St. Xavier’s College.  The college had been founded by a German Jesuit in 1869, and in 1914 the first German lessons were also conducted by German Jesuits.  German was offered as a part of the subject “modern European languages.”  In 1918, the first three candidates successfully passed the German language exam.
 
In the 1930s, German was also introduced as an optional subject for students of Masters in Science. After the Second World War, under Professor R.V. Paranjape who taught from 1947 to 1974, German studies expanded significantly and degrees in German language and literature were offered.  In 1965, a German section was built in the then newly established foreign language department.  Since 2003, there exists an independent German department.  Today, under the leadership of Prof. Vibha Surana, the department offers a complete range of academic degree programmes

Momentum in Pune

In Pune too, the study of German flourished progressively.  In 1924, the Fergusson College introduced German language and literature as a major subject and therefore, in addition to the study of the language, German literature and history were also being taught.  Over the years, many other schools and colleges in Pune introduced German lessons, for example S.P. College in 1939.  The first graduate of German language and literature studies in Pune went to Kolhapur to teach German at Rajaram College.  Even then, across most parts of India, German initially remained an exotic subject.
 
In the 1950s, the positive momentum gained further impetus.  In 1953, the University introduced evening courses in German so as to attract working professionals in addition to college students.  In 1955, the “Poona University German Association” was established as a society which cultivated interest in German language and culture through lectures, seminars, exhibitions and film screenings.
 
Next, in 1958, the University of Pune appointed two lecturers for German Language and Literature.  Kurt Jankowsky and Heinz Schrader were the first deputed lectors of DAAD.  In the 1960s, the first research work was documented.  “From this time onwards, the German language continued to gain popularity,” remarks Savita Kelkar, who teaches German at Fergusson College.  The records of post-graduate courses at the University of Pune confirm that the number of students pursuing Masters and Doctorate are continuously increasing since the introduction of these courses.
 
Presently, the University of Pune offers a whole series of various certificates and diplomas in German including “Commercial German” and “German Translation”.  This also catered to the needs of various German firms that have established themselves in regions in and around Pune city.

“The German genius”

The organisers of the anniversary events explained that apart from the personal enthusiasm and dedication of individuals, there were also historical circumstances conducive for the establishment of German studies.  When it came to foreign languages, German was a welcome change from the language of English colonial masters.  Linguistically and culturally, one would learn more from Europe than what the British had brought along.
 
German was also a choice as many poets and philosophers such as Friedrich Schlegel, Hermann Hesse, Georg Forster and foremost among them - Max Mueller had been engaged with India, with great respect or admiration.  This strengthened the good relationship and mutual interests between the two countries.  “In return, India always admired and recognized the German genius in philosophy, music, science and technology, said the anniversary’s website “punegermancentenary.com”. 
 
Mentioned above, Max Mueller is considered to be the co-founder of modern Indology and Sanskrit studies.  The Goethe Institutes which were established in India in the late 1950s and in 1960s were also initially named after him.  In 1957, the first “Max Mueller Bhavan” was inaugurated in Kolkata. It was then opened in 1959 in Delhi, in 1960 in what was then Madras (now Chennai) as well as in Bangalore, in 1962 in Pune and in 1969 in Bombay, Mumbai as known today.
 
The teaching of German in those days was still in its infancy across India, the advancements in Pune and Mumbai being rather exceptional. The esteemed Jawaharlal Nehru University in Delhi opened its “Centre for German Studies” in 1971.  “To learn the German language let alone to study German language and literature, was for long something exceptional and interested an absolutely minority,” reports Alicia Padrós, the Head of Educational Services, Goethe Institute in Delhi.

Slowly, it will catch up

The “Max Mueller Bhavans” have been, in the course of recent years, more and successful.  In the year 2000, there were about 8,000 students across all centres.  This count increased to 25,000 in 2013.  “The numbers in the last few years have steeply increased and would climb further when we will have more classrooms and teaching staff,” comments Alicia Padrós describing the boom.
 
The schools present a similar picture.  In 1995, there were 9,500 school students nation-wide studying German.  By the year 2000, the count had increased to 12,800 (in 60 schools), 14,900 students (in 136 schools) in 2005 and 18,550 (in 144 schools) in 2010.
 
After school students, learners of German came from colleges and universities. By the year 2000, about 50 universities had introduced German courses or German degree programs. The number of German learning students stabilised at around 4,500 out of which more than 200 were German language and literature students.  Between 2005 and 2010, the figures again increased to 11,100.
 
