Radio Talk & Listening Session
One Million Roses - Radio Talk & Listening Session

Radio Talk & Listening Session
Radio Talk & Listening Session |

With WPFW DC and WBAI NYC/Pacifica Radio

Online

In the framework of One Million Roses for Angela Davis - U.S. Edition, we are happy to partner up with WPFW DC and WBAI NYC/Pacifica Radio to present a talk with the curator Kathleen Reinhardt, artist Sadie Barnette, and Dr. Clarence Lusane, Director of the International Affairs Program, and former Chair of the Political Science Department at Howard University, followed by a listening session with Steffani Jemison and Justin Hicks (Mikrokosmos). This talk and listening session are part of a day-long sonic celebration called Liberated Mind: A Lovesong for Angela Davis, airing from noon to midnight. 
 
The talk will focus on Davis's global influence across fields. Kathleen Reinhardt will be illuminating Angela Davis' relationship with Eastern Germany and taking a closer look at her influence on a younger generation of artists whose works are exhibited in Dresden, and Dr. Clarence Lusane will contextualize Davis's influence from an academic viewpoint in the US. Sadie Barnette will discuss Davis's influence on her multimedia artistic practice, which illuminates her own family history as it mirrors a collective history of repression and resistance in the United States. The connections between Davis and her family history are clear in her work DEAR 1968,...., a reclamation of a 500-page FBI surveillance file amassed on her father during his time with the Black Panther Party and her interactive reimagining of his bar — San Francisco's first Black-owned gay bar.
 
The following listening session by Mikrokosmos (Steffani Jemison and Justin Hicks) will be based on their object and sound work One Giant Step, an experimental opera, that was performed at Albertinum SKD in December 2020. As the artists state, "Mikrokosmos, like all black music, is a form of speculation. It is “study without end” (Moten and Harney, 2015); blackness is its subject. Anti-languages and alternative literacies have persisted in the African American community since slavery, and Mikrokosmos embraces the spirit of these radical approaches to language and learning. With our collaborators, we derive new proposals for understanding and teaching pitch and rhythm from the black vernacular songbook."
 
Audience participation is encouraged and the event will be followed by a Q&A.

Sadie Barnette is from Oakland, CA, and holds a BFA from CalArts and an MFA from the University of California, San Diego. She has been awarded grants and residencies by the Studio Museum in Harlem, Art Matters, Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, the Headlands Center for the Arts, and the Camargo Foundation in France. Her work is in the permanent collections of institutions such as the Los Angeles County Museum of Art; California African American Museum, Los Angeles; Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive; Oakland Museum of California; Pérez Art Museum Miami; Studio Museum in Harlem; Brooklyn Museum; and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. She lives and works in Oakland, CA, and is represented by Charlie James Gallery in Los Angeles and Jessica Silverman in San Francisco.

Dr. Clarence Lusane is a Professor, Director of the International Affairs Program, and former Chair of the Political Science Department at Howard University. He is an activist and scholar, and a well-respected expert in the areas of human rights, African American politics, global race relations, U.S. elections, and international relations.  He has lectured on these topics in over 70 countries including China, Colombia, Cuba, England, France, Germany, Haiti, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Russia, Rwanda, S. Korea, Switzerland, Ukraine, and Zimbabwe among others. He is a former Commissioner on the D.C. Commission on African American Affairs. He is the author of more than 100 scholarly articles and eight books on human rights, U.S. and black politics, globalization, and European history. Dr. Lusane’s last book is The Black History of the White House. The book led to two presentations at the White House during the Obama presidency. His next book, $20 and Change: Harriet Tubman, Andrew Jackson, and the Struggle for a Radical Democracy, is scheduled for release in 2021.

