Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Literature and Translation

New literature in Germany
From the German Bookshelves

From the German Bookshelves illuminates the rich tapestry of contemporary German literature, uncovering the voices of a new generation of authors, their narratives transcending linguistic boundaries, thoughtfully translated for a global audience.

Projects

Illustration zu "Being Kafka" © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Roberto Maján

Being Kafka

Why does Franz Kafka’s spell remain unbroken a hundred years after his death? Is it his exquisite letters, our affection for dramatic tales, or the sense that our contemporary world has never been more Kafkaesque? The centenary of Franz Kafka's death presents a chance to delve into innovative approaches to understanding the author and his captivating oeuvre.

A photo for the 200th Birth Anniversary of Max Müller © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

200th Birth Anniversary
Max Mueller Bicentennial

Friedrich Max Mueller, philologist and scholar, would have turned 200 in December 2023. As namesake of the Goethe-Instituts in India, his bicentennial serves as an occasion not just to remember but to revisit his renown, while critically engaging with the complexity of his contributions. This dossier goes beyond tribute to delve into Max Mueller’s historical role, influence and relevance within contemporary India.

Deutschsprachige Litertatur Illustration: Tobias Schrank, Goethe-Institut

Literary translation
The German List

Seagull’s German List which is supported by the Goethe-Institut since 2009 now comprises more than 90 translations of formidable works of contemporary German literature by distinguished authors and laureates such as Max Frisch, Theodor W. Adorno, Thomas Bernhard, Hans Magnus Enzensberger and Ulrich Peltzer.

The Infinite Library © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

The Infinite Library

The Infinite Library is a travelling installation that uses VR and other media to reimagine the future of libraries as interactive spaces that engage visitors through multisensory forms of storytelling.

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Boarding!
Graphic Travelogues

Join us on this special journey and immerse yourself in new worlds: Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings - discover with us the treasures we collect here.

  The band Embryo in India, from "Vagabunden Karawane: A musical trip through Iran, Afghanistan and India in 1979" Filmstill from "Vagabunden Karawane" © Werner Penzel Filmproduktion itd.

Hermann Hesse: 100 years of Siddhartha
The Sound of Faraway Lands

Commemorating the 100th anniversary of "Siddhartha", the Goethe-Instituts in South Asia are exploring the ways South Asia and Germany are received by one another – in literature, music, film and everyday culture.

Word! The language column © Goethe-Institut e. V./Illustration: Tobias Schrank

The German Language Column

Our column delves into navigating German language rules, tracing the origins of new words, and highlighting significant language usage shifts, offering insights into these engaging linguistic discussions.

Arabian Nights ©Sapan Saran

Contemporary Drama In Translation

Contemporary German-language drama is characterized by enormous variety. This project is about translating some of them in six South Asian languages – Bangla, Hindi, Marathi, Sinhalese, Tamil, and Urdu.

Goethe Darbaar © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Literature. Poetry. Culture
Goethe Darbaar

A celebration of literature, poetry and the arts — experience readings, performances and conversations with local and international writers, poets and artists at the event series "Goethe Darbaar".

Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Cherrypicker suggests
Read and listen

The "Cherrypicker" blog presents selected novels and non-fiction books, graphic novels and stories, audio books and music CDs from the wealth of new German-language publications. Every week a new recommendation, every week an opportunity to discover outstanding texts, images and voices.

Series: Future Libraries © raumlaborberlin on behalf of Kulturprojekte Berlin

Series
Future Libraries

Libraries lead us through a flood of analogue and digital information, can be a platform for exchange, space for encounters or social anchors in the city. With our series “Future Libraries” we shed light on challenges, trends and examples of success around the future of the library.

Poets Translating Poets - Mumbai © Goethe-Institut Mumbai

Poets Translating Poets

Poetry mirrors society, this project features some of the most renowned poets from South Asia who deal with identity, gender concerns, multiculturalism and diversity through their work. 

Articles on Literature and Translation

More Topics

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Literatur und Übersetzung

Literatur aus Deutschland
Aus deutschen Bücherregalen

Das Dossier zeigt die Reichhaltigkeit der zeitgenössischen deutschen Literatur und stellt eine neue Generation von Schriftsteller*innen vor, deren Erzählungen, sorgfältig übersetzt für ein globales Publikum, sprachliche Schranken überwinden.

Projekte

Illustration for "Being Kafka" © Goethe-Institut, Illustration: Roberto Maján

Being Kafka

Warum fasziniert uns Kafkas Zauber auch einhundert Jahre nach seinem Tod noch immer? Liegt es in seinen wunderschönen Briefen, unserer Liebe zu dramatischen Geschichten oder dem Gefühl, dass unsere Welt heute nie kafkaesker war? Zum 100. Todestag Franz Kafkas 2024 laden wir Sie ein, seine faszinierende Welt neu zu entdecken.

