GOETHE CALENDAR 2017 Local culture in large format

People in Germany is the Goethe Calendar theme for 2017.
People in Germany is the Goethe Calendar theme for 2017. | Photo (detail): © Bernhard Ludewig

How do students live in Germany, and which subjects are the most popular? The Goethe Calendar 2017 provides answers to these and similar questions through attractive photos and exciting texts. You will find the accompanying teaching resources on the internet.

The Goethe-Institut publishes a cultural photo calendar for schools and other education providers every year as part of its global education services. This year the focus is on People in Germany – young and old, Germans and non-Germans, with or without a disability. As well as the attractive pictures on the front, the reverse of each page features contemporary words that are motivational and diverse in character. The materials are designed for young German learners in Germany and abroad from the age of about 15, working at Level A1 to B1. Teacher’s notes and worksheets for use in the classroom are available online to download. You can also download the photos and texts from the website if you don’t have the calendar to hand.

Looking at Germany: a question of perspective

The materials are varied, allowing the students a differentiated view of people’s daily life in Germany. Each month takes a closer look at a different aspect of the main theme. Firstly the materials usefully complement the day-to-day cultural topics covered in textbooks, for example Living, Family or Work, by providing current information. Secondly themes that until now have not received much attention in textbooks, such as Inclusion or Actively Old, are under the spotlight.

The theme for June is New Home. The materials support the syllabus.  The theme for June is New Home. The materials support the syllabus. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/Sven Simon; Fotograf: Anke Fleig/SVEN SIMON

Local culture from a current and differentiated perspective

The large-format photos are not really images of regional culture in the classic sense – tourist attractions, landscapes or famous landmarks. Instead of teaching facts about Germany, the photos are intended to stimulate learners to talk by raising questions, irritating them or addressing unusual themes. The teacher can find various suggestions on how to use the pictures each month. These ideas can easily be applied to other images, creating variety and enhancing the lesson with minimum effort.
Another advantage of the calendar is the diversity of the texts. They are current, adapted to the language level of the class and tend to be short, so that they work very well as supplementary material. Inclusion of a wide range of text styles, from interviews and statements to cartoons and blog posts, ensures authentic content that young learners find interesting and varied.
It is also possible to use all photos and texts independently of the month and year. They are still available even after the year of publication. Whilst the focus for 2016 was Working worlds, the themes for other years have included Celebrations and Leisure.

It’s all about Student life in March. It’s all about Student life in March. | Photo (detail): © dpa; Fotograf: Ralf Hirschberger

Ideas for a hands-on approach to working with texts

The teachers are given detailed instructions on ways to use individual photos and texts in the classroom. They come with copyable worksheet templates in which the teaching focus is on vocabulary and reading comprehension, as well as verbal and written expression.

Here you will find ideas for integrating the theme of the month, Student life, into lessons:
The lesson suggestions are skill-focused and hands-on in style. They also offer variants for digital media work. Each teacher hand-out starts with ideas for introducing the theme of the month, all of which involve that month’s calendar picture. Next the individual learning modules relating to those texts are described in small steps. The content of teacher hand-outs includes an overview of key phrases and suggestions for boardwork. Furthermore teachers can find cultural background information in the infp boxes. The method boxes explain key teaching methods.
 

METHOD: SPEED-DATING

Speed-dating, also known as learning merry-go-round or double-circle, consists of verbal information exchange within a limited time on a specified theme. For the speed-dating activity, learners face each other in pairs. They are given a time limit within which to discuss a theme, and then one row moves down to the next person while their partners carry on speaking. Then the same row moves on to the next person again. The activity particularly encourages formulaic speech.
To complement the teacher’s notes, the monthly interactive materials from the “Deutsch für Dich” community can be used. There you can find further resources such as audio texts with tasks and exercises.

The key argument in favour of using the calendar in the classroom comes from the young people themselves. According to the study “Young people learn differently” (2014), three-quarters of students questioned would like to find out more about Germany in class. One of the things they want is to have “genuine texts from Germany” in lessons. So they would rather discuss texts that are authentic and current than work solely on passages in textbooks. The study also proves what a good idea it is to comply with the students’ request: their learning motivation for German as a subject increases in line with the proportion of culture-related content in the classroom.

GOETHE-KALENDER 2017 Landeskunde im Großformat

Menschen in Deutschland ist das Thema des Goethe-Kalenders 2017.
Menschen in Deutschland ist das Thema des Goethe-Kalenders 2017. | Foto (Auschnitt): © Bernhard Ludewig

Wie wohnen Studierende in Deutschland und welche Studienfächer sind am beliebtesten? Antworten auf solche und ähnliche Fragen gibt der Goethe-Kalender 2017 mit attraktiven Fotos und spannenden Texten. In Internet finden Sie die dazugehörigen Didaktisierungen.
 

Jedes Jahr bringt das Goethe-Institut im Rahmen seiner weltweiten Bildungskooperation einen landeskundlichen Fotokalender für Schulen und andere Bildungsträger heraus. In diesem Jahr stehen Menschen in Deutschland –  junge und alte, deutsche und nichtdeutsche, mit oder ohne Behinderung – im Mittelpunkt. Neben ansprechenden Bildern auf den Vorderseiten bieten die Rückseiten aktuelle, motivierende und ganz unterschiedliche Texte. Die Materialien sind für junge Deutschlernende ab circa 15 Jahren im In- und Ausland auf den Niveaus A1 bis B1 konzipiert. Entsprechende Lehrerhandreichungen und Arbeitsblätter für den Einsatz im Unterricht stehen online zum Download bereit. Wer keinen Kalender zur Hand hat, kann sich auf der Website auch die Fotos und Texte herunterladen.