Justin Hicks is a Drama Desk-nominated composer, sound artist, and vocalist who has collaborated with theater makers, musicians, and visual artists such as Abigail DeVille, Kaneza Schaal, Meshell Ndegeocello, Courtney Bryan, Hilton Als, Cauleen Smith, Breck Omar Brunson, Charlotte Brathwaite, Janani Balasubramanian, Sunder Ganglani, and Lee Mingwei. His work has been featured at Lincoln Center, Baryshnikov Arts Center, Performance Space New York, The Bushwick Starr, Jack, Paisley Park, The Whitney Museum of American Art, BRIC Arts Media House, and The Kennedy Center among others.  Along with his wife Kenita Miller-Hicks and sister Jade Hicks he is a founding member of the group The HawtPlates whose visual EP "Make me Down: Songs For Making It Through Alive" was commissioned by The Public Theater. He was a member of Kara Walker’s 6-8 Months Space and holds a culinary diploma from The Institute of Culinary Education in New York City. 

Steffani Jemison (b. 1981, Berkeley, CA) is an interdisciplinary artist based in Brooklyn, NY. Her work has been the subject of solo exhibitions and special projects at LAXART, Los Angeles (2013); RISD Museum, Providence (2015); the Museum of Modern Art, NY (2015); Mass MoCA, North Adams, MA (2016); Jeu de Paume, Paris (2017); Nottingham Contemporary (2018); the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2019); and the Contemporary Art Center Cincinnati (2021), among others. Her work is in numerous public collections, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York; the Whitney Museum, New York; the Stedelijk Museum, Netherlands; and the Studio Museum in Harlem, New York. Since 2016, Jemison has been a part of the musical collaborative Mikrokosmos with Justin Hicks.

Kathleen Reinhardt is an art and cultural historian and, since 2016, curator of contemporary art at the Albertinum in Dresden where she has curated the exhibitions Marlene Dumas: Skulls, Slavs and Tatars: Made in Dschermany, For Ruth, The Sky in Los Angeles: Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt and David Horvitz and Demonstration Rooms: Céline Condorelli, Kapwani Kiwanga, Judy Radul (co-curated with Isabelle Busch). She received her doctorate from the Arts of Africa department of the Freie Universität Berlin in 2017 with a dissertation on contemporary African American art, for which she received a scholarship from the Fulbright Commission as a visiting researcher at the University of California, Santa Cruz. She has taught at Freie Universität Berlin and Technische Universität Dresden. Her writing has appeared in art catalogs as well as the magazines African Arts, Art Margins, Contemporary And, and Kaleidoscope, among other publications.

In Partnership with WPFW DC und WBAI NYC/Pacifica Radio.
 

Details

Online

Language: English
Price: Free

program-newyork@goethe.de

Part of series 1 Million Roses for Angela Davis - U.S. Edition

WPFW/Pacifica Radio 89.3 FM & WBAI - 99.5FM

Radio Talk & Listening Session
One Million Roses - Radio Talk & Listening Session

