Exhibition
Shaping the Past: The Exhibition

STP Banner 2
(c)Dan Mohr/yes.i.said

Goethe-Institut Chicago

At 21c Museum Hotel, 55 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611 and at PO Box Collective, 6900 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL 60626, the exhibition is accessible from the street. The Goethe-Institut exhibition is, for the time being, still not accessible to the general public. We will post photos this component of the exhibition on our social media channels.

Shaping the Past
connects with and builds on the work of emerging leaders of local, national, and transnational movements to remember through reflection and with urgency.

In 2020, the Goethe-Institut in North America worked with Monument Lab on a multifaceted event and program series called Shaping the Past. In Chicago you are most likely familiar with the work THERE ARE BLACK PEOPLE IN THE FUTURE by fellow Alisha Wormsley whose work was exhibited at the Elmhurst Art Museum/McCormick House.

Many more artists and memory workers contributed to Shaping the Past.
Starting June 5, you are able to experience the works of Chicago’s own 2019 fellows Girl/Friends A Long Walk Home and Cheyenne Concepcion with The Relic Report at 21c Museum Hotel and Quentin VerCetty Lindsay with Missing Black Technofossil Here at P.O. Box Collective.
The Goethe-Institut offices will show Ada Pinkston’s LandMarked.

With the exception of the ones at the Goethe-Institut offices, these poster exhibitions will be accessible from the street as they are displayed in the windows of two of the locations.
 








Ada Pinkston © Ada Pinkston
Ada Pinkston is an artist, educator, and cultural organizer living and working in Baltimore, MD, where she is lecturer in Art Education at Towson University. Her work explores the intersection of imagined histories and sociopolitical realities on our bodies using performance, digital media, and mixed-media sculptures and installations. Her project, Landmarked, explores new ways of activating the empty spaces left by the 48 Confederate monuments that have been removed. Her most recent collaborative project includes founding the LabBodies Performance Art Laboratory in Baltimore, Maryland.

A Long Walk Home Headshot
A Long Walk Home (ALWH) is a Chicago-based national non-profit that uses art to educate, inspire, and mobilize young people to end violence against girls and women. ALWH’s Girl/Friends Leadership Institute empowers teen girls to use art to advocate for themselves and other girls, to design campaigns and policies to end dating violence, sexual assault, and street harassment in their Chicago schools and communities, ultimately changing the face of leadership in the women’s movement.

Cheyenne Concepcion
Cheyenne Concepcion is an artist and designer living and working in San Francisco. Her art practice is strongly research oriented and investigates the politics of space through installation, speculation, cartography, and collecting. Drawing on her interest and training in urban design and planning, Concepcion’s work focuses on socio-spatial theory, land development, migration and often has a public component.

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
Quentin VerCetty Lindsay is an award-winning, multidisciplinary visual griot (storyteller), artpreneur, art educator, activist, and an ever-growing interstellar tree based in Montreal, Canada. He is also co-founder and director of the Black Speculative Arts Movement, whose foundational work with second-wave Afrofuturism provides new, inclusive, and intersectional perspectives to reimagine public spaces.


Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).

Details

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Language: English and Spanish
Price: Free

Additional Exhibitions at 21c Museum Hotel and POBox Collective

Ausstellung
Gestaltung der Vergangenheit: Die Ausstellung

STP Banner 2
(c)Dan Mohr/yes.i.said

Goethe-Institut Chicago

Im 21c Museum Hotel, 55 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611 und im Postfach Collective, 6900 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL 60626, ist die Ausstellung von der Straße aus zugänglich. Die Ausstellung des Goethe-Instituts ist bis auf Weiteres noch nicht öffentlich zugänglich. Wir werden Fotos dieses Teil der Ausstellung auf unseren Social Media Kanälen posten.

Gestaltung der Vergangenheit (Shaping the Past)
knüpft an die Arbeit lokaler, nationaler und länderübergreifender Bewegungen zur Reflexion von Erinnerungskultur an und bündelt und diskutiert neue Perspektiven auf Formen des Erinnerns.