Blick auf Deutschland: eine Frage der Perspektive

Die abwechslungsreich gestalteten Materialien ermöglichen den Schülerinnen und Schülern einen differenzierten Einblick in das alltägliche Leben von Menschen in Deutschland. Jeder Monat nimmt einen anderen Aspekt des Hauptthemas unter die Lupe. Einerseits ergänzen die Materialien alltägliche landeskundliche Themen in Lehrwerken, wie zum Beispiel Wohnen, Familie oder Arbeit, sinnvoll durch aktuelle Informationen. Andererseits stehen Themen, wie Inklusion oder Aktiv Alt, im Fokus, die in Lehrwerken bislang wenig Raum finden.

Das Junithema ist Neue Heimat. Die Materialien ergänzen das Lehrwerk.  Das Junithema ist Neue Heimat. Die Materialien ergänzen das Lehrwerk. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © picture alliance/Sven Simon; Fotograf: Anke Fleig/SVEN SIMON

Landeskunde aktuell und differenziert

Bei den großformatigen Fotos handelt es sich weniger um landeskundliche Bilder im klassischen Sinne – mit Sehenswürdigkeiten, Landschaften oder Berühmtheiten. Anstatt Fakten über Deutschland zu vermitteln, sollen die Fotos die Lernenden zum Sprechen anregen, indem sie Fragen aufwerfen, irritieren oder Ungewöhnliches thematisieren. Zum Einsatz der Bilder findet die Lehrkraft jeden Monat unterschiedliche Vorschläge. Sie lassen sich leicht auf andere Bilder übertragen, schaffen Abwechslung und bereichern mit wenig Arbeitsaufwand den Unterricht.

Ein weiterer Pluspunkt des Kalenders ist die Vielfältigkeit der Texte. Sie sind aktuell, sprachlich der jeweiligen Niveaustufe angepasst und eher kurz, sodass sie sich sehr gut als Zusatzmaterial eignen. Verschiedene Textsorten von Interviews und Statements über Cartoons bis zu Blogeinträgen schaffen ein authentisches Angebot, das für junge Lernende interessant und abwechslungsreich ist.
Alle Fotos und Texte können auch unabhängig von Monat und Jahr eingesetzt werden. Sie stehen auch nach dem Erscheinungsjahr zur Verfügung. Während 2016 der Fokus auf Arbeitswelten lag, war das Thema in anderen Jahren Feste oder Freizeit.

Im März dreht sich alles um das Studentenleben. Im März dreht sich alles um das Studentenleben. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © dpa; Fotograf: Ralf Hirschberger

Ideen für eine handlungsorientierte Textarbeit

In den Lehrerhandreichungen bekommen die Lehrkräfte detaillierte Hinweise darüber, wie sie die einzelnen Fotos und Texte im Unterricht einsetzen können. Passend dazu gibt es Kopiervorlagen für Arbeitsblätter, bei denen Wortschatzvermittlung, Leseverstehen sowie mündlicher und schriftlicher Ausdruck im Vordergrund stehen.

Hier finden Sie Ideen, wie man das Monatsthema Studentenleben in den Unterricht integrieren kann:
Die Unterrichtsvorschläge sind kompetenz- und handlungsorientiert. Außerdem bieten sie auch Varianten für die Arbeit mit digitalen Medien. Jede Lehrerhandreichung beginnt mit Ideen für den Einstieg ins Monatsthema, bei dem das jeweilige Kalenderbild miteingebunden wird. Danach folgt die kleinschrittige Beschreibung der einzelnen Lerneinheiten zu den jeweiligen Texten. Die Lehrerhandreichungen enthalten unter anderem einen Überblick wichtiger Redemittel und Vorschläge für Tafelbilder. Außerdem können die Lehrkräfte in den Info-Kästen landeskundliche Hintergrundinformationen bekommen. Die Methoden-Kästen erläutern wichtige Unterrichtsmethoden.
 

METHODE: SPEEDDATING

Speeddating, auch Lernkarussell oder Kugellager genannt, ist ein zeitlich begrenzter mündlicher Informationsaustausch über ein vorgegebenes Thema. Beim Speeddating stehen sich die Lernenden paarweise gegenüber. Sie sprechen in vorgegebener Zeit zu einem Thema, dann geht eine Reihe eine Person weiter und die gegenüberliegenden Personen sprechen wieder. Dann geht die gleiche Reihe wieder eine Person weiter. Die Aktivität fördert besonders automatisiertes Sprechen.
Als Ergänzung zu den Didaktisierungen können die monatlichen interaktiven Materialien der Community „Deutsch für Dich“ eingesetzt werden. Dort finden Sie beispielsweise zusätzliche Hörtexte mit Übungen und Aufgaben.

Das entscheidende Argument für den Einsatz des Kalenders im Unterricht liefern die Jugendlichen selbst. Laut der Studie „Jugendliche lernen anders“ (2014) möchten drei Viertel der befragten Schülerinnen und Schüler im Unterricht mehr über Deutschland erfahren. Sie wünschen sich unter anderem „echte Texte aus Deutschland“ im Unterricht. Sie wollen also lieber authentische und  aktuelle Texte besprechen, als sich ausschließlich mit Lehrbuchtexten auseinanderzusetzen. Wie sinnvoll es ist, diesem Wunsch der Lernenden nachzukommen, belegt die Studie ebenfalls: Ihre Lernmotivation für das Fach Deutsch wächst mit steigendem Anteil an landeskundlichen Inhalten im Unterricht.