Radio Talk & Listening Session
Radio Talk & Listening Session |

With WPFW Pacifica Rado 89.3FM and WBAI - 99.5FM

Online

Zusammen mit WPFW DC und WBAI NYC/Pacifica Radio

Im Rahmen der One Million Roses for Angela Davis – U.S. Edition Reihe freuen wir uns gemeinsam mit WPFW DC und WBAI NYC/Pacifica Radio ein Gespräch zwischen der Kuratorin Kathleen Reinhardt, der Künstlerin Sadie Barnette und Dr. Clarence Lausane, dem Director of International Affairs Program und ehemaligen Chair of the Political Science Department an der Howard University, zu präsentieren, gefolgt von einer Listening Session mit Steffani Jeminson und Justin Hicks (Mikrokosmos). Das Gespräch und die Listening Session sind Teil des ganztägigen Programms Liberated Mind: A Lovesong for Angela Davis, die von mittags bis Mitternacht gesendet wird.
Die Diskussion wird sich auf Davis‘ globalen Einfluss über unterschiedlichste Themenfelder hinweg fokussieren. Kathleen Reinhardt wird Angela Davis‘ Beziehung mit Ostdeutschland beleuchten und sich näher mit ihrem Einfluss auf eine junge Generation von Künstler*Innen befassen, deren Arbeiten aktuell in Dresden ausgestellt werden. Dr. Clarence Lusane wird Davis‘ Einfluss von einem US-akademischen Standpunkt aus kontextualisieren und Sadie Barnette wird Davis‘ Einfluss auf ihre künstlerische, multimediale Praxis darlegen, die sowohl ihre persönliche Familiengeschichte beleuchtet als auch gleichzeitig die kollektive Geschichte von Unterdrückung und Widerstand in den USA spiegelt. Die Verbindung zwischen Davis und ihrer Familiengeschichte werden in ihrer Arbeit DEAR 1968, ….., deutlich, eine Wiederaufarbeitung der 500-seitigen FBI Überwachungsakte, die die Aktivitäten ihres Vaters aus seiner Zeit bei der Black Panther Partei abbildet sowie ihre interaktiven Wiederentdeckung seiner Bar – der ersten schwulen Bar in San Francisco, die einem Schwarzen gehörte.   
Die anschließende Listening Session von Mikrokosmos (Steffani Jemison und Justin Hicks) basiert auf deren Objekt- und Klangarbeit One Giant Step, eine experimentelle Oper, die im Albertinum SKD im Dezember 2020 aufgeführt wurde. Die Künstler erklären: “Mikrokosmos, wie alle Schwarze Musik, ist eine Form von Spekulation. Eine “Studie ohne Ende” (Moten und Harney, 2015); Schwarz-sein selbst ist ihr Gegenstand. Anti-Sprache und alternative Literaritäten sind in der African American Community seit der Sklaverei relevant und Mikrokosmos begrüßt den Geist dieser radikalen Herangehensweise an Sprache und Lernen. Mit unseren Kooperationspartner*Innen entwickeln wir neue Vorschläge für das Verstehen und Lehren von Tonhöhe und Rhythmus aus dem Liederbuch für Schwarze Umgangssprache.“   

Die Teilnahme des Publikums ist erwünscht und es wird ein Q&A nach der Veranstaltung geben.

Sadie Barnette kommt aus Oakland, CA und hat einen BFA von CalArts und einen MFA von der University of California, San Diego. Sie hat Stipendien und Residenzen vom Studio Museum in Harlem, Art Matters, Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, dem Headlands Center for the Arts sowie der Camargo Foundation in Frankreich erhalten. Ihre Arbeiten sind in den ständigen Sammlungen von Institutionen wie dem Los Angeles County Museum of Art, dem Oakland Museum of California, dem Perez Art Museum Miami, dem Studio Museum in Harlem, dem Brooklyn Museum und dem Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum vertreten. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Oakland, CA und wird von der Charlie James Gallery in Los Angeles und Jessica Silverman in San Francisco vertreten.

Dr. Clarence Lusane ist Professor und Direktor für das International Affairs Program und ehemaliger Vorsitzender des Political Science Department an der Howard University. Er ist Aktivist und Wissenschaftler und ein etablierter Experte in den Bereichen Menschenrechte, African American Politik, globale ethnische Beziehungen, US-Wahlen und internationale Beziehungen. Er hat zu diesen Themen in über 70 Ländern der Welt, unter anderem in China, Kolumbien, Kuba, England, Frankreich, Deutschland, Haiti, Japan, den Niederlanden, Neuseeland, Panama, Russland, Ruanda, Süd-Korea, der Schweiz, der Ukraine und Zimbabwe, Vorträge gehalten. Er ist außerdem ein ehemaliger Beauftragter für die D.C. Kommission für African American Affairs und Autor von mehr als 100 wissenschaftlichen Artikeln und acht Büchern zum Thema Menschenrechte, US- und Schwarze Politik, Globalisierung und europäische Geschichte. Dr. Lusanes zuletzt erschienenes Buch The Black History of the White House führte zu zwei Präsentation im Weißen Haus während der Präsidentschaft von Obama. Sein nächstes Buch: $20 and Change: Harriet Tubman, Andrew Jackson, and the Struggle for a Radical Democracy soll noch in 2021 erscheinen.

