Information Service

The Information Service offers resources and can provide you with research assistance relating to German culture and language.

Based in the library, we will be happy to help with your query, whether in person, by telephone or e-mail.

If you've got a query about German life in New York, you may find an answer in our FAQs.

Frequently asked questions

Due to space constraints, the Library can no longer accept book donations.

Where can I find out what my German books are worth?

The staff of the Library is not trained in assessing the value of antiquarian German books. Please visit the following website, which also lists contacts to German antiquarian book dealers, to ascertain if you are in possession of a valuable volume: Central Registry of Antiquarian Books
Bücherstube
PO Box 700
Pelion, SC 29123
Toll free: 888-BUECHER (283-2437)
info@buecherstube.com
http://buecherstube.com/
 
Continental Book Company
7000 Broadway #102
Denver, CO 80229
Tel: (303) 289-1761
Fax: (800) 279-1764
tag@continentalbook.com
http://www.continentalbook.com/cbcstore/
 
European Books & Media
6600 Shattuck Avenue
Oakland, CA 94609
Tel: (510) 922-9157
info@europeanbook.com
http://www.europeanbook.com/
 
German Book Center
1317 County Road 56
Mountaindale, NY 12763
Toll free: 845-436-4110
germanbook@msn.com
https://www.abebooks.com/german-book-center-n.a-inc-mountaindale/6700904/sf?clickid=wixWiP1Z02d8yOEzOtUcH35WUkjyOo0J1Q3tX80&cm_mmc=aff-_-ir-_-10078-_-77416&ref=imprad10078&afn_sr=impact
 
International Book Import Service
161 Main Street
PO Box 8188
Lynchburg, TN 37352
Toll free: 800-277-4247
ibis@ibiservice.com
http://www.ibiservice.com/
 
Although the staff of the Goethe-Institut do not perform translations, they are happy to assist you in your translation endeavors. The Goethe-Institut New York Library offers a strong reference collection covering a diverse spectrum of subjects. Furthermore, the Library houses a number of specialty German-English/English-German dictionaries in fields such as art history, music, psychology, medicine, business, science, and technology.

What kind of financial assistance does the Goethe-Institut provide for the translation of books?

For more information including conditions and applications, please visit the Translation Grant Program page.
There are a number of professional organizations whose accredited members specialize in translation. Each organization maintains member directories that can be of assistance in locating a translator in your area. Rates are not set by the professional organizations, but determined by individual translators based on experience and business climate.  

American Translators Association
The American Translators Association (ATA) is the umbrella organization for the translation and interpreting professions. The ATA has a certification program to verify that individual translators meet professional standards. The website offers a searchable Directory of Translation and Interpreting Services as well as a Directory of Language Services Companies.

German Language Division
The German Language Division (GLD) is one of the American Translators Association's divisions devoted to specific languages. The GLD provides information and services relating to translation and interpretation to and from German.

New York Circle of Translators   
The New York Circle of Translators (NYCT) is a chapter of the American Translators Association, whose members work in a variety of languages and specialties in industry, law, finance, commerce, the arts and academia. The NYCT Member Services Directory is searchable by language and by either individual or institutional memberships.

PEN American Center Directory of Translators 
The PEN American Center is the largest of the 141 centers of International PEN, the world's oldest human rights organization and the oldest international literary organization. A free Directory of Working Translators is available via their website.

American Literary Translators Association 
The American Literary Translators Association (ALTA) was founded to provide essential services to literary translators from all languages and create a professional forum for the exchange of ideas on the art and craft of literary translation.

National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators 
The National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators (NAJIT) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the furtherance of the court interpreting and legal translation profession.
Deutsche Welle in the USA
Contact your local satellite or cable provider to learn how to receive Deutsche Welle.

Deutsches Fernsehen
Deutsches Fernsehen is a free online streaming video service that requires an app download for your Mac or Windows computer.

German TV Company
Subscription-based access to German-language programming either on your television or computer.

Most German television networks also offer streaming news and other programming. For example: ARD Mediathek, DW Media Center, Das Erste Mediathek, NDR Mediathek, SWR Mediathek, WDR Mediathek, ZDF Mediathek
Unfortunately not all DVDs come with lending rights. We can acquire only those which we are allowed to lend. German DVDs can be ordered from Amazon Deutschland. German-language DVDs with English subtitles are available from Amazon.

Informationsservice

Der Informationsdienst bietet ein umfangreiche Angebote. Auch bei Fragen zu den Themen deutsche Kultur und Sprache steht er mit kostenloser Hilfe gerne zur Verfügung.

Das Team des Informationsdienstes befindet sich in der Bibliothek und freut sich, Ihnen bei Ihren Anfragen weiterzuhelfen, sei es im persönlichen Beratungsgespräch, per Telefon oder Email. 

Wenn Sie Fragen haben, die das deutsche Leben in New York betreffen, finden Sie die Antwort vielleicht schon unter unseren oft gestellten Fragen.  

Oft gestellte Fragen

Wegen Mangel an Platz nimmt die Bibliothek keine Buchschenkungen entgegen.

Können Sie den Wert meiner deutschen Bücher ermitteln?