Ein Foto zum 200. Geburtstag von Max Müller © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Geburtstagsjubiläum
200 Jahre Max Müller

Im Dezember 2023 wäre der deutsche Gelehrte, Philologe, Orientalist und Indologe Friedrich Max Müller 200 Jahre alt geworden. Als Namensgeber der Goethe-Institute in Indien ist sein 200. Geburtstag Anlass für eine Würdigung und auch kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der Komplexität seines Werks. Die Beiträge in diesem Dossier gehen der historischen und gegenwärtigen Bedeutung Max Müllers in Indien nach.

Deutschsprachige Litertatur Illustration: Tobias Schrank, Goethe-Institut

Literaturübersetzung
Die German List

In der Reihe der German List, die das Goethe-Institut seit 2009 fördert, finden sich inzwischen über 90 Übersetzungen anspruchsvoller, neuerer deutschsprachiger Literatur, darunter prominente und mit zahlreichen Literaturpreisen ausgezeichnete Autoren wie Max Frisch, Theodor W. Adorno, Thomas Bernhard, Hans Magnus Enzensberger und Ulrich Peltzer.

Die unendliche Bibliothek VR-Installation: © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Die unendliche Bibliothek

„Die unendliche Bibliothek“ ist eine Multimedia-Installation, die Elemente von Virtual Reality mit anderen Medien verbindet. Die Anwendung definiert Bibliotheken neu als interaktive Räume, die die Besucher*innen durch multisensorische Formen des Storytellings einbeziehen.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Boarding!
Graphic Travelogues

Begleiten Sie uns auf eine besondere Reise, tauchen Sie ein in neue Welten: Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von internationalen Comic-Künstler*innen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen - entdecken Sie hier wahre Schätze.

 Die Band Embryo in Indien, aus "Vagabunden Karawane: A musical trip through Iran, Afghanistan and India in 1979" Filmstill aus "Vagabunden Karawane" © Werner Penzel Filmproduktion itd.

Hermann Hesse: 100 Jahre Siddhartha
Der Klang fremder Welten

Aus Anlass des 100. Jubiläums von „Siddhartha“ setzen sich die Goethe-Institute in Südasien mit der wechselseitigen Rezeption von Südasien und Deutschland auseinander – in Literatur, Musik, Film und Alltagskultur.

Sprechstunde - die Sprachkolumne © Goethe-Institut e. V./Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Die Kolumne zur deutschen Sprache

Unsere Kolumne dreht sich um die deutsche Sprache und behandelt faszinierende Themen wie die Navigation durch die Sprachregeln, die Herkunft neuer Wörter und bedeutende Veränderungen im Sprachgebrauch.

Arabian Nights ©Sapan Saran

Gegenwartsdramatik In Übersetzung

Die deutschsprachige Gegenwartsdramatik zeichnet sich durch große Vielfalt aus. Dieses Übersetzungsprojekt arbeitet mit sechs südasiatischen Sprachen: Bangla, Hindi, Marathi, singalesisch, Tamil, Urdu.

Goethe Darbaar © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Literatur. Poesie. Kultur
Goethe Darbaar

Literatur, Poesie und Künste feiern — mit der Veranstaltungsreihe „Goethe Darbaar“ erleben Sie Lesungen, Performances und Gespräche mit lokalen und internationalen Schriftstellern, Dichtern und Künstlern.

Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Rosinenpicker empfiehlt
Lesen und hören

Der „Rosinenpicker“ präsentiert persönlich ausgewählte Romane und Sachbücher, Graphic Novels und Erzählungen, Hörbücher und Musik-CDs.

Serie: Zukunft Bibliotheken © raumlaborberlin im Auftrag von Kulturprojekte Berlin

Serie
Zukunft Bibliotheken

Bibliotheken führen uns durch analoge und digitale Informationsfluten, können Plattform für Austausch, Raum für Begegnungen oder sozialer Anker in der Stadt sein. Mit der Serie „Zukunft Bibliotheken“ beleuchten wir Herausforderungen, Trends und Erfolgsbeispiele rund um die Zukunft der Bibliothek.

Poets Translating Poets - Mumbai © Goethe-Institut Mumbai

Poets Translating Poets

Dieses Projekt stellt einige der bekanntesten Dichter aus Südasien vor, die sich in ihren Werken mit Identität, Genderfragen, Multikulturalität und Diversität auseinandersetzen. 

Artikel zum Thema „Literatur und Übersetzung“

Weitere Themen

Top