Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City
1914 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
info-kansascity@goethe.de

Opening hours
Tuesday to Friday: 12PM to 6PM
First Fridays: 12PM to 9PM
See Calendar for additional event times

Follow us on:

Facebook Logo
Instagram Logo

Covid-19 Response © Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Covid-19 – We’re Temporarily Closed To The Public

In light of the current situation, Goethe Pop Up Kansas City's gallery space is closed to the public effective immediately until further notice in order to protect the health of our visitors and staff. Our events, where possible, have been converted to online formats. Please continue checking our website and social media channels for updates. 

If you have questions about our program, email us at info-kansascity@goethe.de.

Stay safe,
Your Goethe Pop Up Kansas City team


Events

German Language Courses


Stay tuned

Pop Up Kansas City © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Newsletter Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Do you want to be kept up to date? Sign up to receive our newsletter with the latest from the Goethe Pop Up Kansas City.
Subscribe to our newsletter





About us

The Goethe Pop Up Kansas City acts as a mini branch of the Goethe-Institut, the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany. Join us in 2021 as we continue to host and support a variety of cultural events in America’s heartland.

Our goal is to present contemporary German art and culture in Kansas City and help shape a current understanding of Germany in one of the Midwest’s fastest-growing cultural centers. We organize a broad range of events and support projects in the fields of arts, literature, music, film, theater, and more at our space in the Crossroads and with partners around the metro area. We aim to explore current issues from both German and US perspectives and collaborate with cultural institutions, artists, universities, schools, and businesses that have an interest in Germany and its language and culture. 

The Goethe-Institut operates in over 90 countries worldwide, promoting knowledge of the German language abroad and fostering international cultural collaborations. Our program of public events offers an opportunity to engage with themes and questions relevant to contemporary German culture and society. Faced with the challenges of globalization, we aim to strengthen intercultural dialogue and a global civil society. 


Director: Jutta Behnen

Jutta Behnen

Jutta Behnen was born in Cologne, Germany. After graduating from Humboldt-University in Berlin she worked as a consultant and lecturer in German as a Foreign Language and Theater in Germany, Belarus, Uzbekistan, France, England, and the US. She is excited to create a platform for encounter, exchange, and new perspectives as Managing Director for Kansas City’s first pop-up Goethe-Institut. 

Dr. Rima Girnius
Program Curator­­­­: Rima Girnius, Ph.D.

Rima Girnius, a native Lithuanian-speaker born in the United States, spent her formative years in Munich, Germany. She earned her doctorate in art history from Bryn Mawr College, where her scholarly focus was on early modern German and Netherlandish art. Prior to joining Goethe Pop Up Kansas City, she held curatorial positions at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, the Figge Art Museum, and Indianapolis Museum of Art. She is committed to finding innovative ways of fostering intercultural dialogue and learning between Germany and the United States.

Aaron Burns
Program Coordinator: Aaron Burns
A native of Kansas City, Aaron Burns studied music, German, and Romance languages at universities in Kansas City, Chicago, Bonn and Cologne, Germany, and Klagenfurt, Austria. He has always been fascinated by foreign languages and the potential for mutual understanding between cultures. As program coordinator at the Goethe Pop Up Kansas City, he looks forward to working with partners here and abroad to promote cultural exchange between the US and Germany.


 

Top

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City
1914 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
info-kansascity@goethe.de

Öffnungszeiten
Das Goethe Pop Up ist ab Mai wieder zu begrenzten Zeiten für das Publikum geöffnet. Details dazu finden Sie in unserem Veranstaltungskalender unter Ausstellungen sowie unter Bibliothek. Parallel dazu bieten wir weiterhin ein reichhaltiges virtuelles Programm für Sie an.

Folgen Sie uns auf:

Facebook Logo
Instagram Logo

Veranstaltungen

Deutschkurse


Stay tuned

Pop Up Kansas City © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Newsletter Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Sie möchten immer auf dem Laufenden bleiben? Melden Sie sich an, um unseren Newsletter mit Neuigkeiten aus dem Goethe Pop Up Kansas City zu erhalten.
Newsletter bestellen oder abbestellen





Über uns

Das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City ist eine Außenstelle des Goethe-Instituts, dem Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Bis Ende 2021 organisieren wir ein vielfältiges Programm kultureller Veranstaltungen im Heartland der USA.

Unser Ziel ist es, in Kansas City und Umgebung zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur aus Deutschland zu präsentieren und ein aktuelles Deutschlandbild zu vermitteln. Dafür organisieren wir ein breitgefächertes Veranstaltungsangebot in den Bereichen Kunst, Literatur, Musik, Film, Theater und mehr. Wir beleuchten aktuelle Themen sowohl aus deutscher als auch aus amerikanischer Perspektive und arbeiten vor Ort eng mit Kulturorganisationen, Künstler*innen, Universitäten, Schulen und anderen lokalen Partner*innen zusammen, die Interesse an Deutschland, seiner Sprache und Kultur haben.

Das Goethe-Institut operiert in über 90 Ländern weltweit und hat die Aufgabe, die deutsche Sprache im Ausland und internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit zu fördern. Unsere öffentlichen Veranstaltungen bieten die Möglichkeit, sich mit Themen und Fragen auseinanderzusetzen, die für die heutige deutsche Kultur und Gesellschaft von Bedeutung sind. Wir stellen uns den Herausforderungen der Globalisierung, indem wir sowohl den interkulturellen Dialog als auch die globale Zivilgesellschaft stärken. 


Leitung: Jutta Behnen

Jutta Behnen

Jutta Behnen wurde in Köln geboren. Nach ihrem Studium an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin arbeitete sie als Referentin und Dozentin für Deutsch als Fremdsprache und Theater in Deutschland, Belarus, Usbekistan, Frankreich, England und immer wieder in den USA. Sie freut sich, als Leiterin des ersten Goethe Pop Up-Instituts in Kansas City einen Raum zu gestalten, der zu Begegnung, Austausch und neuen Erfahrungen einlädt.

Programmkuratorin: Dr. Rima Girnius
Dr. Rima Girnius

Rima Girnius ist litauisch-amerikanischer Herkunft und verbrachte ihre Kindheit und Jugend in München. Sie studierte deutsche und niederländische Kunst der Neuzeit und promovierte am Bryn Mawr College mit einer interdisziplinären Arbeit zur Konstruktion von Räumen in Rembrandts Werk. Vor ihrer Position am Goethe Pop Up Kansas City war sie als Kuratorin am Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Figge Art Museum und Indianapolis Museum of Art tätig. Sie interessiert sich für innovative Wege, interkulturellen Dialog und Lernen zwischen Deutschland und den USA zu fördern.
 

Top