When one adds the language school students too, the overall number of German learners grew from 17,900 (in 2000) to 21,740 (in 2005) and to 31,590 (2010).  One reason for the increasing popularity of the German language is the realization that English alone is no longer sufficient in the booming Indian economy to ensure good opportunities in the job market. Germany is anyways the main trading partner of India in the EU.  “Many German companies have their presence here and interest in German culture and technology is very high,” says Markus Biechele, Director Language Programmes India and South Asia, Goethe Institute.
 
Learning German serves to not only further the career opportunities of school and college students but also boosts Indo-German friendship.  This has also been strengthened by the exchange programmes initiated by various schools and colleges. For instance, the students of the tradition-rich Fergusson College have been, for years, guests of schools in Kaarst and Heilbronn.  The Mumbai University also offers exchange programmes with Göttingen, Hamburg, Augsburg, Köln and Klagenfurt.  More and more students are going to Germany.  As per DAAD, their numbers have trebled between 2002 and 2012, from 1800 to 5,745.
 
When one compares globally, the German language does not command the same importance in India as in other countries.  For instance, in countries like Russia and Poland with much smaller populations, the number of German learners is over 2 million.  The most comparable is China with around 40,000 German learners (as of 2010) with a likewise population of over 1 billion people.

Exploding school enrolments

A decision promised a big jump in school enrolments.  The chain of state run schools called Kendriya Vidyalaya (KV) introduced German as the first foreign language to be taught in schools (English is not considered a foreign language).  “German in 1000 schools” is the name and target of the project.  “The introduction of the German language was a direct consequence of the fact that two KVs were included in PASCH network.” elucidated Alicia Padrós.  PASCH schools have a special bond with Germany and work in close collaboration with German institutions such as Goethe Institute.
 
The project had a good start and actually catapulted the number of students to top figures.  By the year 2014, 500 KV schools had introduced the language, thereby increasing the number of KV students learning German to 78,000.  The Goethe Institute had its hands full with finding and training those interested in teaching German – Indian universities had so far no German teacher training programmes. The KV project was the key reason why the Goethe Institute reached a record count of 107,000 students in 700 schools in the last nation-wide count in the autumn of 2014.
 
The upswing seems to have but abruptly stopped.  The new Indian government has decided to make Sanskrit or any other Indian language again mandatory as the third language to be taught to Grades 6 to 8 in the KVs instead of German.
 
Right now, ways are being sought to somehow continue what has already commenced.  German should at least be continued to be offered as an optional subject.  The German ambassador Michael Steiner told Deutsche Welle, “The solution must be ‘as well as,’ and I think that is how everyone here in India also sees it. On the one hand, while people are interested in maintaining tradition, which is completely justifiable, on the other hand they also want to promote the economy.  I think it is perfectly legitimate for the young people to say that learning a language like German helps me in my education and also professionally.”

Although the number of German learners in secondary schools might decline initially due to the Government’s decision, the interest in German universities and companies, in German technology and know-how and with it in the German language continues to grow strongly.  And therefore, there exists good reason to be confident that in the next 100 years, learning German in India will be a success story.

Eine Erfolgsgeschichte 100 Jahre Deutschunterricht in Indien

Großes Fest: 100 Jahre Deutsch
Großes Fest: 100 Jahre Deutsch | Foto: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

1914 fing alles an. In Pune und Mumbai gab es den ersten Deutschunterricht in Indien. Hundert Jahre später, 2014, wurde dort auch am meisten gefeiert. Zum Jubiläum blicken wir auf die Geschichte sowie die aktuellen Entwicklungen und Aussichten für den Deutschunterricht.     

Das Jahr 2014 war vollgepackt mit Jubiläumsveranstaltungen. Neben Workshops deutschsprachiger Autoren, einer Ausstellung, Konzerten, einem Musik-, Tanz- und Theaterfestival, zahlreichen Vorträgen und germanistischen Fachkonferenzen gab es auch eine Reihe von Events, die sich besonders an die Deutschschüler und -studenten richteten. Bei einem Deutschland-Quiz, einem Aufsatzwettbewerb, einem Kochwettbewerb mit Gerichten aus Deutschland, Schweiz und Österreich und einem Gesangswettbewerb zeigten sie ihre Kenntnisse in deutscher Sprache und Kultur. „Die Teamarbeit war großartig, auch mit der Arbeit waren wir sehr zufrieden", bilanziert Savita Kelkar vom Organisationskomitee das Jahr. Teamwork – damit meint sie die Zusammenarbeit der Universität Pune, der Universität Mumbai, der deutschen Botschaft, der deutsch-indischen Handelskammer, des indischen Deutschlehrerverbands InDaF, des DAAD und des Goethe-Instituts, die alle an der Gestaltung des Jubiläumsjahres beteiligt waren.

