Contact and opening hours

Institute Hours of Operation

Monday–Friday: 9am - 5:30pm
 

Language Course Office Hours

Monday - Thursday: 10am - 5:30pm
Friday: 10am - 3pm
And by appointment

We are closed for the following holidays:

Martin Luther King Jr. Day:
Monday, January 18, 2021
Language courses will not take place!

Washington's Birthday:
Monday, February 15, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Easter Break:
Friday, April 02, 2021 and
Monday, April 05, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Whit Monday:
Monday, May 24, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Memorial Day:
Monday, May 31, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Independence Day:
Monday, July 05, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Labor Day:
Monday, September 06, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Indigenous People's Day:
Monday, October 11, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Veterans Day:
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Language courses will take place!

Thanksgiving:
Thursday, November 25, 2021 and
Friday, November 26, 2021
Language courses will not take place!

Christmas Break:
Monday, December 20, 2021 -
incl. Friday, December 31, 2021
Language classes: please consult class schedule!

Directions



The Goethe-Institut is located in the 14th Street Corridor neighborhood of Washington, DC, on the corner of 14th Street NW and R Street.

Metrorail:
The Goethe-Insitut is located about 10 minutes by foot from U St/African-American Civil War Mermorial/Cardoza station (green and yellow lines). Dupont Circle metro station (red line) can be reached within 15 minutes by foot.

Metrobus: 
Numerous lines stop within a few blocks of the Goethe-Institut.

Circulator Bus:
14th Street Corridor and U Street, Green line Woodley Park-Adams Morgan-McPherson Square Metro.

Bikes:
On 14th street north and south of the Goethe-Institut entrance there are public bike racks available.

Parking:
The nearest available parking for hire is located on the southwest corner of 14th street and S street.