Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Goethe Pop Up Seattle
Chophouse Row 
1424 11th Ave
Suite 101
Seattle, WA 98122

Opening hours: 
EXHIBITION SPACE TEMPORARILY CLOSED
See Calendar for virtual events

Tel. +1 (202) 873 7881
info-seattle@goethe.de

Follow us on:

Facebook Logo
Instagram Logo

Covid-19 Response © Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Goethe Pop Up Seattle: COVID-19 Update

In light of the current situation, Goethe Pop Up Seattle is temporarily closed until further notice. This is a preventative action to help slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus and ensure the safety of our community and staff.

Please continue to check our website and social media for updates on scheduled events and digital engagement opportunities. ​

Thank you very much for your patience and understanding.​


Events

German Language Courses


Stay tuned

Chophouse Row © Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Newsletter Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Never miss an event! Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to receive the latest information on everything that is happening at the Goethe Pop Up Seattle!
Subscribe to our newsletter





About us

Located in Capitol Hill’s iconic Chophouse Row building, the Goethe Pop Up Seattle is a temporary branch of the Goethe-Institut, the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany. Throughout 2021, we will be hosting and supporting an international program of exhibitions, films, lectures, performances, public discussions, and more. 

Our goal is to present German culture in Seattle and help shape a current understanding of Germany today. Our program offers an opportunity to engage with themes and questions relevant to contemporary German culture and society. We organize a broad range of events and support projects in the fields of film and new media, arts, theater and dance, music, literature, architecture, and more. The events take place in our space and at partner venues around Seattle. We collaborate with local artists, organizations, universities, and schools with an interest in Germany and its language and culture.

Come visit us to find out more!


Director: Arabelle Liepold 

Arabelle Liepold

As the Managing Director of the Goethe Pop Up Seattle, Arabelle Liepold is excited to be working with artists and partners in Seattle and abroad to present an international program and help foster a cultural dialogue between the U.S. and Germany. Arabelle was born and raised in Bonn, Germany, and moved from Berlin to Seattle in 2014. She studied Literature, Art, and Film at the University of Konstanz and the University of Technology in Sydney (M.A.), and has worked in the cultural sector ever since. She is passionate about bringing people from different backgrounds together through arts and culture.

Martin Schwartz
Program Curator: Martin Schwartz
Program Curator Martin Schwartz is energized to help connect the people of Seattle with contemporary German culture through art and ideas. He studied German, Drama, and Comparative Literature at University of California, San Diego, and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and earned his MA from University of Chicago. Prior to joining the Pop Up team, Martin served as Manager of Institutional Relations at the Henry Art Gallery, and before that, led the Public Diplomacy and Cultural Affairs section at the Consulate General of Switzerland in San Francisco. Martin is additionally active as a playwright, with several produced and published plays.

Kendra Berry
Program Assistant: Kendra Berry
Kendra Berry is a student of Germanics at the University of Washington and helps out at the Goethe Pop Up Seattle. At the Pop Up, she is excited to promote international cooperation through culture and the arts. Kendra is a native Seattleite who returned to the area in 2017 after living in Germany for a few years. She most recently worked in the arts in Berlin, and she looks forward to working with both local and German artists!
 

Top

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Goethe Pop Up Seattle
Chophouse Row 
1424 11th Ave
Suite 101
Seattle, WA 98122

Öffnungszeiten: 
Die Ausstellungsfläche ist derzeit geschlossen. 
Unsere virtuellen Programmangebote finden Sie im Veranstaltungskalender. 

Tel.: +1 (202) 873 7881
info-seattle@goethe.de

Folgen Sie uns auf:

Link: Facebook Logo
Link: Instagram Logo

Covid-19 Response © Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Goethe Pop Up Seattle: Information Zu Covid-19

Das Goethe Pop Up Seattle bleibt bis auf Weiteres für den Publikumsverkehr geschlossen. Dies ist eine vorbeugende Maßnahme, um die Ausbreitung des COVID-19-Virus zu verlangsamen und die Sicherheit unserer Besucher*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen zu gewährleisten.
 
Unsere Veranstaltungen finden zur Zeit soweit möglich online statt. Bitte informieren Sie sich über geplante Veranstaltungen über die Website und unsere Social-Media-Kanäle.
 
Vielen Dank für Ihre Geduld und Ihr Verständnis.


Veranstaltungen

Deutschkurse


Stay tuned

Chophouse Row © Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Newsletter Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Wenn Sie Informationen zu unseren Kulturveranstaltungen erhalten möchten, tragen Sie bitte Ihren Namen in unsere Mailingliste ein! 
Newsletter abonnieren





Über uns

Das Goethe Pop Up Seattle in Capitol Hills Chophouse Row ist eine temporäre Außenstelle des Goethe-Instituts, dem Kulturinstitut Deutschlands. Bis Ende 2021 präsentieren wir ein vielfältiges Programm aus Ausstellungen, Filmen, Lesungen, Konzerten, Diskussionen und vielem mehr.

Unser Ziel ist es zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur aus Deutschland in Seattle zu präsentieren und ein aktuelles Deutschlandbild zu vermitteln. Unser öffentliches Programm bietet die Möglichkeit, sich mit Themen und Fragen auseinanderzusetzen, die für die heutige deutsche Kultur und Gesellschaft von Bedeutung sind. Wir organisieren ein breites Spektrum kultureller Veranstaltungen in den Bereichen Film und Neue Medien, Kunst, Theater und Tanz, Musik, Literatur, Architektur und mehr. Die Veranstaltungen finden sowohl im Goethe Pop Up als auch an Veranstaltungsorten in ganz Seattle statt. Wir arbeiten dabei vor Ort eng mit Künstlern, Organisationen, Universitäten und Schulen zusammen, die Interesse an Deutschland, seiner Sprache und Kultur haben.

Besuchen Sie uns, um mehr über unser Programm zu erfahren!


Leitung: Arabelle Liepold 

Arabelle Liepold

Als Leiterin des Goethe Pop Up Seattle freut sich Arabelle Liepold darauf, mit Künstlern und Partnern in Seattle und im Ausland zusammenzuarbeiten, um ein internationales Kulturprogramm zu präsentieren und den Kulturaustausch zwischen den USA und Deutschland zu fördern. Arabelle kommt gebürtig aus Deutschland und ist 2014 von Berlin nach Seattle gezogen. Sie hat Literatur, Kunst- und Filmwissenschaft in Konstanz und Sydney studiert und arbeitet seitdem im Kulturbereich. Sie hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Menschen unterschiedlicher Herkunft durch Kunst und Kultur zusammenzubringen.


Kendra Berry
Programmassistentin: Kendra Berry

Kendra Berry studiert Germanistik an der University of Washington und unterstützt das Goethe Pop Up Seattle. Im Pop Up freut sie sich darüber, internationale Zusammenarbeit durch Kultur und die Künste zu fördern. Kendra kommt gebürtig aus Seattle und zog, nachdem sie mehrere Jahre in Deutschland wohnte,  2017 wieder nach Seattle. In Berlin arbeitete sie im Kunstbereich,und freut sich nun auf die Arbeit mit lokalen und aus Deutschland stammenden Künstlern!
 

Top