„Der hundertjährige Geburtstag des Deutschunterrichts ist ein wunderbares Jubiläum und ein Indiz für die Nachhaltigkeit des wechselseitigen Interesses, ja der Faszination, die Indien und Deutschland seit langer Zeit miteinander verbindet“, meint Alicia Padrós vom Goethe-Institut New Delhi.

Einer der Höhepunkte war eine Rallye quer durch Pune gleich zu Beginn des Jahres. Ein Tross von mehreren hundert Schülern, Studenten und Lehrern zog durch die Stadt, um auf das Jubiläum aufmerksam zu machen. „Die Rallye zu organisieren, war eine enorme Aufgabe”, blickt Savita Kelkar zurück. „So viele Studenten problemlos auf die Straße zubringen, das war schon viel Arbeit. Aber dank der Hilfe vieler haben wir es geschafft."

Rückkehrer aus Deutschland 

Dass die Veranstaltungen hauptsächlich in Pune und Mumbai stattfanden, ist kein Zufall, denn hier liegt der Ursprung des Deutschunterrichts, hier gab es vor 100 Jahren die ersten Deutschstunden überhaupt in Indien.
In Pune fing alles mit einem Rückkehrer aus Deutschland an: Der Linguist Pandurang D. Gune hatte in Leipzig promoviert und kam 1913 in seine Heimat zurück. Seine erworbenen Sprachkenntnisse und die Begeisterung für die deutsche Sprache gab er ab 1914 den Schülern der New English School in Pune weiter, zunächst in einer 8. Klasse. Wenig später startete dann auch der Unterricht am renommierten Fergusson College, das ebenso wie die New England School zur Deccan Education Society gehört.

Neben dem Fergusson College, das damals noch der Universität Bombay angegliedert war, begann der Unterricht 1914 auch in Bombay selbst, und zwar zunächst am St. Xavier‘s College. Dieses wurde 1869 von deutschen Jesuiten gegründet, und auch 1914 waren es deutschsprachige Jesuiten, die die ersten Unterrichtsstunden abhielten. Deutsch wurde als Teil des Fachs „Moderne Europäische Sprachen“ angeboten. 1918 legten die ersten drei Kandidaten eine Deutschprüfung ab.

In den dreißiger Jahren wurde Deutsch dann auch als Wahlfach für Magisterstudenten der Naturwissenschaften eingeführt. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg, unter Professor R.V. Paranjape, der von 1947 bis 1974 lehrte, wurde der Deutschunterricht stark ausgeweitet und auch Abschlüsse in Germanistik angeboten. 1965 entstand eine deutsche Sektion in der neugegründeten Fremdsprachenabteilung. Seit 2003 gibt es eine eigenständige deutsche Abteilung. Heute, unter der Leitung von Prof. Vibha Surana, wird in Mumbai die ganze Bandbreite an akademischen Abschlüssen angeboten.

Impulse aus Pune

Auch in Pune entwickelte sich der Deutschunterricht erfolgreich. 1924 führte das Fergusson College Germanistik als Hauptfach ein, neben der Sprache wurden nun also auch deutsche Literatur und Geschichte gelehrt. Im Laufe der Jahre führten weitere Colleges und Schulen in Pune Deutschunterricht ein, wie zum Beispiel das S.P. College 1939. Der erste Absolvent des Germanistikstudiums in Pune ging nach Kolhapur und unterrichtete dort Deutsch am Rajaram College. Landesweit gesehen blieb Deutsch zunächst aber eher ein Orchideenfach.

In den 50er-Jahren gingen dann erneut positive Impulse von Pune aus. 1953 führte die Universität Abendkurse in Deutsch ein, um neben Studenten auch Berufstätige anzusprechen. 1955 wurde die „Poona University German Association“ gegründet, ein Verein, der mit Vorträgen, Seminaren, Ausstellungen und Filmvorführungen das Interesse an deutscher Sprache und Kultur förderte.

1958 richtete die Universität Pune dann zwei Dozenturen für deutsche Sprache und Literatur ein. Kurt Jankowsky und Heinz Schrader waren die ersten entsandten Lektoren des DAAD. In den 60er-Jahren wurden die ersten Forschungsarbeiten geschrieben. „Von dieser Zeit an wurde die deutsche Sprache immer populärer“, sagt Savita Kelkar, die am Fergusson College Deutsch unterrichtet. Die Bilanz der weiterführenden Studiengänge an der Uni Pune bestätigt das: Die Zahl der Master-Studierenden und Doktoranden steigt dort seit ihrer Einführung kontinuierlich an.