Justin Hicks ein Drama Desk-nominierter Komponist, Klangkünstler und Vokalist, der bereits mit diversen Theatermacher*Innen, Musiker*Innen und Künstler*Innen, unter anderem Abigail DeVille, Kaneza Schaal, Meshell Ndegeocello, Courtney Bryan, Hilton Als, Cauleen Smith, Breck Omar Brunson, Charlotte Brathwaite, Janani Balasubramanian, Sunder Ganglani und Lee Mingwei, zusammengearbeitet hat. Seine Arbeiten sind unter anderem im Lincoln Center, Baryshnikov Arts Center, Performance Space New York, The Bushwick Starr, Jack, Paisley Park, The Whitney Museum of American Art, BRIC Arts Media House und dem The Kennedy Center aufgeführt worden. Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Kenita Miller-Hicks und seiner Schwester Jade Hicks ist er Gründungsmitglied der Gruppe The HawtPlates, deren visuelle EP Make me Down: Songs For Making It Through Alive vom Public Theater in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Er ist außerdem Mitglied von Kara Walkers 6-8 Months Space und hat ein kulinarisches Diplom vom Institut of Culinary Education in New York City.  
Steffani Jemison (geb. 1981, Berkeley, CA) ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin und lebt in Brooklyn, NY. Ihre Arbeiten waren unter anderem Gegenstand von Einzelausstellungen und Projekten bei LAXART, Los Angeles (2013), dem RISD Museum, Providence (2015), dem Museum of Modern Art, NY (2015), dem Mass MoCA, North Adams, MA (2016), der Jeu de Paume, Paris (2017), Nottingham Contemporary (2018), dem Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2019) und dem Contemporary Art Center Cincinnati (2021). Ihre Arbeiten sind in diversen Sammlungen vertreten, unter anderem im Museum of Modern Art, dem Whitney Museum, dem Stedelijk Museum, Niederlande und dem Studio Museum in Harlem. Seit 2016 ist Jemison Teil der musikalischen Kooperation Mikrokosmos gemeinsam mit Justin Hicks.

Kathleen Reinhardt ist Kunst- und Kulturhistorikerin und seit 2016 Kuratorin für zeitgenössische Kunst am Albertinum in Dresden. Dort hat sie die Ausstellungen Marlene Dumas: Skulls, Slavs and Tatars: Made in Dschermany, Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt und David Horvitz – Für Ruth, Der Himmel in Los Angeles und Demonstrationsräume. Céline Condorelli, Kapwani Kiwanga, Judy Radul (gemeinsam mit Isabelle Busch) kuratiert. Sie hat ihren Doktor im Bereich Kunstgeschichte im globalen Kontext mit dem Studienschwerpunkt Afrika von der Universität Berlin in 2017 erhalten mit einer Dissertation zum Thema zeitgenössische Afro-Amerikanische Kunst, für die sie ein Stipendium an der University of California, Santa Cruz, erhalten hat. Sie hat an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Dresden gelehrt und ihre Texte sind unter anderem in Ausstellungskatalogen sowie in den Magazinen African Arts, Art Margins, Contemporary And und Kaleidoscope erschienen.

In Partnerschaft mit WPFW DC und WBAI NYC/Pacifica Radio.

Details

Online

Sprache: Englisch
Preis: Kostenlos

program-newyork@goethe.de

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil der Veranstaltungsreihe 1 Million Rosen für Angela Davis - U.S. Edition.

WPFW Pacifica Radio 89.3 FM & WBAI - 99.5FM