Dramaturgy

Dramaturgy
© Flinn Works

The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavans Bangalore and Kolkata have long been closely associated with the respective theatre scenes, which are essentially amateur theatre scenes. Actors as well as directors and other theatre makers are project-related and active in changing constellations. The need for dramaturges and an interest in the profession has been much discussed in the Indian theatre scene in recent years, especially because the approach of dramaturgical work is relatively new for South Asia. Because of the development of new forms of theatre such as documentary theatre, performance art and play development, the need for professional dramaturgical work has increased. The contact with German dramaturges via various cooperations added to the expressed wish for a more in-depth exchange. What is still lacking in some cases is an understanding of the role and the job profile, a sound knowledge of practical techniques and an exchange about them in general.

Developed by Sophia Stepf (Artistic Director, Flinn Works) and Jehan Manekshaw (Head of School, Drama School Mumbai) in collaboration with Götz Leineweber (Dramaturg), the Goethe-Instituts in Kolkata and Bangalore have offered two ten-day workshops in autumn 2019 for experienced, practicing theatre makers who want to exchange ideas about the role of dramaturge in play development and develop their own dramaturgical skills.

In the course of the subsequent ongoing mentoring, own plays are developed. In the five-day evaluation and development workshop in autumn 2020 for selected participants, the experiences will be evaluated, perspectives for further work in the field of dramaturgy and its sub-disciplines will be presented and selected aspects will be deepened.

The contents of the workshops were:

- Short history of dramaturgy (“a professional profile develops”)
- Text analysis (work with theatrical texts)
- staging analysis (theatre visits or video examples)
- Feedback methods (DasArts and others)
- Practical dramaturgy (scene work)
- Alternative dramaturgies (documentary, immersive, site-specific)
- Professional profile and understanding of roles in a team
 
The long-term goal of this project is the encouragement of Indian dramaturges and the strengthening of the professional exchange of German and Indian dramaturges.

Mentors:

Sophia Stepf © Sophia Stepf Sophia Stepf is a certified dramaturge from the Leipzig University of Music and Theatre.
She has been working as a dramaturge, director, curator for 15 years, directs the free company Flinn Works and regularly teaches the course 'Intercultural Dramaturgies' at the HMT Leipzig. She has a broad experience in project work in India (e.g. for Ranga Shankara, NSD, Prithvi, FLAME, Theatre Professionals). She has curated and developed projects for various Goethe-Instituts in India in the fields of children's and youth theatre, new theatre texts and theatre pedagogy. Her piece, 'C sharp C blunt' has won prizes in Delhi and Zurich and has been touring internationally for five years. Her new play 'Global Belly', partly researched in India, was invited to the Impulse Theatre Festival 2018. She curates the free theatre festival Schwindelfrei in Mannheim where she regularly invites young Indian theatre professionals. She lives with her family in Berlin.

Jehan Manekshaw © Jehan Manekshaw Jehan Manekshaw











Götz Leineweber Götz Leineweber © Götz Leineweber

Dramaturgie

Dramaturgie
© Flinn Works

Die Goethe-Institute / Max Mueller Bhavans Bangalore und Kolkata sind seit langem eng mit den jeweiligen Theaterszenen, die im Wesentlichen Laientheaterszenen sind, verbunden. Sowohl Schauspieler als auch Regisseure und andere Theatermacher sind projektbezogen und in wechselnden Konstellationen tätig. Der Bedarf an Dramaturg*innen und ein Interesse am Berufsbild wurde in der indischen Theaterszene in den letzten Jahren viel diskutiert, gerade weil der Ansatz dramaturgischer Arbeit relativ neu ist für Südasien. Durch die Entwicklung neuer Theaterformen wie Dokumentartheater, Performancekunst und Stückentwicklung hat sich der Bedarf an professionellem dramaturgischem Arbeiten erhöht. Der Kontakt mit deutschen Dramaturg*innen im Rahmen verschiedener Kooperationsprojekte hat den ausdrücklichen Wunsch nach einem stärkeren Austausch betont. Was teilweise immer noch fehlt, ist ein Verständnis der Rolle und des Berufsbildes, fundierte Kenntnisse der praktischen Techniken, sowie überhaupt ein Austausch darüber.

Entwickelt von Sophia Stepf (Artistic Director, Flinn Works) und Jehan Manekshaw (Head of School, Drama School Mumbai) in Zusammenarbeit mit Götz Leineweber (Dramaturg), haben die Goethe-Institute in Kolkata und Bangalore im Herbst 2019 zwei zehntägige Workshops für erfahrene, praktizierende Theatermacher angeboten, die sich über die Rolle des Dramaturgen in der Stückentwicklung austauschen und ihre eigenen dramaturgischen Kompetenzen weiterentwickeln wollen.

Im Zuge der anschließend fortlaufenden Mentorierung werden eigne Theaterstücke entwickelt. Im fünftägigen Evaluations- und Aufbauworkshop im Herbst 2020 für ausgewählte Teilnehmer*innen werden die Erfahrungen evaluiert, Perspektiven für die weitere Arbeit im Bereich der Dramaturgie und ihrer Teildisziplinen aufgezeigt und ausgewählte Aspekte vertieft.

Die Inhalte der Workshops waren:

- Kurze Geschichte der Dramaturgie (ein Berufsbild entwickelt sich)
- Textanalyse (Arbeit mit Theatertexten)
- Inszenierungsanalyse (Theaterbesuche oder Videobeispiele)
- Feedback Methoden (DasArts und andere)
- Praktische Dramaturgie (Szenenarbeit)
- Alternative Dramaturgien (Doku, immersiv, ortsspezifisch)
- Berufsbild und Rollenverständnis im Team

Langfristiges Ziel dieses Projektes ist die Förderung von indischen Dramaturg*innen und die Stärkung des professionellen Austausches deutscher und indischer Dramaturg*innen.

Mentoren

Sophia Stepf © Sophia Stepf Sophia Stepf ist diplomierte Dramaturgin der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig.
Sie arbeitet seit 15 Jahren als Dramaturgin, Regisseurin, Kuratorin, leitet die freie Kompanie Flinn Works und unterrichtet regelmäßig u.a. den Kurs 'Interkulturelle Dramaturgien' an der HMT Leipzig. Sie blickt auf eine breite Erfahrung an Projektarbeiten in Indien zurück (z.B für Ranga Shankara, NSD, Prithvi, FLAME, Theatre Professionals). Sie hat für verschiedene Goethe-Institute in Indien Projekte kuratiert und entwickelt in den Bereichen Kinder- und Jugendtheater, neue Theatertexte und Theaterpädagogik. Ihr Stück, 'C sharp C blunt' hat Preise in Delhi und Zürich gewonnen und tourt international seit fünf Jahren. Ihr neues Stück 'Global Belly', teilweise in Indien recherchiert, wurde u.a. zum Impulse Theaterfestival 2018 eingeladen. Sie kuratiert das freie Theaterfestival Schwindelfrei in Mannheim und lädt dazu regelmäßig junge indische Theaterschaffende ein. Sie lebt mit ihrer Familie in Berlin.

Jehan Manekshaw © Jehan Manekshaw Jehan Manekshaw











Götz Leineweber © Götz Leineweber Götz Leineweber