Mittlerweile bietet die Uni Pune eine ganze Reihe verschiedene Zertifikate und Abschlüsse in Deutsch an, darunter „Commercial German“ und „German Translation“. Damit wird auch den Bedürfnissen der vielen deutschen Firmen, die sich in der Region Pune niedergelassen haben, Rechnung getragen.

„The German genius“

Neben der persönlichen Begeisterung und dem Engagement Einzelner gab es auch historische Rahmenbedingungen, die der Etablierung des Deutschunterrichts förderlich waren, erklären die Organisatoren der Jubiläumsveranstaltungen. Wenn es um Fremdsprachen ging, war Deutsch eine willkommene Abwechslung zur Sprache der englischen Kolonialherren. Sprachlich und kulturell wollte man von Europa mehr erfahren, als das, was die Engländer mitgebracht hatten.
Deutsch lag auch deswegen nahe, weil sich viele deutsche Dichter und Denker wie Friedrich Schlegel, Hermann Hesse, Georg Forster und allen voran Max Mueller mit Indien beschäftigt hatten, viele von ihnen mit großem Respekt oder Bewunderung. Das stärkte das gute Verhältnis und gegenseitige Interesse der Länder. "Im Gegenzug hat Indien immer die deutsche Genialität in Philosophie, Musik, Wissenschaft und Technologie bewundert und anerkennt.", heißt es auf der Jubiläumswebsite „punegermancentenary.com”. 
 
Der genannte Max Mueller gilt als Mitbegründer der modernen Indologie und Sanskritforschung. Nach ihm wurden zunächst auch die Goethe-Institute in Indien benannt, die in den späten 50er und in den 60er-Jahren in Indien gegründet wurden. 1957 wurde das erste „Max Mueller Bhavan“ in Kalkutta eröffnet, 1959 startete man in Delhi, 1960 im damaligen Madras (jetzt Chennai) sowie in Bangalore, 1962 in Pune und 1969 in Bombay, dem heutigen Mumbai.

Landesweit steckte der Deutschunterricht damals immer noch in den Kinderschuhen, Entwicklungen wie in Pune und Mumbai waren eher die Ausnahme. Selbst an der großen Jawaharlal Nehru Universität in Delhi eröffnete der „Centre for German Studies“ erst 1971. „Deutsch zu lernen oder gar Germanistik zu studieren war lange etwas ganz Besonderes und absolut minoritär“, berichtet Alicia Padrós, die die Bildungskooperation Deutsch des Goethe-Instituts in Delhi leitet.

Langsam werden es mehr

Die „Max Mueller Bhavans“ wurden im Laufe der Jahre immer erfolgreicher: Im Jahr 2000 gab es rund 8000 Kursteilnehmer. Im Jahr 2013 waren es dann schon 25.000. „Die Zahlen sind in den vergangenen Jahren steil nach oben gegangen, und sie würden weiter steigen, wenn wir mehr Klassenräume und mehr Lehrkräfte hätten“, beschreibt Alicia Padrós den Boom.

An Schulen ergibt sich ein ähnliches Bild: 1995 gab es landesweit 9500 Schüler. Bis 2000 stieg diese Zahl auf 12.800 (in 60 Schulen), 2005 auf 14.900 (in 136 Schulen) und 2010 auf 18.550 (in 144 Schulen).

Zu den Schülern kommen Deutschlernende an Colleges und Universitäten. Bis zum Jahr 2000 hatten rund 50 Hochschulen Deutschkurse bzw. germanistische Studiengänge eingeführt. Die Zahlen der deutschlernenden Studierenden stabilisierte sich bei rund 4500, davon mehr als 200 Germanistikstudenten. Zwischen 2005 und 2010 stieg die Zahl nochmal stark an, auf 11.100.

Zählt man die Kursteilnehmer in Sprachschulen hinzu wuchs die Zahl der Deutschlernenden insgesamt von 17.800 (im Jahr 2000) auf 21.740 (2005) und 31.590 (2010).

