Points of Contact
27.01.-10.03.18

Points of Contact © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Karim Farah

How does architecture construct the human bodily experience of everyday life? How is this bodily experience connected to capitalism and conflict? What are the points of contact between the human body, the architecture of the lived built environment and state and international governing forces? How can one problematize, resist or intervene in the evolution of this lived condition?

The exhibition and public program Points of Contact brings together multi-media responses and investigations into the architecture of the built environment in Lebanon, and its impact on a human bodily experience. The participating artists, theorists, activists, lawyers and architects will explore an interpenetration of private and public spheres that takes effect through capitalism and conflict. The exhibition will change and evolve over its duration, being constructed, and reconstructed as each participant will present their work through screenings, conversations, performances, lectures, and walking tours, taking place across two experimental roundtable events on January 27 and February 17, 2018. These events aim to create a platform for discussion between the participating projects as well as with the visiting audience.

The first experimental roundtable Body As Testimony, Poetics and Gender (January 27) pays particular attention to the affects of capitalism and conflict at the scale of the human body. Observing changes in the architecture of the built environment that take place in response to this human bodily experience. This event further questions how dominant methods of producing evidence or giving testimony can exclude or render the human body invisible? Proposing a possible turn towards the poetics of human testimony, asking what are the methods needed to engage a more inclusionary account of human bodily affect?

The second experimental roundtable Built Between the Slow, the Structural and the Spectacular (February 17) will observe a spectrum of methods that attempt to capture and evidence the slow, structural and spectacular violent affects of capitalism and conflict, seen through transformations in the architecture of the built environment. Asking how does the built environment or the architecture of the domestic space becomes an archive of such transformations? Further questioning how planning of the built environment becomes a way of speculating and projecting the affects of capitalism and conflict into the future?

In accompaniment to the main exhibition at the Media Lounge of Goethe-Institut Libanon, the Arab Center for Architecture will open as a satellite exhibition space on Saturday, February 17, 2018.
 
With the participation of: Shakeeb Abu Hamdan, George Arbid, Marwa Arsanios, Rayya Badran, Habib Battah, Vanessa Bowles, Hiba Farhat, Dima Hamadeh, Samar Kanafani, Helene Kazan, Jessika Khazrik, Fadi Mansour, Ayat Noureddine, Yoriko Otomo, Mohamed Safa, Rania Stephan, Sandra Schaefer.

A project by the Media Lounge of Goethe-Institut Libanon, curated by Helene Kazan, in collaboration with the Arab Center for Architecture and the British Council, Lebanon.

Points of Contact
27.01.-10.03.18

Points of Contact © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Karim Farah

Wie strukturiert Architektur die körperliche Erfahrung des Menschen im täglichen Leben? In welcher Beziehung steht diese körperliche Erfahrung zu Kapitalismus und Konflikt? Welche Berührungspunkte gibt es zwischen dem menschlichen Körper, der Architektur der baulichen Umgebung und der staatlichen und internationalen Regierungsgewalt? Wie kann man die Problematik der Entwicklung dieser Lebensumstände darstellen, wie kann man sich ihr widersetzen oder darauf Einfluss nehmen?

Die Ausstellung Points of Contact versammelt multimediale Reaktionen und Untersuchungen zur Architektur der baulichen Umgebung im Libanon und ihre Auswirkung auf die körperliche Erfahrung von Menschen. Die teilnehmenden KünstlerInnen, TheoretikerInnen, AktivistInnen, JuristInnen und ArchitektInnen werden die wechselseitige Durchdringung privater und öffentlicher Räume erkunden sowie deren Beziehung zu Kapitalismus und Konflikt. Die Ausstellung wird sich während ihrer Laufzeit verändern und weiterentwickeln. Sie wird auf- und umgebaut. Jeder der Teilnehmenden wird seine Arbeit in Form von Screenings, Gesprächen, Performances, Vorträgen und Rundgängen im Rahmen zweier experimenteller Roundtable-Veranstaltungen am 27. Januar und 17. Februar 2018 präsentieren. Dabei sollen die Veranstaltungen als Plattform für Diskussionen zwischen den teilnehmenden Projekten sowie mit und zwischen den BesucherInnen anregen.

Der erste experimentelle Roundtable mit dem Titel Body As Testimony, Poetics and Gender (27. Januar) richtet sein Augenmerk vor allem auf Kapitalismus und Konflikt und dessen Auswirkung auf menschliche Körper, denn die beobachteten Veränderungen in der Architektur der gebauten Umgebung rufen Reaktionen auf der Ebene des menschlichen Körpers hervor. Bei dieser Veranstaltung soll gefragt werden, wie die vorherrschenden Methoden, mit denen etwas belegt oder Zeugnis abgelegt wird, den menschlichen Körper in Wirklichkeit ausgrenzen oder unsichtbar machen. Dabei wird eine mögliche Wende hin zur Poetik des menschlichen, gelebten Zeugnisses angeregt und die Frage gestellt: Welche Methoden brauchen wir, um die Auswirkung auf den menschlichen Körper stärker einzubeziehen?

Der zweite experimentelle Roundtable Built Between the Slow, the Structural and the Spectacular (17. Februar) wird sich mit einer Reihe von Methoden befassen, mit denen die langsamen, strukturellen und eklatanten gewaltigen Auswirkungen von Kapitalismus und Konflikt im Hinblick auf die Veränderungen in der Architektur der baulichen Umgebung erfasst und belegt werden können. Wie wird die bauliche Umgebung oder die Architektur des häuslichen Raums zu einem Archiv dieser Veränderungen? Und wie wird die Planung der baulichen Umgebung zu einer Möglichkeit, über die Auswirkungen von Kapitalismus und Konflikt nachzudenken und in die Zukunft zu projizieren?

Begleitend zur Hauptausstellung in der Medienlounge des Goethe-Instituts Libanon wird am 17. Februar 2018 ein weiterer Ausstellungsraum im Arab Center for Architecture eröffnet.
 
Mit Beiträgen von: Shakeeb Abu Hamdan, George Arbid, Marwa Arsanios, Rayya Badran, Habib Battah, Vanessa Bowles, Hiba Farhat, Dima Hamadeh, Samar Kanafani, Helene Kazan, Jessika Khazrik, Fadi Mansour, Ayat Noureddine, Yoriko Otomo, Mohamed Safa, Rania Stephan, Sandra Schäfer.
 
Ein Projekt der Medienlounge des Goethe-Instituts Libanon, kuratiert von Helene Kazan, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Arab Center for Architecture und British Council, Libanon.