Den Wert antiquarischer Bücher kann nur von Spezialisten eingeschätzt werden. Folgende Website enthält eine Liste deutscher Antiquariate und bietet außerdem die Möglichkeit, den Wert Ihrer Bände zu ermitteln: Zentrales Verzeichnis Antiquarischer Bücher
Adler's Foreign Books Inc. 
915 Foster St. 
Evanston, IL 60201-3199 
Tel: +1 847 8640664 
info@afb-adlers.com 
www.adlersforeignbooks.com

Die Bücherstube 
P.O. Box 700 
Pelion, SC 29123 
Tel: +1 888 BUECHER (283-2437) 
info@buecherstube.com 
www.buecherstube.com

German Book Center 
1317 County Road 56 
Mountaindale, NY 12763 
Toll free: +1 845 4364110 
germanbook@msn.com

International Book Import Service 
PO Box 8188
161 Main Street 
Lynchburg, TN 37352 
Toll free: +1 800 2774247 
ibis@ibiservice.com 
www.ibiservice.com 

Schoenhof's Foreign Books 
76 A Mount Auburn Street 
Cambridge, MA 02138 
Tel: +1 617 5478855 
weborders@schoenhofs.com 
www.schoenhofs.com
 
Auch wenn das Personal des Goethe-Instituts keine Übersetzungen vornimmt, helfen wir Ihnen gerne bei Übersetzungsproblemen. Die Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts bietet eine große Sammlung an Nachschlagewerken mit weitem Spektrum. Außerdem verfügt die Bibliothek über zahlreiche Wörterbucher (Deutsch-Englisch, Englisch-Deutsch), die auch Bereiche wie Geschichte, Musik, Psychologie, Medizin, Geschäftswesen, Wissenschaft und Technik umfassen.

Welche finanziellen Unterstützungen bietet das Goethe-Institut für Literaturübersetzungen?

Bitte besuchen Sie unsere Website zur Übersetzungsförderung für weitere Informationen.
Es gibt zahlreiche Organisationen mit anerkannten und auf Übersetzung spezialisierte Mitgliedern. Jede Organisation führt Verzeichnisse ihre Mitglieder, die Ihnen bei der Suche nach einem Übersetzer in Ihrer Gegend helfen können. Die Kosten und Preise für die Übersetzung werden nicht von den Organisationen festgesetzt, sondern richten sich nach dem Erfahrungsgrad des Übersetzers. 

American Translators Association 
Die American Translators Association (ATA) ist eine Schirmorganisation für Übersetzungs- und Dolmetscherberufe. Ein Aufnahmeverfahren garantiert die Qualifikation der einzelnen Übersetzer. Die Website bietet eine Liste mit Übersetzern und Dolmetschern sowie ein Verzeichnis der Sprachdienstleistungsunternehmen.

German Language Division
Die German Language Division (GLD) ist innerhalb der American Translators Association (ATA) eine Sprachgruppe für Übersetzer und Dolmetscher mit Deutsch als Ausgangs- und/oder Zielsprache. Die GLD bietet Informationen, Übersetzungs- und Dolmetscherdienstleistungen aus dem Deutschen oder ins Deutsche.

New York Circle of Translators   
Hier handelt es sich um einen Verband der ATA, dessen Mitglieder in verschiedenen Sprachen und Zweigen (Industrie, Recht, Finanzen, Wirtschaft, Kunst und Hochschulwesen) weiterhelfen. Das Verzeichnis des NYCT ist nach den Kriterien Sprache sowie individuelle oder institutionelle Mitgliedschaft abrufbar. 

PEN American Center Directory of Translators 
Das PEN American Center ist das größte der 141 Zentren von International PEN, die älteste Menschenrechtsorganisation und internationale literarische Einrichtung. Auf der Website wird nein kostenloses Handbuch für auf Literatur spezialisierte Übersetzer zur Verfügung gestellt. 

American Literary Translators Association 
ALTA wurde gegründet, um ein Forum für auf Literatur spezialisierte Übersetzer aller Sprachen zu schaffen. In diesem Forum soll der Gedankenaustausch über das Kunsthandwerk der literarischen Übersetzung stattfinden.

National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators 
NAJIT ist eine gemeinnützige Einrichtung, die der Förderung juristischer Dolmetscher und Übersetzer gewidmet ist.
Deutsche Welle Abonnements in den USA
Fragen Sie bei Ihren Kabel- oder Satellitanbieter nach, ob DW oder DW (Amerika) geboten werden.

Deutsches Fernsehen
Deutsches Fernsehen ist ein kostenloses online streaming Angebot.

German TV Company
Ein Subkriptionsservice mit dem man deutschsprachige Programme auf dem Fernseher oder auch Rechner schauen kann.

Deutsches Fernsehen im Netz
Liste von deutschen Fernsehsendern, die es Ihnen mit Streaming ermöglichen, deutsche Nachrichten und andere Programme anzuschauen.
Unfortunately not all DVDs come with lending rights. We can acquire only those which we are allowed to lend. German DVDs can be ordered from Amazon Deutschland. German-language DVDs with English subtitles are available from Amazon.