Im Jahr 2020 arbeitete das Goethe-Institut in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab an einer vielseitigen Veranstaltungs- und Programmreihe namens Shaping the Past. In Chicago sind Sie wahrscheinlich mit der Arbeit THERE ARE BLACK PEOPLE IN THE FUTURE von der Stipendiatin Alisha Wormsley vertraut, die im Elmhurst Art Museum/McCormick House ausgestellt wurde.

Viele weitere Künstler*innen und Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen trugen zu Shaping the Past bei.
Ab dem 5. Juni können Sie nun die Arbeiten von den in Chicago ansässigen 2019er Stipendiatinnen Girl/Friends A Long Walk Home, Cheyenne Concepcion mit The Relic Report im 21c Museum Hotel und Quentin VerCetty Lindsay mit Missing Black Technofossil Here im P.O. Box Collective erleben.
In den Räumen des Goethe-Instituts wird Ada Pinkstons LandMarked gezeigt.

Mit Ausnahme der Ausstellungen in den Büros des Goethe-Instituts werden diese Posterausstellungen von der Straße aus zugänglich sein, da sie in den Fenstern von zwei der Standorte ausgestellt sind.
 




Ada Pinkston © Ada Pinkston
Ada Pinkston lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin, Dozentin und Kulturveranstalterin in Baltimore, MD, wo sie im Studiengang Kunstpädagogik an der Towson University lehrt. Mit Hilfe von Performancekunst, digitalen Medien, Mixed-Media-Skulpturen und Installationen untersucht sie die Schnittstelle fiktiver Geschichten und soziopolitischer Realitäten auf unseren Körpern. In ihrer Arbeit Landmarked ergründet sie neue Wege zur Aktivierung der leeren Sockel von 48 abmontierten Konföderierten-Denkmälern. Ihr jüngstes Gemeinschaftsprojekt ist die Gründung des LabBodies Performance Art Laboratory in Baltimore.

 Anaya Patrice Frazier, Danielle Nolen und Aliyah Young © A Long Walk Home
A Long Walk Home (ALWH) ist eine in Chicago ansässige, nationale, gemeinnützige Organisation, die mithilfe von Kunst junge Menschen bilden, inspirieren und mobilisieren will, um die Gewalt gegen Mädchen und Frauen zu stoppen. Das Girl/Friends Leadership Institute von ALWH befähigt junge Mädchen, durch Kunst für sich und andere Mädchen einzutreten, Kampagnen und Strategien zu entwerfen, um Dating-Gewalt, sexuelle Übergriffe und Belästigung auf der Straße in ihren Chicagoer Schulen und Gemeinden ein Ende zu bereiten und letztlich der Anführung der Frauenbewegung ein neues Gesicht zu verleihen.

Cheyenne Concepcion © Cheyenne Concepcion
Cheyenne Concepcion ist Künstlerin und Designerin und lebt und arbeitet in San Francisco. Ihre künstlerische Praxis ist stark forschungsorientiert und untersucht die Politik des Raumes durch Installation, Spekulation, Kartographie und Sammlungen. Auf Grundlage ihres Interesses an und ihrer Ausbildung in Städtebau und Stadtplanung konzentriert sich Concepcions Arbeit auf sozialräumliche Theorie, Flächennutzungsplanung und Migration und hat oft eine öffentliche Komponente.

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay © Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
Quentin VerCetty Lindsay ist ein preisgekrönter, multidisziplinärer Griot der bildenden Kunst, Artpreneur, Kunstpädagoge, Aktivist und stetig wachsender interstellarer Baum. Er ist Mitbegründer und Direktor des Black Speculative Arts Movement, dessen Arbeit die zweite Welle des Afrofuturismus mit neuen, inklusiven und intersektionalen Perspektiven auf öffentlichen Raum verbindet.


Shaping The Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

Details

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Sprache: Englisch und Spanisch
Preis: Kostenlos

Weitere Ausstellungsorte 21c Museum Hotel and POBox Collective