Ein Grund für die steigende Beliebtheit der deutschen Sprache ist die Einsicht, dass Englisch allein in der boomenden indischen Wirtschaft nicht mehr ausreicht, um sich auf dem Arbeitsmarkt gute Chancen zu erarbeiten. Und Deutschland ist immerhin Indiens wichtigster Handelspartner in der EU. „Viele deutsche Firmen sind hier präsent, das Interesse an deutscher Kultur und Technik ist sehr groß“, sagt Markus Biechele, koordinierender Leiter der Spracharbeit der Goethe-Institute in Indien und Südasien.

Deutschlernen dient aber nicht nur den Karrierechancen der Schüler und Studierenden, sondern auch der deutsch-indischen Freundschaft. Die wird zum Beispiel durch die Austauschprogramme gestärkt, die zahlreiche Schulen und Hochschulen initiiert haben. Schüler des traditionsreichen Fergusson College zum Beispiel sind seit Jahren zu Gast an Schulen in Kaarst und Heilbronn. Die Uni Mumbai bietet Austauschprogramme mit Göttingen, Hamburg, Augsburg, Köln und Klagenfurt. Immer mehr indische Studenten gehen nach Deutschland. Ihre Zahl hat sich zwischen 2002 und 2012 laut DAAD mehr als verdreifacht, von 1800 auf 5745.
Vergleicht man international, hat Deutsch in Indien aber bei Weitem noch nicht den Stellenwert wie in anderen Ländern erreicht. In Russland und Polen zum Beispiel gibt es über 2 Millionen Deutschlernende, bei weitaus geringerer Bevölkerung. Am ehesten vergleichbar ist China mit rund 40.000 Deutschlernenden (2010) bei ebenfalls über 1 Milliarde Einwohner.

Schülerzahlen explodieren

Einen großen Sprung bei den Schülerzahlen versprach eine Entscheidung im Jahr 2011. Die staatliche Schulkette Kendriya Vidyala (KV) führte Deutsch als erste Fremdsprache ein (Englisch gilt nicht als Fremdsprache). „Deutsch an 1.000 Schulen“, so Name und Ziel des Projekts. „Dass KV Deutsch eingeführt hat, war eine unmittelbare Folge davon, dass zwei KV-Schulen ins PASCH-Netzwerk aufgenommen wurden“, erläutert Alicia Padrós. PASCH-Schulen haben eine besondere Deutschlandbindung und arbeiten eng mit deutschen Institutionen wie dem Goethe-Institut zusammen.

Das Projekt lief gut an und katapultierte die Schülerzahlen tatsächlich nach oben. Bis 2014 führten 500 KV-Schulen Deutsch ein, die Zahl der Deutsch lernenden KV-Schüler wuchs auf 78.000. Das Goethe-Institut hatte alle Hände voll damit zu tun, Interessenten für den Deutschlehrerberuf zu akquirieren und zu schulen – an indischen Universitäten gibt es nämlich bisher keine Deutschlehrerausbildung. Das KV-Projekt war der entscheidende Grund dafür, dass das Goethe-Institut bei der letzten indienweiten Zählung im Herbst 2014 auf die Rekordmarke von insgesamt 107.000 Schülern an rund 700 Schulen kam.

Der Aufwärtstrend scheint nun aber gestoppt. Die neue indische Regierung hat beschlossen, anstelle von Deutsch in den Klassenstufen 6-8 der staatlichen Schulkette wieder Unterricht in Sanskrit oder einer anderen indischen Sprache als dritter Sprache verpflichtend zu machen.

Jetzt wird nach Wegen gesucht, das Angefangene doch noch irgendwie fortzuführen. Deutsch soll zumindest als Wahlfach weiterhin angeboten werden. Der deutsche Botschafter Michael Steiner sagte der Deutschen Welle dazu: „Die Lösung muss ein „sowohl als auch“ sein, und ich glaube, das sieht auch jeder hier in Indien, der einerseits interessiert ist, die Tradition zu erhalten – vollkommen zu Recht –, aber andererseits auch daran, die Wirtschaft voranzubringen. Ich finde es völlig legitim, wenn die jungen Menschen sich sagen, das hilft mir auch beruflich, das hilft mir in meiner Ausbildung, wenn ich eine Sprache wie Deutsch erlerne.“

Auch wenn die Zahl der Deutschlernenden an Sekundarschulen durch den Regierungsbeschluss zunächst zurückgehen dürfte: Das Interesse an deutschen Universitäten und Unternehmen, an deutscher Technik und Knowhow und damit an der deutschen Sprache wächst in Indien nachhaltig weiter. Und so besteht durchaus Grund zur Zuversicht, dass auch in den nächsten 100 Jahren das Deutschlernen in Indien eine Erfolgsgeschichte sein wird.